At what price point do you stop going to Dublin pubs?

• 01-07-2019 12:13AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,530 ✭✭✭✭

Out with the lads on Friday. Hit a few boozers. I'm normally a Guinness man, but decided on Heineken cos of the auld sunshine. I swear it was nearly 6.50 in one place - can't remember the name. 6.50 for a bleedin Heineken?

Honestly though, I've stopped with rounds and go into town much less. The price of a Guinness is 4.80 in my local. In town, it's around 5.50 and I don't like getting mugged by publicans.

The thing is, this won't go down.

Anyone else think this crap's getting out of control?

The seven stages of me on Friday night -> :cool::pac::D:):eek::confused::mad:

It's Sunday night and I'm off to bed in a bit and I'm still at stage :mad: about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭ceekay74

Over €5 a pint.

Going to be drinking at home a lot in future.

About 1990 prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

There's plenty to do besides the pub scene.

There's also plenty that can be done to you, if you're that way inclined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭policarp

Tony EH wrote: »
    Out with the lads on Friday. Hit a few boozers. I'm normally a Guinness man, but decided on Heineken cos of the auld sunshine. I swear it was nearly 6.50 in one place - can't remember the name. 6.50 for a bleedin Heineken?

Honestly though, I've stopped with rounds and go into town much less. The price of a Guinness is 4.80 in my local. In town, it's around 5.50 and I don't like getting mugged by publicans.

The thing is, this won't go down.

Anyone else think this crap's getting out of control?

The seven stages of me on Friday night -> :cool::pac::D:):eek::confused::mad:

It's Sunday night and I'm off to bed in a bit and I'm still at stage :mad: about it.

Drink Beamish.At least 70 cent cheaper than Guiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,507 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

People will keep paying. If a pint was 100 euro they would keep paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,148 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

People will keep paying. If a pint was 100 euro they would keep paying.

Not any more. Was out on Wednesday night and Dublin was dead. Feck all people in pubs and not even that many on the streets. I know it was a Wednesday night but it used to be much busier years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Down to Witherspoons with ya lad. Abbey St is open, can't wait till Camden st is finished.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Not any more. Was out on Wednesday night and Dublin was dead. Feck all people in pubs and not even that many on the streets. I know it was a Wednesday night but it used to be much busier years ago.
    I think it depends on where.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Try Paris, 11 euro and it wasn't even as much as a pint. Makes Dublin look reasonable.

When you throw a fiver across the counter having ordered a Guinness, and they chase you for more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,148 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I think it depends on where.

Where it used to be busy before and a rake of new bars have opened in the last few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Chicken George

I stopped ages ago in locals and town years ago. A fiver was my max and even then it was too much. Just cant do it, rip off.
    Stay at home now with 8 cans of Guinness for 11 quid. Happy days, save a fortune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Ashleigh1986

How many pints are you going to have ? 10 ?
    That's €65 .
    How long would it take you to drink 10 pints ?
    The ones it really effects are the ones that are drinking a few days a week in the pubs .
    Those are just craytures , that have no family life , and join their " drinking family" in their local , because they're all in the same boat .
    Nothing wrong with going to the pub one day a week and meeting people .
    Far more expensive things to be doing than having 10 pints for €65.

Most expensive pint in Dublin you have had and where?

This could be another thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    There's plenty to do besides the pub scene.

There's also plenty that can be done to you, if you're that way inclined.

I think the OP is trying to avoid getting screwed...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

About 32.
    Leave town to the next generation of 20yr olds in the pull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

I stopped ages ago in locals and town years ago. A fiver was my max and even then it was too much. Just cant do it, rip off.
    Stay at home now with 8 cans of Guinness for 11 quid. Happy days, save a fortune!

What do you do for social interaction - Facebook, Twitter? There's a huge difference drinking at home versus meeting real human beings face to face, talking ****e and having a bit of craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,530 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

policarp wrote: »
    Drink Beamish.At least 70 cent cheaper than Guiness.

That sounds grand.

There's just one problem.

I don't like Beamish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,530 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Down to Witherspoons with ya lad. Abbey St is open, can't wait till Camden st is finished.

It might happen.

Looks like an uncomfortable place for a few pints though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,985 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

For all the people going crazy with the “ohhhh look you only pay, xxx here and it’s 8 euro a pint almost in Paris.. that’s very well but everything is shît expensive in Paris... go to Madrid, Lisbon etc you’ll get a pint of good beer for 3.80 - 4.50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,110 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Del2005 wrote: »

well that would have been the home stretch for most before pay day

I picked up the missus in town on Friday night - the place was thronged. If that's dead - I'd hate to see alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Drink your cheap slabs at home while you still can, there will be plenty of time to get f*cked over by our lovely publicans once that's all gone. Smoking and drinking will only be for the rich and criminal soon in our nanny state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,311 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Not for long lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,311 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Drink your cheap slabs at home while you still can, there will be plenty of time to get f*cked over by our lovely publicans once that's all gone. Smoking and drinking will only be for the rich and criminal soon in our nanny state.

They’re not cheap slabs though, don’t listen to politicians, already the dearest in europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭whampiri

Got stung for 6.80 for a pint of perroni in toners in Dublin last year.

Was in Witherspoons over the weekend. Pint of brew dog ipa was 3.95. same pint in Dublin city, 6.80!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Wait till min pricing comes in and hits your cans.
    All thanks to the publicans.

They’re not cheap slabs though, don’t listen to politicians, already the dearest in europe

Relatively cheap is what I meant I suppose. Cheap in comparison to spending over a tenner on 2 pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Paying e5+ in the local for a can of Bulmers (no Bulmers on tap) which has a red rim around the top reading "Do not expect to pay any more than e2 for this can" was the last straw for me.
    Picked up 24 cans in Supervalu for e24 last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Relatively cheap is what I meant I suppose. Cheap in comparison to spending over a tenner on 2 pints.

Think home brewing will become a fad

Probably yeah. Sheds all over the country will be exploding soon.