Ana Kriegel - Boys A & B found guilty [Mod: Do NOT post identifying information]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

swarlb wrote: »
    Brush it under the Carpet... How dare you !!
    I'm not suggesting anything of the sort... but the relentless picking apart of what may or may not have happened, of where or where not semen may have been found, who had a backpack, did the parents of the boys know anything...it's all futile at this stage.
    The trial is over, the boys have been (rightly I hope) found guilty, and are awaiting sentence.
    Leave it at that....
    Some people here are more interested in a tit for tat exchange of who knows more than who.
    For example, this case has now taken hold where the 'Body in the Tank' case has left off....

wlq690.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭mrjoneill

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    You really need to get your facts straight.
    Penn wrote: »
    The jury was convinced of that due to Boy B's interviews, not any other evidence. The defence could have said Boy B was asked to bring Ana to the house by Boy A, but he then left. The only evidence that Boy B was in the house, saw the murder and their previous discussion of Boy A suggesting they kill Ana all came from Boy B's interviews.

So again, without Boy B's interviews, there would not have been sufficient evidence to warrant being found guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.

I got this arse ways

"plan for A to lure Ana to the abandoned house where the forensics implicate Boy B in the actual killing."

should have read

" plan for B to lure Ana to the abandoned house where the forensics implicate Boy A in the actual killing.

Boy B would need to explain to convince the jury to the why Ana was not told this at school that Boy A had no interest in her and to the why he led her to an abandoned house to tell her that. These were all in the same class in school.

The jury was convinced of that due to Boy B's interviews, not any other evidence. The defence could have said Boy B was asked to bring Ana to the house by Boy A, but he then left. The only evidence that Boy B was in the house, saw the murder and their previous discussion of Boy A suggesting they kill Ana all came from Boy B's interviews.

So again, without Boy B's interviews, there would not have been sufficient evidence to warrant being found guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.

I got this arse ways

"plan for A to lure Ana to the abandoned house where the forensics implicate Boy B in the actual killing."

should have read

" plan for B to lure Ana to the abandoned house where the forensics implicate Boy A in the actual killing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I wonder what the boys think inside their own heads.

Do they regret it? Does it give them nightmares?

Based on what I’ve read I think Boy B might well regret his involvement. Boy A though doesn’t strike me as being capable of empathy or remorse.

U don't know the reasoning of the Jury only the jury knows that. Boy B defense would need to explain to the jury why Ana was led by him 3 km to an abandoned house. Simply his belief for Boy A to tell her he didn't like her would not wash after all he was the one that lured her there. These interactions could have taken place in the school or the open park. But she was lured to a secluded abandoned house by Boy B is the big stumbling block to get over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Force Carrier

mrjoneill wrote: »
    Boy B would need to explain to convince the jury

No he wouldn't.

He doesn't have to say anything. Or explain anything.
    The state must prove its case against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Gerianam

Detective Garda Daly told Boy B that a witness saw a youth with a black backpack crossing into the field at the back of the abandoned house where Ana was found. He added: “I believe that was you going into the field…”

Boy B replied: “Ok, I did go into the field, but that was to look around, that’s all.”

Was his backpack ever recovered?

No, lost like the two smartphones :rolleyes:

Wrong the reason Boy B made so many different conflicting statements is he was found out by CCTV & witnesses & told so by the Gardai. Boy B was not convicted on anything he did or not do at the abandoned derelict house. It was his complicity to a believed plan he had with Boy A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Does anybody know why the lawyer for Boy B didn't instruct him to go along the " no comment " route?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Does anybody know why the lawyer for Boy B didn't instruct him to go along the " no comment " route?

The discussions between Boy B and his legal representation are private, we don't know what advice he was give and we don't know if he followed advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,805 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I said it yesterday, for all the people still scratching their heads about Boy B being convicted of murder....

"The doctrine of common purpose, common design, joint enterprise, or joint criminal enterprise is a common-law legal doctrine that imputes criminal liability to the participants in a criminal enterprise for all that results from that enterprise."

Ana was murdered. Without Boy B's actions she wouldn't have been at the location where she was attacked. The jury were clearly convinced that from their previous interactions, Boy B knew what Boy A was planning to do.

Even if, for the sake of argument, B only knew A planned to assault her and nevertheless she died as result, thats malice aforethought and any unlawful killing with premeditated harm is murder under our laws

Therefore, murder charges for everybody.

