Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chernobyl - HBO/Sky *Spoilers*

• Registered Users Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭paulbok

Unearthly wrote: »
    Trevor from Eastenders ;)

He's wintered well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

Just found this:
    62219291_2417584161618651_2774376112451485696_n.png?_nc_cat=111&_nc_ht=scontent-sof1-1.xx&oh=32adbe67db312c514a3cfb97eb62827b&oe=5D7C3C93

• Registered Users Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

i havnt watched this yet but TF usually has a good take

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 8,911 ✭✭✭CoBo55

The Jman wrote: »
    What am I missing with this show? It's boring and depressing, I don't understand what the hype is about!!

It isn't a "Show" as you put it, it's depiction of something that actually happened, it also had the potential to change the world as we know it.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,689 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I finished the show last night and even as someone who has been fascinated(is that the right word ?) by the Chernobyl disaster since 1999 when my extended family first went there to help the kids in the orphanages it's something I've always read about and I've watched stuff on it and even I learned stuff from this show. I have to say it was brilliantly done and even episode 4 which I felt spent a little too much time on killing the animals was still an excellent episode. The English accents didn't annoy me as I'd prefer the actors to speak in their normal accents instead of it turning into a soviet era version of allo allo.

I really did like the ending where they went through what happened to the real people after the disaster. I felt that was a nice touch.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,325 ✭✭✭Heckler

Watched the final episode last night. Was kinda expecting a wind down episode but thought it was one of the best of the five, skipping between the trial and the night in question. I hope again that Harris and the show get all the awards they deserve. Looking at the pictures of the 3 on trial they really nailed it looks wise with the actors.

Best TV i've seen in years. As a mini series right up there with Band of Brothers. I'm telling everyone to watch it.

As usual the instagram and social media twats are at it. One pic elsewhere of a some idiot half naked with her thong up her arse.

https://www.bbc.com/news/newsbeat-48608713

silverharp wrote: »
    i havnt watched this yet but TF usually has a good take

I'd like to see someone debate him on these points. I find it really hard to take these one sided youtube videos seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,689 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Heckler wrote: »
    Watched the final episode last night. Was kinda expecting a wind down episode but thought it was one of the best of the five, skipping between the trial and the night in question. I hope again that Harris and the show get all the awards they deserve. Looking at the pictures of the 3 on trial they really nailed it looks wise with the actors.

Best TV i've seen in years. As a mini series right up there with Band of Brothers. I'm telling everyone to watch it.

As usual the instagram and social media twats are at it. One pic elsewhere of a some idiot half naked with her thong up her arse.

https://www.bbc.com/news/newsbeat-48608713
    If the make up people and the people involved in recreating the affects of radiation don't get every award going then I give up. I've seen Jared harris in several things before but the apple didn't fall far from the tree if you know what I mean.

Those social media...twats is a perfect word for them shouldn't be allowed to exploit the place just because it's in the mainstream again. "Oh look how many likes on instagram i got" yeah how will those likes help exactly if you don't stupid stuff in a radioactive area and get exposed beyond what you should ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭adam88

I would like to go and visit the town. I think tho that after this it’s going to be highly commercialised and you’ll be herded around as you would in one of the big tourist attractions you’d have in the states or that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

I am glad I visited there 6 years ago when it was so much more relaxed. Today it is a zoo.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭Nermal

I'd like to see someone debate him on these points. I find it really hard to take these one sided youtube videos seriously.

It is certainly a serious and basic error to confuse a steam explosion with a nuclear one.

But then, if you're willing to invent a PC character, I guess you're willing to invent nonsensical science.

It is a pity, in many other respects it's a wonderfully-made show.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,325 ✭✭✭Heckler

Nermal wrote: »
    It is certainly a serious and basic error to confuse a steam explosion with a nuclear one.

But then, if you're willing to invent a PC character, I guess you're willing to invent nonsensical science.

If you talking about Ulana Khomyuk played by Emily Watson it was explained in the credits that she was a representative of about 20 scientists that helped Legasov. It is TV. There has to be /bound to be some dramatic licence. Its not the first time some historical figures have been almalgated. If it serves the true story I see no issue.

