Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Together Now 2019

• Registered Users Posts: 3 nicnod

timmyjimmy wrote: »
    ATN was pretty nice festival with no scum, off back to Oxegen with you if you wanna piss over tents!

Hi All,

I haven't posted here before but have just been checking numerous places where people are talking about ATN and thought this might be worthwhile. As soon as I got into the camping area on Friday evening (after the 6 hour traffic and hill trek with all the stuff of course!) I lay my tent flat on the ground with my rucksack, turned around to help my friends with their tent before we made a joint attempt at mine (they were standing less than a metre from me) and when I turned back to my tent my entire rucksack with all of my clothes, shoes, makeup, mattress pump etc. was taken.

No steward in the campsite (general this must be the place campsite) was able to tell me if/where there was a lost and found, I tried at least 10 people for this information including going back to the entrance and checking with staff there, when I finally found the Info point I was given a lollipop and told not to let it ruin the festival!! At first I thought somebody mistakenly may have taken it thinking it belonged to a person in their group but I know the same thing happened to at least 4 others from meeting people during my various trips to the very unhelpful Info point over the weekend. I have been to a number of festivals here and abroad and have never worried about items such as clothing being stolen before, I was completely shocked by this ATN and would say there definitely was some kind of element of scum present at the festival and it really did put such a dampener on the weekend for me, I was quite wary of those around after that point.

I've since received the lost and found email for POD but not too hopeful of getting my stuff back at this point, on the off chance any of you do hear of anybody that found a lot of female clothing/rucksack please let me know!

Thanks!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,483 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

maximoose wrote: »
    I really don't think EP is strong this year

Take the lineup poster here and go by sections between orange lines.

Number of acts I'd want to see straight off the bat without having to go listening:

I would be:

Plus, the Body and Soul area is really good this year, with Lamb in particular being a standout.

I think the lineups often sound better if you're not going than if you are!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,483 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

nicnod wrote: »
    Hi All,

Thanks!

That's awful that someone would do that. Hopefully they just made a mistake and will get it back to you. There's a facebook group "Overheard in Body and Soul" that has a lot of festival related lost and found stuff, might be useful (not limited to B&S).

I had a great weekend, arrived Thursday night and enjoyed myself till I got home Monday. Except at Damon Oblong and co. What in the name of jesus was that?

I think this could be a good option in future. Arrive Thursday night in a camper. Chill out. No rushing around. Get set up well in advance. Have an early night, ready to explore in the morning.

You're thinking of The Good, The Bad and The Queen.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,463 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

sporina wrote: »
    all you've got is a black belt in BS...

https://youtu.be/oJsOHNPYais

part of me is still in Curraghmore...

PS can't seem to upload the YT video directly - can anyone give a helping hand? please...

There ya go :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

maximoose wrote: »
    I really don't think EP is strong this year

Take the lineup poster here and go by sections between orange lines.

Number of acts I'd want to see straight off the bat without having to go listening:
    I would be

0 (maybe 1)

But I have to agree with johnyskeleton on Body and Soul area.

My last two experiences of the crowd at EP weren't that great though.

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭Lester Freamon

Will you have a blog review as usual bodhrandude?

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭PinkCamper

I have to say - what a beautiful picturesque site. Gorgeous countryside. Loved the short walks between camping and arena.

Loved the free flow. So handy not to trek to bar and we spent half as much as EP weekend. Also loved the timing. No kids to get up and out for school this week like after EP. Which is just a nightmare...

Loved the people. Great vibe and chats all weekend with strangers. Loved the over 21 policy which meant no teenagers at all and not bumping into my 15 year old niece like EP last year.

Unacceptable toilets. Too few and really dirty. Missed valuable time in queues that were 6/7 people deep at best. Too few food stalls. Again the queues were head wrecking.

We were 7 hours in the traffic but had forgotten it by the time we were dancing to Orbital.

Pod pads was the most unglamorous glamping experience I have ever had. We were only asked for wristbands about half the time. Toilets were shocking and long walks away. It was light years behind Pink Moon experience at EP. Our Bellepad was pretty manky and zips didn’t even work. Nice helpful staff though but they were overwhelmed.

Lineup was poor for me although I enjoyed lots, there was nothing I was dying for. Hot Chip prob my fave.

Tickets and camping cost about €850 and I am not sure I’d throw it at ATN next year. The rain didn’t help much and I’m still deep in the fear. Lots to weigh up.

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

Hi All,

I've since received the lost and found email for POD but not too hopeful of getting my stuff back at this point, on the off chance any of you do hear of anybody that found a lot of female clothing/rucksack please let me know!

