What's the story behind your username?

• 07-07-2019 01:49PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,922 ✭✭✭

There are some truly unique usernames in the community and even some that are complete gibberish, so I have been wondering...

Where did yours come from? Is there a story behind it, or is it a play on your real name? Is it pure randomness, or was it well thought out?

I'll kick it off...

I needed help building my new PC and found the PC building and upgrading forum on Google. Had never used boards and it seemed like there were some really knowledgeable people giving advice.

There was a wad of cash burning a hole in my pocket so I needed quick help. I decided to sign up, but couldn't think of a name, so I looked around my room and saw a random cheapo deodorant. The rest is history.

Tusk_Hunter_Deodorant_Body_Spray_150ml_300x.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

blergh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

A character from Final Fantasy VIII, which was almost 10 years old when I registered in 2008..

My father was a fish, I'm not even codding ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I had decided that i would close my old account on exactly 7500 posts and start afresh.

That night i was out with friends and one of them fell over in what felt like slow motion, as he went down i yelled Timberrrrrrrr.

The next day i closed old account and this one was born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,686 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Was the name I gave my character in a PS3 game, Kingdoms of Amalur.

Liked it a lot and simply stuck with it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,187 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I was and am I guess a big Clash / Joe Strummer fan, plus I play a ‘bit’ of guitar myself so I guess Strumms was just something I made up in a hurry on spec when I needed an account. I don’t use it in any other ether of the interweb just here.

Necro wrote: »
    Was the name I gave my character in a PS3 game, Kingdoms of Amalur.

Phew! I was terrified it was something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Somebody once called me Hamsterchops at a party because I'd been stuffing my cheeks with food, hence the name :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

The Father Ted clip of the fortune teller new agey lady (someone shared it relating to me, on the thread of how you imagine folk here to look like).

"Cross my palm with silver."

"Well, it's not like we carry bags of silver around with us!"

"Gimme a pound!"

Always makes me giggle. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,686 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Omackeral wrote:
    Phew! I was terrified it was something else.

That's the safe story I tell everyone anyways ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

I was Pretty Young in 2006.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I selected it as the year he hit the screen and who played him alludes to a my real name and year of birth. (Obviously it would have been Harry Palmer but some fecker with zero posts took it:mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Tuco88

Tuco ramirez... and Tuco salamanca...

I've got the same taste in fashion as both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭FFred

Necro wrote: »
    That's the safe story I tell everyone anyways ;)
    You’re fcuking dead right .... titter

The Boss needed an alibi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

There's supposed to be a story behind my username? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,167 ✭✭✭Damien360

Stupid XBox360 and the red ring of death. I didn't think I would be still here all those years later. Should have put more thought into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

My unfortunately unsuccessful sex life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Uveitis really, but I’d known it was a term in poker too.

I’ve since learned it was also the name of the brothel/casino in Twin Peaks -

The History of One Eyed Jacks

Which was named after a 1961 film of the same name starring Marlon Brando -

One-Eyed Jacks

Oh, and there’s this, which I learned afterwards on Boards when someone said my username was “phallic sounding” :pac:

Finally, "One-Eyed Jack" is an euphemism for "penis."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,807 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

Bloody railways, Irish oddball bogie arrangement from 1955.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

A favourite Fr Ted moment when he has accidentally hit the guy in a boat with a stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,946 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I'm a cyborg made by rivals of Skynet based in Bavaria. When I kill targets, I say "Auf Wiedersehen, baby". It's sorta my thing. So all the other cyborgs gave me the nickname Alf Wiedersehen.

The banter with those guys.

So yeah...nickname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

I'm a tree hugger who is fascinated by utopian societies and people who make unconventional choices in life. Plus green is my favourite colour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭FFred

Uveitis really, but I’d known it was a term in poker too.

I’ve since learned it was also the name of the brothel/casino in Twin Peaks -

The History of One Eyed Jacks

Which was named after a 1961 film of the same name starring Marlon Brando -

One-Eyed Jacks

Oh, and there’s this, which I learned afterwards on Boards when someone said my username was “phallic sounding” :pac:

Finally, "One-Eyed Jack" is an euphemism for "penis."

Jaysus you have put a lot of thought and effort into that . Fair play.

Whereas, mine is just my name with an extra letter in front :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,122 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

My name is Charlie and 18 other Charlies signed up to boards before me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,922 ✭✭✭tusk

Charlie19 wrote: »
    My name is Charlie and 18 other Charlies signed up to boards before me.

Gold :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

It was supposed to be the word brainy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

It should have a question mark!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,026 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

guns n roses song.