Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How is a man supposed to find a woman in the 21st century

• Registered Users Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

anyway

women. 21st century. meeting em. how
    Yoga classes?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,250 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

I hate dating sites....I’m literally on them just because “everyone else is” but it just doesn’t feel right. I would prefer to meet someone in real life, like having the banter in a pub or whatever but this doesn’t seem to happen anymore. Just turned 34 and I think I’m just destined to be single lol. It’s a shame the way dating has changed. People have become way too picky also, I’m as guilty of it myself ffs - it’s all based on a picture at the end of the day because most people (on tinder anyway) don’t write anything about themselves.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,934 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

leahyl wrote: »
    I hate dating sites....I’m literally on them just because “everyone else is” but it just doesn’t feel right. I would prefer to meet someone in real life, like having the banter in a pub or whatever but this doesn’t seem to happen anymore. Just turned 34 and I think I’m just destined to be single lol. It’s a shame the way dating has changed. People have become way too picky also, I’m as guilty of it myself ffs - it’s all based on a picture at the end of the day because most people (on tinder anyway) don’t write anything about themselves.

Apps and sites are just dire to be honest.

The main place I meet women is work which carries the usual set of caveats. There is one I get on with who pops down from Cambridge every other month or so I thought about asking out today but I bottled it.

Anyway, being single isn't so bad. Travel, drink, socialize and layabout when you want and there's nobody to stop you adopting several cats.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

The main place I meet women is work which carries the usual set of caveats. There is one I get on with who pops down from Cambridge every other month or so I thought about asking out today but I bottled it.

Anyway, being single isn't so bad. Travel, drink, socialize and layabout when you want and there's nobody to stop you adopting several cats.

Tbf the advantages of being single far outweigh the disadvantages

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Just ask her the next month sure ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Go for it.

Yeah I’ve been single a looooong time though so it’s starting to get a bit boring now, wouldn’t mind spending some time with someone I fancy like mad but is also sound :-D ah well, I’ve got my health and that’s all that matters :-P

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

anewme wrote: »
    Brau hof deleted his response.

Probably for the best.

He's a rereg. That post was the usual cut and paste job, which is why it made less sense than normal.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,934 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Just ask her the next month sure ;)
    Go for it.

Aye. Was debating it. Will have to wait until next month. Not sure about the workplace thing though. Meant to be unprofessional, no?

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

Aye. Was debating it. Will have to wait until next month. Not sure about the workplace thing though. Meant to be unprofessional, no?

I matched with two guys from work on tinder and neither worked out - in both cases they didn’t want anything to happen even though they swiped for me? The first one he said he doesn’t have relationships with people at work....so his game was what exactly? Lol. He has left since

The second guy is still there but he had come out of a relationship and didn’t want anything serious. I had put on my profile that I wasn’t after anything casual and he still swiped for me?! Wtf!!

I’m not trying to turn you off btw, just saying what my experience was with people in work - my workplace is predominantly female too, so it probably looked like I was coming onto the only single males in there and that I’m mad to nab a man haha - I’m actually the complete opposite and it took a lot to actually make a move cos I’m shy enough when it comes to these things.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭anewme

If it comes to something, one shoukd leave, if not, its a fling.

Only you can decide if its worth it snd whats more important to you.

Ive had an 8 year relationship through work. Ultimately, it failed, nothing to do with work, as one had left once it was v serious.

Thats life, id do it again.

I matched with two guys from work on tinder and neither worked out - in both cases they didn’t want anything to happen even though they swiped for me? The first one he said he doesn’t have relationships with people at work....so his game was what exactly? Lol. He has left since

The second guy is still there but he had come out of a relationship and didn’t want anything serious. I had put on my profile that I wasn’t after anything casual and he still swiped for me?! Wtf!!

I’m not trying to turn you off btw, just saying what my experience was with people in work - my workplace is predominantly female too, so it probably looked like I was coming onto the only single males in there and that I’m mad to nab a man haha - I’m actually the complete opposite and it took a lot to actually make a move cos I’m shy enough when it comes to these things.