What are your credentials re: steam and nuclear explosions ? I'm pretty sure a multi-million dollar HBO production did their research but if you have any facts not lifted from youtube etc. to the contrary lets hear them.

Yer man thunderfoot is a contrarian anti feminist who's making a living off of creating DESTROY GOTCHA videos. Excuse me if I don't blindly take his word for it. He could well be right but I need a second opinion.

He is a legitimate research scientist, that is how he makes his living

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Lads we got a nice thing. Can we just be happy we got a nice thing and appreciate that rather than get into ‘other things the makers did’ for the sake of having SOMETHING to moan about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

leggo wrote: »
    Lads we got a nice thing. Can we just be happy we got a nice thing and appreciate that rather than get into ‘other things the makers did’ for the sake of having SOMETHING to moan about?

No we cannot. Internet click chasers need to stoke up controversy and outrage, their business depends on it.

I think people losing their head over the invention of a composite scientist character and other counterfactuls in the show need to remember that it is a historical drama series, not a documentary. As a master of the format HBO has form in making these small changes that do not terribly distort the truth while enabling a coherent dramatic narrative.

Band of Brothers contained similar deliberate errors to assist the drama : for instance the characters rarely wear helmets so they don't all look identical. If it was entirely realistic you'd have spent the whole series wondering what each unrecognisable helmeted character whose shouting cannot be made out over the shellfire was trying to say.

Generation Kill similarly had a simplification of the myriad of characters and command politics within the battalion to make it easier to follow (in part this was in the book already).

I'm certain The Pacific did similar.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    No we cannot. Internet click chasers need to stoke up controversy and outrage, their business depends on it.

I think people losing their head over the invention of a composite scientist character and other counterfactuls in the show need to remember that it is a historical drama series, not a documentary. As a master of the format HBO has form in making these small changes that do not terribly distort the truth while enabling a coherent dramatic narrative.

Band of Brothers contained similar deliberate errors to assist the drama : for instance the characters rarely wear helmets so they don't all look identical. If it was entirely realistic you'd have spent the whole series wondering what each unrecognisable helmeted character whose shouting cannot be made out over the shellfire was trying to say.

Generation Kill similarly had a simplification of the myriad of characters and command politics within the battalion to make it easier to follow (in part this was in the book already).

I'm certain The Pacific did similar.

I don't think anyone has a problem with composite characters, but if they change fundamental facts then it needs to be pointed out. The dramatic hook was that they were avoiding a massive Armageddon scenario, if that was pure invention then that's important, if the Russians believed this at the time fine but clear it up in the credits or post analysis.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I concur that the last scene explaining the fates of the characters in real-life was well done. They really amped up the tension in the command room pre-explosion very well too. Show hardly wavered in quality from first episode to the finale- outstanding.

As for the Chernobyl "tourists", I understand fans going to the locations were GOT were filmed as they are beautiful scenery. But to go to an abandoned Communist-style factory in a part of the world with no stand-out features, that's fecking in an exclusion zone due to radiation, is worthy of a Darwin award.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

I don't think anyone has a problem with composite characters, but if they change fundamental facts then it needs to be pointed out. The dramatic hook was that they were avoiding a massive Armageddon scenario, if that was pure invention then that's important, if the Russians believed this at the time fine but clear it up in the credits or post analysis.

Are you serious? The vast majority of the criticism in this thread was of the composite character.

My knowledge of the disaster is not complete. However I believe it was entirely plausible that there would be a greater disaster if the meltdown reached a large body of water - either tanks below or the water table. The nature and extent of such a further disaster may be disputed, after all there were no precedents to rely upon. However it made sense to plan for the worst.

The nature of the explosion described in the final episode took me by surprise. I'd been told it was a steam explosion, but again I'm no expert.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,172 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

The writers anticipated people getting offended by women they covered this in the podcast.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,859 ✭✭✭Cordell

As for the Chernobyl "tourists"
    Nothing new, and quite safe if done responsibly. A mate of mine went there (before the series) and the whole trip was well organized and completely safe. A trip to India or South America or even Australia will expose you to much bigger health hazards.
    S.T.A.L.K.E.R. game series also boosted Chernobyl tourism some 10 years ago.

