Earrings on men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Odhinn

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Loving the casual homophobia on the thread...

...anywho, piercings were all the rage back in the 90s when I had my ears done. I have worn my earring in my left ear throughout my professional life (except for job interviews) and never had a problem.

I know men have had earrings going back to very early times, ancient Egypt and Rome but in the West in modern times they only started to catch on in the 1980s.

And yes, I'm gay. Been out since I was 23. No regrets whatsoever but that's besides the point. Why do people have an issue with a fella sporting an earring?

...eye shadow was a thing in many places. Even the Prophet himself (PBUH) approved

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kohl_(cosmetics)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,188 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

A few lads I used to hang out with had them when we were in our 20s but as they got older the earrings disappeared.

Saw a fella with his ear shredded once in a nightclub when the other lad he was fighting with pulled the earring out, sore dose that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Looks dreadful. Saw a young lad about 9 or 10 years old last weekend and he had a stud in each ear. Then I had a glance at the parents.....the poor chap hasn't a hope.

Loving the casual homophobia on the thread...

....Why do people have an issue with a fella sporting an earring?

Why do people have an issue with other people having 'an issue with a fella sporting an earring', when the very same people sporting the earrings start threads on boards to elicit exactly the kind of response to which they now protest?

For the same reason they sport an earring in the first place. To draw attention to themselves and wait to cry foul when someone calls BS on both practices.

You can pierce your bell-end for all I care. No good reason to do it, or pierce your ears or your nose or whatever. But fire away, if the attention you get from it makes you feel special. :rolleyes:

JayZeus wrote: »
    Why do people have an issue with other people having 'an issue with a fella sporting an earring', when the very same people sporting the earrings start threads on boards to elicit exactly the kind of response to which they now protest?

For the same reason they sport an earring in the first place. To draw attention to themselves and wait to cry foul when someone calls BS on both practices.

You can pierce your bell-end for all I care. No good reason to do it, or pierce your ears or your nose or whatever. But fire away, if the attention you get from it makes you feel special. :rolleyes:

Ahhhh here.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

It's the same as tattoos, only sailors and chinamen should wear them

Odhinn wrote: »
    ...eye shadow was a thing in many places. Even the Prophet himself (PBUH) approved

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kohl_(cosmetics)

I have to say, oul' Johnny Depp (PBUH and all false prophets who speak in drunken tongues) looked the part in Pirates of the Caribbean. I never realised Muhammad was a make-up and earring wearing man, along with the prophet bit and his early career as a drunken pirate. I mean, I heard about the underage wives, the slaves and all that, but I never put those together before now. After he gave up the booze and the pork ribs, he kind of got a bit boring though, didn't he?

judeboy101 wrote: »
    It's the same as tattoos, only sailors and chinamen should wear them

"the chinaman" - mad pub back in the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

I have to say, oul' Johnny Depp (PBUH and all false prophets who speak in drunken tongues) looked the part in Pirates of the Caribbean. I never realised Muhammad was a make-up and earring wearing man, along with the prophet bit and his early career as a drunken pirate. I mean, I heard about the underage wives, the slaves and all that, but I never put those together before now. After he gave up the booze and the pork ribs, he kind of got a bit boring though, didn't he?

Are we allowed mention his choice of bride?

No, only whether or not he borrowed her earrings for the day in question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

No, only whether or not he borrowed her earrings for the day in question.

I think she was too young to have her ears pierced, so probably not.

I read it in the book "The Travels of Ibn Battutah" that the receptacle he used to store his kohl in was held as a relic at one stage. "Wtf is kohl" sez I, leading to a somewhat suprising internet search result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Men started to wear them when feminism took hold of society and men became effeminate.

They then said it's ok for boys to be girls and wear skirts.

It's society gone mad .

I think she was too young to have her ears pierced, so probably not.

Who says it was her ears that were pierced?

We're dealing with some fairly sick and twisted historical characters here in the whole justification for men wearing earrings debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Earrings on men make me think they're gay (not that that's bad or anything) or the other type tends to be chavvy popped collar bloke.

It's not a look I'm personally keen on but whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,286 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Why do people have an issue with a fella sporting an earring?

I know a good few people who hate mean wearing earrings and some might dislike like. They don't really have an issue with it tough.

Personally I think some can pull off the look better than others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Arrrrrrr.

To Err is human, to Arrrr is Pirate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,844 ✭✭✭✭maccored

i had my ears pieced since the early 80s. I couldnt give a **** what anyones thoughts are about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

My son has several ear piercings in both ears. He's an equal opportunity person lover. I wonder was it the additional piercings that makes him like boys AND girls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,957 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

From my experience the vast majority of men who have earrings are heterosexual.

There seems to be a widespread perception that if a guy has an earring or earrings he is a trendy “liberal” type, arty, creative, gay or a bit of a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭moonage

Unless you’re a gypsie or a pirate, no.

bowie_750_11161.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Why do some people think guys get them just for attention? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

another old example
    HenriIII.jpg
    Rothko wrote: »

what's wrong with wanting attention? do men have to be all drab and nondescript? Maybe we should just wear Mao suits.

goose2005 wrote: »
    what's wrong with wanting attention? do men have to be all drab and nondescript? Maybe we should just wear Mao suits.

I'm not saying anything like that. A couple of posters here think that guys get their ears pierced just for attention and I found that perplexing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

Rothko wrote: »

It’s a sign of an attention seeker narcissist too much into their appearance and in most cases they are a ‘chav Stamp’ along the same lines as ‘tats’......it’s rare to see them worn by anyone in a position of authority or who has a professional job.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

had one as a kid. bag of frozen peas and a safety pin. the safety pin then being the ear ring. yes it went septic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I got my ear pierced when I was 13. I got another one shortly afterwards and by the time I was about 20 had eight in my left ear and four in my right. I did some myself and made a mess of them so ended up taking them out. I now have six in my left ear and two in my right. I'm 43 now and couldn't give a shite whether anyone likes them or not nor could a give a shite what other men choose to wear.

Road-Hog wrote: »
    It’s a sign of an attention seeker narcissist too much into their appearance and in most cases they are a ‘chav Stamp’ along the same lines as ‘tats’......it’s rare to see them worn by anyone in a position of authority or who has a professional job.....

It's bizarre to care that much about someone else's appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

In my teens/twenties I had 13 ear piercings, both nips and a few scrotal/penile piercings.
    Most were self done. Not gay, just enjoyed being pierced.....

Sadly they've all closed over. Might get a few of them redone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

The eyebrow ones are simply awful.
    You used to see a lot more in the 90s, mostly men with just one ear pierced and a little hoop, like Bono has. I think it looks good on some men, you need to have a certain ‘look’ though, as in if you’re a Monday to Friday suit and a chinos and hiking boots to meander up the prom followed by babycino’s with the kids, then no.
    And the Ronaldo diamond is also pure tack.