Noise from party : what's a reasonable time to wind down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

The two lads next door to us would have a big party once a year when their parents went on holidays, they played it really loud till maybe 4am on a fri or sat evening, it's a ****ty thing to do to your neighbors (on both sides) but because it was once a year you just shrug it off, you don't want to be calling the Gardai on your neighbors or getting into fights with a crowd of drunk teenagers, so you let it go (they've all grown up now and there hasn't been a party in years btw).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

McCrack wrote: »
    Internet hard man alert

Is the world full of pussys now that whimper under the sheets rather than confront a lousy neighbour? Call the police? They won't do anything. I've been there. They didn't do a thing when we reported our neighbours head being repeatedly hopped off her floor above us by her fella.

Yes I have gone and given troublemakers a few thumps outside the house. Guess what. They didn't come back. It works.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Has it stopped yet? I'd say give it till 12 and then ask them to wind down.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Internet hard man alert

Not always. Remember that guy who kept calling someone an internet tough guy and goading him? I think it was in New York. Anyway the guy ended up spending some money that find out who the person was and called around to his house and carved a giant X into his face with a carpet knife. From forehead to chin with the centre point being the guys nose. Nasty stuff

Moral of the story is not everyone is " an internet hard man" . Some folk are mental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Take a dump outside the front door of their house. That'll send them a not so subtle message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭boombang

I'm amazed that the law isn't better at protecting peace for people in the evening. I understand that there's relatively little that can be done. I'd like to focus legal minds by turning up outside a judge's house in Rathgar with a massive sound system at 3 am. I'm sure we'd get some case law built up pretty quickly then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,209 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

If their country has not won the world cup anything after 23:30 should have a helicopter gunship in to wipe them all out as being scummers who are unworthy to live next to.

Think 23:30 is even being a little generous but you'd forgive the odd occasion. 2:30 is anti social disturbance really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lackadaisical

Well they wrapped up at about 4:05am.

Horrible. And you're so wound up at that stage that going to sleep when they are done hardly ever happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,208 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

That’s nice and considerate of them. So after people working hard all week, looking forward to being able to relax, enjoy a pleasant evening at home with family and then catch up on some much needed sleep, reinvigorated and rested to further enjoy the weekend, they have to put up with **** and nuclear decibels until 4am....

welcome to 2019, the era of, ‘fûck it, I’m having my fun’ brigade who simply think the universe revolves around them, their whims and the idea of adhering to the law or consideration for those around them are about as foreign as self catering in Swaziland. Hopefully they die, slowly in front of their children, at a young age.

boombang wrote: »
    I'm amazed that the law isn't better at protecting peace for people in the evening. I understand that there's relatively little that can be done. I'd like to focus legal minds by turning up outside a judge's house in Rathgar with a massive sound system at 3 am. I'm sure we'd get some case law built up pretty quickly then.

You'd never afford a house in Rathgar on a judge's sallery these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,177 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Midnight would be the cutoff for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭lalababa

pablo128 wrote: »
    Internet hard man alert

Is the world full of pussys now that whimper under the sheets rather than confront a lousy neighbour? Call the police? They won't do anything. I've been there. They didn't do a thing when we reported our neighbours head being repeatedly hopped off her floor above us by her fella.

Yes I have gone and given troublemakers a few thumps outside the house. Guess what. They didn't come back. It works.
    It does work , some people only response to threat of physical harm, others only actual harm.
    But and this is getting truer everyday : Lawsuits..... it's ok if you have no "asertainable" assets. But if you hit inconciderate Joe bloggs, what's to stop him getting 5, 10, 15k from you??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

According to Limmy
    If you can make out the tune, shut it doon

Well I'm wrecked this morning and I'm hearing from the parents of a toddler who live near by that they got no sleep at all and have had to cancel stuff today as their 3 year old is really out of sorts as she got no sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭happywithlife

I'd be tempted to park the buggy with the screaming toddler outside the side bedroom window of that feckless couple
    While I attempt to get the toddler to sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭happywithlife

Or cut the lawn, trim the hedge, generally have a big tidy up outside -- all day long. And you know you gotta blast those tunes while you're at it (and coordinate your breaks to when the neighbours toddler does nap) :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Anything after 9.30/10pm. Plenty of pubs and clubs in town for the sort of scum that frequent them. Leave the decent folk at home in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,208 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Gael23 wrote: »
    Midnight would be the cutoff for me

For the MEGA decibels yes roughly then, EVEN 1am I wouldn’t be too pissed, then either they can taxi it to a club or sit around drinking with some low level tunes and I mean low.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Strumms wrote: »
    For the MEGA decibels yes roughly then, EVEN 1am I wouldn’t be too pissed, then either they can taxi it to a club or sit around
    drinking with some low level tunes and I mean low.

