Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things that grind my gears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

Lads taking 10 steps when in on goal. Whatever happened to 4 steps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Fans leaving their seats from the 29th minute on when when there are at least 6 mins left and normally 10. Sit the fcuk down clownheads.
    If you think it is bad at GAA games take a trip to the Aviva for a rugby match. FFS they spend more time drawing up trays of pints and going to the toilet than watching the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

thegills wrote: »
    Lads taking 10 steps when in on goal. Whatever happened to 4 steps?
    So many referees ignore this especially in hurling and then it ends up Goal of the Year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭rpurfield

John Horan getting near a mic or a journalist's tape recorder (or whatever they use now).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Listening to pundit trapse out the same lame cliches to dirty play, laying down a marker, not going to be turned over, not going to be bullied etc. It BS of the highest order and generally defending one of thier own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

I was at the hurling double header on sunday

I found it annoying when laois and tipp fans were arriving during the cork KK match,

they should wait for a break in play or half time,

caused chaos with fans looking for seats and seated fans trying to watch the game,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Edgware wrote: »
    If you think it is bad at GAA games take a trip to the Aviva for a rugby match. FFS they spend more time drawing up trays of pints and going to the toilet than watching the match

I like a pint and especially in the stadium before or at HT but this would drive me soft. I think the IRFU cant do anything until the catering/bar contracts are up. Hope it never comes into Croker. I go to a lot of Ireland games and you dont even notice the absence of drink, no issue at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

ArielAtom wrote: »
    Listening to pundit trapse out the same lame cliches to dirty play, laying down a marker, not going to be turned over, not going to be bullied etc. It BS of the highest order and generally defending one of thier own.

Lad hits other lad with sledgehammer in WWE style assault...

"They are showing that they are not going to be bullied this year"

If said team wins then all narratives will be about how they laid down a marker while if they lose then it will be about how they were out of control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

The 'music' in Croke park on matchday, deafening. What is the point of it? Is it supposed to add to the occasion? It has the opposite effect on me. As soon as tne minor was over on Sunday, the ape at the controls let rip on full volume. Disrespectful, arrogant, ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

citykat wrote: »
    The 'music' in Croke park on matchday, deafening. What is the point of it? Is it supposed to add to the occasion? It has the opposite effect on me. As soon as tne minor was over on Sunday, the ape at the controls let rip on full volume. Disrespectful, arrogant, ignorant.

It is truly an abomination. If someone wants to listen to loud music then they can pop in their ear phones.

I suspect that it is a device to get people to go to the bars and concessions between games, and clear out quickly as soon as games are over. Even the celebrations at the end of finals are marred by this antisocial cr@p.

Who wants to hear a recording of The Rose of Mooncoin, or The Boys are Back in Town at the end of a match so they can't savour the occasion naturally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

It is amazing how quickly croke park clears put after a final
    Have they all a train to catch?
    The majority of people at an AI final aren't from the two counties playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Bonniedog wrote: »
    It is truly an abomination. If someone wants to listen to loud music then they can pop in their ear phones.

I suspect that it is a device to get people to go to the bars and concessions between games, and clear out quickly as soon as games are over. Even the celebrations at the end of finals are marred by this antisocial cr@p.

Who wants to hear a recording of The Rose of Mooncoin, or The Boys are Back in Town at the end of a match so they can't savour the occasion naturally?

When Limerick won the AI, I loved hearing the cranberries being belted out. I felt that added to the occasion in that instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,804 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

All these convoluted structures trying to appease everybody.

Keep it simple - Div 1 and Div 2 teams go to a senior all Ireland and Div 3 and Div 4 go into an intermediate all ireland. Both of these would have 4 seeded round robin groups of 4, with knockout after. Provincial championship to be run as a straight knockout alongside the all Ireland as a separate competition.

At the start of the year every team is involved in 3 competitions - league, province and the AI competition for their grade. Every team has something to play for and are guaranteed 3 championship games at a minimum and a shot at their provincial trophy too. Smaller teams have a shot at an all Ireland, but not in a scenario of "maybe if we get knocked out of the province then we might go to a secondary competition, unless we get to the provincial final" crap.

It would be a proper level playing field (none of the imbalance of a teams journey through a tough province or backdoor route) and teams could set out clear goals for the year, knowing exactly what they need to do and who they need to beat.

The current system is mad, imagine playing for a mid level team - at the start of the year you don't know whether you are preparing for 2 games, 5 games, 8 games in the upcoming season depending on how you do in the province, backdoor or super 8s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Tickets for the all Ireland finals going to all the clubs around the country
    They should go to the clubs in the counties that are represented that day, if Louth and Antrim were in an all Ireland final their clubs should get the tickets any remaining can be offered elsewhere

When Limerick won the AI, I loved hearing the cranberries being belted out. I felt that added to the occasion in that instance.

