Cocaine and other drugs in Ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

Most people aren't sourcing their cocaine on a night out, they will have it sorted from earlier that today from people they know in their locality. Anyone buying coke from a stranger on a night out wants their head examined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

.Charlo wrote: »
    Most people aren't sourcing their cocaine on a night out, they will have it sorted from earlier that today from people they know in their locality. Anyone buying coke from a stranger on a night out wants their head examined.

Does there not be guys in clubs dealing?

El_Bee wrote: »
    Does there not be guys in clubs dealing?

I've probably been asked if I wanted to buy coke in a nightclub twice in my life. I wouldn't buy cocaine off anyone I didnt know in a nightclub because the likelihood it's more creatine powder or caffeine than coke. You are wide open to be ripped off. Anyone that does it regularly enough is getting it from a trusted source. See a few lads around temple bar selling to English lads absolutely fleecing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 vtgfu omnu wdcrs

Never got much of a buzz off it myself, bitta speed on the other hand...

Maybe I should be taking more?

Never got much of a buzz off it myself, bitta speed on the other hand...

Maybe I should be taking more?

Speed is disgusting mate. Dirty drug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭CPTM

You would rather they took 4-5 pints?

Yes.. Wouldn't you? Surely a legal drug from a trusted source is better than taking illegal drugs from people whose motives are questionable. Maybe your question was supposed to be funny and I missed it.

I don't know about this but I say a bit of it might be to do with them wanting to cut calories!
    I remember on night out at college some people wanted to get drunk fast but not consume calories!

Vodka and some sweet (but sugar free) soft drink would do the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

CPTM wrote: »
    Yes.. Wouldn't you? Surely a legal drug from a trusted source is better than taking illegal drugs from people whose motives are questionable. Maybe your question was supposed to be funny and I missed it.

Tbh drugs have along way to.go to do the damage alcohol has done here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Vodka and some sweet (but sugar free) soft drink would do the job.

It was generally a naggin of Vodka or some cheat spirit. There was no time for sipping 4-5 pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Nothing wrong with a bit of speed: "At therapeutic doses, amphetamine causes emotional and cognitive effects such as euphoria, change in desire for sex, increased wakefulness, and improved cognitive control. It induces physical effects such as improved reaction time, fatigue resistance, and increased muscle strength"

But nobody knows the source of their mate's source. Or the source of their source's source. So in any case it's a risk. The cocaine chain is a long one with many undesirables along the way. It's amazing there aren't more deaths from God knows what that could be cut into it along the way.

Nothing wrong with a bit of speed: "At therapeutic doses, amphetamine causes emotional and cognitive effects such as euphoria, change in desire for sex, increased wakefulness, and improved cognitive control. It induces physical effects such as improved reaction time, fatigue resistance, and increased muscle strength"

I probably took too much the one time I done it. Felt like my heart was going to explode out of my chest. Freaked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Remember there used to be some serious MD around in the late 00s, halcyon days

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Used to buy it from a Lithuanian scumbag when I was around 20. Awful stuff looking back on it. Totally wound up and forget about sleeping that night. Zero appetite the next day and a feeling of doom.

Actually that sounds a bit like if you over do it on the cocaine!

The odd joint on a Friday night with a cup of tea and a movie is enough nowadays

_blaaz wrote: »
    Tbh drugs have along way to.go to do the damage alcohol has done here

This is the only problem I have with legalizing drugs. We binge on the drugs that are legally available to us. What would Ireland look like if people took cocaine in the same quantities as they took alcohol or cigarettes?

gangland thread quiet so people kick back and shoot the breeze on what's the best buzz:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

This is the only problem I have with legalizing drugs. We binge on the drugs that are legally available to us. What would Ireland look like if people took cocaine in the same quantities as they took alcohol or cigarettes?

Probably alot less knackers around.tbh....natural selection

But nobody knows the source of their mate's source. Or the source of their source's source. So in any case it's a risk. The cocaine chain is a long one with many undesirables along the way. It's amazing there aren't more deaths from God knows what that could be cut into it along the way.

Some people do know the source of their mates source and the chain isn't that long where I'm living. The lads around here dont dance on the stuff, its flake. Its rocket fuel, you can tell by looking at it by the shine on it that it's high purity. But as I said people that do it regularly have their trusted sources. Casual users are probably ending up with crap but probably thinking it's great cause they've never had the real good stuff.

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Used to buy it from a Lithuanian scumbag when I was around 20. Awful stuff looking back on it. Totally wound up and forget about sleeping that night. Zero appetite the next day and a feeling of doom.

Horrible

The eastern Europeans love it. Too mean to pay for the coke thats all that is.

north of Spain, now there is rocket fuel. Fresh off the boats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The eastern Europeans love it. Too mean to pay for the coke thats all that is.
    i think you just did a racism

Maybe but it is known as the poor mans cocaine.

Actually that sounds a bit like if you over do it on the cocaine!

The odd joint on a Friday night with a cup of tea and a movie is enough nowadays

I actually dont maybe a handful of times a year now when I want to let off a bit of steam, I was a fùcker for it years ago along the Es. I need it if I'm going out on a long drinking session or I wont last the night. I get gargled fairly quick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Cocaine is making some money for the traveller community , outside of Dublin travellers are the cocaine Kings .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's getting there.

Like drink, some can handle it and others end up dead.

Bateman wrote: »
    Remember there used to be some serious MD around in the late 00s, halcyon days

Making a comeback in a big way... too strong for me now. I think drugs start having a different effect on you as you get older, the euphoria is not the same and with more responsibility you may have more on your mind than in your younger years and that plays a part.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

I actually dont maybe a handful of times a year now when I want to let off a bit of steam, I was a fùcker for it years ago along the Es. I need it if I'm going out on a long drinking session or I wont last the night. I get gargled fairly quick.

Was the same with the old ectasy myself. Most weekends at one stage. The amount of people who were at it was unbelievable in my town. I used to work half day Saturday so had Monday off. Every weekend was a bank holiday party weekend.

6 pints now and Im gone

Was the same with the old ectasy myself. Most weekends at one stage. The amount of people who were at it was unbelievable in my town. I used to work half day Saturday so had Monday off. Every weekend was a bank holiday party weekend.

6 pints now and Im gone

Ah I know all about it, i used to leave the house on a Friday evening and I wouldn't be seen till the Sunday and sometimes not till the Monday ha. Good times. The whole ecstasy and rave scene in Ireland had a bit of a renaissance around 2000 and it was good for a few years after that. Glad I was at an age that I could enjoy it.

Grew up hearing older cousins and uncles talking about the late 80s early 90s in the UK. Its their fault I ended up a fiend haha

Making a comeback in a big way... too strong for me now. I think drugs start having a different effect on you as you get older, the euphoria is not the same and with more responsibility you may have more on your mind than in your younger years and that plays a part.

Yes, this exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

I probably took too much the one time I done it. Felt like my heart was going to explode out of my chest. Freaked out.

Anxiety attack