Most difficult career path?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Jumps Jockey. You are constantly wasting/dieting. Besides, what other job requires an ambulance to follow you around as you you go about your work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I didn't want to say it originally but I always thought you could judge the stress of a job by the amount of alcoholics in it. Chef certainly ranks high on the list.

If you want to judge it that way the Priesthood. Its like all weddings and funerals, a pint and a whiskey in front of you, you could get quite fond of it. and then you are dealing with people in distress. My friend is AA long term and there is surprisingly loads of priests there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

If you want to judge it that way the Priesthood. Its like all weddings Funerals and then you are dealing with people in distress. My friend is AA long term and there is surprisingly loads of priests there.

And no riding which is a dreadful thing to do to someone.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Your Face wrote: »
    Suicide bomber - there's not much of a future in it.

At least you go out with a bang.....

I’ll get my coat

And no riding which is a dreadful thing to do to someone.

Loads of complications other than that. One brother gets the farm and the other get sent off to the seminary. That is what we did with my Uncle. If you did a study into Higher Functioning Autism you would be surprised what you would find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Dammo

BumperD wrote: »
    Jumps Jockey. You are constantly wasting/dieting. Besides, what other job requires an ambulance to follow you around as you you go about your work.

Solicitor

Sorry, wrong way round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Barrister. Basically see what was written about pilots and remove the medicals. Basically paying to do the job until you get established and many never do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Well I'm not there yet but hats off to you. It's extremely hard to get to that level. Do you mind me asking how did you make income online?

Affiliate marketing. That ship has sailed unfortunately. All the easy money is gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Unbelievable stress from what friends say. It's a very tough working environment.

I work as a chef and can confirm this. No social life at all unless you make friends within the job.

Higher Functioning Autists:
    You have few interests
    You have intense interests no body understands
    You have few friends if any
    Constantly depressed
    Prone to suicide
    Difficulty getting employment (3%)
    Cant get a ride
    Sensitivities to Light sound crowds textures smells ...etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Actuary. Long years of tough exams and work.

Basically OP I think you're finding out you're not that special I'm afraid! :pac:

Brendog wrote: »
    I work as a chef and can confirm this. No social life at all unless you make friends within the job.

I both studied and worked as a chef and they arent the best quality friends. They are fickle and shallow. Most are gone at 30.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Blaizes

Barrister. Basically see what was written about pilots and remove the medicals. Basically paying to do the job until you get established and many never do.

Knew a few barristers who quit, they couldn’t get the break they needed so had to find other jobs.

1 in 40 who qualify make it? Those are tough statistics

Not sure it's quite that bad. In fairness the BL degree is good in other fields.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Murtinho_

Barrister/Solicitor. Nightmare.

Not sure it's quite that bad. In fairness the BL degree is good in other fields.

I know you can use a degree in law for other things like the guards, HR, Planning etc etc But any guy I knew who had a degree in law and wasnt using his qualifications was always a pot stirrer and deep in the Union causing problems where there were none and picking through contracts. There are some seriously maladjusted (insert appropriate term) out there with with law degrees.

It's an easy degree to get in fairness.

???? I had a look at reading law and it was near impossible to decipher. How ever I did read a solicitors letter sent to a hungarian lady and she couldnt understand because it was written too prosaically for her to read but I understood it to say "piss off, I will deal with you when I feel like it !".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

If you want to judge it that way the Priesthood. Its like all weddings and funerals, a pint and a whiskey in front of you, you could get quite fond of it. and then you are dealing with people in distress. My friend is AA long term and there is surprisingly loads of priests there.

We got married with an old priest and a young priest performing the ceremony.
    A couple of months later the old priest open the 2nd storey window of the parish house and let himself fall out backwards.

No future, no life, no money... I'm sure it's a very difficult calling as numbers entering the priesthood fall.
    I've no love of any organised religion but can imagine a lot of psychological damage from the abstinence of a real life.

The catholic church in particular needs to modernise to survive.

Murtinho_ wrote: »
    Barrister/Solicitor. Nightmare.

?
    God know... €3k to sign a few papers to sell a house.
    They're probably delighted to get a divorce and charge €50 to hand one letter over to another solicitor...

One of the most overpaid professions milking the system with long running inquiries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭paleoperson

I tend to agree with OP, the average worker in STEM is the modern day peasant except with worse hours, much worse stress, but slightly better outside conditions (which is due only to technology.

"work hard in school, it'll all pay off in the end"... some joke!

I tend to agree with OP, the average worker in STEM is the modern day peasant except with worse hours, much worse stress, but slightly better outside conditions (which is due only to technology.

Well that's probably just pure research. Science for the sake of learning/discovery.

If you go the commercial route, working on R&D with patent-able research with commercial potential I imagine it's a different matter.

We got married with an old priest and a young priest performing the ceremony.
    A couple of months later the old priest open the 2nd storey window of the parish house and let himself fall out backwards.

No future, no life, no money... I'm sure it's a very difficult calling as numbers entering the priesthood fall.
    I've no love of any organised religion but can imagine a lot of psychological damage from the abstinence of a real life.

The catholic church in particular needs to modernise to survive.

You missed out on my Higher Functioning Autism post. Many in religious life are HFA's. Its a lot more complex than abstinence and the things that go with it.

Its not the Catholic Church that needs to modernise. Western civilisation is coming to an end. Once religion goes the whole moral compass is gone and society collapses. The same way as it did in Rome Greece and the Tsars. Civil servants are like cockroaches they survive everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

The path to work on Tuesday after a hard weekend can be quite dangerous if your not careful.

?
    God know... €3k to sign a few papers to sell a house.
    They're probably delighted to get a divorce and charge €50 to hand one letter over to another solicitor...

One of the most overpaid professions milking the system with long running inquiries.

..... and if you are morally compromised there is the free legal aid route. And if you need social welfare there is always a tribunal in the offing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Well that's probably just pure research. Science for the sake of learning/discovery.

If you go the commercial route, working on R&D with patent-able research with commercial potential I imagine it's a different matter.

R and D can really pay off but you'll need one or two postdocs under your belt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭paleoperson

You're right but you might still be too optimistic there also. You generally only hear the success stories, not the guys/girls who failed after throwing years of their life into something.

This a pretty well known phenomenon - in case OP sounds left of field for some people used to the official lobbied line that there's a major lack of STEM trained people - that's all just to push more people into it so companies/institutes get a better choice and cull the rest of people to eternal cycles of incredibly low positions.

https://theconversation.com/stem-postdoc-researchers-are-highly-trained-but-for-what-35059

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Very true. They make a grand total of zero euro for their year of deviling.

Then very little until they can establish themselves.

Whereas a Solicitor can begin earning well from out the doors of Blackhall Place.