Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England fans riot in Portugual, sing "F the Pope and the IRA"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,361 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

They really are a terrible representation of the English though. I lived there for years and found them so welcoming, to me as an Irish person anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Actually after Brexit that should be the end of them in European comps anyway

Let them play Australia and the West Indies ffs

And let fifa ban Australia and West Indies for playing them. Make them a total pariah.

Yes, because anyone not in the EU is not actually part of Europe.

We are talking football here right? Or has das EU taken over that as well.

It should yeah... even though Israel and Kazakhstan play in Uefa. Why do you insist on embarrassing yourself constantly on here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

.Charlo wrote: »
    You dont know what they are thinking when they say it, when I think of the UVF I dont think of British people I think of fellas in balaclavas with guns.

In 2010, I had someone take umbrage at me and the people with me being Irish in a normal, non-rough pub in a painfully middle class Middle England city. Won’t give many more details as they might identify me but it was quite eye-opening. We had to leave the pub. Because we were Irish. We were threatened. Because we were Irish. I could not believe it. It was the start of the evening, we’d only had one drink and were just chatting amongst ourselves at a normal volume. Anti-Irish sentiment is probably quite rare in the UK but not completely stamped out by any means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

In 2010, I had someone take umbrage at me and the people with me being Irish in a normal, non-rough pub in a painfully middle class Middle England city. Won’t give many more details as they might identify me but it was quite eye-opening. We had to leave the pub. Because we were Irish. We were threatened. Because we were Irish. I could not believe it. It was the start of the evening, we’d only had one drink and were just chatting amongst ourselves at a normal volume. Anti-Irish sentiment is probably quite rare in the UK but not completely stamped out by any means.

Lived in Wales too and London for a small while and was quite shocked at what I got. "oh look another 'proud Catholic'" and why don't you **** off home to Ireland?

Not that I was ever ran out of anyplace but the hatred is there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Hedgelayer wrote: »
    A lot of these trouble maker's come from a militant British army background.

It goes way back through their DNA even in Limerick City which was a garison town,the most hardest people came from the tans and married into Irish families....

You can see that dark Britannia look about them, some are ok but the worst have an English heritage going back 300 year's
    They're different, I can't say they're bad people it's just they're tough and have a hardened DNA structure, as for Cork, Galway and Dublin they're not the same kind of people.

Limerick has a big lineage going back to England....

That's a theory brought to my attention from a historian, not a fact

Utter bollocks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

What was the city if you don't mind me asking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Anteayer

Christianity is a "safe" faith to attack because in liberal English eyes its not linked to "culture", your in liberal London, picture a Sikh guy walking into a Shoreditch trendy Cafe Bar with a Turban wouldn't get brought up in conversation, someone wearing a large crucifix would.

It's a bit more than that though as I think it's very much down to their own cultural history with the establishment of Anglicanism vs Catholicism, as a very definite state policy. There were specific anti-Catholic laws and tons of rhetoric very firmly embedded in British culture and they are there for centuries old political reasons and it's very much interwoven with anti-Irish rhetoric, because our history is largely on the opposite side of that particular movement.

It's a very specific problem relating to the political and cultural history of these islands.

I'd agree that most people would tend to see it as less of an issue to critique christians if they're from a christian culture themselves, but I think this particular sectarian issue in these islands is a lot more local, historical, profound and very, very toxic.

It's basically an echo of Cromwellian England, that hasn't quite gone away. I mean even things like the ritual burning of Guy Fawkes is rather odd and barbaric, a throwback to politics of the 1600s.

Most of them don't even know or understand the history but the old rhetoric and propaganda is still filtering down in what is basically folk culture gone wrong.

What was the city if you don't mind me asking?

South West England. That’s as specific as I can be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,361 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

South West England. That’s as specific as I can be!

Ah Taunton, I know it well

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Lived in Wales too and London for a small while and was quite shocked at what I got. "oh look another 'proud Catholic'" and why don't you **** off home to Ireland?

Not that I was ever ran out of anyplace but the hatred is there.
    London and Wales probably would be two of the better places at that. Try outside the bigger cities or Scotland as one of the worst. Seen one of the Police Chiefs in Scotland who worked in PSNI/RUC said it was more openly sectarian than Northern Ireland.

Anteayer wrote: »
    It's a bit more than that though as I think it's very much down to their own cultural history with the establishment of Anglicanism vs Catholicism, as a very definite state policy..

no its not, those dick heads were basically trolling on a grand scale.

they don't give a flying **** about the irish, or the pope, they were just looking to show an Irish pub that they were there and they had taken over.

If it was a french pub it would have been some **** about frogs legs, or a german pub it would have been about gassing jews or bombing Dresden.

half the ***** that were doing this more than likely had some Irish ancestry any way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Why not get the Police to beat up Rioting English Hooligans ?

Where the downside ?

Aegir wrote: »
    no its not, those dick heads were basically trolling on a grand scale.

they don't give a flying **** about the irish, or the pope, they were just looking to show an Irish pub that they were there and they had taken over.

If it was a french pub it would have been some **** about frogs legs, or a german pub it would have been about gassing jews or bombing Dresden.

half the ***** that were doing this more than likely had some Irish ancestry any way.
    Laughable nonsense, they sing this stuff on every England away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

What you reckon after brexit Britain will be able to paddle like a duck out of Europe and end up near Australia or somewhere?