I'd be fairly shy as well.

I've no idea if she's single though I think she might be or if she'd even be interested. I wouldn't even consider it if she were regularly in the building I work in.

The Tinder lads you mentioned might have swiped right accidentally perhaps? London has a lot of people so I'm certainly guilty of that though I've never found anyone at work on it.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

You're not working with her week in week out though, so I see no harm.

I'd be fairly shy as well.

I've no idea if she's single though I think she might be or if she'd even be interested. I wouldn't even consider it if she were regularly in the building I work in.

The Tinder lads you mentioned might have swiped right accidentally perhaps? London has a lot of people so I'm certainly guilty of that though I've never found anyone at work on it.

Wow thanks a lot ;-) don’t think it was accidental, well at least not for the second guy anyway as he told me he found me attractive and we get on well, maybe he thought I’d change my mind and he’d have a nice little fling for himself...nope, that’s not for me lol

Yeah it was a pretty big step for me in both cases to swipe right on someone from work, when I think back on it now I’m kind of glad I did it even if it did kind of upset me at the time when it didn’t work out. I think I was just exhausted from it all and it was just another failure.

You're not working with her week in week out though, so I see no harm.

Not too worried about that at all. Just more about not making a tit of myself in the workplace. And HR.
    Wow thanks a lot ;-) don’t think it was accidental, well at least not for the second guy anyway as he told me he found me attractive and we get on well, maybe he thought I’d change my mind and he’d have a nice little fling for himself...nope, that’s not for me lol

Yeah it was a pretty big step for me in both cases to swipe right on someone from work, when I think back on it now I’m kind of glad I did it even if it did kind of upset me at the time when it didn’t work out. I think I was just exhausted from it all and it was just another failure.

Didn't mean it like that at all, L. I just meant that if these fellas saw you they might have swiped no as ye're colleagues and they did say they didn't want workplace romances.

H. H. Asquith

Not too worried about that at all. Just more about not making a tit of myself in the workplace. And HR.

Didn't mean it like that at all, L. I just meant that if these fellas saw you they might have swiped no as ye're colleagues and they did say they didn't want workplace romances.

Haha I know you didn’t, I was only messing with ya :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

Well don't use Tinder anyway. Online dating sites are a bit better but still hard to find a compatible match.

Well don't worry OP, there's always MGTOW.

But don't and definitely double don't date an Asian woman. You will suffer longgggg and harrrrrrd.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,111 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Brau hof deleted his response.

Probably for the best.
    Well when anyone starts going on about alpha/beta/gamma/lamda/theta/whatever one can be pretty sure of a few things. 1) they have zero clue how these terms apply to social animal interactions in general, never mind humans and 2) they've bought into the whole Yank PUA nonsense monetised by largely aiming at and taking advantage of mostly young unsocialised, often on the spectrum men. Men looking for "cheat codes" for sociosexual interactions. Some of these outfits online use cult like marketing techniques. I can fully understand why they appeal to their demographic, but jaysus can't they see they're being sold snake oil with a tiny hint of truth? Homeopathic type stuff.

Answer to the OP's question? Fcuked if I know and how long as a piece of string comes into it, but a few have touched on the basics. Rather like finding a new job, it's wise to look inwards and ask would I hire me? Ditto for dating. If you don't find yourself attractive, who else will?

Interesting, sociable men with their sh1te together are more attractive to women. Genuine True Fact™ right there. Get more interesting. For your own sake. And you can. The usual stuff about joining clubs and the like is usual because it's bloody good advice. Avoid solitary activities. You can't catch fish with your nets in the boat. The invisible man isn't going to get the leg over anytime soon. Become more visible.

Do looks matter? Yes. Are there broad "leagues" in play? Yes. Hollywood, well meaning people and the like often sell the notion that it doesn't but that's because it's an appealing idea for so many so makes bank and makes us feel better about ourselves. For the "pickup artist" fans out there anyone who claims a guy like this;
    001.jpg
    can with their "Game System 3000", get a woman like this;
    portrait-of-beautiful-woman-picture-id652924830?s=612x612
    is - unless his personality and charisma and bank balance were forged by Zeus himself for the lulz on humanity - peddling the purest strain of certified organic bullshite.

