Why is Ireland so fond of drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭patmahe

Real answer - for years we couldn't face up to real problems, don't forget how repressed Ireland was up to its very recent past. We are still not good at looking after our mental health so lots of people self medicate to deal with everything from work stress to real deep seated trauma they have chosen to bury deep. Its a coping mechanism

Over time this has become socially acceptable as most people understand it on some level and its also fun at the time.

The weather doesn't help, I recently planned a weekend away and on one of the days it just lashed rain, ended up sat in a pub drinking pints because there was nothing better to do.

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

I'd say most people fall into the categories of dry ****es or raging alcos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

patmahe wrote: »
    Real answer - for years we couldn't face up to real problems, don't forget how repressed Ireland was up to its very recent past. We are still not good at looking after our mental health so lots of people self medicate to deal with everything from work stress to real deep seated trauma they have chosen to bury deep. Its a coping mechanism

Over time this has become socially acceptable as most people understand it on some level and its also fun at the time.

The weather doesn't help, I recently planned a weekend away and on one of the days it just lashed rain, ended up sat in a pub drinking pints because there was nothing better to do.

I think you are absolutely spot-on.

Alcohol disinhibits is enough to make us that extra bit sociable, the way we yearn to be by nature but feel that bit too shy to be a temperament. But this sort of thing, like all else, is influenced both by genes and opportunity. In Ireland it’s easier to be a drinker unless you are very self-confident in a social situation where everyone else has the benefit of being somewhat inebriated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

We make it.

Thought Australia was experiencing the winter as it's in the southern hemisphere?

Most of the Southern Hemisphere is too far north to have much of a winter. Southern Australia’s current winter temperature are in the double figures and the top third is in the tropics. Only in Melbourne would you need a winter coat, and not a heavy one at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    Cos it’s much more fun riding when locked
    Except when the bird is very sloppy and gone past the gagging for it stage and starts crying

I'd be more interested to see stats on drunkenness (should they actually exist) as opposed to consumption. I mean you can consume one beer with breakfast, one with lunch/dinner, and a third with your evening meal seven days per week and never once be drunk. A lot of people would do this in central Europe. That's 21 pints per week. On the other hand you can throw back all 21 in one go which is a lot messier, probably more dangerous, and a lot more likely to happen in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Nothing else to do and we're bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

I'm going straight to the pub now. Thanks for the idea, OP :D

Having seen what long term heavy drinking does to people, I'd say your liver and looks tell a different story.

Nah, I’m grand, get a check up every year, actually in good nick. My diet would be quite good and I keep myself very fit. For a drinker I would have a takeaway only very occasionally, maybe one weekday and once at the weekend. Go for a long walk every Saturday without fail, doesn’t matter about the weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Go on the few pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

My theory is that in a huge amount of locations around Ireland there is damn all else to do except go to the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭fmpisces

I blame this fella :D:D:D

XlO29bg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I don't think alcoholics are stigmatized so long as they are "white collar" workers. I don't here people complaining about businessmen being addicted to alcohol.

But then again, drug stigma has gotten worse over the last 50 years. Doctors are now afraid of prescribing anti-anxiety sleeping tablets than they were when they first came out.

Doctors in Ireland fret about prescribing anything stronger than paracetamol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Lots of emotional repression and a general lack of confidence.

It's a sight to behold on any given week end night.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Genetics.

The Chinese that great bunch of lads boiled water to kill germs and it lead to tea which we are also top ranking drinkers of.

We used alcohol to kill germs and build up a tolerance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Getting pissed is great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Ferajacka

I think it's easier to get than perscription drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

When I am on the floor after pissing in my pants and lying in my vomit I realise its time to go n the shorts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭dubdaymo

Simple. The majority of Irish are already alcoholics. Whatever they do or wherever they go there has got to be alcohol involved. They cannot do without it. Of course, they'll never accept they're alcoholics but denial is the first sign.

Their kids see all this and can't wait to become alcoholics themselves - and it is starting earlier and earlier each generation - and so the disease is perpetuated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

Alcoholism. The only disease that you have to spend money to "get".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

It's because alcohol is too cheap and it needs to cost more to get drunk.

/s

p.s. fück the vintners federation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭glomar

The problems around alcohol are hugely exaggerated anyway. I had nine pints last night, on top of two glasses of wine I had with the dinner. Would do that four or five days a week, sometimes have a few more on the weekends. Not a bit of harm has it done me. Drinking 20 years now.

doubtful for another 20 years though

dubdaymo wrote: »

Simple. The majority of Irish are already alcoholics. Whatever they do or wherever they go there has got to be alcohol involved. They cannot do without it. Of course, they'll never accept they're alcoholics but denial is the first sign.

Sure what’s the point in having an event without drink? Wouldn’t be any craic then really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

Sure what’s the point in having an event without drink? Wouldn’t be any craic then really.

I know a straight laced muslim lad who vowed never to drink or do drugs. He looked like he enjoyed parties in school and college until one day, he just let loose at one college party and took some ecstasy. Never felt more alive.

Been drinking and taking coke/ecstasy ever since unbeknownst to his parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

kneemos wrote: »
    It's not. A quarter of us are tee totallers.
    Most others have a few at the weekends.

A quarter of the population are children, therefore yes, a quarter of us are teetotalers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

In good weather we tend to drink more, no? Cans in the sun :cool:

If Irish people only drank in good weather we'd all be teetotalers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

A lot of pubs closed down, theres new cafe,s , coffee shops opening
    in dublin every month.
    We have more strict drink driving laws .
    i think alot of young people go to cafes, more often than they go for a pub.
    i don,t see anything fun about getting drunk.
    if you want to get drunk buy some cans and stay at home.
    Drink is cheap if you buy it in a supermarket .
    I don,t see any more new pubs opening in dublin .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

Helps people forgot all the raping, baby killing, religious abusing ,political scandals etc. Have few pints sure tis all grand , lovely bunch of people