Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At what price point do you stop going to Dublin pubs?

• 30-06-2019 11:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭

Out with the lads on Friday. Hit a few boozers. I'm normally a Guinness man, but decided on Heineken cos of the auld sunshine. I swear it was nearly 6.50 in one place - can't remember the name. 6.50 for a bleedin Heineken?

Honestly though, I've stopped with rounds and go into town much less. The price of a Guinness is 4.80 in my local. In town, it's around 5.50 and I don't like getting mugged by publicans.

The thing is, this won't go down.

Anyone else think this crap's getting out of control?

The seven stages of me on Friday night -> :cool::pac::D:):eek::confused::mad:

It's Sunday night and I'm off to bed in a bit and I'm still at stage :mad: about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭ceekay74

Over €5 a pint.

Going to be drinking at home a lot in future.

About 1990 prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

There's plenty to do besides the pub scene.

There's also plenty that can be done to you, if you're that way inclined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Tony EH wrote: »
    Out with the lads on Friday. Hit a few boozers. I'm normally a Guinness man, but decided on Heineken cos of the auld sunshine. I swear it was nearly 6.50 in one place - can't remember the name. 6.50 for a bleedin Heineken?

Honestly though, I've stopped with rounds and go into town much less. The price of a Guinness is 4.80 in my local. In town, it's around 5.50 and I don't like getting mugged by publicans.

It's Sunday night and I'm off to bed in a bit and I'm still at stage :mad: about it.

Drink Beamish.At least 70 cent cheaper than Guiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

People will keep paying. If a pint was 100 euro they would keep paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

People will keep paying. If a pint was 100 euro they would keep paying.

Not any more. Was out on Wednesday night and Dublin was dead. Feck all people in pubs and not even that many on the streets. I know it was a Wednesday night but it used to be much busier years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Down to Witherspoons with ya lad. Abbey St is open, can't wait till Camden st is finished.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Not any more. Was out on Wednesday night and Dublin was dead. Feck all people in pubs and not even that many on the streets. I know it was a Wednesday night but it used to be much busier years ago.
    I think it depends on where.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Try Paris, 11 euro and it wasn't even as much as a pint. Makes Dublin look reasonable.

When you throw a fiver across the counter having ordered a Guinness, and they chase you for more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I think it depends on where.

Where it used to be busy before and a rake of new bars have opened in the last few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Chicken George

I stopped ages ago in locals and town years ago. A fiver was my max and even then it was too much. Just cant do it, rip off.
    Stay at home now with 8 cans of Guinness for 11 quid. Happy days, save a fortune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Ashleigh1986

How many pints are you going to have ? 10 ?
    That's €65 .
    How long would it take you to drink 10 pints ?
    The ones it really effects are the ones that are drinking a few days a week in the pubs .
    Those are just craytures , that have no family life , and join their " drinking family" in their local , because they're all in the same boat .
    Nothing wrong with going to the pub one day a week and meeting people .
    Far more expensive things to be doing than having 10 pints for €65.

Most expensive pint in Dublin you have had and where?

This could be another thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    There's plenty to do besides the pub scene.

There's also plenty that can be done to you, if you're that way inclined.

I think the OP is trying to avoid getting screwed...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

About 32.
    Leave town to the next generation of 20yr olds in the pull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

I stopped ages ago in locals and town years ago. A fiver was my max and even then it was too much. Just cant do it, rip off.
    Stay at home now with 8 cans of Guinness for 11 quid. Happy days, save a fortune!

What do you do for social interaction - Facebook, Twitter? There's a huge difference drinking at home versus meeting real human beings face to face, talking ****e and having a bit of craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

policarp wrote: »
    Drink Beamish.At least 70 cent cheaper than Guiness.

That sounds grand.

There's just one problem.

I don't like Beamish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Down to Witherspoons with ya lad. Abbey St is open, can't wait till Camden st is finished.

It might happen.

Looks like an uncomfortable place for a few pints though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,213 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

For all the people going crazy with the “ohhhh look you only pay, xxx here and it’s 8 euro a pint almost in Paris.. that’s very well but everything is shît expensive in Paris... go to Madrid, Lisbon etc you’ll get a pint of good beer for 3.80 - 4.50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Del2005 wrote: »

well that would have been the home stretch for most before pay day

I picked up the missus in town on Friday night - the place was thronged. If that's dead - I'd hate to see alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Drink your cheap slabs at home while you still can, there will be plenty of time to get f*cked over by our lovely publicans once that's all gone. Smoking and drinking will only be for the rich and criminal soon in our nanny state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Not for long lol

Drink your cheap slabs at home while you still can, there will be plenty of time to get f*cked over by our lovely publicans once that's all gone. Smoking and drinking will only be for the rich and criminal soon in our nanny state.

They’re not cheap slabs though, don’t listen to politicians, already the dearest in europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭whampiri

Got stung for 6.80 for a pint of perroni in toners in Dublin last year.

Was in Witherspoons over the weekend. Pint of brew dog ipa was 3.95. same pint in Dublin city, 6.80!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Wait till min pricing comes in and hits your cans.
    All thanks to the publicans.

They’re not cheap slabs though, don’t listen to politicians, already the dearest in europe

Relatively cheap is what I meant I suppose. Cheap in comparison to spending over a tenner on 2 pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Paying e5+ in the local for a can of Bulmers (no Bulmers on tap) which has a red rim around the top reading "Do not expect to pay any more than e2 for this can" was the last straw for me.
    Picked up 24 cans in Supervalu for e24 last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Relatively cheap is what I meant I suppose. Cheap in comparison to spending over a tenner on 2 pints.

