Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Honesty' water - do you pay?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

By all means, rip off the bastards who charge €2 or more for the same bottle of water because our overlords have decided that bringing your own bottle through customs IST VERBOTEN.

But please drop the €1 for the one company that charges you a somewhat normal amount.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,933 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Should just be more water fountains. Big lack of them imo, and charging points. Everyone should have their own water bottle to fill up then. I always bring one through as there's always at least one place to fill it up. Some cities even have water fountains you can fill it up so even more savings for you and the environment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

I'm assuming if people can afford the price of a flight and the cost they'll incur upon reaching their destination i'm sure a paltry €1 should not be an issue.

Greed is a horrible trait in a person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Murt10 wrote: »
    Why on earth would I clear the table, and bring the left overs to the bin, after I have finished a meal. I don't work there. Maybe you'd like me to go into the kitchen and russell up a meal, while I'm there. Maybe, I'll also stick a brush up my arse so that I can sweep the floor as I walk about.

Stop deceiving yourself - you won't just help clear the table and tidy up a little because you're lazy.

I've heard the same excuse used by scum and that is the correct word, for people who toss their rubbish on the roadside on the basis that this creates a job for someone to clear up after them. Quite likely you don't do that, but it's the same logic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

titan18 wrote: »
    Should just be more water fountains. Big lack of them imo, and charging points. Everyone should have their own water bottle to fill up then. I always bring one through as there's always at least one place to fill it up. Some cities even have water fountains you can fill it up so even more savings for you and the environment.

Yeah, bring a refillable bottle and use one of the 15 water fountains in T1 & T2... the locations could be better flagged though.

https://www.dublinairport.com/latest-news/2019/05/31/dublin-airport's-hydration-stations-take-off

hydration-station_location_map_dublin_airport.jpg?sfvrsn=5a0577d9_4

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,298 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Stop deceiving yourself - you won't just help clear the table and tidy up a little because you're lazy.

I've heard the same excuse used by scum and that is the correct word, for people who toss their rubbish on the roadside on the basis that this creates a job for someone to clear up after them. Quite likely you don't do that, but it's the same logic.

Haha scum is a slight over reaction.
    Noone has yet told me why we do this in McDonalds and not in our local restaurant.
    Is it to ensure McDonalds earn more by needing less staff?
    I would note that McDonalds don't ask people to clean their tables (but I am sure they are delighted that people do).

Or do we respect corporates more than small self employed individuals?

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Haha scum is a slight over reaction.
    Noone has yet told me why we do this in McDonalds and not in our local restaurant.
    Is it to ensure McDonalds earn more by needing less staff?
    I would note that McDonalds don't ask people to clean their tables (but I am sure they are delighted that people do).

Or do we respect corporates more than small self employed individuals?

Your hardly going to walk in to the kitchen of your local restuarant and stick a pair of mari golds on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Hammer89 wrote: »
    It's not his parents' fault. That's what I'm getting at.

of course it is
    they raised a child with no integrity , who not only takes the work/services of another without paying but then boasts about it.

They have done a terrible job , probably because they are terrible people themselves . hopefully his GF sees through him before he propagates this terrible lineage.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,298 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Your hardly going to walk in to the kitchen of your local restuarant and stick a pair of mari golds on.

You could place the dishes on the service counter so the person doesn't have to come to your table. You could also remove any tissues etc and bring them to a bin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭Yester

of course it is
    they raised a child with no integrity , who not only takes the work/services of another without paying but then boasts about it.

They have done a terrible job , probably because they are terrible people themselves . hopefully his GF sees through him before he propagates this terrible lineage.

So, it would be like going back in time and shooting Hitler?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

I've a colleague at work that uses a medium coffee cup and fills it with a large coffee, it fits. Then pays for a medium.

Dick.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    I've a colleague at work that uses a medium coffee cup and fills it with a large coffee, it fits. Then pays for a medium.

Dick.

Sounds more like a hack

But what kind of company this day and age doesn't offer free tea or coffee for staff

• Registered Users Posts: 868 ✭✭✭carq

I pay 10c or so.

I am getting gouged on all form of taxes etc in life i like to even the scales where i can.
    And i take my tray to the bin .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

FTA69 wrote: »
    Some amount of crybabies and whingers in this thread. I grabbed four of them the last time I was there, oh boo hoo for Dublin Airport and Ballygowan or whoever it is.

Crybabies? That’s an odd choice of word. I can’t see how it fits the topic at all. Actually, “whingers” doesn’t make much sense either. Pointing out cheapskatery means people are crybabies? Or whingers? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭tjhook

I’m not paying. Between airport charges and car parking theft they get enough from me. If they expected people to pay they wouldn’t put them out like that either.

Calling non payers thieves is a bit ridiculous too btw.

