what are the average Australians like?

• 25-06-2019 04:25PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,631 ✭✭✭✭

Reason I am asking is every time i watch reality Australians cop tv shows, the people they deal with seem really stupid, clowns driving without insurance in a car that is falling apart, revving the engine to draw attention to themselves in front of the police. then laughing when they get three different tickets which costs them 1200 dollars.

are they generally a bit dim or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,631 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Highway Patrol (Australian TV series)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,289 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

They are all a bunch of Shelias.
    Struth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,668 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Yikes. How bad would Ireland look if we had a reality show following our lads?

Cut to hand covering camera while they are hiding the used breathalysers...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Reason I am asking is every time i watch reality Australians cop tv shows, the people they deal with seem really stupid, clowns driving without insurance in a car that is falling apart, revving the engine to draw attention to themselves in front of the police. then laughing when they get three different tickets which costs them 1200 dollars.

You would do well to kiss their feet, when you see them… PEASANT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Average really, for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,221 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

pgj2015 wrote: »

Those shows aren’t going to show the normal boring interactions. I’d imagine we could manage similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Racist mainly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Two arms and I believe two legs. Maybe a head and a pair of feet. Some have hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Outdoorsy, I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Apiarist

All my knowledge of Australians is from this song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,541 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Deadly spiders, snakes, sharks and the heat causes them to go insane :)

In all seriousness quite similar to the Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Macho

There's a documentary series on RTE2 tonight about real Australians. The kind who you might find living next door to you.

It's called Neighbours?

Another series called Home and Away

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

There a bunch flaming galah's !

Ah no there a lovely bunch of lads!

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

odyssey06 wrote: »
    There's a documentary series on RTE2 tonight about real Australians. The kind who you might find living next door to you.

It's called Neighbours?

If that's the case you're Harry from Fair City as far as an Aussie is concerned. :)

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    If that's the case you're Harry from Fair City as far as an Aussie is concerned. :)

Ah jaysus, sez he, in hiz best Fair Citeh accent.

Ya wah?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Quite common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

Not the friendliest imo...bit standoffish...watch opal hunters and gold diggers on the telly and you'll get a feel for what they're like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

City ones are fine to get along with however not a great work ethic. They do value a good work life balance more than most western nations. Wouldn't catch them throwing themselves towards overtime not that there is anything inherently wrong with that.

The country ones are fairly obnoxious and can be quite racist.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

That's the New Zealand Traffic Cop shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    City ones are fine to get along with however not a great work ethic. They do value a good work life balance more than most western nations. Wouldn't catch them throwing themselves towards overtime not that there is anything inherently wrong with that.

The country ones are fairly obnoxious and can be quite racist.

You spend a lot of time watching Home and Away with a cushion on your lap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Self depreciating humour, healthy disregard for authority figures, most Aussies are easy going and sociable. They don't take themselves too seriously.
    Immigrants and "Abbos" can be hot topics for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Basically a great big Alabama. Surprisingly racist and sexist in a casual way.

Good craic sometimes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Yep load of idiots and often racist (anti black and anti chinese) as well

Struth.

Shelias??

SHELIAS???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,591 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

As mixed a bag as any other nationality. Some good, some bad and the rest indifferent. Also use the word c*nt more than any other nationality.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

Worked with a gay Sydneyite a few years ago in Dublin.

Lazy. Racist. Dim but not aware of that. Obsessed with D4 lifestyle. Made casual jokes about north side and culchies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,087 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Struth.

Ahh, give it a rest Bruce.