Ana Kriegel - Boys A & B found guilty [Mod: Do NOT post identifying information]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

1. The Garda investigators thought he was guilty and recommended he be charged.
    2. The DPP agreed having read the details.
    3. The jury agreed he was guilty having listened to the evidence presented.

He’s guilty.

Yes

Monumental wrote: »
    This is getting a bit tiresome now ,boy B''s father had enough time to come to terms that his son was involved in Ana's gruesome murder His outburst in court was unacceptable Dont know if boy B knew the final outcome ,but he was there ,saw the horrific murder ,perhaps he was part of it felt no need to let anyone know this poor girl was lying dead in an abondened house ,knowing her parents were lng for her He then went home and continued his life as normal Nothing normal about this

Well there are certainly many flaws to your argument but it doesn't matter, I don't want to debate this terrible murder, the majority of the evidence isn't available to the general public ie. The recordings of the interview.

Yes Boy B is guilty and yes I agree he's guilty.

Yes Boy B's father outburst was unacceptable but in my opinion there is no way we can connect that outburst and Boy B being a murderer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Sawduck wrote: »
    Wait are people actually trying to defend you little murders/rapists, seriously come on people we all know these two disgusting rodents deserve the death penalty
    Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Monumental

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Well there are certainly many flaws to your argument but it doesn't matter, I don't want to debate this terrible murder, the majority of the evidence isn't available to the general public ie. The recordings of the interview.

Yes Boy B is guilty and yes I agree he's guilty.

Yes Boy B's father outburst was unacceptable but in my opinion there is no way we can connect that outburst and Boy B being a murderer.

Please point out the flaws ,Have never had to try get my head around a murder like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭mrjoneill

Faugheen wrote: »
    Anything you say in open court is noted. His comments are on the public record and were directed at the judicial system.

I understand he might be upset, but he saw everything his son did and he still had a pop at the Gardai while they were comforting two people whose daughter was brutally killed.

Your insistence to argue against anything in this case is baffling, to be perfectly honest. It's almost like you believe that Boy B didn't do it.
    He said it was when the court was not in session therefore does not come under the contempt of court, what he said comes under the public order acts if the Gardai wish to pursue it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Hardly fair to judge Boy B by his father's outburst. The lawyer probably thought he could get off so it was a big shock to the father. Now I agree with the verdict but there's no way to know that Boy B knew Boy A was going to kill her with the evidence given, if he didn't lie so much he'd have most likely been Scot free.
    McCrack wrote: »
    Where does one begin with posts like this..
    I think Oranage2 meant (and said) that there was no evidence to prove anything on Boy B. The first sentence was a separate point.
    I agree with that (there was no physical evidence).

It's also hard to know where to start explaining any belief of what happened, as that's all it is. Guessing.
    But going by the evidence we are privy to (in a nutshell so missing a bit).
    Boy B was only caught (imo) because he was brought in to make a statement before he believed he was a suspect. At the time he still believed he was only 'helping' the Gardaí locate her.
    Facts:
    - by filling them with lies.
    When Ana was found, Boy B's statement was reviewed along with cctv footage, and he had to lie again to explain why the cctv and his statement didn't match up. And then the lies continued (for over 16 hours of statements).

After many different statements (some of which have been published), One is of Boy B admitting that he was in the house and watched Boy A attack her.
    His (I think) final statement says he ran away after watching Boy A flip her over and take off her top, because he was afraid.
    “At first, I walked around but then I went back to the carpet area and I saw him flip her and start to choke her. When I saw that, I instantly knew what was happening and I was just shook. I didn’t know what to do.
    “She was starting to cry a bit, she kept, like, saying ‘no, no don’t do this’ then Boy A started taking off her clothes but I left before he got to take off the bra.”
    He later added: “So as Boy A was taking off her clothes – he looked at the door where I was standing and I sprinted away.” He described the incident to gardaí as “horrifying”.
    Boy B walked home and stopped off at the park rangers hut to get a drink of water. (according to himself, witnesses and cctv) .
    Once home he finished his homework and went upstairs to watch Anime on his TV in his bedroom.
    The Gardaí called to his house that night (looking for Ana) and he was surprised to see them, but still calm. And never mentioned Boy A, the house or anything that he had seen.

A year later - and even though a lot of what he said did not match up, the father knew at the very least, his son had called into Ana's house, convinced her to come out, thought she was a weirdo and not somebody he liked, walked with her for 3km to bring her to an abandoned house and watched his friend whom he brought her to meet, beat her and strip her to her underwear.

Boy B then says he ran away 'sprinting'.
    He cannot account for 35 minutes from when he ran away to when turns up again on cctv walking.

I am not blaming the parents, nor have I, for this heinous crime, but I do believe that Boy B's father is either not the brightest individual and that is why he erupted in court.
    Or
    He is just (putting it mildly) an inconsiderate ****ing idiot that is aware of everything that has happened and what Ana's parents have been through for a year (and will continue to go through for the rest of their lives), but still thought that was the best time to shout out - Because lets be honest, if he isn't stupid, he must have been able to see that his son had a hand in her death.
    Albeit without any physical proof that he physically had a hand.
    The father chose to believe everything his son said, and I can't blame him for that, but do think that there is a point when you have to stop believing, and murder would definitely be after that point.

Boy B claims to have watched Boy A strip her by pulling her top off over her head, but it was ripped off her.

Impossible to put bullet points in a nutshell, as I found out when I tried. There are tons of articles and each one gives a little bit of evidence/statements that were seen and heard in court that aren't in other publications.

Boy B's synopsis
    https://www.thejournal.ie/who-is-boy-b-ana-kriegel-murder-trial-4657833-Jun2019/

McCrack wrote: »
    Where does one begin with posts like this..

