Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread V3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭.G.

So got a bit pissed today at the Berlin beer festival and bought a 2080ti. Bloody beer

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

.G. wrote: »
    So got a bit pissed today at the Berlin beer festival and bought a 2080ti. Bloody beer

I've had expensive nights out but none that bad. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭deceit

I wonder would that excuse pass muster with the missus. I might have to start drinking more often and try it out :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭z0oT

Coyler wrote: »
    Ubuntu server currently. My box is headless most of the time so Linux just makes sense. It’s running 24/7 so I’m going to run that box as efficiently as I can. The i3 is so I can enable hardware acceleration in Plex. Think I pulled most of it out of a WEEE dumpster.

If I was planning an upgrade, and I am, unRIAD is your only option. You can virtualise any OS then and run any desktop on it’s own dedicated GPU. As I said in another comment, I’m planning on running 3 GPUs and my Plex box off the same CPU in the future.

Seeing as you just finished your cabling project, that another one for you to plan :)
    Indeed it could be another project! Reading up on unRAID, it seems very easy to setup. It seems you could do it with little to no Linux knowledge aswell which is impressive.

When I did a dummy trial of Debian 10 on my HTPC with a point of view of using it on my server, it took me a solid days work of command line usage via SSH.

It's tempting me to make the switch since I just like tinkering, plus I'd like to use a proper server OS. However I'd get an earful from my wife if she can't watch her TV series for a period of around a week for me to get the array(s) built, migrate the 15TB+ of media I have, navigate the learning curve and configure everything. :pac:

Speaking of cabling, I haven't quite finished everything unfortunately. I'm waiting on Surface Mount Cat6 Jacks that I ordered from Amazon. I went with the surface mounts as I've had to run cables along walls for most of the distance.

I hadn't realized the seller was based in China, so the shipping time would be 2 weeks+. At the moment, either end of all cables has a little roll of slack and is terminated into an RJ45 I crimped myself, not exactly ideal, but it'll do until I can make things neater.

deceit wrote:
    I wonder would that excuse pass muster with the missus. I might have to start drinking more often and try it out

I'll have to disguise the price! You weren't wrong about the media markt either, so micu stuff, just have to stay sway while drunk :D

So if you got it in media markt, partially my fault :D. I'm happy as always good to see more hardware bought :D. pic's when its in your rig as needed for the thread on here though :)

deceit wrote:
    So if you got it in media markt, partially my fault . I'm happy as always good to see more hardware bought . pic's when its in your rig as needed for the thread on here though

Yeah I'll defo blame you :D. Pics to follow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

z0oT wrote: »
    Indeed it could be another project! Reading up on unRAID, it seems very easy to setup. It seems you could do it with little to no Linux knowledge aswell which is impressive.

When I did a dummy trial of Debian 10 on my HTPC with a point of view of using it on my server, it took me a solid days work of command line usage via SSH.

It's tempting me to make the switch since I just like tinkering, plus I'd like to use a proper server OS. However I'd get an earful from my wife if she can't watch her TV series for a period of around a week for me to get the array(s) built, migrate the 15TB+ of media I have, navigate the learning curve and configure everything. :pac:

unRAID user here. Very happy with it. There are some quality of life things I feel it's missing* but overall it's fantastic. You've probably figured this bit out already, but I'd recommend a cache disk or two. Even if you're not running VMs, the speed bump for Docker containers (and even just file transfers) is pretty nice. Any questions, feel free.

*Mostly stuff with disks and VMs. Downsizing your disk count for example is a little on the manual side, as is backing up VDs.

Yeah I'll defo blame you :D. Pics to follow!
    Fireaway, I'm in north germany far away so I'm relatively safe :D :P

Serephucus wrote: »
    unRAID user here. Very happy with it. There are some quality of life things I feel it's missing* but overall it's fantastic. You've probably figured this bit out already, but I'd recommend a cache disk or two. Even if you're not running VMs, the speed bump for Docker containers (and even just file transfers) is pretty nice. Any questions, feel free.

*Mostly stuff with disks and VMs. Downsizing your disk count for example is a little on the manual side, as is backing up VDs.
    I always seem people mention unRAID on here about using it. What benefits would you find it has over a more enterprise solution such as esxi?
    With esxi being free I would have presumed it would do most if not all this does?

deceit wrote: »
    I always seem people mention unRAID on here about using it. What benefits would you find it has over a more enterprise solution such as esxi?
    With esxi being free I would have presumed it would do most if not all this does?

Yes, ESXi does a lot of what unRAID does, and yup, it's free.

But, ESXi is pretty awful in the storage department, certainly when talking about ease of use. It has vSAN, which is probably the most similar to what unRAID does for storage (still very different), but that's a separate, pretty expensive, license.