Yep. Same for me. Our bedrooms face out onto the balconies of the duplexes opposite us. One of them seems to have a BBQ every other night, the can still be outside chatting after 11pm...can be a bit annoying but it's only chatter. No loud music and they'll be gone by midnight.
    Had other neighbours before who'd be out strumming guitars, singing etc well into the early hours. Ignorant behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

boombang wrote: »

I mean that's the case with everything, take the scrambler problem, if we could somehow get them all to race up and down D6 for a few hours there'd be a citywide crackdown within 24hrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Strumms wrote: »

welcome to 2019, the era of, ‘fûck it, I’m having my fun’ brigade.

Oh ffs.
    You really think people weren't being asshats and having late, loud parties, 10, 20, 30,40 years ago?
    Only in Ireland.....
    New Ireland...
    Millenials today.....
    Etc, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭rivegauche

In Germany it must be quiet between 22:00 and 06:00.
    Sundays and public holidays are quiet days.
    Fines of up to 5000 euro can be levied.
    Police can and do fine the offending party.
    Police can and do seize the Stereos of the people making noise.
    Police can and do disperse House parties.

The rules are sometimes abused by old Biddies who don't like their Neighbours and make spurious claims against neighbours but there is nowhere near the same level of inconsiderate behaviour amongst neighbours as I witnessed in Ireland.

Oh ffs.
    You really think people weren't being asshats and having late, loud parties, 10, 20, 30,40 years ago?
    Only in Ireland.....
    New Ireland...
    Millenials today.....
    Etc, etc

They definitely weren't millennials - 45 was about the minimum age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

After midnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

On a Saturday night there's no limit, and I say that as someone who has regularly had to get up at 8 or 9 on Sunday mornings in the past when I was working a marketing job - we're very much the exception and society is built around the idea of a working week and a non-working weekend, in my view it's totally unfair for those of us in the rare position of having to be up early on Sundays to deprive others of their Saturday night sessions which they've probably been waiting all week for. But that's just me. My gaff is sandwiched between a restaurant which regularly holds late night parties unofficially after closing time on Fridays and Saturdays, and a house next door where they have regular late night parties with loud music on Fridays and Saturdays as well (college aged folk) - sure it used to keep me awake when I had to get up early on Sunday mornings to work, but f*ck it, you only live once and you can catch up on sleep later on a Sunday.

Put it another way: Those who don't have to get up early during the week are very much the exception, not the norm, and those of us who do wouldn't appreciate if they imposed their rare circumstances on the rest of us by having loud late night sessions midweek. The reverse is true IMO - the weekend is the time for late night parties for most folk, so when we're in the unfortunate minority who can't enjoy it, it's just something we have to put up with. The alternative is to be a massive buzzkill and impose a weeknight-esque curfew on people trying to have a good night, and f*ck that in my opinion.
    Your schtick of "people should be able to do what they want, otherwise it's unfair on them" of course doesn't take into account unfairness in the other direction.

The OP is referring to a residential area: a party until 2 or 3 the very odd time - gotta be expected. But a party all night on a regular basis? Just no.

Your analogy doesn't make sense - those working all week wouldn't like it if someone had a party on a week night, so the latter should put up with people having lengthy parties on Friday and Saturday nights? :confused:

I think you're just thinking of people your own age and circumstances. It's not just people who have to get up for work that are affected - and try telling the parent of young children "Ah shur you can catch up on sleep on Sunday."

And what's with the extremes? A week-night type curfew would be forbidding any noise from 11pm. And you'd swear a house party until 10am is the only way whatsoever that people can socialise.

lawred2 wrote: »
    Think 23:30 is even being a little generous but you'd forgive the odd occasion. 2:30 is anti social disturbance really.

22:30 is early evening imo on a weekend. Surely people should be allowed to enjoy occasional parties in their homes? Nonsense saying otherwise.

Yet another reason in the long list of reasons I would never want to live long term anywhere but the country side. I can make all the noise I want as late as I want and don’t have to listen to other people’s noise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

They definitely weren't millennials - 45 was about the minimum age.

You know at that age they should have grown up.

At least tell your neighbours beforehand and invite some to defuse the tensions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

22:30 is early evening imo on a weekend. Surely people should be allowed to enjoy occasional parties in their homes? Nonsense saying otherwise.

Yet another reason in the long list of reasons I would never want to live long term anywhere but the country side. I can make all the noise I want as late as I want and don’t have to listen to other people’s noise.

Nobody cares that much about the countryside and your preferred living arrangements. It’s irrelevant to the topic, noise in an urban environment.

Grand. I didn't say 22:30 though.