Doonbeg Begorragh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,649 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Not necessarily.
    The Trumps are using the Doonbeg venue to make money. The employment located there is to facilitate that purpose. There is no altruism here.
    If the opportunity which presented itself to them was located anywhere else, they wouldn't even know about West Clare.

I don't expect altruism. Maybe what we should acknowledge is that he sees potential in West Clare that many in Ireland, and he has the resources to act on it.
    Anymore than I expect to be hired for a job, or picked for a sports team out of altruism - but if a coach or manager sees potential in someone when others does not, then we remember that.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Anteayer wrote: »
    When does he actually depart for the US again?

Around half 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

A thread like this is a great idea.

Keeps certain posters entertained until Peter Casey goes again.

Nothing like a Trump thread to flush out all the knuckledraggers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

Looks like all those bleating about the imposed tariffs all month might soon be eating their words:

https://twitter.com/RWhelanWSJ/status/1136722490452008963

Although I think he could cancer and the left would still never admit a decision he made was a good one.
    As Trump is getting used to being in Office he is getting better and better and better .

He will end up as one of America’s greatest Presidents after his 8 Years .

blinding wrote: »
    As Trump is getting used to being in Office he is getting better and better and better .
    He will end up as one of America’s greatest Presidents after his 8 Years .

If it's anything like his golf handicap, then last I heard he swept all 50 states in 2016 :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭SirGerryAdams

You can bet that China and Mexico are hating Trump as president. No other president had the balls to stand up to them. Fair play to him for defending his country. He's getting things done.

Still can't believe people defending illegal immigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

You mean "Gyna", Gerry. He stood up to to Gyna.

Oranges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

Fake welcome.

Fake protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Pissartist wrote: »
    Doonbeg was going out of business when the Donald took over

The Donald was not the only interested party. There was a half a dozen others apparently.

So that notion that if Donald didn't save it, it was gone is pretty false.

In the end he got an €80m write down on a 5 star hotel, Norman designed golf course and 300+ acres for €9m odd.

He got lucky with the timing as the country was coming back out of being broke and WAW initiative had just sky rocketed.

The heavy lifting was done for whatever investor who decided to take the plunge.

He has to be credited with picking up a gem for a song, but good timing and luck played it's part too.

That said it never has turned an operating profit, so I imagine the idea is to flip it and then the locals will dance to whatever hedge fund takes over.

The locals have no real affiliation with Trump, it's his money they love, which probably was loaned to him by Putin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

I think if I were living in Doonbeg and that part of Clare, I would be annoyed by how the Government did absolutely nothing to support them in entertaining The President of America and of more importance to them the local employer. I mean the IDA, Bord Failte and Bord Bia are always working hard to bring employment and create industry and was it Fergal Quinn that used to say that it was far easier to keep a customer than find a new one so imo in the same way, it's easier to keep an employer than create a new one. Would it have killed members of the government to schmooze a little with the Trumps, host a dinner or lunch, invite them to a small reception where local foods, fashion, art, literature etc could be shown off, organise a trip for them to Cliffs of Mohar, something, anything to show a welcome as well as using a golden opportunity to showcase the county. When the Irish Ministers go all over the USA for St Patrick's Day, would they like to be ignored. Or even anyone who has relatives in the States will know it is very common for them to host a part of all their friends, neighbours in your honour when you visit them. To do absolutely nothing is rude imo and very short sighted against the hand that is providing jobs in the area. The government should have done more imo, not even for Trump but to support that little corner of Ireland and it's Irish citizens, many many of whom have family living in the States where Trump is the First Family. To be writing letters to Kylie Minogue rying to beg an audience with her and pretending the President of America is only on a family holiday and therefore to be left alone is having your priorities all wrong if you ask me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Anteayer

He was actually invited to Dromoland Castle for state event and declined the invitation as far as I'm aware. That's how it ended up being the odd meeting in Shannon Airport lounge.

