Doonbeg Begorragh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,445 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Mrsmum wrote: »
    I'm also wondering why Trump would be expected to be happy showcasing Dromoland Castle when his own resort is a few miles away. It would be absolutely fine if he were not a hotel owner but he is. Would that not be like expecting the owner of say Brown Thomas to have photos beamed around the world from the meeting room in Arnotts with a huge Arnotts sign behind him/her. Doesn't sound very business minded to me. I heard it was offered as a neutral venue but it's more the competition in reality.

This is why the President has to divest himself of his business interests when becoming President. i.e. so as not to have conflict of interest.

Little details like that don't bother Trump though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭joe40

I think if I were living in Doonbeg and that part of Clare, I would be annoyed by how the Government did absolutely nothing to support them in entertaining The President of America and of more importance to them the local employer. I mean the IDA, Bord Failte and Bord Bia are always working hard to bring employment and create industry and was it Fergal Quinn that used to say that it was far easier to keep a customer than find a new one so imo in the same way, it's easier to keep an employer than create a new one. Would it have killed members of the government to schmooze a little with the Trumps, host a dinner or lunch, invite them to a small reception where local foods, fashion, art, literature etc could be shown off, organise a trip for them to Cliffs of Mohar, something, anything to show a welcome as well as using a golden opportunity to showcase the county. When the Irish Ministers go all over the USA for St Patrick's Day, would they like to be ignored. Or even anyone who has relatives in the States will know it is very common for them to host a part of all their friends, neighbours in your honour when you visit them. To do absolutely nothing is rude imo and very short sighted against the hand that is providing jobs in the area. The government should have done more imo, not even for Trump but to support that little corner of Ireland and it's Irish citizens, many many of whom have family living in the States where Trump is the First Family. To be writing letters to Kylie Minogue rying to beg an audience with her and pretending the President of America is only on a family holiday and therefore to be left alone is having your priorities all wrong if you ask me.

We spent 10 million on security, that is plenty for me, considering this was nothing more than a holiday for Trump and an opportunity to promote his own Business.
    It was not an official state visit.
    I think the government hit the correct tone in their greeting.
    Even in the brief press conference he displayed complete lack of understanding re the border and had to be corrected.
    The less official contact with Trump the better, he is too unpredictable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheDiceMan2020

Boggles wrote: »

The locals have no real affiliation with Trump, it's his money they love, which probably was loaned to him by Putin.

I love how hate Trump fanatics cling to that Putin claim to explain Trump's wealth.

It's hilariously delusional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

joe40 wrote: »
    We spent 10 million on security, that is plenty for me, considering this was nothing more than a holiday for Trump and an opportunity to promote his own Business.
    It was not an official state visit.
    I think the government hit the correct tone in their greeting.
    Even in the brief press conference he displayed complete lack of understanding re the border and had to be corrected.
    The less official contact with Trump the better, he is too unpredictable.

It's just in my original post that you quoted, I began by saying that if I was living in that area of Clare etc ie where one local person was quoted as saying Trump was a Godsend,which is the context of my statement. Even the title of this thread has Doonbeg rather than Trump in it. You are answering regarding your opinion of Trump which is a different conversation. If in the wide world people only did business with those they admired, I think a lot of businesses would fold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,831 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I love how hate Trump fanatics cling to that Putin claim to explain Trump's wealth.

It's hilariously delusional.

Trumps wealth is certainly suspect not Putin but to say its clean is not true. Been bankrupt and bailed out a number of times but ya to say its Putin is wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

IWould it have killed members of the government to schmooze a little with the Trumps, host a dinner or lunch, invite them to a small reception where local foods, fashion, art, literature etc could be shown off, organise a trip for them to Cliffs of Mohar, something, anything to show a welcome as well as using a golden opportunity to showcase the county.
    I can't accept this view that the Gubbermint should drop everything, and bend over, if there's so much as a whiff of jobs for someone. Our political leaders meet POTUS, and the main thing they should do is product placement.

Like, there's absolutely nothing else to the pursuit of the public interest? There's no other national agenda?

I understand there are many folk who seem to think this is all there is. It just strikes me as a very empty view.

Balf wrote: »
    I can't accept this view that the Gubbermint should drop everything, and bend over, if there's so much as a whiff of jobs for someone. Our political leaders meet POTUS, and the main thing they should do is product placement.

Like, there's absolutely nothing else to the pursuit of the public interest? There's no other national agenda?

I understand there are many folk who seem to think this is all there is. It just strikes me as a very empty view.

It's entirely possible to speak on national agenda issues, I wouldn't expect anything less and also showcase for the benefit of the local area. It really doesn't have to be an either or.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭joe40

It's just in my original post that you quoted, I began by saying that if I was living in that area of Clare etc ie where one local person was quoted as saying Trump was a Godsend,which is the context of my statement. Even the title of this thread has Doonbeg rather than Trump in it. You are answering regarding your opinion of Trump which is a different conversation. If in the wide world people only did business with those they admired, I think a lot of businesses would fold.
    I take your point, but even leaving Trump the president aside and just for one moment assume he was just a business man not the president, I would still find the fawning, servile behaviour displayed in Doonbeg as hard to take.
    And also displayed by Michael Noonan a few years ago (video clip few posts back)
    As you know business people invest in businesses to make money. Employees are vital for the Business to make money, it is a symbiotic relationship. The Business owner should be as grateful to his/her employess as the employess are to the Business owner.
    There are a few hotels and golf courses where I live, and I haven't a clue who the owners are, I'm sure local people appreciate the jobs but they should also have the self respect to appreciate the service they give. They're not getting anything for free it is earned.