However men can make a difference here. They can improve their appearance with styling and fitness. Yer man in the above pic would look much better with more styled glasses, a decent haircut, maybe a bit of a beard and by relegating the kids tee shirt to the bin or as ironic night wear.

Inner world wise, try to be more sociable. Doesn't need to be full on clown extrovert either, just normal level oh how ya, being interested in people social. Fitness ditto. You don't need to be able to do an Ironman, but you don't want to gas out walking a hundred yards either. Money? Sure, rich is great, but generally you need to have enough that you're not worrying that you have to walk five miles home because you can't spring for a taxi.

Avoid tinder and the like in my humble. The odds are stacked agin you unless you're photogenic. Women get more swipes on same(though they have to filter the dick pics and propeller head fcuknuggets, so it's not all gravy there, by any means). Photogenic women will get stacks of swipes and the feeling of abundance, so hard to stand out in that queue of drooling blokes hungrily doing tricks like a performing seal for her attention. So try to engage face to face socially, better yet in a social circle maybe based around a common interest. Far better odds.

If you do get a date, don't go full Hollywood grand gesture with flowers and expressions of love before the menu is read. It doesn't work and puts Women™ right off. Leave that guff to Hallmark films and Mexican soap operas. Dial back the emotionals in general. Women™ will often say the want a man with a sense of humour and a emotional man, but they don't want a clown or a therapy patient.

Go somewhere low key, maybe have a coffee date. Pubs can work if they're more suburban/local/quiet. Don't get sloshed. A glass or three of vino may grease the wheels of rapport, but a bottle just makes you greasy. An open air walk through the city can work, if you're in a city, with stops for areas of interest and sit downs along the way. Cinema is generally a big no no. The flic you watch replaces talk. Let them talk. Don't go all weird and just natter on about yourself, or ask questions without waiting for answers. Avoid politics, religion, what your therapist thinks about your bed wetting and any of that heavy shite and for christ's sake, don't talk about exes. Indeed if she does or runs through any of the other topics, be cool, but flick the Next button in your head. Ditto if she's asking about how many kids you want and how much do you think an engagement ring should cost. Feign a sudden case of airborne and virulent ebola at that point.

And if one date doesn't go well, genuinely think and feel wishing her the best of luck with her quest, even if she was a thundering cow. It was a learning experience for you both. Realise that women make up 50% of the population, they're not going out of fashion anytime soon. There will be another, indeed others who you will gel with.

Now maybe a lady will pipe up and tell us this is all BS and that she has the man she loves and he's a one legged, Star Trek collecting, 5ft high hermit. And if so great. Though I'd bet she didn't fall through his window one night. Out of the blue. But again, great, so what's your excuse? If your goto response starts with "oh I could, if only", you're bullshitting yourself because it's safer to do so. TL;DR? Don't bullshit yourself. You'll know it, or should.

My 3cents anyway.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Well....

giphy.gif

H. H. Asquith

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,111 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Maybe it's a tactic for some blokes? With Tinder it seems generally speaking women have the upper hand on quantity of matches and they then sift for quality. If I were on it as a bloke and not looking like 6'4" Clint O'Rockjaw, captain of the GAAAAAH Team, I'd swipe on every single woman that looked close enough to my range of what I found attractive. Throw a wide net and see what comes up.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

It's simple really; if you're a man who may wants kids later in life (as I may do) then be with a woman who wishes to have the same.

A much younger woman in that case.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Have you ever gone out for a night, not looking to meet anyone, and woke up the following morning beside someone?

It is hard to say what makes people attracted to each other and someone might well have a very enjoyable one off event even though they weren't specifically looking for a hook up just because they clicked with someone or whatever.

I think when people say they don't want hook ups, what they are trying to convey is "Don't send me d*ck pics" but if they are not open to making a connection that might be short lived yet enjoyable and rewarding on both parts then they may be closing off their own chance to make a meaningful connection.