Thanks!

That is really crap, so sorry that happened to you. Not sure how useful security would have been but you'd have thought a few people hanging around would have noticed something... rotten thing to happen.

The only comparable thing that happened to myself was getting my wallet robbed less than 30 minutes after arriving late to EP at Grace Jones.. all the cash and cards taken but got the wallet back in the post a few weeks later to my surprise.. you might get your gear back at some point.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Hi All,

I haven't posted here before but have just been checking numerous places where people are talking about ATN and thought this might be worthwhile. As soon as I got into the camping area on Friday evening (after the 6 hour traffic and hill trek with all the stuff of course!) I lay my tent flat on the ground with my rucksack, turned around to help my friends with their tent before we made a joint attempt at mine (they were standing less than a metre from me) and when I turned back to my tent my entire rucksack with all of my clothes, shoes, makeup, mattress pump etc. was taken.

No steward in the campsite (general this must be the place campsite) was able to tell me if/where there was a lost and found, I tried at least 10 people for this information including going back to the entrance and checking with staff there, when I finally found the Info point I was given a lollipop and told not to let it ruin the festival!! At first I thought somebody mistakenly may have taken it thinking it belonged to a person in their group but I know the same thing happened to at least 4 others from meeting people during my various trips to the very unhelpful Info point over the weekend. I have been to a number of festivals here and abroad and have never worried about items such as clothing being stolen before, I was completely shocked by this ATN and would say there definitely was some kind of element of scum present at the festival and it really did put such a dampener on the weekend for me, I was quite wary of those around after that point.

Thanks!

First Post? I read this exact same post a while back in the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 nicnod

First Post? I read this exact same post a while back in the thread.

Yes really first post here - but I did also post similar under ATNs Instagram, Twitter and Facebook hoping for a return unless you’ve read that? This is genuinely somebody who had all their stuff stolen at the weekend and not just trying to damage ATNs reputation for no reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭timmyjimmy

Hi All,

Thanks!

I once went to Glastonbury on Tuesday and we were leaving on Monday after. We had a 6 man tent that we set up in the p!ssing rain. As soon as it was set up we threw all our bags into our tent and then let the festivities start. When we were taking down our tent on the Monday morning, we noticed one large back had been left over. We all assumed that it belonged to someone else in the tent but then we realised that it had been there since Tuesday night! Works out we had accidently robbed someone elses bag in our haste of getting all our bags into the tent!
    Hopefully you will be lucky and your bag will return to you. I lost a bag at B&S once before and by the Thursday there was a picture of it on their facebook page so don't give up just yet!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,463 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Will you have a blog review as usual bodhrandude?

Yep hopefully on Friday or Saturday, have uploaded most of my pics and video clips to laptop, just have to get a few more pics from the phone and I'll get started.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭PabloAndRoy

Stillill42 wrote: »
    But it's the depth, lads, the depth. I do a little playlist of stuff I might like to see when I start researching for a festival, just a single track at the start. I had maybe 13 or 14 for Alltogethernow, I have 25 this morning for EP without even thinking. Everyone who has done a review of last weekend will have 7 or 8 acts they really enjoyed with some absolute belters. I know I'll be able to watch music I enjoy ALL weekend in Stradbally and still miss a tonne of stuff.

I was in Curraghmore with friends and family so you're socialising too but from a music point of view, there's still no comparison. EP by a mile.

Most of the good stuff at EP this year has played numerous times in the last few years. I like a lot of the acts but I've seen them plenty. EP has just 3 or 4 must see acts for me personally and one of them is the Bunnymen.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Plush289

Does anyone remember when the presale tickets went on sale last year?

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭beecee

alastair wrote: »
    Surprised to hear that about Anna Calvi. Sound was faultless for her where I was standing. Still wasn’t won over however. 😁

The entire Olafur Arnalds context was shafted from the get-go, sadly. The fireworks being the icing on the cake.

I was really looking forward to Anna Calvi, but was a bit underwhelmed. Maybe it was the lack of band, but I gave up after a few songs... in hindsight I should have stayed out of the rain and given her more of a chance :P

• Registered Users Posts: 9,197 ✭✭✭maximoose

Plush289 wrote: »
    Does anyone remember when the presale tickets went on sale last year?

I bought mine on 17th August

• Registered Users Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭sporina

Thanks sooooo much ðŸ˜႒ðŸ˜႒ðŸ˜႒

• Registered Users Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

I got an email from Podpads with a bit of an apology and a promise to improve next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Doop

All in all great wkd...thankfully was off yesterday and not feeling too bad today...

