Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,495 ✭✭✭mosstin

That dance looks very familiar to one of our former players.

Runs from his hips a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Liverpool took a manager from Swansea now ex Liverpool coaches are taking charge at the Welsh side - Steve Cooper and Mike Marsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

dogbert27 wrote: »
    More evidence of Tyler's anti-Liverpool bias:

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-7123367/Fans-slam-Martin-Tyler-commentator-questions-Trent-Alexander-Arnold-good-enough.html

The guy just won the CL last week, appeared in the CL final for a second season in a row, came second in the league and has the most assists for a full back in the league, EVER, and this clown is questioning if he's good enough for the England team to play beside Harry bloody Maguire! :rolleyes:

Pretty dumb thing to say alright... his attacking quality has never been in doubt, but in fairness there were questions about his defensive ability - but he's pretty much put them to bed over the past season.

As an aside though, I can't believe you can get away with having an article just listing random peoples social media comments, and put it on a news website. Like, this is an actual line from that 'article';
    "Someone else posted a comment with a laughing emoji saying: 'Fair to say Martin Tyler hasn’t got a clue.'"
    That's great lads, I was dying to know what @K_leary0 had to say about things alright.
    The notion of it hurts my brain.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Tyler lost it any top 6 player is good enough to play againt Andora , Faroe Islands and the rest 90 % of International football is muck ,
    Jesus sure look at Ireland ,is Trent good enough to defend again McClean and McGoldrick god i dont know Martin

This is it wrote: »
    Anymore on Wilson? Staying, going, loan?

Talk this evening of Leeds "swooping" with an offer for him and Ryan Kent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Tyler lost it any top 6 player is good enough to play againt Andora , Faroe Islands and the rest 90 % of International football is muck ,
    Jesus sure look at Ireland ,is Trent good enough to defend again McClean and McGoldrick god i dont know Martin

Not wishing to be a grammar Nazi, but I have no idea what you're trying to say here.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

This is it wrote: »
    Read something like that, and an hour later something along the lines of "Wilson to get his chance at Liverpool" :rolleyes: why do I bother reading all this crap :/

The two things aren’t mutually exclusive though... Liverpool can plan on giving him a chance, and a team can be interested in buying him.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

If Martin Tyler was a boardsie he'd be posting in the general prem thread about how we choked the league. Glorious Martin, your pain is wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,682 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

gimli2112 wrote: »
    If Martin Tyler was a boardsie he'd be posting in the general prem thread about how we choked the league. Glorious Martin, your pain is wonderful.

He'd be on quite a lot of ignore lists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Tyler just looks senile coming out with that. I wouldn't even be mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

In the last 20 seasons we have won as many champions leagues as the rest of the PL combined. We havent won the league in 30 years yet in that time our gap in Champions league wins over the next best team has grown from Liverpool 4 CL Forest 2CL 1990 to Liverpool 6 Utd 3 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,147 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

In the last 20 seasons we have won as many champions leagues as the rest of the PL combined. We havent won the league in 30 years yet in that time our gap in Champions league wins over the next best team has grown from Liverpool 4 CL Forest 2CL 1990 to Liverpool 6 Utd 3 .

Can't say that as Man Utd have won 2 and Chelsea one in the past 20 years.

Don't forget Man Utd's kit this season is all about the night in Barcelona 20 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Can't say that as Man Utd have won 2 and Chelsea one in the past 20 years.

Don't forget Man Utd's kit this season is all about the night in Barcelona 20 years ago

I said 20 seasons count back the last 20 winners. That will stop at 2000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Ojo off to Rangers on loan by the looks of it there pre season starts next week.

No decision on what the club are going to do with Kent yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Ojo off to Rangers on loan by the looks of it there pre season starts next week.

Was he not there last year & left them to come back??

ERG89 wrote: »
    Was he not there last year & left them to come back??

That was Ejaria who left over the racial stuff.

Ojo was in France on loan for the season.

That was Ejaria who left over the racial stuff.

Ah right, case of the George Hamilton's on my part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Pretty dumb thing to say alright... his attacking quality has never been in doubt, but in fairness there were questions about his defensive ability - but he's pretty much put them to bed over the past season.

I thought Neville did a good job of responding. He couldn't just throw Tyler under the bus (that'd make for entertaining but awkward commentary tbf!) but he tried to gravitate towards the point that with an attacking full-back, you need strong, stable centre-backs and that may be the issue of playing TAA over Walker in the team.

Now I don't believe it - I think TAA is capable both going forward and in defence, I think England's CBs are usually fine (and will be grand against most of the opposition international sides play against) and that if you have gaps in the defence, a screening midfielder might make more sense than pinning your full-backs back - but I thought it was a diplomatic way of approaching it.

Tyler's relentless VAR ranting was off-putting too. I understand being frustrated by the process or even the decision but there's no need to keep banging the drum in a commentary setting. It's distracting and annoying for a viewer.

Sky's 40 minute documentary on TAA is free to watch on Youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,420 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

thanks for that, couldn't watch it on the night or record it. wanted to see it.

Excellent! (wonder if Tyler has seen it yet?)

I'm struck by how there is no news really about Liverpool and transfers other than Pepe. I hope it's because all the deals that need to be done actually have been done and everyone is waiting for July 1st to make it official - mass lean at Melwood - or maybe two players we've never heard off.

I see you might be onto something there.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

I'm struck by how there is no news really about Liverpool and transfers other than Pepe.

We just won the Champions League, probably don't want to pull too far ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭PhuckHugh

I dont think TAA is international class yet ... still has a lot to learn as a defender.

Pretty good inter county hurler though.

PhuckHugh wrote: »
    I dont think TAA is international class yet ... still has a lot to learn as a defender.

Don't believe that for a second.
    Honestly International football is absolutely appalling right now. It's significantly lower than the Champions League in terms of the quality of teams and managers.

Some talk today that Timo Werner might again be a target the reason being that Munich are so confident that the player will join them they won't pay for him this summer and will wait for him to walk out of RB on a free next summer.

RB will do there best to sell him now to get some money for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Tbh, I don’t see too many people linked with any of the top 6.... apart from the utd circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭dogbert27

After the CL all the internationals kicked in so I'd say it will be after this week that you see things happening.

dogbert27 wrote: »
    After the CL all the internationals kicked in so I'd say it will be after this week that you see things happening.

Copa America starts on Friday and ACON starts on Friday week so lots more internationals to come in the next month.