Varadkar was absolutely torn apart for even taking calls from Trump about Doonbeg a back a few years ago, so I would assume they see it as a Fianna Fail tent type risk and stayed away.

You can be damn sure it would have been an awkward scenario of the Taoiseach being leaned on about planning issues or something.

Mrsmum wrote: »
    I think if I were living in Doonbeg and that part of Clare, I would be annoyed by how the Government did absolutely nothing to support them in entertaining The President of America and of more importance to them the local employer.

They did this...
    Melania Trump enjoyed a special cultural showcase upon arrival in Shannon. The First Lady was treated to a performance that included Irish music, dance and poetry hosted by Ireland’s Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht Josepha Madigan.
    https://www.irishpost.com/news/melan...ireland-167787

I agree with you in that they rolled out the red carpet for Trump when trying to get the contract, and more could have been done to spruce up Doonbeg (by Tourism Ireland).
    But ah, the Donald might have wanted a bit of quiet time and his idea of relaxing may not involve hob-nobbing with Shane Ross (Tourism minister) or Heather Humphreys (Enterprise minister). And who could blame him!

Donald should have offered Leo a Peasant Shoot .

That would be very hard for Leo to resist !

The bare minimum was done imo and as I say not even for Trump (despite the fact I personally think hospitality to visitors is good manners), but because there was an open goal to showcase that part of Ireland across the world.

I think if I were living in Doonbeg and that part of Clare, I would be annoyed by how the Government did absolutely nothing to support them in entertaining The President of America and of more importance to them the local employer. I mean the IDA, Bord Failte and Bord Bia are always working hard to bring employment and create industry and was it Fergal Quinn that used to say that it was far easier to keep a customer than find a new one so imo in the same way, it's easier to keep an employer than create a new one. Would it have killed members of the government to schmooze a little with the Trumps, host a dinner or lunch, invite them to a small reception where local foods, fashion, art, literature etc could be shown off, organise a trip for them to Cliffs of Mohar, something, anything to show a welcome as well as using a golden opportunity to showcase the county. When the Irish Ministers go all over the USA for St Patrick's Day, would they like to be ignored. Or even anyone who has relatives in the States will know it is very common for them to host a part of all their friends, neighbours in your honour when you visit them. To do absolutely nothing is rude imo and very short sighted against the hand that is providing jobs in the area. The government should have done more imo, not even for Trump but to support that little corner of Ireland and it's Irish citizens, many many of whom have family living in the States where Trump is the First Family. To be writing letters to Kylie Minogue rying to beg an audience with her and pretending the President of America is only on a family holiday and therefore to be left alone is having your priorities all wrong if you ask me.

His trip was not an official visit. He was using his own personal golf club as a base.

Even at that the cost of his "visit" will apparently exceed 10m. Which we will all pay for.

He was offered one of the most prestigious hotels in the world, he turned it down.

I have no idea what more we could have done for him to be honest. He didn't get here until 6 o'clock and he was in France the first thing the next morning, so I have no idea where an impromptu visit to the Cliffs could have taken place.

That's before you even take into account the cretin mouthing off that a hard brexit will be excellent for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Boggles wrote: »

That's before you even take into account the cretin mouthing off that a hard brexit will be excellent for everyone.

as well as mentioning "the wall" in ireland:confused: you have a wall we have a wall

just shows his utter ignorance towards Ireland

His trip was not an official visit. He was using his own personal golf club as a base.

Even at that the cost of his "visit" will apparently exceed 10m. Which we will all pay for.

He was offered one of the most prestigious hotels in the world, he turned it down.

I have no idea what more we could have done for him to be honest. He didn't get here until 6 o'clock and he was in France the first thing the next morning, so I have no idea where an impromptu visit to the Cliffs could have taken place.

There's always time for what you want to do. Did his family all go to France. He is playing golf today, what are the rest of the family doing ?
    This shouldn't be about whether you like him or not. It's pure business.

