Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

We won't be entertaining bids of any kind for Alisson, TTA, VVD, Robbo, Fab, Mane, Salah & Bobby and to a slightly lesser extent Gomez, Matip, Henderson,Ox & Gini.

Out of the rest of the squad if the right offers came in who would be the most likely to be sold?

Lallana, Lovren & Mignolet would be my guesses on players clubs might bid for during the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Moving on from these players is a sign that we’re moving in the right direction. And that’s how it should be. Klopp will eventually have turned over the squad he inherited, which was a necessary part of the job.

Exactly and he does it with dignity and respect because he is a class operator and the polar opposite of those who use terms like Deadwood to describe a player who's contribution Klopp appreciated but does not wish to continue with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Lallana, Lovren & Mignolet would be my guesses on players clubs might bid for during the summer.
    Lallana will be gone. I don’t will bother with a left back and instead Milner and Gomez will get their 20 games in left back and right back.
    Gomez will start Cb next year.

I think if we sell lovren then De Ligt is the only acceptable addition. Time is now for lovren as still get good money and he only has a year or two left where he can provide cover. Clyne ings mignolet lovren would pay the transfer feee and cover the wages with ease.

We are crying out for a high end Am and I think we will get the young lad for Lisbon, Erickson,Dybala , beek.

I think origi is getting a contract but if you can get decent money for Shaq then I would get him out the door even though I love him.

I think will will buy serious Am , solid(young) forward and maybe a decent defender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,327 ✭✭✭✭klose

We won't be entertaining bids of any kind for Alisson, TTA, VVD, Robbo, Fab, Mane, Salah & Bobby and to a slightly lesser extent Gomez, Matip, Henderson,Ox & Gini.

Out of the rest of the squad if the right offers came in who would be the most likely to be sold?

Before you sell any of then how much do Clyne/wilson/kent/ojo? Isn't ings deal finalised for 20 odd million this summer too?

I think that the club would like to keep mig as second choice but can't see him wanting to say, although he is on quite a nice wedge so maybe he will fancy another season? It's a bit of a hard sell for the club to convince a keeper to sign seeing as Alisson is undoubtedly first choice, promote grabara to second choice perhaps?

I think Klopp would also like to keep lovren around, we forget that at the start of the season van dijk and gomez made a ferocious partnership, after gomez was injured matip stepped up and had a superb second half of the season. The key to it all is obviously van dijk so as long as he is fit we are good.

Lallana, Klopp seems to have a soft spot for him. For me he is probably one of the first players id be looking to move on as he's bordering on sturridge levels of fitness issues.

I'm quite interested to see what happens with grujic, had a good season at Berlin I believe.

Bowlardo wrote: »
    Lallana will be gone. I don’t will bother with a left back and instead Milner and Gomez will get their 20 games in left back and right back.
    Gomez will start Cb next year.

I think if we sell lovren then De Ligt is the only acceptable addition. Time is now for lovren as still get good money and he only has a year or two left where he can provide cover. Clyne ings mignolet lovren would pay the transfer feee and cover the wages with ease.

We are crying out for a high end Am and I think we will get the young lad for Lisbon, Erickson,Dybala , beek.

I think origi is getting a contract but if you can get decent money for Shaq then I would get him out the door even though I love him.

I think will will buy serious Am , solid(young) forward and maybe a decent defender

I don't know about that to be fair Matip has been fantastic since coming into the first team in January and arguably better than VVD in a lot of those games towards the end of the season.

klose wrote: »
    Before you sell any of then how much do Clyne/wilson/kent/ojo? Isn't ings deal finalised for 20 odd million this summer too?

I think that the club would like to keep mig as second choice but can't see him wanting to say, although he is on quite a nice wedge so maybe he will fancy another season? It's a bit of a hard sell for the club to convince a keeper to sign seeing as Alisson is undoubtedly first choice, promote grabara to second choice perhaps?

I think Klopp would also like to keep lovren around, we forget that at the start of the season van dijk and gomez made a ferocious partnership, after gomez was injured matip stepped up and had a superb second half of the season. The key to it all is obviously van dijk so as long as he is fit we are good.

Lallana, Klopp seems to have a soft spot for him. For me he is probably one of the first players id be looking to move on as he's bordering on sturridge levels of fitness issues.

I'm quite interested to see what happens with grujic, had a good season at Berlin I believe.

Those three players I named are probably right now at their best sell on market rate for their age and experience.

The club could quite easily get £30m+ for Lovren and Lallana in this current market.

Mingolet want's first team football and has said as much himself and I'd guess the club could get £20m+ for him considering what they got for Ward.

