Ana Kriegel - Boys A & B found guilty [Mod: Do NOT post identifying information]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

A lot of anger on here. I would agree with the previous poster that said principle punishment of prison is in the denial of freedom. Apart from this I believe inmates should be able to live with a certain degree of dignity. Access to books. Controlled access to media. Controlled access to exercise equipment. Simple but nutritious food etc.

You can judge a society by how they treat their prisoners.

That said. I wouldn't let either of them step outside a prison for twenty years minimum.

Very sad story anyway.

The thought that my tax money is paying for exercise equipment, access to media and decent food for the likes of these two is tough to swallow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

None at all. The punishment should match the crime. Why should the taxpayer, including Ana's mother and father have to pay for the upkeep of the pondscum that did this to their daughter??

So you'd have been happy with the Birmingham Six and the Guildford Four being executed?

We're not talking about dogs though. Do you see the irony in what you're saying?

you probably need to stop equating these murderers with their victims

the use of the word 'irony' does this.

you might protest that it doesn't.

but it does.

everyone is more than capable of drawing a distinction between murder and capital punishment and the latter being an option as a reaction of the state against the former action by an individual against society

if you want to discuss that with them, its best imo that you do so without pretending they cannot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 474 ✭✭Former Observer

The thought that my tax money is paying for exercise equipment, access to media and decent food for the likes of these two is tough to swallow.

On the contrary I should think that that is exactly what our tax money is for.

Tax write-offs for corporations is what you should be angry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

None at all. The punishment should match the crime. Why should the taxpayer, including Ana's mother and father have to pay for the upkeep of the pondscum that did this to their daughter??

Any half sane country with the death penalty also has an extensive appeal process. The death penaltt is by far the most expensive punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭Feisar

They want two 14 year olds killed though.

It's about cutting out the cancer, even if that tumor comes in the guise of a 14 year old.

Look, I'll respectfully disagree with you and bow out at this stage. Neither of us is going to change the others mind on the topic.

I'd like to note I'm not sure I'd have convicted Boy B from the info I have. I'm not the mob baying for blood.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Because you don't save money by executing people. Have a look at the US.

Anyway, its not coming in Ireland, its never coming in so there is no point even talking about it.

The taxpayer pays to keep people in prison to ensure that they are not committing crime. I am very happy to pay for a very long time to keep these monsters off the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

Their images are being shared. Can't people get in trouble for that?

Two different people in my workplace have received group chat messages with their pictures and names. One of them have been showing it around and i told her to be careful as technically she could be breaking the law. She just laughed and said who cares they are vile creatures which is hard to disagree with tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,425 ✭✭✭facehugger99

optogirl wrote: »
    So many hard men on here wanting to shoot, maim, hang two 13 year olds and in the same breath can't understand how these boys can have been so violent or aggressive. Maybe their Dads were the type to spout about the things the'yd like to do to anyone who they didn't agree with/like.

There is a whole genre of revenge thrillers that cater for these people.

It is nauseating to watch them jump up and down, attempting to out-emote each other on the level of bile they possess and their sick 'solutions'.

I hope the boys in question are removed from society for a long, long time and I believe that as they mature they will be haunted by what they did.

I feel very sorry for that poor girl and her parents - it is beyond imagining.

Having a frothed-up mob baying in the background does nothing to help them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭GarIT

That what the poster would like not what they are getting. Your tax money is paying for holidays to "recreational adventure centres", tayto park, fort Lucan, Dublin zoo, the type of place you'd go on a school trip, swimming lessons, and many other sports activities an innocent perosn could only dream of, weekly ice cream, a fry some mornings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 RiCriostoir

I could only read bits and pieces of this case. And to see some of the stuff that was done, and how she knew what was happening and tried to fight back through it. Her poor whole young life seemed to be miserable from being bullied and then got such a horrible death.

I hope to see when the boys both turn 18 that they are named, not for vigilante justice, but to just have their lives ruined. Both it will prob turn out the same way as Jamie Bulgers murderers, and given new identities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Suckit wrote: »
    Her mother said, Ana was very popular in primary school and loved it. She couldn't understand what had changed in secondary school :(

She hit adolescence and became a target because she was a tall, blonde, foreign, attractive & different girl.

tuxy wrote: »
    Any half sane country with the death penalty also has an extensive appeal process. The death penaltt is by far the most expensive punishment.

lets get idealistic and presume we can improve things

i think we can do it!

Because you don't save money by executing people. Have a look at the US.

Anyway, its not coming in Ireland, its never coming in so there is no point even talking about it.

The taxpayer pays to keep people in prison to ensure that they are not committing crime. I am very happy to pay for a very long time to keep these monsters off the street.

`We also need to stop taking up space in our prisons with low level crooks and non fine payers. Sending someone into a prison because they haven't paid a TV licence like ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭theguzman

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    A quick death? That's the easy way out.