I still would expect an appeal from B, but unless some aspect of the judge's oversight of the case is found to have erred in law, I'd say nothing will change.

No he wouldn't.

He doesn't have to say anything. Or explain anything.
    The state must prove its case against him.
    It was not out of the blue the state had made out a case. It had made out a case of A & B involved in a concerted action to lure Ana to an abandoned house using evidence. For B to free himself from that conspiracy he would have to give convincing evidence of the contrary. Saying nothing was not an option for B as he had lured her from her home & he was acting in concert with A was the available evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 80sChild

swarlb wrote: »
    Brush it under the Carpet... How dare you !!
    I'm not suggesting anything of the sort... but the relentless picking apart of what may or may not have happened, of where or where not semen may have been found, who had a backpack, did the parents of the boys know anything...it's all futile at this stage.
    The trial is over, the boys have been (rightly I hope) found guilty, and are awaiting sentence.
    Leave it at that....
    Some people here are more interested in a tit for tat exchange of who knows more than who.
    For example, this case has now taken hold where the 'Body in the Tank' case has left off....

Can you mute or unfollow the thread perhaps? I have found it very informative, with lots of insights and viewpoints I never would have had/considered. I've children this age and it all resonates deeply. Can't say I've noticed the grisly competitiveness you refer to. Horses for courses I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Wrong the reason Boy B made so many different conflicting statements is he was found out by CCTV & witnesses & told so by the Gardai. Boy B was not convicted on anything he did or not do at the abandoned derelict house. It was his complicity to a believed plan he had with Boy A.

Sure his lawyer said that the poor boy B was suffering ptsd , he didn't know what he was saying. Lawyers are the most immoral people on the planet, imagine representing scum and trying to get them off or a reduced sentence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭MeMen2_MoRi_

When he first told his story to the gardai, if he leaves things as is even with CCTV proving him wrong he would not have a conviction for murder now.

The fact the boy kept amending his story and telling new lies as well as some truths, is what has brought about a guilty verdict for murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭MeMen2_MoRi_

Sure his lawyer said that the poor boy B was suffering ptsd , he didn't know what he was saying. Lawyers are the most immoral people on the planet, imagine representing scum and trying to get them off or a reduced sentence...

Wasn't the lawyer, doctor said that. Doctor also said he didn't want to call him a liar (he told mis truths) as he didn't want to pass judgement on the boy. At the same time passed judgement that the boy didn't know what would happen to Ana at the house.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    I said it yesterday, for all the people still scratching their heads about Boy B being convicted of murder....

"The doctrine of common purpose, common design, joint enterprise, or joint criminal enterprise is a common-law legal doctrine that imputes criminal liability to the participants in a criminal enterprise for all that results from that enterprise."

Ana was murdered. Without Boy B's actions she wouldn't have been at the location where she was attacked. The jury were clearly convinced that from their previous interactions, Boy B knew what Boy A was planning to do.

Even if, for the sake of argument, B only knew A planned to assault her and nevertheless she died as result, thats malice aforethought and any unlawful killing with premeditated harm is murder under our laws

Therefore, murder charges for everybody.

I still would expect an appeal from B, but unless some aspect of the judge's oversight of the case is found to have erred in law, I'd say nothing will change.

Absolutely 100% spot on, it was the plan or perceived plan that implicated Boy B confirmed by he luring her from her home. Boy B did not have to know that Boy A wanted to kill her but he that had an illegal act in plan.

It was not out of the blue the state had made out a case. It had made out a case of A & B involved in a concerted action to lure Ana to an abandoned house using evidence. For B to free himself from that conspiracy he would have to give convincing evidence of the contrary. Saying nothing was not an option for B as he had lured her from her home & he was acting in concert with A was the available evidence.

You talk about 'lured' 'enticed' 'planned' These are words out of your head. They don't exist in evidence. B doesn't have to free himself from anything or explain anything. If the Gardaí had no or insufficient evidence against him then he is home and free. They may know he was involved. They might even be certain but they require evidence. The DPP will not bring charges without evidence.

If you take Boy B's admissions out of the equation there was no evidence against him.
    There was no evidence he was at the scene of the crime.
    There was no evidence that he assaulted her leading to her death.
    There is no evidence that he had knowledge of Boy B's intention to or his committing of murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

When he first told his story to the gardai, if he leaves things as is even with CCTV proving him wrong he would not have a conviction for murder now.

The fact the boy kept amending his story and telling new lies as well as some truths, is what has brought about a guilty verdict for murder.

