Where are all these "influencers" going to end up?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

jfc

no sweetheart, a lot of irish milennials dont have made up jobs so they'll likely be ok
    I have a feeling she doesn’t understand decimal points !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,202 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

She's probably assessing all the free stuff given to her to halk out on her gullible followers as income..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭SirGerryAdams

She's earned six figures three years in a row and can't afford a house or get a mortgage. Yeah right. ;) :rolleyes:

She's all the time boasting about how much money she makes. She was on prime time saying she turns down loads of money from companies. She's a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The next stage is "Mental Health Advocate". Then they'll get the aul dopamine from all of the "OMG, So Brave" and turn into activists. Then it will be Full Time Social Justice Warrior. Then Fine Gael Senator or MEP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭davidk1394

It’s be great to see instagram and Facebook to collapse for a week or 2. I wonder what would they do with their lives ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

She's earned six figures three years in a row and can't afford a house or get a mortgage. Yeah right. ;) :rolleyes:

Let’s say she has earned six figures three years in a row. Due to the volatility of her career, a bank will consider her high risk and make it harder for her to qualify for a mortgage. Many self-employed people face similar challenges.

It would be a totally different story if she was earning a six figure salary in a secure job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

dudara wrote: »
    Let’s say she has earned six figures three years in a row. Due to the volatility of her career, a bank will consider her high risk and make it harder for her to qualify for a mortgage. Many self-employed people face similar challenges.

It would be a totally different story if she was earning a six figure salary in a secure job.

Doubtful. I worked for a mortgage broker at one point.

Lots of people who have freelance careers have far less income reliability than that and easily get a mortgage.

She would have to be earning considerably less. Or something else is VERY wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭airmax87

good looking people generally land on their feet, you know full well they're just going to breeze by after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

airmax87 wrote: »
    good looking people generally land on their feet, you know full well they're just going to breeze by after

Hey it's not easy being beautiful! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Will they still be doing it in 10 years time?

I'd love if the arse fell out of the thing.

In big brother, the jungle show, or the equivalent of the same in 10 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

The same brigade who fawn over influencers are the same ones watched brain-dead TV like 'Love Island' - utter drivel.

If reality TV starts becoming unpopular then so will watching influencer 'stars' talking sh1te into their camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

I don't know if there's much of an arse to fall out of this thing, a tiny proportion are making real money, all the so called influencers are really just rich kids indulging in fantasies and availing of free merch, drinks, food etc. Most of them have other jobs, or are living on handouts from their highly wealthy (and gullible parents.)

The entire thing is a fugazi.

Drug Addicts and Alcoholics ( Sad but true )

And then we are going to have to hear their stories .

My Advice to these Influencers ( my advice / influence ) ; When the first signs thought that you are becoming an Alcoholic / Drug Addict ; Stop change your ways .

Coz

I don’t want to have to say I told you so .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,513 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I don't know who any of these people are. If they're making a living from selling sh*t on youtube or whatever it is they do, fair play to them. There are mugs out there who watch them so why not take advantage of the situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

In my experience, this kinde people always fall on their feet, regardless of what happens. Being extremely blunt, most of them essentially play on their looks - and you'll always find plenty of people throwing their cash at that. It's been happening since the dawn of mankind.

Also, what the general public usually doesn't see is that these people often have connections: A friend of mine works as a social media manager for a big(ish) company, a couple of years ago they had one such "influencers" do some promo work for them, filming in their offices and whatnot; Turns out the girl's parents are both fairly well known producers in the cinema/TV industry.

Similarly, a few years ago I met a lady that's currently a relatively well known Irish "Fashion Blogger"; She was friends with one of the girls at the office and joined her at the pub after work. She was starting out her site/Instagram/channel back then, but one thing was clear from the get go: her family was absolutely loaded, no pressure whatsoever on her to get a real job and most of her time was spent between the gym and the beauty salon.

This just to say that, while work and dedication are certainly required, only a small percentage of them actually start from "absoutely nothing" like they all claim to have; People who don't start from the bottom will always have a soft landing, unless they screw up so much that the landing gear was taken by the repossession officer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭DublinHun72

No idea. I can't believe some of the braindead people who have amassed followings.

Like that sosueme....cheap ****e bought from alibaba with her name on it!

I saw her facebook page once and she was on about getting engaged and saps in the comments genuinely happy for her getting married as if she gave a ****e about them.

I went for a look on the blogging forum here once....people gossiping about what influencers are putting on their snapchats "Rose never mentioned Sarah in her speech, they must still not get on because Rose accused Sarah of being fake." etc etc.

