Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v9] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,628 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

tototoe wrote: »
    The heather story line is terrible. Some of the worst characters in the show all in one storyline. She is really over acting the part as well.

It's badly written IMO. If she had a recent brain injury, you would expect her to be receiving regular speech and language therapy and yet this doesn't seem to be happening and her vocabulary hasn't improved at all in the last 12-18 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭jos28

Strazdas wrote: »
    It's badly written IMO. If she had a recent brain injury, you would expect her to be receiving regular speech and language therapy and yet this doesn't seem to be happening and her vocabulary hasn't improved at all in the last 12-18 months.

Agreed, and there are organisations such as Headway Ireland who would give support and therapy to Heather and family. Heather needs to be occupied and stimulated, a local Headway group could sort that out.

jos28 wrote: »
    Agreed, and there are organisations such as Headway Ireland who would give support and therapy to Heather and family. Heather needs to be occupied and stimulated, a local Headway group could sort that out.

The idea that someone with serious issues stemming from a head injury would just be dumped with the Phelans and not receiving any treatment or therapy is ridiculous. A young woman like Heather would be a prime candidate for speech and language therapy and probably counselling as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

It’s not going to be a happy ending for Fiona and Paul cause even if Fiona is genuine that guy who she was colluding with, will spill the beans to Paul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Sparko

The idea that someone with serious issues stemming from a head injury would just be dumped with the Phelans and not receiving any treatment or therapy is ridiculous. A young woman like Heather would be a prime candidate for speech and language therapy and probably counselling as well.

I'm surprised we haven't heard anything about her being escorted off the plane home from Brazil by the gardai - based on her behaviour so far it just doesn't seem likely that she was stable on the plane by herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

If anything Heather seems to be getting worse instead of better. It's a sad affair.

Her behaviour is affecting so many people around her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭threetrees

I'm not sure how long Wayne can keep schtum about the child of prague. It's all going to come out soon I reckon.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

The stooges filming a commerical, remember they were filming one as well in Wayne's gaff with damo.

Great camera work there from Orla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,120 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I wouldn't buy a car at Molloy's the reg's don't even exist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭jos28

It would be far more realistic if they even showed her family struggling/campaigning to get treatment for Heather. Dealing with HSE, waiting months for appointments etc etc

The stooges filming a commerical, remember they were filming one as well in Wayne's gaff with damo.

Great camera work there from Orla.

It looks so professional a garage with it's employees working on cars parked on double yellow lines on the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Sparko

Has Ray ever shown any interest in Ruth before tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

Oh god, Wayne’s video hahahahah

Heather really is a terrible person.

I'm 99% sure in about 07/08 Heather was researching for a book about being a prostitute so she went out on the street for research.(She did nothing).
    I could just imagine the spin on this if it happened now.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Jesus christ, this show, heather shouting out she loves duck tales in the middle of the pub, fecking hell they've ruined her character, she was actually funny before this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

Jesus christ, this show, heather shouting out she loves duck tales in the middle of the pub, fecking hell they've ruined her character, she was actually funny before this.

Its really poor and continues to slide . The garage video thing was pathetic and the whole Heather storyline is a complete disaster. As others have said the way her supposed condition is being handled is not in the least bit credible. I dont think the 30 something team of writers do credible though. Its worse that storyline is getting and the acting is just terrible.

. The viewing figures must be on the slide, rte have a post about fair city on their website nearly daily, pushing the molloys garage video thing being one of the recent ones and it stank of desperation tbh. How they think that will entertain or attract viewers is beyond me or even that its a worthy storyline to report on. I know its Rte but come on.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2019/0610/1053321-watch-orla-shoots-promo-video-for-garage-on-fair-city/

Fair city has always been criticised, it comes with the territory but over the years they did some storylines well and there was always a bit of humour, not always intended its fair to say...but now its just nonsense. Somebody thinks we shoukd be entertained by mundane storylines around cass and leo as an example. They are repeating more or less the same storlines around paul brennan for years.

For my money, the current slide started with katy in the box and its like a runaway train going down a steep hill since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

It's fairly common out Galway direction.

Sometimes the Irish version, Iarfhlaith, (ear-la) is used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Afollower

Orla has looked very rough for the past week. Is she letting her hair go grey or what. She looks a right state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭bm_1212

tototoe wrote: »
    For my money, the current slide started with katy in the box and its like a runaway train going down a steep hill since.

the "jumped the shark" moment..

She seems to have about ten different problems going on at the same time : personality disorder, speech and language problems, reduced inhibitions etc.....it seems a very far fetched portrayal of someone with a brain injury

It's as if they think 'brain injury' gives them carte blanche to do whatever they like with the character. She seemed far like someone high on anti depressants or hallucinogenics last night than someone with a head injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭LordBasil

Yeah, Agree with a lot of posters, Fair City seems to be stuck in a bit of a rut - repetitive storylines, annoying characters. Not good for the run up to the 30th Anniversary in September.

Afollower wrote: »
    Orla has looked very rough for the past week. Is she letting her hair go grey or what. She looks a right state.

I noticed that last night also.(The black jacket probably made it standout more)
    However in May she posted this on Twitter!
    D7aqidDX4AE3XEd.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭LordBasil

bm_1212 wrote: »
    the "jumped the shark" moment..

The whole Katy thing really was ridiculous especially the ending. It should have ended with Ciaran being arrested, charged and the last time we see him is him being put in a cell and being locked up.

That's one of Fair City's problems for a long time has been the inability to successfully end storylines and have satisfying outcomes for viewers who've invested in them, see also The Lucy Mallon Storyline and the infamous 'Plan' by Dermot & Niamh

LordBasil wrote: »
    The whole Katy thing really was ridiculous especially the ending. It should have ended with Ciaran being arrested, charged and the last time we see him is him being put in a cell and being locked up.

That's one of Fair City's problems for a long time has been the inability to successfully end storylines and have satisfying outcomes for viewers who've invested in them, see also The Lucy Mallon Storyline and the infamous 'Plan' by Dermot & Niamh

Don't forget Barry murdering Sarah with the door!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

So Doug buys a car and the guards turn up 10 minutes later to inspect for "dodgy cars"

At least make it believable

Orla's 200 views is pathetic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭paleoperson

I'm 99% sure in about 07/08 Heather was researching for a book about being a prostitute so she went out on the street for research.(She did nothing).
    I could just imagine the spin on this if it happened now.

yeah that was it I'm sure, and one fierce-looking guy flagged her down and she felt threatened and ran away in tears, the moral was that some people have nice ideas of it but it's supposedly a lot different to the reality. :rolleyes:

Is it just me or does Heather seem somehow different these days? I dunno it might just be my imagination but I missed a while and seem to notice a subtle change... ;)
    Don't forget Barry murdering Sarah with the door!

So ridiculous!!! I asked my dad did he ever accidentally murder someone like that. :p

I hope Fiona doesn't give Ruth her hair style!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

I think they could do a good story of Heather being obsessed with Hughie (there's no accounting for taste)

I like how her demeanor changes when Jackie comes into the picture.