Are you serious? The vast majority of the criticism in this thread was of the composite character.

My knowledge of the disaster is not complete. However I believe it was entirely plausible that there would be a greater disaster if the meltdown reached a large body of water - either tanks below or the water table. The nature and extent of such a further disaster may be disputed, after all there were no precedents to rely upon. However it made sense to plan for the worst.

The nature of the explosion described in the final episode took me by surprise. I'd been told it was a steam explosion, but again I'm no expert.

Im serious :D , didn't read the thread though :pac:

• Subscribers Posts: 41,280 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

source for the nuclear steam explosion. 2016 :
    Journalist Stephen McGinty wrote, “This would trigger a nuclear explosion that, so Soviet physicists calculated, would vaporize the fuel in the three other reactors, level 200 square kilometers [77 square miles], destroy Kiev, contaminate the water supply used by 30 million people, and render northern Ukraine uninhabitable for more than a century” (The Scotsman, March 16, 2011).
    https://www.thetrumpet.com/14007-three-men-who-saved-millions

original article 2011:
    https://www.scotsman.com/news-2-15012/stephen-mcginty-lead-coffins-and-a-nation-s-thanks-for-the-chernobyl-suicide-squad-1-1532289

extension:
    https://fantasticfacts.net/252/
    The 2009 School of Russian and Asian Studies had an even bleaker assessment: If the melting core reached the water, the resulting explosion “would have wiped out half of Europe and made Europe, Ukraine, and parts of Russia uninhabitable for approximately 500,000 years.”

https://geohistory.today/chernobyl-short-history-human-impact/
    And soon the scientists’ worst fears were confirmed: the concrete slab beneath the 185 tons of nuclear material was cracking. If it gave out, a second explosion – far worse than the first – would result. It wasn’t revealed until 1991 that there had been serious danger of a second explosion, which, if it had taken place, would have wiped out half of Europe and made Europe, Ukraine, and parts of Russia uninhabitable for approximately 500,000 years.

He is a legitimate research scientist, that is how he makes his living

Fair enough. He also makes a living by DESTROYING Anita Sarkeesian. I watched his video. I'd like a second opinion to confirm what he says.

He took the explanation as very literal. As if the steam explosion literally equated to 2-4 megaton nuclear explosion. My understanding was the radioactive material sent flying would cause a fallout similar to that effect; not an explosion that would engulf that city mentioned (Minsk I think).

• Registered Users Posts: 13,526 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

And how much of it would there have been if it had been a male composite character? People had their knickers in a twist because it was a woman. Because how dare they, or something.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    And how much of it would there have been if it had been a male composite character? People had their knickers in a twist because it was a woman. Because how dare they, or something.

they did add rubbish drama to it, that the fate of the planet was down to a plucky woman either getting through a security gate or not. The composite "character" could have been a small group of scientists getting together and would still have been interesting

• Registered Users Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭boccy23

Christ, this thread has gone down the plughole!

..... clicks Unfollow.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Relikk

There were already enough unfamiliar (to us at first, even though we knew who was who by the end of episode 5) Russian names to keep track of in the series without adding an entire team of 20, or so, scientists into the mix, and if they all contributed to the solutions, to focus on one person delivering those solutions would have been a discredit to them. It was a wise decision to amalgamate them into a single fictional character.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,526 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

they did add rubbish drama to it, that the fate of the planet was down to a plucky woman either getting through a security gate or not.

And I maintain that a large cohort of those complaining about it wouldn't have had remotely the same issue had it been a plucky man.

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ollkiller

Dial Hard wrote: »
    And I maintain that a large cohort of those complaining about it wouldn't have had remotely the same issue had it been a plucky man.

It really beggars belief how anyone would give out about putting one character on screen instead of 20. And i'm delighted it was Emily Watson as she is a fantastic actress. Some people will give out about anything especially if it involves a strong female.