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/tommy-robinson-punches-england-fan-16461112

I see the latest is Tommy Robinson was there also and chinned another England fan, video in link above. Hard to tell why he hit him from that video. Lennon can throw a decent punch tbf, although he has a lot of experience in that department.

Laughable nonsense, they sing this stuff on every England away.

Yes, because it’s trolling.

It’s no different to some of the dick heads on here who use this as an excuse to call everyone English scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/tommy-robinson-punches-england-fan-16461112

I see the latest is Tommy Robinson was there also and chinned another England fan, video in link above. Hard to tell why he hit him from that video. Lennon can throw a decent punch tbf, although he has a lot of experience in that department.

Yeah he's a scrapper to be fair, he's handy and he can bang.

Still a fascist scumbag though.

Ah Taunton, I know it well

Nope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭jiltloop

The English being English, plenty of f**k the queen and the UDA and ooh ahh up the ra from our own supporters in France in 2016.

Nothing to see here.

Really?! I was there and amongst throngs of Irish fans for days. There was plenty of singing going on but it was all humourous and good natured. I heard none of that singing or sentiment at all, not even once.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

jiltloop wrote: »
    Really?! I was there and amongst throngs of Irish fans for days. There was plenty of singing going on but it was all humourous and good natured. I heard none of that singing or sentiment at all, not even once.

Montmartre the night before the Sweden game, the dregs of Irish society were in Paris for that game you would be forgiven for confusing them with English hooligans.

Acting the bollox in La Rochelle aswell, and plenty of wolf tones ooh ahh up the ra and sinn fein/IRA during the singing of the fields of Athenry. Of course it was only a small minority though. But it did happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Montmartre the night before the Sweden game, the dregs of Irish society were in Paris for that game you would be forgiven for confusing them with English hooligans.

Acting the bollox in La Rochelle aswell, and plenty of wolf tones ooh ahh up the ra and sinn fein/IRA during the singing of the fields of Athenry. Of course it was only a small minority though. But it did happen.

Yeah I was in Montmartre having the craic with the Swedish fans the night before the match as well, thankfully I didn't encounter it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

I never understand why clubs and countries trot out the phrase 'not true fans' to diminish or reduce their responsibility.

If fans wearing your jersey are causing trouble, it is your problem. It doesn't matter if they score 1 or 10 on the imaginary True Fans scale.

True fans can throw bottles.... true fans can intimidate locals.

Whether it's United, Liverpool, Roma, England, Ireland, Holland, Russia, etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

Yeah I was in Montmartre having the craic with the Swedish fans the night before the match as well, thankfully I didn't encounter it.

It was a great night, we had a camper van parked right outside Corcorans, biggest mistake we made, never slept for 3 days. Realised when we got to La Rochelle that some tramps must of been up bouncing on top of it was a load of dints and water leaking. Was an English reg but i dont think it would of stopped them either way if it was an Irish reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭bob mcbob

London and Wales probably would be two of the better places at that. Try outside the bigger cities or Scotland as one of the worst. Seen one of the Police Chiefs in Scotland who worked in PSNI/RUC said it was more openly sectarian than Northern Ireland.

I am a Catholic who grew up in a small working class town in central Scotland (near Falkirk). I can't remember a single example of sectarian abuse I received growing up there. On the other hand I do remember the level of contempt given to the Orange walks given by most of the people in the town when they came there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Plenty of content online in terms of videos and forum posts on the RoI fans forums about this kind of thing.
    Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    I never understand why clubs and countries trot out the phrase 'not true fans' to diminish or reduce their responsibility.

If fans wearing your jersey are causing trouble, it is your problem. It doesn't matter if they score 1 or 10 on the imaginary True Fans scale.

Very harsh on clubs. What are they supposed to do about idiots who start causing trouble in random locations in the destination city?

bob mcbob wrote: »
    I am a Catholic who grew up in a small working class town in central Scotland (near Falkirk). I can't remember a single example of sectarian abuse I received growing up there. On the other hand I do remember the level of contempt given to the Orange walks given by most of the people in the town when they came there.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/priest-glasgow-spit-orange-march-4116245-Jul2018/

This was very recently, Orange Order march by a Catholic Church and spat on a priest and attacked him in Glasgow. Orange Order marches are nothing but a bunch of thugs engaging in sectarian bigotry. Anyone right thinking person would treat them with they contempt the deserve. Like having a KKK rally in robes walk past your house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Anyone that sucker punches someone is a cowardly cunt, don't care what they've done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,466 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Definitely an element of ****headism amongst the Irish support that seems to have appeared over last few years but certainly not at the point of throwing glass bottles at cops. I’ve been going to Irish away games for years (and am posting from Copenhagen now) and have witnessed people acting the maggot but there’s no comparison.

It wouldn’t be tolerated by the majority of fans for a start.

Anyone that sucker punches someone is a cowardly cunt, don't care what they've done.
    I believe he is also with a group of bodyguards there for protection so yeah pretty cowardly. Unless something happened beforehand not in video, seems a very strange incident unless he knew him. Must have said something.

https://twitter.com/MikeStuchbery_/status/1136955012284866562