So with the loan players you mentioned and pre sale players like Ings the club could make easily another £150m in sales this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

I don't know about that to be fair Matip has been fantastic since coming into the first team in January and arguably better than VVD in a lot of those games towards the end of the season.
    Both Gomes and matip are prone to injury they will both get plenty of time.
    Gomez and VVD better partnership though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Two absolute crackers here

https://twitter.com/StephenEvans75/status/1135970051562057730?s=08

https://twitter.com/StephenWarnock3/status/1134846544488861696?s=08

Those Madrid scenes are a bit unfathomable,wonder how the locals found it :)

Took awhile to find Fab on the bus but he was there.

61717857_147682566371556_684761756821163376_n.jpg?_nc_ht=scontent-ort2-1.cdninstagram.com

I was looking at getting the European Jersey for next season till I saw the price.

€112.50 da fcuk I'm paying that for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Lots of ups and downs since the thread was started. The day Thanks for the Fish launched it we got thumped 3-0 by Barcelona, which would call into question his thread opening authority. Despite the dubious beginning, a disappointing middle it had a cracking ending. Would read again and will be interested to see what they do with the movie.

martyos121 wrote: »
    Sixth superthread of a fantastic season. It’s been a thrill ride since August and whatever happens in the next 3 games (hopefully 4 but I’m not optimistic of that) I’m immensely proud of this team.

Let's talk about 6 Baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,502 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I was looking at getting the European Jersey for next season till I saw the price.

€112.50 da fcuk I'm paying that for it.

Long sleeve including patches? I just buy the training jumpers now. They are much better value.

New Balance also released a new pair of Liverpool runners that are pretty tasty!!

TitianGerm wrote: »
    Long sleeve including patches? I just buy the training jumpers now. They are much better value.

New Balance also released a new pair of Liverpool runners that are pretty tasty!!

Shorts sleeves with patches and name and number.

€98 without name and number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭dmigsy

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Lots of ups and downs since the thread was started. The day Thanks for the Fish launched it we got thumped 3-0 by Barcelona, which would call into question his thread opening authority. Despite the dubious beginning, a disappointing middle it had a cracking ending. Would read again and will be interested to see what they do with the movie.

You've missed a star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I don't think Sturridge can play in the PL much more. I doubt his body can play 30+ games enough for someone like Villa to justify breaking their wage structure for him (even with him taking a hefty paycut), and I don't see a team with a larger budget giving him 80k a week for 20 games, such as Bournemouth.

I wouldn't be surprised if he ends up in the states, sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭garra

Fieldog wrote: »
    Moreno was a bombscare of a defender but he was hard to dislike. Always seemed to be a popular member of the squad with everyone else.

He should get picked by a decent club back in Spain.

Back to Sevilla I would guess, he loves the club...

Gifted them a Europa cup, he will be feted back in Seville.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Knex. wrote: »
    I don't think Sturridge can play in the PL much more. I doubt his body can play 30+ games enough for someone like Villa to justify breaking their wage structure for him (even with him taking a hefty paycut), and I don't see a team with a larger budget giving him 80k a week for 20 games, such as Bournemouth.

I reckon the MLS would be perfect for Sturridge,
    He seems to spend most of his time off in the States two , and iv heard him say his favourite place is LA on the Liverpool youtube channel so would the Galaxy want him ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

Bournemouth tried that with Defoe and got their fingers well burnt!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

I read that as "ends up in the stables" and thought f*cking hell, shooting him would be a bit much :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

If Sturridge was a horse....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

While we are in a position of strength now being European Champions, we have to make it count and add significant quality to the squad. Now is not a team to rest on our laurels.

We need to kick on another level if we want to win the PL next season, and also the European teams all want to win that CL again - Real, Bayern, Barca have all already made significant steps in the transfer market and the likes of City, PSG etc will all have some in-comings too.

To be honest, the only real first team squad members that I can see leaving are the ones that were on loan last year, or not involved at all - Clyne, Ings (already done), Karius, Ojo, Wilson, Kent. And possibly Lallana. These are all players who were not contributing to the squad last season at all so should not be missed. Lovren may leave if we buy a CB but the fact he is Salah's best friend will actually have a say in it - he won't want to leave. Having a happy squad is important - the Brazilian lads all loved Moreno. I'm sure he stuck around to be with them too.

Players will happily sit on the bench when a team is winning - what do you think Moreno would have preferred this season? Playing 40 games for Villareal or winning a European Cup as a sub? Same with Sturridge - he traded in a 30 game season with a struggling PL season for a European Cup.

I think we only need a handful of additions to the squad - a back up full back / Milner & Gomez can cover the other side, a Depay like player who can cover the 4 attacking options and can add real competition up front and can rotate the front 3 positions again with 4 strong options and then Origi & Brewster also. Possibly a back up GK if Mignolet wants to leave to play games - which I think he might. Midfield I think we're pretty stocked in, Ox back now should help us, and Keita is more settled than he was 6 months ago. Maybe if we move Milner to a back up full back slot, then we buy another midfielder. The 4th attacker is the main one for me that we need to get in. A real top level one can be the difference between winning the league next season or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,128 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I reckon the MLS would be perfect for Sturridge,
    He seems to spend most of his time off in the States two , and iv heard him say his favourite place is LA on the Liverpool youtube channel so would the Galaxy want him ?

He might just about get away with playing in the MLS alright, though the intensity is a lot higher than people expect... it’s been a graveyard for older midfielders who thought they could get by on natural talent alone (see Gerrard), but a sharp enough striker can still get by with running less than anyone else, as long as they take their chances (Zlatan, and Keane). For LA, LAFC wouldn’t touch him, but Galaxy might with Zlatan out of contract after this season.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,848 ✭✭✭✭8-10

FitzShane wrote: »
    While we are in a position of strength now being European Champions, we have to make it count and add significant quality to the squad. Now is not a team to rest on our laurels.

We need to kick on another level if we want to win the PL next season, and also the European teams all want to win that CL again - Real, Bayern, Barca have all already made significant steps in the transfer market and the likes of City, PSG etc will all have some in-comings too.

To be honest, the only real first team squad members that I can see leaving are the ones that were on loan last year, or not involved at all - Clyne, Ings (already done), Karius, Ojo, Wilson, Kent. And possibly Lallana. These are all players who were not contributing to the squad last season at all so should not be missed. Lovren may leave if we buy a CB but the fact he is Salah's best friend will actually have a say in it - he won't want to leave. Having a happy squad is important - the Brazilian lads all loved Moreno. I'm sure he stuck around to be with them too.

Players will happily sit on the bench when a team is winning - what do you think Moreno would have preferred this season? Playing 40 games for Villareal or winning a European Cup as a sub? Same with Sturridge - he traded in a 30 game season with a struggling PL season for a European Cup.

I think we only need a handful of additions to the squad - a back up full back / Milner & Gomez can cover the other side, a Depay like player who can cover the 4 attacking options and can add real competition up front and can rotate the front 3 positions again with 4 strong options and then Origi & Brewster also. Possibly a back up GK if Mignolet wants to leave to play games - which I think he might. Midfield I think we're pretty stocked in, Ox back now should help us, and Keita is more settled than he was 6 months ago. Maybe if we move Milner to a back up full back slot, then we buy another midfielder. The 4th attacker is the main one for me that we need to get in. A real top level one can be the difference between winning the league next season or not.

Up front is where we badly need someone, we can't rely on everybody being fit for a 50+ game season.

Salah, Shaqiri and Mané....unless I'm missing someone, are the only forwards currently at the club that Klopp signed.

He's let go Sturridge, Ings, Solanke, Benteke, Balotelli, Markovic, Yesil, Coutinho and sent the likes of Origi, Ojo, Woodburn, Wilson on loan.

Apart from Origi who is now back, and Coutinho, none are good enough for this Liverpool team anyway. But it's a lot more forwards and forward prospects going out than coming in and I think this is the window for that to be addressed.

I think we need 2 forwards in. Ryan Fraser and Memphis would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Seen the below quotes from Shaqiri over on Reddit (great site) yesterday.

"The manager has many good options and has to decide who can play. I knew before my transfer that the competition here is very tough.

"I have a long-term contract and I definitely will stay."

Hope he means it and it’s not just post win euphoria. He’s really surprised me with his attitude given the stories about him before he signed and seems to be a good presence in the squad.

Also credit to a Klopp that a player like him is content with his role in the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Just back from a ban, have I missed anything of note?

(put on your worst Scotty accent for this )

I really Tennessee Memphis at Liverpool esp for the likely feeee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

See Salah's on Twitter giving out about fans and journalists camped outside his house in Egypt, trapping him inside. It's on Reddit, I'm accepting in good faith this is an accurate translation of what he's saying on Twitter. He could just be posting a recipe for cupcakes but there seems to be a lot of people outside the house.

ELO ELO ELO? What's all this then?

http://clubelo.com/Ranking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,155 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

ELO ELO ELO? What's all this then?

http://clubelo.com/Ranking

Nothing official, Liverpool got one less point this season then they did last season on UEFA's rankings

https://www.uefa.com/memberassociations/uefarankings/club/#/yr/2019