There's always time for what you want to do. Did his family all go to France. He is playing golf today, what are the rest of the family doing ?
    This shouldn't be about whether you like him or not. It's pure business.

It was him who turned down the offer of hospitality, what part of that is actually confusing you?

fryup wrote: »
    as well as mentioning "the wall" in ireland:confused: you have a wall we have a wall

just shows his utter ignorance towards Ireland
    Leo would put a wall around Dublin if he could .

It was him who turned down the offer of hospitality, what part of that is actually confusing you?

Do you have the details of that "offer of hospitality". My understanding is that it was just to be where Leo and himself would have the brief meeting they had in Shannon and do the photo shoot for the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Is that not a bit father Ted so.

I mean the priest can't be saying there is a place in heaven for a family that are actually evil personified.

I don't know whether to :rolleyes: or :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Looks like all those bleating about the imposed tariffs all month might soon be eating their words:

https://twitter.com/RWhelanWSJ/status/1136722490452008963

Although I think he could cancer and the left would still never admit a decision he made was a good one.

You are forgetting 3 things with that tweet

A) Its the civil servants not the president that hash out these deals
    B) The last line of that tweet. Donald can torpedo it which goes back to my first point. The "greatest negotiator" is not doing these deals
    C) The deal itself is not finalised and I say the trade war with China has more effects

The other oddity about that trip. When has any other US president travelled with their adult children and their spouses?! They were on the UK state visit.

Were they paid for by the US tax payer or themselves?

Also did he charge the Whitehouse for staying at his own hotel?

I'm also wondering why Trump would be expected to be happy showcasing Dromoland Castle when his own resort is a few miles away. It would be absolutely fine if he were not a hotel owner but he is. Would that not be like expecting the owner of say Brown Thomas to have photos beamed around the world from the meeting room in Arnotts with a huge Arnotts sign behind him/her. Doesn't sound very business minded to me. I heard it was offered as a neutral venue but it's more the competition in reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

Sewage, electricity broadband etc should be done for 1 off house. How much would that cost

I'm not sure what your point is, sewage, electricity are not hooked up to a mains supply, they are paid for by the site owner themselves so the cost to the tax payer is 0.

Broadband is a phoneline, they already run up and down the country and can always use GSM. Again, cost to the tax payer is 0.

What were you asking?

I'm not sure what your point is, sewage, electricity are not hooked up to a mains supply, they are paid for by the site owner themselves so the cost to the tax payer is 0.
    Broadband is a phoneline, they already run up and down the country and can always use GSM. Again, cost to the tax payer is 0.
    What were you asking?

Say what? This is for Broadband alone.

Who is paying for the phonelines? Or ambulance cover?

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2019/0507/1048017-national-broadband-plan/
    The total cost to the taxpayer, which is less than half of the cost of the total plan, is capped at €2.97bn - a figure which includes €545m for contingency.

I'm also wondering why Trump would be expected to be happy showcasing Dromoland Castle when his own resort is a few miles away. It would be absolutely fine if he were not a hotel owner but he is. Would that not be like expecting the owner of say Brown Thomas to have photos beamed around the world from the meeting room in Arnotts with a huge Arnotts sign behind him/her. Doesn't sound very business minded to me. I heard it was offered as a neutral venue but it's more the competition in reality.

That just further underlines how he has conflicts of interest and won't step away from his businesses while president.

I'm also wondering why Trump would be expected to be happy showcasing Dromoland Castle when his own resort is a few miles away.

Because he is the POTUS.

This is isn't really hard to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I thought the sons own it. Did he not have to give up ownership when becoming president

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Anteayer wrote: »
    The other oddity about that trip. When has any other US president travelled with their adult children and their spouses?! They were on the UK state visit.

Were they paid for by the US tax payer or themselves?

Also did he charge the Whitehouse for staying at his own hotel?

Come on . He is the president of the United States .
    Every child of every president gets what they want when they want.

Perk of the job.