Pure braindead nonsense.

Anyone remember the anti bullying workshops So Sue and a few “influencers” were setting up last year ? Oddly enough that idea fell aside afaik when they themselves stopped being slagged off by Bloggers Unveiled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

jfc

no sweetheart, a lot of irish milennials dont have made up jobs so they'll likely be ok

I presume her village is Dalkey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Anyone remember the anti bullying workshops So Sue and a few “influencers” were setting up last year ? Oddly enough that idea fell aside afaik when they themselves stopped being slagged off by Bloggers Unveiled.

They're grifters and to coin a phrase, we are living in the Age of Grifters.

Farage, Trump, Alex Jones, Tommy Robinson, Bressie, models turned nutritionists, Gemma O'Doherty, Rowan Croft (Tan Turino) etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

dudara wrote: »

If she earned six figures three years in a row, that's at least €300,000. Even if she only had half that, it's more than enough to buy a house in a rural village. Someone's telling porkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭red petal

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    If she earned six figures three years in a row, that's at least €300,000. Even if she only had half that, it's more than enough to buy a house in a rural village. Someone's telling porkies.

Skerries is not a rural village. People on €50k a year manage mortgages of €250k so in theory, she is well able to afford a mortgage but is being refused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

red petal wrote: »
    Skerries is not a rural village. People on €50k a year manage mortgages of €250k so in theory, she is well able to afford a mortgage but is being refused.
    I didn't know where she was from. "Village" to me means rural. I take it she used village for added drama.

let us not presume she aspired to a semi three bed folks

that wouldnt be appropriate to her expectations from life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭magic_murph

Rehab. Definitely Rehab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭storker

Inhabiting their own sealed-off section of the Internet where they can spend their time imagining how they're all influencing each other.

Birneybau wrote: »
    They're grifters and to coin a phrase, we are living in the Age of Grifters.

Farage, Trump, Alex Jones, Tommy Robinson, Bressie, models turned nutritionists, Gemma O'Doherty, Rowan Croft (Tan Turino) etc etc.
    Don’t forget Leo .:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

blinding wrote: »
    Don’t forget Leo .:D

Unfortunately, wouldn't regard him as a grifter. He's a different issue altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Small Wonder

A young lad I know, from a pretty horrendous family it has to be said, has gradually reinvented himself as a popular fashion blogger. I read some of his stuff online and flicked through his Instagram and he seems to have cash in the pocket and a fine lifestyle. The word 'influencer' makes me gag but as far as this kid is concerned, more power to him. He had an awful start to life and nothing was expected of him, but he said feck you, I'm off to Dublin on a wing and a prayer and it worked out for him. I still find the whole thing very odd though.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

You'll find that there are some of these influencers that are quite savvy and have invested in other businesses and ventures.

There are some that are not and will try use vanity in whatever the next thing is. It's a cycle, it's being going on for years on whatever medium is available. It will continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Here’s what I don’t get. It is so easy to avoid ads these days. Hubs and I barely ever see any and often don’t the annoying ads people complain about. We bank time at the start of TV shows to fast forward through them whenever possible. We just use every tool at our disposal to avoid them.

Advertisers know this and that’s probably a big part of why they have turned to influencers. They know that people can avoid ads easily in other areas.

But... but this is what confuses me. Why do people follow influencers? People are actually seeking out ads. As someone who hates ads, I just don’t get that. I understand that influencers don’t just post ads and that their ad-free content might be what got people following them in the first place. But if I was following someone on IG and their content started becoming ads increasingly, I’d be outta there so fast. In fact, there was somebody I stopped following for that very reason. She had a funny, ad-free IG that I enjoyed. But when she got popular, ads started appearing. I was gone.
    I'm guessing the first "Influencers" started off as Bloggers so folk followed them for tips and insights e.g. make up artists. They jumped the shark then firstly by promoting products pretending they were giving honest advice. As soon as the #ad was enforced upon them they were effectively sales agents. Most of them now have a use RZRBLUNT10 for 10% online at XYZ and they generate commission that way too.

But you're right I don't understand why, when its gotten to that stage you'd still seek them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

davidk1394 wrote: »
    It’s be great to see instagram and Facebook to collapse for a week or 2. I wonder what would they do with their lives ?

These folk use to get jobs at relatives companies. I know a few in production (TV) who waltzed in to that. I've dealt with some real air heads, to be fair, they'd no real interest so maybe that's why many of them don't know much of anything. These are the people your tax dollar funds in RTE and the like, (Lottie Ryan etc.).