In terms of VMs, it's definitely more versatile: unRAID hasn't (yet) implemented any of the cool stuff with BTRFS (snapshots, replication, etc.) but it does the job. Where ESXi falls off a cliff is Docker. It has no Docker implementation. You'd need to spin up your own VM and use it for Docker if you wanted, and unRAID just makes it sooo easy.

I haven't really used ESXi in a single host environment though. My experience with it has always been through vCenter in a cluster config, and to be honest, that's where it's really powerful stuff comes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭z0oT

Serephucus wrote: »

Thanks! My loose plan was to have a 250gb or 1TB SSD as a cache disk.

I like the idea of getting the benifits of raid without being dependent on the motherboard. The real lure for me is the ability to take the drive out and use it in another machine easily.

At the minute I'm using Sync software to sync the contents of one drive into another. It works very well but the jbod plus parity implementation of unraid would allow more storage than the current method, the tradeoff being that it wouldn't be as robust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

So I really wanna know what your thought process was when you so saw 2080ti ? :pac::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Ultrflat wrote: »
    So I really wanna know what your thought process was when you so saw 2080ti ? :pac::confused:

"Sure it's only money, I could be dead tomorrow" is usually the thinking I arrive at when drunkenly making extravagant purchases.

The next day I pretend to be annoyed at myself but really I'm usually just delighted.

Exactly. What use is money if you can't get some satisfaction from it. You can't bring it with you is my motto.

Yeah that was pretty much it. Just looking at it and going will i, wont i, then just said feck it, it will last me years so why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,011 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Inviere wrote: »
    I've a fundamental disliking of wifi tbh, maybe it's because I've been a VM customer for many moons & their wifi tech is garbage, but it's usually always, reliably, shite whenever I use it on anything other than a phone. I'm a firm believer in hardwiring static devices like pc's, media players, consoles, etc.

I'm not saying use the ****ty equipment, I'm saying put the time and money into some decent equipment versus running crap tons of cables everywhere.

I ran a handful of cables two years ago, put a decent AC Access Point in the kitchen and landing ceilings. There is usually around 15-20 devices on the network and its never given any problems. And it wouldn't really, a decent 2x2 Mimo or above AC AP is more then enough for a standard home.

Longest of longshots, but:

Anyone have an X399 board they're not using?

Seems mine has a couple of bad RAM slots, and I can't really afford the downtime as it's my server board. I assume no-one does, so I'll probably just order a new one to keep me going and sell the old one when it comes back.

Home now, install it later but I don't appear to have been given any codes for the 2 free games Nvidia are giving away with their cards. Would that be a retailer thing or Nvidia themselves?

Looking at all the UK sites and they all mention it but the German ones don't yet its on the Nvidia.de website.

Actually nevermind, I see its done via Geforce experience when the card is installed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,985 ✭✭✭Inviere

I'm not saying use the ****ty equipment, I'm saying put the time and money into some decent equipment versus running crap tons of cables everywhere.

I ran a handful of cables two years ago, put a decent AC Access Point in the kitchen and landing ceilings. There is usually around 15-20 devices on the network and its never given any problems. And it wouldn't really, a decent 2x2 Mimo or above AC AP is more then enough for a standard home.

Ah I won't be running tons of cables really, I'd say x4 cables coming from a switch in the living room will go through kitchen behind the presses, two will exit in the bedroom adjacent to the kitchen, x2 will carry on, x1 will exit in the next bedroom, and x1 will continue on through into the 'server room'. It'll be a neat job.

I might invest the time and energy into researching a proper wifi solution at some point, but for now, given I'm already dropping close to 2k on an Unraid server build, I think a few cables will work a treat.

Actually nevermind, I see its done via Geforce experience when the card is installed.

Card is installed, picture links won't embed on the thread for some reason and I haven't been offered any free games in Geforce experience so bad evening!:)

No free games for me, turns out two of biggest retailers in Germany aren't participating in the promotion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

I just found an old Socket 939 system in a cleanup of the house. Is there any point keeping it? I'd imagine a raspberry pi probably has more processing power than it at this stage but is there any use for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,969 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

farna_boy wrote: »
    I just found an old Socket 939 system in a cleanup of the house. Is there any point keeping it? I'd imagine a raspberry pi probably has more processing power than it at this stage but is there any use for it?

Not much point, it's 15 years old.
    Mount it in a frame!

Lads, what might a GTX 970 be worth these days? It's this one https://www.gigabyte.com/Graphics-Card/GV-N970WF3OC-4GD-rev-10-11#ov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Lads, what might a GTX 970 be worth these days? It's this one https://www.gigabyte.com/Graphics-Card/GV-N970WF3OC-4GD-rev-10-11#ov

80-100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,011 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Or go to adverts and look for RRP +20%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Looks like these displays are finally hitting the market https://mightygadget.co.uk/asus-rog-strix-xg438q-4k-120hz-monitor-launches-in-august/

I only bought the Alienware AW3418DW a couple months ago, I wonder how much I could sell it for?