I apologize not everyone has the same narrow point of view as yourself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

Don't apologise, just don't post moronic and contradictory posts

Just hope that justice is done today in court. RIP Ana.

I'm hoping because her mam and dad are kind of friends of the local councillor , this will compound matters and see justice is really handed out with vigour and extreme prejudice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

rusty cole wrote: »
    I'm hoping because her mam and dad are kind of friends of the local councillor , this will compound matters and see justice is really handed out with vigour and extreme prejudice.

Beyond idiotic post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,458 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

So you are hoping that the judge will be influenced by political pressure? You would actually like to live in a country where that happens?

According to RTE news, sentencing will likely be adjourned today as it's unlikely all the professional reports the judge requires will have been completed yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,650 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Well holy God ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Sardonicat wrote: »
    So you are hoping that the judge will be influenced by political pressure? You would actually like to live in a country where that happens?

According to RTE news, sentencing will likely be adjourned today as it's unlikely all the professional reports the judge requires will have been completed yet.

Adjourned to October 29th

https://twitter.com/Orlaodo/status/1150710709262721028

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Ana Kriegel trial: Sentencing of schoolgirl's murderers adjourned until October

Good news. Hope everything is examined at length.

I thanked this post by mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

1. The Garda investigators thought he was guilty and recommended he be charged.
    2. The DPP agreed having read the details.
    3. The jury agreed he was guilty having listened to the evidence presented.

He’s guilty.

Playing Devils advocate here but...

You're essentially implying that every person that has been convicted in a court of law is guilty.....you don't need me to tell you that mistakes have been made and innocent people sent to prison.

Again I'm not saying Boy B is innocent, just pointing out that I don't think your logic holds up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 corpusvile

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Playing Devils advocate here but...

You're essentially implying that every person that has been convicted in a court of law is guilty.....you don't need me to tell you that mistakes have been made and innocent people sent to prison.

Again I'm not saying Boy B is innocent, just pointing out that I don't think your logic holds up

With respect your logic appears to be that a possible wrongful conviction may have occurred because wrongful convictions have occurred. Plenty of guilty people have been sent to prison too, the vast majority of those convicted actually.

And I think the other poster may well have meant that the jury found him guilty but had far more access to the evidence & overall context of the case so are in a better position to make such a call.

Suckler wrote: »
    Beyond idiotic post.

NO NO NO, not in that way!! FFS

I mean you often read that because the victim is a normal person like ourselves, the judge went softly. Like the old adage, if she was a FF councilors daughter, they'd be hung!! and thus and such

So what I mean Is because her folks are friends with someone of this persuasion, this will be less likely.. if that makes sense.. Not I hope the local crony rings up and executes said parish pump policy to get a death penalty..

c'mon now, yiz know I didn't mean that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

corpusvile wrote: »
    With respect your logic appears to be that a possible wrongful conviction may have occurred because wrongful convictions have occurred. Plenty of guilty people have been sent to prison too, the vast majority of those convicted actually.

And I think the other poster may well have meant that the jury found him guilty but had far more access to the evidence & overall context of the case so are in a better position to make such a call.

We yes, I am implying that it is possible for wrongful convictions to occur. I mean that is just fact. I am not implying that it is applicable to this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭forumdedum

splinter65 wrote: »
    Ana Kriegel trial: Sentencing of schoolgirl's murderers adjourned until October

Good news. Hope everything is examined at length.

Why is this good news?

Can't understand why reports were not ready for sentencing date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Vicarious Function

Hi, donkeykong5! I don't know if you realise you can remove your Thanks by clicking bottom left next to the post, under Report button e.g.
    (6) thanks from:
    Remove Your Thanks

Just click on "Remove Your Thanks" and Bob's your uncle! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

forumdedum wrote: »
    Why is this good news?

Because it takes longer than a few weeks to compile a comprehensive report. It won't be a case of meeting them for a few hours, it will be over a longer period with any changes in behaviours monitored. At the end of the day they are still removed from society while this goes on and having it done properly leaves no grounds for appeal.

forumdedum wrote: »
    Why is this good news?

Obviously no stone is being left unturned to make sure everything is done right and in order. There was a suggestion some clinicians would be hired from England. Obviously all of this takes time, especially now as we are in the middle of the Summer and many of these experts may not be free to get involved straight away. The testing and interviewing and drawing up relevant reports probably take quite some time too. This was only to be expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

It's probably a good thing, but can't be pleasant for Ana's parents waiting.

Suckit wrote: »
    It's probably a good thing, but can't be pleasant for Ana's parents waiting.

I'd say even more so Reality by now is beginning to click in with these two Boys. They're probably realising after their day in court with their Parents today, that their friends from school are now off on the Summer Hols free to run around as they please, enjoying their freedom, which the Boys now don't have.

Hi, donkeykong5! I don't know if you realise you can remove your Thanks by clicking bottom left next to the post, under Report button e.g.
    (6) thanks from:
    Remove Your Thanks

Just click on "Remove Your Thanks" and Bob's your uncle! :p
    Ok. Thanks. I'm not great on the phone to be honest. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,650 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    We yes, I am implying that it is possible for wrongful convictions to occur. I mean that is just fact. I am not implying that it is applicable to this case.

This is the only case I was referring to.
    I read all the evidence and came to the same conclusions as the Garda, DPP and the Jury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Because it takes longer than a few weeks to compile a comprehensive report. It won't be a case of meeting them for a few hours, it will be over a longer period with any changes in behaviours monitored. At the end of the day they are still removed from society while this goes on and having it done properly leaves no grounds for appeal.

Where are they in custody now until sentencing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,289 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Where are they in custody now until sentencing?

Oberstown house. there is nowhere else to put them now that st patricks is closed.