It brings closure, 100% effective and no reoffending, knowing these pieces of thrash are alive after what they did. We need to bring back the Death Penalty and use it, there is people beyond any sort of rehabilitation, humans are socialised animals, you have good and you have bad, there is a high risk that these will kill again when released so why allow someone else's life to be taken and families destroyed. It is not just this case but we should be hanging all murderers and paedophiles, in a proper society you make the perpetrators suffer for their crimes. There is no law and order or justice here with the disgusting short sentences, the death penalty should be used here again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,404 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I haven't seen them but I saw a guy on twitter saying he'd been sent 3 different hoto's of three different boys each saying it was boy A. And it was 4 different photos for boy b. So it's quite possible all the people sharing photos of the boys aren't even doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭nehemiah

joe40 wrote: »
    Ireland's justice system is similar to most of western world, excluding America. We're not going back to capital punishment anytime soon.

Some people would appear to prefer Saudi Arabia type justice, or something out of the middle ages.

They prefer Saudi Arabian-type justice except when it's Saudi Arabia carrying it out. Then it's symbolic of how backwards Islam is. Go figure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

A lot of anger on here.
    Hardly noteworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭joe40

There is a 0% recidivism rate for people who receive the death sentence.

Capital punishment doesn't work, just look at America which has one of the highest murder rates in the world.

A justice system is not a revenge system.

I actually think a few posters are actually trolling here with their talk of executing 14 year olds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 RiCriostoir

GreeBo wrote: »
    She hit adolescence and became a target because she was a tall, blonde, foreign, attractive & different girl.

I remember reading somewhere that Boy B picked on her, cause "She dressed slutty and was more developed"....

There is a whole genre of revenge thrillers that cater for these people.

It is nauseating to watch them jump up and down, attempting to out-emote each other on the level of bile they possess and their sick 'solutions'.

I hope the boys in question are removed from society for a long, long time and I believe that as they mature they will be haunted by what they did.

I feel very sorry for that poor girl and her parents - it is beyond imagining.

Having a frothed-up mob baying in the background does nothing to help them.

yeah

as stated im sure a few times in response to this hot take

"lets not lose sight of the ~real~ bad guys here"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭20silkcut

I wonder how much Ana Kriegel's social isolation made A and B feel that they had a licence to what whatever they wanted with her.

Bullying is a shocking curse on anyone.
    Hopefully all those who engaged in will have a long hard look at themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

GarIT wrote: »

Yes, a possible prison sentence for anyone caught. If you have evidence of it happening call the Gardaí non emergency number.

It's on social media and the guy who posted it has his pic and name up. I guess he doesn't know lol. It might not be them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,261 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

My preference is life means life and each and every day they are made to work on boring menial tasks which is of benefit to society. I’m sure ppl can suggest many tasks that these convicts could be put to work on, possibly shackled up yes and supervised by armed prison guards when working on roads etc

Their images are on social media. The cat is out of the bag. Didn't even take 24 hours

theguzman wrote: »
    It brings closure, 100% effective and no reoffending, knowing these pieces of thrash are alive after what they did. We need to bring back the Death Penalty and use it, there is people beyond any sort of rehabilitation, humans are socialised animals, you have good and you have bad, there is a high risk that these will kill again when released so why allow someone else's life to be taken and families destroyed. It is not just this case but we should be hanging all murderers and paedophiles, in a proper society you make the perpetrators suffer for their crimes. There is no law and order or justice here with the disgusting short sentences, the death penalty should be used here again.

Whilst i agree with the death penalty you can't just bring it back for all murderers. I would however bring it into force for all convicted pedos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,404 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

theguzman wrote: »

We would be hanging innocent people at some point. As someone said already the birmingham 6 and guildford 4 would have been killed. Every year there are people on death row in the Us who are exonerated because new evidence is found or old evidence is reassessed because of new technology.

Trump called for the death penalty in the Central park jogging case. In that case all 5 guys were exonerated when another guy came forward and confessed and they linked him to the crime through DNA. If the death penalty had've been used then that would be 5 innocent boys who would have been killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

joe40 wrote: »
    Capital punishment doesn't work, just look at America which has one of the highest murder rates in the world.

A justice system is not a revenge system.

I actually think a few posters are actually trolling here with their talk of executing 14 year olds.

Capital punishment doesn't work because you have years and years of appeals in the US. You have people sitting on Death Row for 20 years.

If you limited it to one appeal and that was it, it would have a greater impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

GreeBo wrote: »

I remember reading somewhere that Boy B picked on her, cause "She dressed slutty and was more developed"....

This is why I said he didn't help himself and wasn't very smart when he described her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,308 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Capital punishment doesn't work because you have years and years of appeals in the US. You have people sitting on Death Row for 20 years.

If you limited it to one appeal and that was it, it would have a greater impact.

you would also be executing more innocent people.