BSN Camping turned out to be a blessing by the sounds of it... even tho a steward directed us to 'the over flow camping' as soon as we got through the gate and I was pissed to hear that after what we'd gone through to get in. Why were they calling it that??
    Got a nice spot by the fence which I think helps for noise... people do piss against fences but wasn't a problem few dopes talking away beside us but reckon the space in BSN camping reduced overall noise alot.

Sad to hear some people had things stolen etc. really does wreck it

All in all I would probably go back next year ...see people mention loyalty tickets whats the craic with them how do you prove you've been before or is it just done by email etc?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭PabloAndRoy

I had a great weekend, arrived Thursday night and enjoyed myself till I got home Monday. Except at Damon Oblong and co. What in the name of jesus was that?

It's known as Marmite

PinkCamper wrote: »
    The rain didn’t help much and I’m still deep in the fear. Lots to weigh up.

Don't worry! It's all going to be A-OK!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Don't know has it been said but the issue was definitely only about 20 cars being let in at a time, 3 stewards only in the car park basically parking one car at a time 1 stopping the queue then letting 1 or two cars go to the 2nd steward stopping there then 1 car left go to be parked like landing a plane and asked to stay in the car till the next car was done. far too slow a process.

This is what I think too. Talk on the radio that the Garda are in charge of the traffic plan and they messed up, but I think it was within the carpark that caused the big backlog of traffic trying to get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭Lester Freamon

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    Don't know has it been said but the issue was definitely only about 20 cars being let in at a time, 3 stewards only in the car park basically parking one car at a time 1 stopping the queue then letting 1 or two cars go to the 2nd steward stopping there then 1 car left go to be parked like landing a plane and asked to stay in the car till the next car was done. far too slow a process.

This is what I think too. Talk on the radio that the Garda are in charge of the traffic plan and they messed up, but I think it was within the carpark that caused the big backlog of traffic trying to get it.

Out of the all online comments, the stewards directing cars into the spaces being too slow has not really been mentioned. What a cluster **** if true and ATN should be made aware. Don't think it would have solved the traffic chaos by any means but it cetainly would have made things a good bit worse.

It would make sense on why cars didn't move an inch for long periods. EP are generally good at directing cars into spaces in car parks. It's key to keep things moving as fast as possible

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

They were directing cars 1 by 1, nearly walking them to each space and not filling from front to back. I called it car park tetris earlier as that what it seemed like. We ended up as far away as we could possibly be from the entrance, whereas people arriving after us were directed to the very front of the car park.

On the Gardai. The story that was going around on Saturday, and it may be BS, was that POD didn't pay them in full for last year so they sent the bare minimum they were required to.

Furthermore, Portlaw residents didn't want the town to be used as a transport/drop off etc place.

Might be better to try and get Irish Rail on board, have Trains running to Carrick with free shuttle busses included in train ticket.

I think I've arrived at every non irish festival I've been to by rail and shuttle, as have the vast majority of the attendees at them.

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭SoundOfSilence

Yes really first post here - but I did also post similar under ATNs Instagram, Twitter and Facebook hoping for a return unless you’ve read that? This is genuinely somebody who had all their stuff stolen at the weekend and not just trying to damage ATNs reputation for no reason.

Hey nicnod someone commented on one of the atn posts on facebook that they found a females bag in a ditch at the campsite and were wondering where they could return it to. Sorry I'm only seeing this now. The post was a reply to one of the atn posts from monday gone. If u go thru the comments you might find the original post and poster.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 lustra

im from portlaw and met two men who were in a pretty terrible state after working at the site for over a week. they had to work 16 hour days with little food and they weren't payed in the end although promised they will be at a later date. I cannot support a festival that tolerates such exploitation of fellow human beings. They had no money and no idea where they were so I gave them a lift to Waterford so they could catch a bus to Dublin. Atn didn't give a f**k about them once they weren't needed anymore.

Puts what us patrons went through into perspective I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭BadTurtle

It's known as Marmite

I think its known as being a troll. You usually get the most moronic opinions from people who think mispronouncing a name is funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

lustra wrote: »
    im from portlaw and met two men who were in a pretty terrible state after working at the site for over a week. they had to work 16 hour days with little food and they weren't payed in the end although promised they will be at a later date. I cannot support a festival that tolerates such exploitation of fellow human beings. They had no money and no idea where they were so I gave them a lift to Waterford so they could catch a bus to Dublin. Atn didn't give a f**k about them once they weren't needed anymore.

Puts what us patrons went through into perspective I think.

What?
    With little food??

Hmmmm.....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

I just remembered I took a video of that light thing in the woods:
    https://streamable.com/ik23m