Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England fans riot in Portugual, sing "F the Pope and the IRA"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

Celtic fans aren't all Irish in fairness. Most of their worst behaved fans would be Scottish for obvious reasons. They aren't nearly as badly behaved either.

I assume you're referencing the Sunderland game last summer where Tommy Robinson turned up in a Rangers jersey with a load of yobs at a shop inciting a riot? That was not all Celtic fans fault.

Yeah it wasn't all Celtic fans fault that they travelled miles outside the city to smash the windows of a shop in because someone they didnt like was in there... Ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

.Charlo wrote: »
    Plenty of videos of Celtic fans at friendly games in England smashing up shops etc,
    But what point are you making? That that absolves the England fans being talked about on this thread?

It was in response to a poster that claimed singing bigoted songs is far right, my question was is it far right when Celtic fans do it. I think I was quite clear with my original question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It has everything to do with Ireland when they are flying our flag and singing pro ra songs. did you really need me to explain this to you??

It really doesn't. But nice try all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

decent through ball from john sheridan followed by the best days work those guards ever did at 1min10sec

No doubt the children of these **** grew up to follow in their footsteps, depressing.

It was in response to a poster that claimed singing bigoted songs is far right, my question was is it far right when Celtic fans do it. I think I was quite clear with my original question.

It's odd that that's what you saw fit to object to.

lawred2 wrote: »
    It really doesn't. But nice try all the same.

main-qimg-e99a920223224e389f3baa288b5a3b8c-jpeg.jpg

Ok mate.

main-qimg-e99a920223224e389f3baa288b5a3b8c-jpeg.jpg

Ok mate.

yeah it's not great is it... and not something I'd stand for or engage in

luckily though for Irish people Celtic is a football club in Scotland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Saying X fans are not as bad as Y Fans isn't going to achieve anything.

The matter that needs to be addressed is groups of football fans using away matches as a drinking holiday, taking over public areas and absolutely wrecking the place.

The whole thing seems to be accepted as long as there isn't a full scale riot or some naughty songs being sung.

There is even a mental point of view of championing groups of football fans for going somewhere and not getting arrested. Amazing. Actually not getting arrested, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭OldRio

It has everything to do with Ireland when they are flying our flag and singing pro ra songs. did you really need me to explain this to you??

Going by some of your other posts in other threads your stance doesn't surprise me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

valoren wrote: »
    Isn't it interesting how these clowns weren't running riot in Russia last year. They know where they can get away with acting the maggot and a mere arrest for disorder is the worst they can expect. They'd have been battered with impunity by the Russian police if they tried to kick off and funnily enough they were on their best behavior there with the only flash points being scuffles and in-fighting between other English fans.

The Russian police would be the least of their worries, the Russian football gangs are worse and would have given them an absolute hiding before the police stepped in to scrape their battered bodies up. The English football thugs are all cowardly bastards who act hard in crowds but would wet their panties and run away crying if confronted on their own.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Apparently a bunch of Scottish football fans fighting with a mob of Tommy Robinson supporters in Sunderland, is some how Irish peoples fault and equal to this.

Really stretching it to link that to us.

OldRio wrote: »
    Going by some of your other posts in other threads your stance doesn't surprise me.

Oh really, what stance would that be now?

Apparently a bunch of Scottish football fans fighting with a mob of Tommy Robinson supporters in Sunderland, is some how Irish peoples fault and equal to this.

Really stretching it to link that to us.

Tell me more about how it wasnt celtic fans fault that they travelled out of town to smash a shop up.

This just proves how deranged the men of England have become. Their country is filling up with hostile Africans and Middle Eastern semites, who rape their daughters on an industrial scale, and are well on their way to seizing control of major cities, but the English still see The Catholics and The Paddies as the real problem.

Welcome to the the Clown World of the Modern Englishman, who for recreation spends his hard-earned wages to watch African millionaires play football for his "local team", while chanting anti-Irish slogans.

Tell me more about how it wasnt celtic fans fault that they travelled out of town to smash a shop up.

have another go at reading what was written and then respond..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,103 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

have another go at reading what was written and then respond..