The Guards called him out on his lies when they were sure he was not being truthful, this is when he started to change his story. If he had stopped talking at this stage the Guards would know he was involved but not have enough evidence to convict him. You can be sure their investigate would have taken a very different route at this point and it's impossible to say if they could have accumulated enough evidence to convince a jury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

It was the testimony of a psychologist. The barrister is legally and morally bound to provide the best possible defense for their client. In our legal system it is essential that defense counsel pursue their briefs diligently and vigorously.

This not only aids the accused in any given case, but all of us by ensuring that convictions are only handed down when properly deserved and that our law enforcement officers, prosecutors etc maintain the required high standards.

Not true he only alienated the jury with his lies even further. The jury believed there was a plan between Boy A and Boy B to lure her to the abandoned house. Boy B played an active part in that by calling to her house to lure her there. The jury believed that this plan was for Boy A to kill Ana or seriously assault her & Boy B was part of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,058 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Can the parents be charged? Should they?

I've 2 kids and I'd hold myself largely responsible for their behaviour (whilst they live at home and are still "kids") so if one of them did something like this it would be 100% my fault and I should go to prison for a very long time.

So let me get this correct.
    Let's just saw the laws changed in the morning and parents were held responsible.
    One night you have a disagreement with one of your teenage kids and they are really pissed with you. They decided to go out and kill somebody so you, your partner will be jailed and your other kid could end up in foster care.
    Is this what you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Aisling_Dublin

She would not have been murdered if he didn't deliver her to boy 'A'

He played a huge part in her murder.

He could have murdered her later with a different plan.

Can the parents be charged? Should they?

I've 2 kids and I'd hold myself largely responsible for their behaviour (whilst they live at home and are still "kids") so if one of them did something like this it would be 100% my fault and I should go to prison for a very long time.

I despair... I honestly do.

Would you be satisfied then? When you have 6 people in prison? What will we do with those parents' other children? Will we throw them in prison as well? Why stop there? Why not just slit their throats in the public square?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,593 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I despair... I honestly do.

Would you be satisfied then? When you have 6 people in prison? What will we do with those parents' other children? Will we throw them in prison as well? Why stop there? Why not just slit their throats in the public square?

Let the other kids be adopted by competent parents? Ideally this should be done regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

They should name the boys. Its getting very dangerous out there.

Already someone was wrongfully identified has one of the boys.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/ana-kriegel-case-court-hears-innocent-child-wrongfully-identified-as-one-of-the-boys-on-social-media-38238206.html

pjohnson wrote: »
    Let the other kids be adopted by competent parents? Ideally this should be done regardless.

And the teachers? And the grandparents? And how wide a net will it take?

Better yet spare the whole lot the trauma and just execute them all on the late late.

We don't but suspect that he was not told the truth by his client. Boy B told his psychologist he believed he would somehow get out of it with a small prison sentence. He believed he would get a few weeks for just luring Ana not a conviction for murder. Looking at the evidence it would seem Boy B though he was a master manipulator. Boy B was already deeply implicated by the fact he called to Ana and lured her from her home & he thought he could simply explain that away, "I took her to the park to meet Boy A & I went home". But CCTV & witness statements showed he was lying. He had to keep expanding when found out. And we don't even know now of the extent of his involvement.

Not true he only alienated the jury with his lies even further. The jury believed there was a plan between Boy A and Boy B to lure her to the abandoned house. Boy B played an active part in that by calling to her house to lure her there. The jury believed that this plan was for Boy A to kill Ana or seriously assault her & Boy B was part of this.

This is nonsense again.
    The 'plan' stuff is all in your head. The Jury weren't involved in any plan.
    The Jury makes its decision based on evidence put in front of it.
    The prosecution produced evidence of interviews between gardai and Boy B.
    In these interviews Boy B made a number of admissions.
    He admitted to being at the crime scene.
    He admitted to being present and observing the commencement of the sexual assault and attack that would lead to her death.
    Based on that evidence he was found guilty of murder.
    Without that evidence there was no case.

They should name the boys. Its getting very dangerous out there.

Already someone was wrongfully identified has one of the boys.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/ana-kriegel-case-court-hears-innocent-child-wrongfully-identified-as-one-of-the-boys-on-social-media-38238206.html

Disgraceful comment. Keyboard warriors and vigilantes demanding the naming are responsible for this nonsense. They would be responsible for even worse if the names were revealed.

Already the family of Boy B have been forced into hiding. Shame on you.