Think home brewing will become a fad

Probably yeah. Sheds all over the country will be exploding soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭phunkadelic

Guinness is €5.40 in the North Star on bleedin Amiens St, about €4.30 a few yards up the road in Cleary's.
    I was in McNeill's Capel St recently, lovely spot. But Guinness is €5.30 there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

If you have a bit of space to spare under the stairs, it's great fun. When you crack the first bottle top, it's Christmas morning level excitement. Kit isn't expensive either and you only buy that once.

I make cider from a kit and alcoholic ginger ale from scratch, it costs feck all. Beer is hard to get right I find at least with the malt extract kits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

As long as there are people thick enough to pay it they'll charge it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

I'd rather give up drinking than give the shytehawk that owns Witherspoons any of my money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

I had few hours to kill after just missing my train one Tuesday the other week. Wandered into The Temple Bar around 8pm, place was packed, music was great but pint of Guinness was €6.90. I didn't order second one but many people there were.

Obviously tourists don't care if place is packed on Tuesday night.

I'd rather give up drinking than give the shytehawk that owns Witherspoons any of my money.

Why do people have a problem with him? Because he was pro Brexit? Who cares?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I make cider from a kit and alcoholic ginger ale from scratch, it costs feck all. Beer is hard to get right I find at least with the malt extract kits.

What's the cider kit you have? I've an apple tree out the back and was thinking if giving it a go this autumn.

Away with ya so, pay 6.50 for a pint if ya like. Me, I really appreciate good ales at good prices, and I certainly wouldn't cut off my nose to splte my face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

For me it’s not just the price, it’s the overall package. If it’s expensive and the bar man is a rude dickhead like in a place I was in recently (let’s call it Dee Too), then sorry, not having it, I’m off.

But if it’s nice surroundings and a friendly bar man, clean toilets (with no “attendant” who wants money for simply annoying you) etc, then it’s not so bad.

But €6 really is the limit. After that I’d rather have a 6pk at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭spodoinkle

Tony EH wrote: »

We went on a stag to Amsterdam 3 years ago, came out of train station into first pub we scene on what I think is the city central square area, I'll get these lads, 10 pints of Heineken, €90!!!!!!!

I paid €13.50 for a pint in Abu Dhabi airport:(

What's the cider kit you have? I've an apple tree out the back and was thinking if giving it a go this autumn.

http://www.thehomebrewcompany.ie/mangrove-jacks-craft-series-apple-cider-makes-40-pints-24kg-recipe-no1-p-3595.html

These guys, mangrove jacks. It's so good, and I usually add a few things myself like ginger tea bags while it's fermenting or black pepper. Works out around 45c a bottle, but it tastes like premium cider you'd pay 2.99 for in a supermarket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

It's not a 'place for a pint' as such but, €6.50 for less than 500ml in 3 Arena is taking the proverbial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Chicken George

Del.Monte wrote: »
    What do you do for social interaction - Facebook, Twitter? There's a huge difference drinking at home versus meeting real human beings face to face, talking ****e and having a bit of craic.

Not on fb or twitter. I meet enough humans face to face at work, thats all the social interaction I need. Maybe Im just at the age where my gang are too busy raising families and all that, and the pub doesn't have any appeal to us any more.
    Prices are still a rip off though.
    Im not long back from Spain where we were paying 2 euro for pints of San Miguel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭PhuckHugh22

Id rather drink at home than Witherspoons. Its an absolute sh*thole with absolutely zero atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Anything over €5 for standard drinks like Guinness, Heineken, Carlsberg etc..

For the other stuff, I'd have a few Irish beers that i am willing to pay a small premium over €5 for. E.G. O'Haras, Wicklow Wolf, Franciscan Well, Galway Bay, however, i'd be conscious of the price of above standard drinks. If the pub is charging €4 for a Guinness and €6 for the cheapest craft beer, then, i'll probably just have a Guinness or better yet, a Beamish if it's available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

Dublin was great craic during the recession. Prices were decent, the pubs that were still open were generally good spots, and there were plenty of great deals (especially for students) like €2 drinks on certain nights, in most spots.

Now I just find it's all gotten a bit.. stuck up its hole. Loads of those great pubs have jumped on the craft beer bandwagon and everywhere is just trying to look like P-Macs. Any decent spot is totally jammed and about 6 quid for a Guinness. It's not really worth it anymore.

I've almost lost count of the amount of nice pubs I've gone into that they decide to "renovate" i.e. make darker, add weird furniture, stick in some 7 quid random craft beer and a few board games and suddenly it becomes wedged and devoid of the character it used to have. A shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

I joined the homebrew bandwagon a couple of years ago, haven't bought a commercial beer since

its ridiculously easy to brew a decent beer and all for 60c a pint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,675 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

Regular home brewer myself too. Just kegged 25L of weissbier at the weekend. Total price of about €21 for the lot, so under 50c a pint.

Will be working on a porter the weekend coming.

I do appreciate the social side of the pub though. Between getting a catch up with some old friends occasionally, and being a big fan of live music, I think it's unlikely I'll cut out pub pints entirely any time soon.

€4.60 a pint of Guiness up to €6 for some of the high strength IPAs on tap at my local. €5.40 in a spot I'd occasionally have one in Dublin 2 after work on a Friday. Always said I'd never pay above €5 for a Guinness, but apart from a wee grumble, I just got on with it really.