As a Galway person, do you mean that in a masochistic way?

That would be understandable, I suppose :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,202 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

"Shure lookit...." followed by the most bog-standard of analysis. Urusla Jacob is particularly fond of that phrase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

Refs giving 2 yellow cards when there is clearly an instigator and a guy defending himself.

So many of the top forwards have fallen foul to this over the years as their man has just started a row off the ball- see Connolly, donaghy and loads more.

It seems to form about 70% of lee Keegan planning for when he is marking someone

These days its often the forward instigating it as a yellow card for his marker is alot more dangerous than one for himself.

Particularly if Cillian O Connor is involved:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,050 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

The length of time to get to take frees in the last few minutes.
    Some players are guilty of this the whole time but if most leading teams get a free near the end, it completely kills the flow of the game.

Is particularly annoying if the player has exagerrated contact to win it, then claims to be injured, then it takes up to a minute to kick it.

Infuriating. Final thing to push me over the edge is injured player recovering rapidly to sprint 50 yards to cut down the kick out.

The black card rule, or how the rule is worded and applied.

If you give someone a little nudge after passing the ball in the middle of the field you get a black card(like john heslins), yet attempt to decapitate someone running through on goal you get a yellow card.

One girl singing, unaccompanied, a slowed down version of the national anthem.
    Very uninspiring

The length of time to get take trees in the last few minutes.
    Some players are guilty of this the whole time but if most leading teams get a free near the end, it completely kills the flow of the game.

Is particularly annoying if the player has exagerrated contact to win it, then claims to be injured, then it takes up to a minute to kick it.

Infuriating. Final thing to push me over the edge is injured player recovering rapidly to sprint 50 yards to cut down the kick out.

Not to mention refs taking a minute to book a player,when said player is trying to waste time and pretending to be surprised just to waste a bit longer.

Just flash the card and write down the number. You dont have to give a long winded explanation of every card to show what a great ref you are.

harpsman wrote: »
    One girl singing, unaccompanied, a slowed down version of the national anthem.
    Very uninspiring

Another one!

The county secretary's niece doing an audition for Stars in their Eyes singing a Kazakh phonetic translation:

"Shove lift cunning all round the beam."

It's dreadful embarrassing insult. No wonder players pick their noses and bottoms during it before breaking away to perform star jumps before it ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

I like a pint and especially in the stadium before or at HT but this would drive me soft. I think the IRFU cant do anything until the catering/bar contracts are up. Hope it never comes into Croker. I go to a lot of Ireland games and you dont even notice the absence of drink, no issue at all

Agree totally,

I like a Pint before the game and after but im never too pushed about drinking when the match is on for a few reasons:

1) I d be only dying for a piss during the game if i was on the pints

2) paying 5/6euro for some watery piss heineken :D no thanks

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Agree totally,

I like a Pint before the game and after but im never too pushed about drinking when the match is on for a few reasons:

1) I d be only dying for a piss during the game if i was on the pints

2) paying 5/6euro for some watery piss heineken :D no thanks

The lager is actually Carlsberg and its not too bad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

harpsman wrote: »
    These days its often the forward instigating it as a yellow card for his marker is alot more dangerous than one for himself.

Particularly if Cillian O Connor is involved:)

I'll not disagree on that particular individual.

Refs giving 2 yellow cards when there is clearly an instigator and a guy defending himself.

So many of the top forwards have fallen foul to this over the years as their man has just started a row off the ball- see Connolly, donaghy and loads more.

It seems to form about 70% of lee Keegan planning for when he is marking someone

Same as, drives me nuts. Someone started it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Tickets for the all Ireland finals going to all the clubs around the country
    They should go to the clubs in the counties that are represented that day, if Louth and Antrim were in an all Ireland final their clubs should get the tickets any remaining can be offered elsewhere

This is a difficult one.

I have a season ticket and get an All-Ireland ticket if Dublin get there. A friend who comes to nearly every game with me doesn't get one because he was too late for the season tickets and no new Dublin ones have been issued for the last six years. Should he get a ticket if Dublin get there?

Then, I was talking to a voluntary mentor from another Dublin club, and he was telling me that his club raffle their allocation among the voluntary mentors. Those lads (and lassies) give up their time twice a week year in year out on a voluntary basis for the club and never really get the chance to go to matches as a result. Sounded fair that they should get a chance for an All-Ireland, even if it isn't their team?

There are pros and cons to every method of ticket allocation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

The Guinness in Croke Park is awful.

Slattsy wrote: »

Not surprised the way they pull it, i wouldn't touch it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Slattsy wrote: »

Not surprised the way they pull it, i wouldn't touch it
    And they're pulling it into a plastic glass. Might as well scoop some water straight out of the jacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

The constant fouling that is ignored in hurling to "let the game flow" and the relentless criticism of referees who apply the rules in hurling.