I don't look down on many people but here's one.

The "€1 water" is a convenience. It's cheaper than the shops after airport security, and no queuing. If muppets like these abuse it, it won't last long.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

carq wrote: »
    I pay 10c or so.

I am getting gouged on all form of taxes etc in life i like to even the scales where i can.
    And i take my tray to the bin .

I guarantee you get more in services than you pay in taxes , but even so the guy selling the water is not the guy getting your income tax.
    pay your own way and stop expecting the rest of us to subsidise you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

of course it is

If I was a father I'd be more proud of someone like him than you because taking aim at someone's parents for their son paying €0.01 for a bottle of €1 water is so much more shameful and horrible than the act itself. The hypocrisy is nuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

If I was a father I'd be more proud of someone like him than you because taking aim at someone's parents for their son paying €0.01 for a bottle of €1 water is so much more shameful and horrible than the act itself. The hypocrisy is nuts.

This truly is the thread where overkill lives.

Didn't pay for a water?????? Hang him!

This truly is the thread where overkill lives.

Didn't pay for a water?????? Hang him!

Not him, the parents! They're to blame.

Seriously, what a ****ing dick thing to say. For all these people know the OP might've lost one of his parents recently or in general and now there's a complete stranger on the internet questioning their success as parents on the basis that he nicked a bottle of water. It's beyond stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Schnooks

Not him, the parents! They're to blame.

Seriously, what a ****ing dick thing to say. For all these people know the OP might've lost one of his parents recently or in general and now there's a complete stranger on the internet questioning their success as parents on the basis that he nicked a bottle of water. It's beyond stupid.

Oh pipe down petal. All I said was that it's a sign of bad rearing to me, who happens to be a middle aged cranky man. Don't go making it all "their parent might have died recently".

• Registered Users Posts: 14,359 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Can't decide whether the OP is taking the water or the piss.

• Registered Users Posts: 868 ✭✭✭carq

I guarantee you get more in services than you pay in taxes , but even so the guy selling the water is not the guy getting your income tax.
    pay your own way and stop expecting the rest of us to subsidise you.

I guarantee you I dont!
    i pay my way plenty so when life give you watered down lemonade - DRINK!

Schnooks wrote: »
    Oh pipe down petal. All I said was that it's a sign of bad rearing to me, who happens to be a middle aged cranky man. Don't go making it all "their parent might have died recently".

In your day bottled water probably did cost 1p so you can relate to paying what OP did.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

Getting ripped off left, right and center in this country, and then paying for water voluntarily.

Gerrup the feck out of it!

Whatever change is in my pocket, yeah fine. No change? My thanks go out to the suckers for balancing it out for me :p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

I work at the airport. We're currently investigating this along with Boards.ie to track your IP address and have you arrested soon.

We won't tolerate criminals like you OP!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

tjhook wrote: »
    I don't look down on many people but here's one.

The "€1 water" is a convenience. It's cheaper than the shops after airport security, and no queuing. If muppets like these abuse it, it won't last long.

Ah lads what a bunch of super squares ye are.

I reckon its an 'honesty' thing for a reason. Probably cheaper than hiring someone with a stall to sell them proper. They know they can rely on the squares.

It's always the dickheads who make their excuses for stealing, which is exactly what it is, then make out that the rest of us are the ones with a problem.

Arseholes.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I know scum of the earth they are. Jehovah!

What is your problem anyway? Do you think they'd put them out on shelves for people to take on 'honesty' if they didn't exactly know what they were doing?

Fkn super squares...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    At what standard of restaurant does this stop?

KFC - Bring to bins?
    Eddie Rockets - would you bring all the stuff to the counter?
    TGI Friday? Is there anywhere to leave the dishes?
    Rolys Bistro Refuse to allow waiters to clear your table?

Funnily enough I have never seen a notice up in any restaurant outside of a work canteen asking people to clear their table. Now I rarely do fast food but pop into KFC the odd time and the place seems adequately staffed to manage the few customers that are there. More so than the average restaurant where waiters are often rushed off their feet.

If they provide facilities for you to dump your stuff like they do at most fast food restaurants - then I'll bring my stuff there and leave the tray in the place designed for the tray to be left.

If it's a table service restaurant like eddie rockets, where people also eat at the counter and there is no specific place for me to leave the stuff, then it is pointless bringing it anywhere.

If I clean up my stuff when I'm leaving people can use the space I vacated more quickly.

It's pretty self explanatory I would think - if they didn't want us cleaning up after ourselves to some degree in these places, they wouldn't have very obvious massive bins and tray stacks there for us to dump our stuff, many times on a route from the seats to the exit of the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Amazing reading some of these comments. Some people really lack civility and common sense. The “mé féin” is strong in some.