Dont be mean. He tried his bestest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Ots hilarious that people on boards are sticking for them. Oh ....child abuse it's ok to say **** the Pope. Sticking up for football holigans that most English people would be disgusted by.

It's sectarian abuse aimed at you you absolute dopes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Disgracing their country once again, and now bringing out the full Rangers songbook, including "**** the Pope" which they now sing regularly.

Rangers songbook? You'd hear a pin drop at Ibrox for most of our home games. You'll hear equally unpleasant and unacceptable songs being sung by Irish fans in Denmark. Plenty of pro-IRA chants and the the James McClean song will get belted out by the majority at the game also. Most Rangers fans support Scotland, fyi.
    Ots hilarious that people on boards are sticking for them. Oh ....child abuse it's ok to say **** the Pope. Sticking up for football holigans that most English people would be disgusted by.

I'm appalled by the anti-Pope chants. If people said that in work, it'd be P45 straight away, end of story. Baffled how and why anyone would try to defend it. Who do you think it is aimed at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Disgracing their country once again...

Kinda tickles you though, despite the condemnatory posturing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

wouldn't be worth it making martyrs of any of them

Yes it would. That's all those bastards are missing. If every Gard all over the world started shooting the **** they would soon start behaving.

Water cannon my eye. They should give them the lead. That won't dry off as quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

It's a certain demographic of English support.

Let's not let ourselves down here by saying it's all English fans.

This just proves how deranged the men of England have become. Their country is filling up with hostile Africans and Middle Eastern semites, who rape their daughters on an industrial scale, and are well on their way to seizing control of major cities, but the English still see The Catholics and The Paddies as the real problem.

Welcome to the the Clown World of the Modern Englishman, who for recreation spends his hard-earned wages to watch African millionaires play football for his "local team", while chanting anti-Irish slogans.
    Ah here, they're obviously highly critical of islamist fundamentalists too. "The real problem"? You're making up this scenario where they don't say a word to or about muslims and they're attacking Irish folk all over the place.

Whereas the actual reality is: UKIP doing well, Britain First, For Britain, English Defence League... and some English hooligans chanting "**** the pope" and "**** the IRA" abroad.

Also, you're making a heck of a generalisation about the tens of millions of English men. And the yob football fan is nothing new.

Well if they're thick enough to think that I feel offended by "**** the IRA" and "**** the pope", neither of which have anything to do with me, they can stew in their dumbness. I'm not sticking up for them - they're scum obviously.

Also, they aren't gonna be so clueless that they don't know the IRA waged a campaign of violence in their country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭I see sheep

This stuff has been building up over the last few weeks. Liverpool in Barcelona, Sunderland at Trafalger Square, then the stuff in Madrid.

The Sunderland fans didn't cause any trouble afaik

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

Berserker wrote: »
    Rangers songbook? You'd hear a pin drop at Ibrox for most of our home games.
    Sure thang bub.

Didn't know you were from Glasgow.

This is hilarious, à la carte Catholics on boards.ie of all places, upset at English fans singing fùck the Pope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Hard to know where to start with this post. A huge proportion of England is RC and the prize schools in England, the schools that some of these lads attended, have children in or are hoping to send to children to are RC. The day of The Paddies being an issue in England are long, long gone. Take a look at the content posted by Britain First, who are based in N.I. and you'll see that it relates to Muslims, primarily. Ditto for all of the other right wing groups. The Irish are not mentioned and the Irish flag is flown at some of the right-wing demonstrations. Finally, the sentence is bold is exactly the kind of thing that a right-wing Brit would come out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The Sunderland fans didn't cause any trouble afaik

I'll say it again, congregating in massive numbers in a public space, getting pissed and leaving the place a tip is not acceptable behaviour.

This is hilarious, à la carte Catholics on boards.ie of all places, upset at English fans singing fùck the Pope.

so you've exhausted yourself and have decided to go for a plain and simple trollish bait post...

hilarious alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Who is upset by it? I would imagine it's not that unexpected. Can you not dicuss something without being called upset or offended?

I am more suprised that people are standing up for those that most English people would regard as scumbags bringing down the name of their country.