I don't expect people to protest or be unmannerly, but the audio of the two rich kids coming into the bar buying everyone a drink to wild cheers from everyone was just a bit much.
    I'm not telling anyone how to behave and if they're having a good night so be it, but for me it smacked a bit too much of the landed gentry throwing a few crumbs to the locals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I'm also wondering why Trump would be expected to be happy showcasing Dromoland Castle when his own resort is a few miles away. It would be absolutely fine if he were not a hotel owner but he is. Would that not be like expecting the owner of say Brown Thomas to have photos beamed around the world from the meeting room in Arnotts with a huge Arnotts sign behind him/her. Doesn't sound very business minded to me. I heard it was offered as a neutral venue but it's more the competition in reality.

I would be pissed off if the "former" owner of arnotts became president or PM and held state meetings there.

Trump is supposed to be the former owner of all his stuff. He was supposed to have placed everything in a blind trust, the way every other president before him has, so that there are no conflict of interests. He didn't though. And so there are conflicts which he and every republican brushes off.

joe40 wrote: »
    I take your point, but even leaving Trump the president aside and just for one moment assume he was just a business man not the president, I would still find the fawning, servile behaviour displayed in Doonbeg as hard to take.
    And also displayed by Michael Noonan a few years ago (video clip few posts back)
    As you know business people invest in businesses to make money. Employees are vital for the Business to make money, it is a symbiotic relationship. The Business owner should be as grateful to his/her employess as the employess are to the Business owner.
    There are a few hotels and golf courses where I live, and I haven't a clue who the owners are, I'm sure local people appreciate the jobs but they should also have the self respect to appreciate the service they give. They're not getting anything for free it is earned.

I don't expect people to protest or be unmannerly, but the audio of the two rich kids coming into the bar buying everyone a drink to wild cheers from everyone was just a bit much.
    I'm not telling anyone how to behave and if they're having a good night so be it, but for me it smacked a bit too much of the landed gentry throwing a few crumbs to the locals.

Ah look, I live in west Dublin and if say Kim and Kanye West came into the local and bought everyone a drink, there would be wild cheering too. It's just celebrity culture.
    And no one is saying the locals should or did bow down in servitude, they earn their money and can hold their heads up as good as anyone but it is the resort that allows them the dignity of a job and spin off jobs and that is not to be taken for granted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

It's entirely possible to speak on national agenda issues, I wouldn't expect anything less and also showcase for the benefit of the local area. It really doesn't have to be an either or.
    It does always have to be. But it frequently is.

Like, you can't say "POTUS, we really think all countries need to take this climate thing more seriously" and follow it up with "and would you mind having your picture taken with this pint of Guinness in your hand, and the golf course behind you in the vague hope it might induce some yanks to fly in here and feck the carbon footprint".

The servile greeting means nothing else will be taken seriously. It amounts to telling the world that we're a nation of busboys angling for a tip.

And its nothing particularly to do with Trump or Doonbeg. Its just about how some approach the topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Balf wrote: »
    It does always have to be. But it frequently is.

Like, you can't say "POTUS, we really think all countries need to take this climate thing more seriously" and follow it up with "and would you mind having your picture taken with this pint of Guinness in your hand, and the golf course behind you in the vague hope it might induce some yanks to fly in here and feck the carbon footprint".

The servile greeting means nothing else will be taken seriously. It amounts to telling the world that we're a nation of busboys angling for a tip.

And its nothing particularly to do with Trump or Doonbeg. Its just about how some approach the topic.

Well it wouldn't be the first time we shoved a pint of Guinness in a VIP's hand so if that makes us busboys angling for a tip, we already wear that tshirt.

But I think it's not outside the bounds of imagination to do it a bit more classy than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Berserker wrote: »
    We kind of got wind that the president would be playing all 18 holes. The ninth
    hole is just adjacent to my parent's land - I'm local here. We decided to
    take the children to the hillside near the ninth green," said Ms O'Mahony.

They had the grassy knoll all set up and not one of them thought to bring a rifle. Kids these days.

Surely you mean homemade slingshots :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

He'll probably be dating one of those kids in 10 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

thats a lovely photograph

something that those children will treasure for the rest of their lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Fair play to teachers a bit of Irish ingenuity of the moment that we are known for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Granadino

Easy for people in Dublin to laugh at the folk in Doonbeg. People in Doonbeg don't have job opportunities on their doorsteps like in Dublin. So I'm glad they gave the two fingers to Roisin Ingle and the rest of them.

grenadino wrote: »
    Easy for people in Dublin to laugh at the folk in Doonbeg. People in Doonbeg don't have job opportunities on their doorsteps like in Dublin. So I'm glad they gave the two fingers to Roisin Ingle and the rest of them.

Absolutely. Smacks of the same contempt Hillary Clinton had for the Americans that supported Trump, with her "basket of deplorables" comment.

Funny how it came back to bite her in the ass. The same will happen to their equivalent in Ireland too. Might not be tomorrow, but the rift is growing.

Billy Mays wrote: »
    He'll probably be dating one of those kids in 10 years

You're confusing him with Bill Clinton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Thats deadly!! Fair play to him.

Oh I read up about Trump he had as many affairs as Clinton. Been said got to know many during the Miss World pagents

Thats deadly!! Fair play to him.

It was more kids were brought to the golf course then he was out walking around meeting the locals. It was nice they did it though

It was more the locals came to him and for the photo op meet them rather then Trump out meeting the locals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

I'm just quoting what the great man himself said about some schoolkids he once met

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Anybody know what score the President carded around Doonbeg today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Anybody know what score the President carded around Doonbeg today?

Hope he beat Kim Jong Il's record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭SexBobomb

Orange Man Bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Hope he beat Kim Jong Il's record.

Brilliant golfer Kim Jong ll. Think he scored 6 hole in one's the day he broke the previous record.. Got around in 45 I think