Anyone who has a definitive list of "not looking for hook ups. Wants to think long term, wants someone who knows what they want", isn't looking for a relationship per say, they are auditioning for someone to play a part in the life they want to live.

Maybe it's a tactic for some blokes? With Tinder it seems generally speaking women have the upper hand on quantity of matches and they then sift for quality. If I were on it as a bloke and not looking like 6'4" Clint O'Rockjaw, captain of the GAAAAAH Team, I'd swipe on every single woman that looked close enough to my range of what I found attractive. Throw a wide net and see what comes up.

Yeah, who knows really! It's a minefield on tinder! I think it's time for one of my many "breaks" from it :pac:

Have you ever gone out for a night, not looking to meet anyone, and woke up the following morning beside someone?

It is hard to say what makes people attracted to each other and someone might well have a very enjoyable one off event even though they weren't specifically looking for a hook up just because they clicked with someone or whatever.

I think when people say they don't want hook ups, what they are trying to convey is "Don't send me d*ck pics" but if they are not open to making a connection that might be short lived yet enjoyable and rewarding on both parts then they may be closing off their own chance to make a meaningful connection.

Anyone who has a definitive list of "not looking for hook ups. Wants to think long term, wants someone who knows what they want", isn't looking for a relationship per say, they are auditioning for someone to play a part in the life they want to live.

Yeah, like I said I don't want something short lived....don't want to waste my time....

As for the second part I bolded, well....generalisation much? You're saying I'm not looking for a relationship because I've stated that I don't want hookups :confused: I'm auditioning for someone to play a part in the life I want to live....eh yes, just like those who want hookups are doing the very same, as that's the life they want to live, which is perfectly fine.....different strokes for different folks.

It's like applying for jobs, for men you start off with high standards and after 6 months with the rent overdue are down at McDonalds begging then for a job.

Women on the other hand are like the employer with a ton of crap CVs to sort through.

Obviously there are exceptions for both sexes, but look at the other poster that had to work up courage to swipe right twice on guys who had swiped right on her already. Those two had probably swiped right on 100 women each on the past month. I think it's naive as a woman to think anyone will actually read your profile. Maybe AFTER you swipe back on them. Before would be an utter waste of time.

Tinder is the last place a woman should look for a long term relationship IMO. Why do you think companies pay recruitment agencies a fortune?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Yeah, like I said I don't want something short lived....don't want to waste my time....

As for the second part I bolded, well....generalisation much? You're saying I'm not looking for a relationship because I've stated that I don't want hookups :confused: I'm auditioning for someone to play a part in the life I want to live....eh yes, just like those who want hookups are doing the very same, as that's the life they want to live, which is perfectly fine.....different strokes for different folks.

It's a general comment. It's not all about you. ;)

Yes, a generalisation about all people who state they don't want anything casual/hookups, of which I am a part of....so....not getting your point there. You replied to my message so....

My original statement:

"I had put on my profile that I wasn’t after anything casual and he still swiped for me?!"

To which you replied:

"Anyone who has a definitive list of "not looking for hook ups. Wants to think long term, wants someone who knows what they want", isn't looking for a relationship per say, they are auditioning for someone to play a part in the life they want to live."

So, yeah it is about me seeing as you replied to my post with that ;)

Or and crazy notion here, they simply don't want hook ups. That has always been the problem with the sexual revolution and its aftermath, it opened up so many new options and that's great, but it also came with the assumption that everybody wants to shag, have short term flings. Indeed it can often be seen as self limiting, even prudish if one's bed post hasn't crumbled to splinters because of notches in it.
    Which is what damn near everybody does anyway. You "audition" hookups too. Everybody has a basic yes/no/maybe criteria about people they meet(boundaries can be made more nebulous by drink). This usually happens within minutes if not seconds of meeting someone new.

Yoga classes?

it waa a hypothetical to get thread back on track

(the mrs does her yoga in the living room, for a. start)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭Feisar

Jaysus when did it get so hard?...

(That's what she said!)

First they came for the socialists...