Adultery

• 02-08-2019 02:18PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

Seems to happen on the telly soaps and dramas quite a bit.

Does it happen much in real life?

I don't know of it occurring with anybody I know.

Can't imagine anyone I know being arsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Happens all the time.
    Some find out. Some don't. I've lost count home many times i've heard of people i've known that have gotten cheated on. Stuff like this is kept close to the chest unless it gets exposed.

And with the advent of online dating it's even easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,513 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

All my homies I grew up with apart from one I can think of have cheated on their wives at some stage. Sad but true. I've never been married but would like to think I'd never do it, dealing with one partner is hard enough work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,760 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

You didn't just try for it with the lady in your neighbouring apartment did you?

She's not arsed anyway.

Go easy on the booze btw, it's only lunchtime on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

You didn't just try for it with the lady in your neighbouring apartment did you?

She's not arsed anyway.

No not posting out of guilt or anything. :)

Just see so much on dramas and I asked my wife did anyone we know do this - she would;ld the one one people tell - and she said no.

Like Thelonius Monk says above a lot of work in a proper relationship as it is - I can't see how people have the time. I give any thought to a "who" or a "how" and get tired after a minute or so and think what is the point. :P

I assume most marriages have had incidents of infidelity, whether one-offs or longer term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Probably more common than one would think.
    I used work in a bar and on the door.
    Ive seen people I knew to be married, go off with other people.

I assume most marriages have had incidents of infidelity, whether one-offs or longer term.

Based on what?

Not saying you are wrong - I mean are you basing it on marriages you know?

All my homies I grew up with apart from one I can think of have cheated on their wives at some stage. Sad but true. I've never been married but would like to think I'd never do it, dealing with one partner is hard enough work.

Your Face wrote: »
    Probably more common than one would think.
    I used work in a bar and on the door.
    Ive seen people I knew to be married, go off with other people.

That is depressing.

I cannot see it as being anything but seedy and creepy.

Based on what?

Not saying you are wrong - I mean are you basing it on marriages you know?

Based on experience. Not going to say too much because this is more personal than most topics, and sometimes people might know us in real life without our knowing -- but either the people close to me are particularly whoreish or it's very very common.

Over the course of 40+ years of marriage? Ah there's something there, in most cases. I have cheated a number of times in unimportant realtionships. I can't imagine going all my life and NOT stumbling into the wrong bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

There is a thread on cheating.
    Bottom line - a dose of "the horn" is a terrible cross to bear ...

You mean a thread where people talk about having cheated?

I think I would no problem living with it and keeping quiet about it if I did it.

Jus can't see it being fun and not seedy.

I have put a lot of work into my relationship with my wife. Don't see the point of poking around elsewhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

It happens all the time.

Broadsand wrote: »
    Do you ever wonder if your wife is the one for you if it's such work maintaining the relationship, why not seek out relationships which don't require work?

No.

And if you don't think a relationship requires work then you are in for a shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

A lot of people I know.

Strange though. I have a few 'sets' of friends or different social groups. It only happens in one.

A lot of people I know.

Strange though. I have a few 'sets' of friends or different social groups. It only happens in one.

What set is it? If you don't mind being asked?

Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

There are obviously different dynamics at play when defining "cheating". For me there's a world of difference between someone who cheats on their partner through snogging some randomer when they're out of their minds drunk. You might forgive something like that so long as it was a once off because people do stupid things when drunk. The difference is that they never had intentions of cheating and if they are genuine they would cringe at their behaviour and never do it again even it they weren’t found out. They however pale in comparison to the cnutish sociopaths who deliberately seek out affairs and happily not only get themselves off but also get off on both making a fool of their partners and the thrill of being illicit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

bluewolf wrote: »
    Jaysus

I have been away with the lads on trips abroad etc. Stag do's, golf trips the works.

The married lads are the worst.

The same for birds. I have had my way with English women coming over here to Temple Bar with pals for a weekend. No way are they single.

Affairs can be messy, but they are happening as we speak, as I write, there are couples ripping the clothes off each other, or in a dead rush to the Green Isle Hotel for a quicky before going home to the wife or husband for the weekend.

What set is it? If you don't mind being asked?
    The hippy set and the eh ...never mind set.

valoren wrote: »
    There are obviously different dynamics at play when defining "cheating". For me there's a world of difference between someone who cheats on their partner through snogging some randomer when they're out of their minds drunk. You might forgive something like that so long as it was a once off because people do stupid things when drunk. The difference is that they never had intentions of cheating and if they are genuine they would cringe at their behaviour and never do it again even it they weren’t found out. They however pale in comparison to the cnutish sociopaths who deliberately seek out affairs and happily not only get themselves off but also get off on both making a fool of their partners and the thrill of being illicit.

It was the latter that I meant - getting themselves off or for the sake of it - and I was thinking thinking of a drunken snog. I actually do know a guy who did that and he suffered for it :)

The hippy set and the eh ...never mind set.

You actual hippies?

Who are the never mind set? Are you saying "never mind" because you are not going to tell or is it a new modern thing I don't know about?

Sorry I get very lost without my kids to translate for me :p

Sometimes I feel like every day is the honeymoon again - not because it is romantic - it was Jamaica and I didn't understand anything people where saying :confused:

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

She's not arsed anyway.

Yeah and maybe dial back on that sweet sweet tobacco smell and don't mention the dog please.

You actual hippies?

Who are the never mind set? Are you saying "never mind" because you are not going to tell or is it a new modern thing I don't know about?

Sorry I get very lost without my kids to translate for me :p

Sometimes I feel like every day is the honeymoon again - not because it is romantic - it was Jamaica and I didn't understand anything people where saying :confused:

:p
    Hippyish Hippy enough

Never mind ....new modern clique.

tipptom wrote: »
    Yeah and maybe dial back on that sweet sweet tobacco smell and don't mention the dog please.

Okay I know that sweet tobacco is drugs but what is "the dog"?

Is it penis?

Hippyish Hippy enough

Never mind ....new modern clique.

I've only just started to understand what hipsters are.

Feck sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,477 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Okay I know that sweet tobacco is drugs but what is "the dog"?

Is it penis?

No, it's an actual dog. A puppy, if I remember correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭kikilarue2

RMAOK wrote: »

Yup, six months.

I've only just started to understand what hipsters are.

Feck sake.
    If you want to annoy a hipster call them hippies. :D

RMAOK wrote: »

What has that to do adultery?:confused: