Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2019/2020

Glad to see the back of deadwood like Sturridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,353 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Sturridge deserves to be played when fit, not at Liverpool, somewhere else that needs a goal scorer. A team that can carry him, and allow him to just be that finisher without the need to track back or press. He can change a 0-0 in a victory by sitting on a seat in the box and just waiting for his chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,527 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

rob316 wrote: »
    Problem is what's the most you could charge for a ticket down the Annie Road end? 50 quid? With no corporate it will never make money back on the investment.

You can build corporate boxes no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭shamrock55

I'm sorry to see sturridge go, moreno not so much, the dressing room will be that bit duller without them though I'd say, I'll never forget that amazing season Daniel had in 13/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭jpboard1

Sturridge deserves to be played when fit, not at Liverpool, somewhere else that needs a goal scorer. A team that can carry him, and allow him to just be that finisher without the need to track back or press. He can change a 0-0 in a victory by sitting on a seat in the box and just waiting for his chance.

Sturridge doesn’t deserve anything. I defended him for a long long time. But when he came on at the end of the Barca game. All he had to do was hassle and chase. Just for a few minutes. He did. I thing. Just stood there, the arrogant sod. He deserves nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

jpboard1 wrote: »
    Sturridge doesn’t deserve anything. I defended him for a long long time. But when he came on at the end of the Barca game. All he had to do was hassle and chase. Just for a few minutes. He did. I thing. Just stood there, the arrogant sod. He deserves nothing.

Simmer down.

Give over. He's been poor in recent times but get a grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭jpboard1

RoboKlopp wrote: »

Poor is an understatement. All that talent wasted with that attitude. Great to be rid

It's without doubt time he has been moved on. Few years too late tbh. However, to say he deserves nothing is ott.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Sturridge just cant do it at the top level anymore. He had a brilliant 18 months and then some horrible luck with injuries. I think he gave it a good go this year and seemed to have an improved attitude and understanding of his role within the squad. Nice ending for him to leave with a CL winners medal as he played his part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,005 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

giphy.gif

giphy.gif

Still gutted about Saturday?:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Finally back in the land of the living and watched the parade today. Enjoyed whelan and Macateer banter and Virg the interviewer. Thought Allison was great, spoke like a leader and in truth there's quite a few in this team. Also good to see Richie's cameo and slagging Rhian(na) off about 3-0 on appearances. Painted Barcelona red on Saturday and met Liverpool fans from Ireland the UK and further afield. Was greeted on my return by my 8 yr old daughter who I can proudly say has grown into a red over the course of this season. First step is always the toughest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,005 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Still gutted about Saturday?:cool:

Even more confused now! Why would I be gutted, don't be silly.

Surely you can see the contradictions in the posts above? You're saying on one hand you're delighted to see the back of deadwood like Sturridge (total disrespect) then on the other hand you're defending him from someone else trash talking him, so just wondering which it is?

Inside Madrid is a brilliant watch for fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Sturridge just cant do it at the top level anymore. He had a brilliant 18 months and then some horrible luck with injuries. I think he gave it a good go this year and seemed to have an improved attitude and understanding of his role within the squad. Nice ending for him to leave with a CL winners medal as he played his part.

Was it really any different though? Two important goals no doubt but minimal effort. Also seems to have this notion that he’s a number 10 when in truth he’s a liability when he drops deep and loses the ball or hits a potshot into the crowd. Kinda reminds me of Rooney thinking he was a midfielder because he could kick a ball from one side of the pitch to the other.

As said interested to see where he ends up next but he’ll be forgotten after that until he’s the name that you can’t remember in a ‘Can you name all the Liverpool Sixmidable squad?’ in a few years.

I imagine he was dropping deep on Klopps instruction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

That is £150k a week in wages from Sturridge that can now be used benefit the squad instead of used on a player who was broken down mentally and physically and years past his prime another lessoned FSG learned the hard way.

And £30k a week Moreno was on can be used as an assist bonus for TAA and Robbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,114 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Multi-quoting all over the shop here;
    martyos121 wrote: »
    Mino Raiola is his agent, this is just another one of his tricks. As much as I’d love to sign De Ligt, there’s not a talent in the world besides Messi worth putting up with that cretin of an agent.

What's the story with this actually, cause he's currently banned from working as an agent, so are his roster of players free to use other representation in the meantime? Or does he just get to use the workaround of someone else carrying out his wishes? A ban seems sort of pointless if that's the case...

Chesty08 wrote: »
    Perfect for Pep Ljinders to run during this time. Very impressive to date. It’s 3 years away & we all know things can change so much then

I would be totally fine with a deal like this. Sign Klopp up to a longer term deal, but let him go off for a year and leave the club in one of his staff's hands. He could still have his say on transfers for the season and all, so the club wouldn't lose any continuity. I'm sure it would all tick along grand over the course of a year, with him coming back refreshed and happy.

rob316 wrote: »
    Problem is what's the most you could charge for a ticket down the Annie Road end? 50 quid? With no corporate it will never make money back on the investment.

This is where i'd love to see the club put its money where its motto is, and start taking a bit of a hit on ticket income. With how much money is coming in from TV deals now, the importance of ticket sales has drastically decreased. I'd love to see the club actively move towards making games more affordable for working class fans, even extending to expanding the stadium just so more fans can get in at an affordable price, rather than because it brings in more income. I'm sure they could throw in a few lower priced corporate boxes there too that would still sell out every game.

Would love Liverpool to set a benchmark on this issue for the rest of the league. It's better to keep that firm connection with the fans (as seen in their droves on Sunday), than to try to exploit them for every penny they can. In the longer term, I think it would actually help anyway - you can only fit so many people in a stadium regardless, but fans worldwide are more drawn to a club that has a bit of a benevolent streak, raising your merchandise profits, and your tv market leverage. Because at the end of the day, the clubs biggest financial asset and most important product is the fans themselves, which it 'sells' to brands for marketing. So they should treat fans as well as possible, and keep them sweet, even if that means forgoing one avenue of profit. 'Selling' a packed out and noisy stadium with a brilliant atmosphere week in week out on TV looks an awful lot better than some of the library-esque atmospheres we often see on a Saturday/Sunday afternoon at Anfield.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

8000 tickets x £50 x 26 home games for example = £10.4m - cost of development is put at about 60m.

For 60m, I think just do it. Don't even worry about it paying for itself. That's a little less than 1/4 of what the club made in TV money this year. What's the point in all this growth if you don't use it to make the experience better for fans - and what better way to do that than to let more of them in on the matchday experience. Sell those 8000 exclusively to teenagers in schools for 20 quid each.

Even just spread over the 2 years it would probably take to accomplish in stages, thats only 30m each year, which is basically nothing at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

It does feels like a brainer-none now, imagine saying that 10 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

What a horrible and belittling way to describe one of our own players.

If only Klopp had your finesse imagine how much more he'd get out of the squad :rolleyes:

YNWA unless of course you're "deadwood" in which case please fcuk off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,524 ✭✭✭✭rob316

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Multi-quoting all over the shop here;

What's the story with this actually, cause he's currently banned from working as an agent, so are his roster of players free to use other representation in the meantime? Or does he just get to use the workaround of someone else carrying out his wishes? A ban seems sort of pointless if that's the case...

I would be totally fine with a deal like this. Sign Klopp up to a longer term deal, but let him go off for a year and leave the club in one of his staff's hands. He could still have his say on transfers for the season and all, so the club wouldn't lose any continuity. I'm sure it would all tick along grand over the course of a year, with him coming back refreshed and happy.

This is where i'd love to see the club put its money where its motto is, and start taking a bit of a hit on ticket income. With how much money is coming in from TV deals now, the importance of ticket sales has drastically decreased. I'd love to see the club actively move towards making games more affordable for working class fans, even extending to expanding the stadium just so more fans can get in at an affordable price, rather than because it brings in more income. I'm sure they could throw in a few lower priced corporate boxes there too that would still sell out every game.

Would love Liverpool to set a benchmark on this issue for the rest of the league. It's better to keep that firm connection with the fans (as seen in their droves on Sunday), than to try to exploit them for every penny they can. In the longer term, I think it would actually help anyway - you can only fit so many people in a stadium regardless, but fans worldwide are more drawn to a club that has a bit of a benevolent streak, raising your merchandise profits, and your tv market leverage. Because at the end of the day, the clubs biggest financial asset and most important product is the fans themselves, which it 'sells' to brands for marketing. So they should treat fans as well as possible, and keep them sweet, even if that means forgoing one avenue of profit. 'Selling' a packed out and noisy stadium with a brilliant atmosphere week in week out on TV looks an awful lot better than some of the library-esque atmospheres we often see on a Saturday/Sunday afternoon at Anfield.

Oh it would be brilliant no doubt and FSG could well take the hit considering they will make a atleast a billion or two on their initial investment in Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,189 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

BenEadir wrote: »

You're right YNWA means we should offer new contracts to lads who aren't good enough until they retire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

You're right YNWA means we should offer new contracts to lads who aren't good enough until they retire.

No one is suggesting offering new contracts to lads who aren't good enough. Why would any club do that?

What is the point of your post?

No one forced LFC to offer Sturridge the contract he has. You win on some contracts e.g. TAA or Robbo when you get more than you are paying for and you lose on others when you get less than you thought you'd get e.g. Sturridge the last few years or Moreno.

It's all part of the game .

Calling a player who has made significant contributions to the club, even if they were too infrequent, a pejorative name like "Deadwood" lacks class and is the opposite of what the club is about.

There's no need for it. Celebrate the good and let players be moved on with some respect and dignity.

It's so easy to be a keyboard warrior but also so pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭dmigsy

What a horrible and belittling way to describe one of our own players.

If only Klopp had your finesse imagine how much more he'd get out of the squad :rolleyes:

You might be of too delicate a disposition for football discussion if you find this horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,055 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Probably best just to wish them both the best and be done with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,891 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Probably best just to wish them both the best and be done with it.

The bitter debates about these players on here far outweighed their contributions on the pitch over the past three years. Klopp and the club’s social media hit the right notes.

Moving on from these players is a sign that we’re moving in the right direction. And that’s how it should be. Klopp will eventually have turned over the squad he inherited, which was a necessary part of the job.

No one is suggesting offering new contracts to lads who aren't good enough. Why would any club do that?

What is the point of your post?

No one forced LFC to offer Sturridge the contract he has. You win on some contracts e.g. TAA or Robbo when you get more than you are paying for and you lose on others when you get less than you thought you'd get e.g. Sturridge the last few years or Moreno.

It's all part of the game .

Calling a player who has made significant contributions to the club, even if they were too infrequent, a pejorative name like "Deadwood" lacks class and is the opposite of what the club is about.

There's no need for it. Celebrate the good and let players be moved on with some respect and dignity.

It's so easy to be a keyboard warrior but also so pathetic.

I agree with you to an extent - I don't like to see players who are no longer able to contribute as much as we'd all like, demeaned and abused. Same as I don't like to see players that are named on the teamsheet getting abuse for their own lack of ability, when its the manager that should take that blame in that instance.

But in the case of Sturridge, i can somewhat understand peoples annoyance. Where Moreno, for instance, always tried his bloody hardest and ran himself into the ground but just wasn't good enough positionally and tactically, it's felt like Sturridge has stopped putting everything in a few seasons ago. He's had the odd game where he actually does that running and pressuring, which makes the rest of the games where he mopes about all the more frustrating. Even with the injuries that robbed his speed, nothing is stopping him doing the routine things like jogging into position to block a CB's outlet. When players demonstrably don't put in the work, it's hard to hold them in the same esteem, and treat them with the same respect, as those that do.

Personally I wouldn't tend to be too actively abusive about them still (I'm more of a "I'm not angry, I'm just disappointed" kinda guy), but I can understand when people are more vitriolic.

I like Sturridge as a character though, so hope he manages to find somewhere where his style works. It's just not Liverpool.