The Virtues (new drama from Shane Meadows)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,805 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

weemcd wrote: »
    Niamh Algar is a superstar in the making, I would literally watch anything if I heard she was in it. This is some of the finest and most natural acting I have ever seen, from the entire cast btw.

Give Pure a look, she's fantastic in it( not hard on the eye either).... With her youth club tits!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

CoBo55 wrote: »
    Give Pure a look, she's fantastic in it( not hard on the eye either).... With her youth club tits!!!

Oh I definitely have a crush on her now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,712 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Brilliant show. Fantastic acting all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Taiga

Jesus Stephen Graham does sorrow to a tee doesn't he? Amazing actor. I like the ending. I was glad he didn't take that drink, I was shouting at the telly. Glad he didn't get himself into trouble and walked away.

Between The Virtues and Chernobly this week we've had some amazing telly, but I'm an emotional wreck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,495 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Jesus, I knew this would be good with Meadows at the helm but it really was absolutely breathtaking TV.

Incredible stuff which deserves all the accolades it gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,291 ✭✭✭jos28

I was shouting at the telly during that scene too, I was delighted when he walked out of the pub. I liked the ending with Stephen Graham and your man from Glenroe, I'm glad it ended that way. Not so happy about your wan and her mother. I would have rather she pushed her and she hit her head or something. I suppose I wanted the happy ending with all demons faced and Joe and Dinah setting up home together. But that was never going to happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

Superb TV. Will live in the memory a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭BadTurtle

Between The Virtues, This Is England and Dead Mans Shoes, Meadows does cataclysmic finales like nobody else in the business. Every one of them had me holding my breath and gripping onto something for dear life.
    Stephen Graham is easily one of the best actors working these days, keeps one-upping his own performances. So funny looking back on him and Jason Statham in Snatch now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

BadTurtle wrote: »
    Between The Virtues, This Is England and Dead Mans Shoes, Meadows does cataclysmic finales like nobody else in the business. Every one of them had me holding my breath and gripping onto something for dear life.
    Stephen Graham is easily one of the best actors working these days, keeps one-upping his own performances. So funny looking back on him and Jason Statham in Snatch now.

And he was brilliant in that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭maximoose

Unbelievable TV, Stephen Graham is incredible but the entire cast was brilliant - acting was so natural throughout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭mada82

Great series. Really enjoyed. I loved this is England too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭selwyn froggitt

Shane Meadows doesn't do nice, and he must now be one of the masters of gritty, broken Britain drama's.
    Loved this series,superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Goodigal

Totally absorbing and harrowing stories. Loved Helen Behan in it. Her character reminded me of me in the car looking for an address! But the build up to the ending was incredible. Loved the fact that it was 90 mins long - I was not aware of that when I started to watch it, but I wouldn't turn it off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭cdgalwegian

BadTurtle wrote: »

Absolutely.

Wasn't sure whether to carry on after first episode of the Virtues, which was heart-wrenching, but soldiered on. I was rewarded though, as the tone varies as the plot progresses, which- adding to the fantastic acting- makes it compelling viewing.

ps; using the VHS footage in cinema verité style was genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

Excellent throughout.
    The pissupfromhell in e1 brought the viewer in. I could feel the pain, embarrassment, sickness, guilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,291 ✭✭✭jos28

Just watched Barry Keoghan on Tommy Tiernan, very good interview. Shane Meadows needs to give Barry a call, I'd love to see a collaboration between the 2 of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭trashcan

Goodigal wrote: »
    Totally absorbing and harrowing stories. Loved Helen Behan in it. Her character reminded me of me in the car looking for an address! But the build up to the ending was incredible. Loved the fact that it was 90 mins long - I was not aware of that when I started to watch it, but I wouldn't turn it off!

Yeah I thought she was brilliant. Standout for me. Stephen Graham is always great, obviously , but Helen Behan was absolutely superb. Totally believeable and natural. It was like watching someone on a hidden camera show rather than someone acting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭wezzopalooza

That finale was one strong cup of coffee! :eek:

Niamh Algar stole the show for me, unbelievable acting work. In episode 1 I thought she would be the more annoying/unsympathetic character of the show but ended up being the complete opposite. Just wanted to give her a hug!

Some very provocative ideas about the cyclic nature of abuse in there too, and how so many abusers have been abused themselves and is a learned behavior. I like that it also gave the counter argument to this, very thought provoking. Meadows genius is that on the surface it appears to be simple, slow burning storytelling but there's a lot going on under the surface. The flipping of audience expectations at the end with Dinah and Joe was very clever too.

Even for a feature length episode, it seemed to end abruptly. Got the feeling he's maybe leaving the door open for another series or even a special sometime in the future. In any event, a remarkable piece of grim tv :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭holly8

What was the sister in? It's driving me nuts, was it A Date for mad Mary? She played the very same character in whatever it was.

Found her, she was in a Ch4 series "Pure", well worth a look, she's a great actress.

She was also in The Drummer and The Keeper, Irish movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭dom40

really great last 90 minute episode with superb acting all round,i just wish they filmed it in ireland instead of Yorkshire,passing off yorkshire as Ireland just spoiled it a wee bit for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭bobbyss

dom40 wrote:
    really great last 90 minute episode with superb acting all round,i just wish they filmed it in ireland instead of Yorkshire,passing off yorkshire as Ireland just spoiled it a wee bit for me.

He got Irish reg cars any way did you notice? One CE I think anyway. But I suppose nobody outside of UK would think it wasn't Ireland. Maybe inside UK too. Most probably cheaper to film in UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭cdgalwegian

dom40 wrote: »
    The pub was obviously an English pub, but didn't pay it no never mind.

bobbyss wrote: »
    He got Irish reg cars any way did you notice? One CE I think anyway. But I suppose nobody outside of UK would think it wasn't Ireland. Maybe inside UK too. Most probably cheaper to film in UK.

yes i noticed the car regs were all irish they even had the insurance/tax/nct discs on some of the windscreens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,805 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

Pumping the pints was a bit of a turn off, only us paddies would notice it.

noticed that in the first episode the pup was as english as feck they tried to make it look irish with the tricolours hanging everywere .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,495 ✭✭✭✭Basq

noticed that in the first episode the pup was as english as feck they tried to make it look irish with the tricolours hanging everywere .
    To be fair.. he was still in Liverpool in the first episode in an "Irish bar".. not too uncommon over there I'd say.

Basq wrote: »
    To be fair.. he was still in Liverpool in the first episode in an "Irish bar".. not too uncommon over there I'd say.

true i forgot that,but the pub he went into in the last episode was supposed to be in ireland but it was as english as the queens head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,419 ✭✭✭cml387

I noticed a comment in The Guardian that the final scene was reshot after the wrap party.

I have no idea what happened but apparently it was felt by the cast that the finale was too redemptive??

If anyone has any more details it would be very welcome.

I started getting pissy in ep4 when the town he went to was so obviously not in Ireland!

The acting and casting was superb. I don't know that I could pick out another show that was cast so well. The children were utterly awesome, they didn't even look like they were acting, which really sold me. Helen Behan was brilliant but for me Niamh Algar stole it.

The whole downward spiral in eposide 1 was incredibly true to life and really have to say I have rarely seen better television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭fitzparker

yes i noticed the car regs were all irish they even had the insurance/tax/nct discs on some of the windscreens.

I noticed every car reg was from a different county and although in louth I dont think I spotted an LH reg :):)