If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How is a man supposed to find a woman in the 21st century

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,239 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

There is not someone for everyone. Some people will remain single.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Why on earth would your confidence be in tatters?

If you get chatting to a woman and she's not interested, who cares? :confused:

The individual who approached her hoping that they wouldn't be rejected.

Yes, it shouldn't matter if one person isn't interested in them.
    Yes, they might not have been rejected per-say, she may already be in a relationship
    Yes, they shouldn't be approaching someone thinking this is it, do or die.

But, some do, think this way. Why they think like this is a whole other question but to say you're confused is surprising. It's like telling someone with social anxiety to just go ahead to that concert in a strange venue on their own.

(It's not just males who feel this way, fear of rejection is gender fluid)

It's not a level playing field at all, same in reality, men have to approach and walk away with their confidence in tatters, they get to walk away with a nice big ego boost, it's a cosy little arrangement..

Your talking about someone chancing their arm and failing, if their ego and confidence gets thorn to tatters became of that the rest of life is going to kill them outright.

You'd swear it's only lads in this generation who got turned down on a regular basis, ask your dad if it was any easier in his day.

DubInMeath wrote: »
    You'd swear it's only lads in this generation who got turned down on a regular basis, ask your dad if it was any easier in his day.

I think its harder for some men than it is others and so these two types can't relate at all.

It's not generational etc. Its individual. Its a high level of sensitivity etc. Its fragility.

Which is quite sweet really.

We don't know what other people feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,816 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Mr Xit wrote: »
    There is not someone for everyone. Some people will remain single.

Like my housemate. Ugly as sin and socially akward. Poor guy isn't going to make it. He's not even a bad lad but he is repulsive.
    Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and all that.
    He may well find his match one day.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

jimjangles wrote:
    Nope.

Why ?

Odds are he won't.

Fine. Now stop being horrible.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

There does seem to be a lot of anger and frustration among young men over the way women are choosy. Of course women are going to be choosy, they are usually looking for Mr Right and the possible father of their children so they want to be discerning and picky. Most guys get over rejection but some just get bitter.

And then some people are very shallow...women and men alike.

Is it really true the saying that a guy who can make a woman laugh or is a good singer is a big attraction for the ladies?

Being a gay man, I know only too well just how shallow people can be on hookup apps...it’s pretty easy to get laid, much much more difficult to find someone who you can share the rest of your life with.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    There does seem to be a lot of anger and frustration among young men over the way women are choosy. Of course women are going to be choosy, they are usually looking for Mr Right and the possible father of their children so they want to be discerning and picky. Most guys get over rejection but some just get bitter.

And then some people are very shallow...women and men alike.

Is it really true the saying that a guy who can make a woman laugh or is a good singer is a big attraction for the ladies?

Being a gay man, I know only too well just how shallow people can be on hookup apps...it’s pretty easy to get laid, much much more difficult to find someone who you can share the rest of your life with.

Yes i see this too.

But ...
    Whatever about people not having a certain look etc. At least they are more than that.

If you are a beautiful girl/guy then you are but its up to you to be more than that.

If you are a rich girl/guy then you are but its up to you to be more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,900 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Oh wow. The soy is strong in this one.

?:confused:?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

The individual who approached her hoping that they wouldn't be rejected.

Yes, it shouldn't matter if one person isn't interested in them.
    Yes, they might not have been rejected per-say, she may already be in a relationship
    Yes, they shouldn't be approaching someone thinking this is it, do or die.

But, some do, think this way. Why they think like this is a whole other question but to say you're confused is surprising. It's like telling someone with social anxiety to just go ahead to that concert in a strange venue on their own.

(It's not just males who feel this way, fear of rejection is gender fluid)

Ah look, you can't compare social anxiety with fear of rejection; one is a genuine mental affliction, the other is just a straight up lack of confidence and self esteem.

Some lads get so hung up on this stuff; there are loads of women out there, just move on to the next one if the lady you are trying to chat up isn't interested.

And yeah, the same for both genders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,714 ✭✭✭Sawduck

Irish women are usually stand offish and a bit stuck up, foreign women are more friendly and approachable, especially Scottish women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭KikiLaRue

Sawduck wrote: »
    Irish women are usually stand offish and a bit stuck up, foreign women are more friendly and approachable, especially Scottish women

Irish men are sex pests and usually **** conversationalists. See, I can make generalizations based on some of my bad experiences too!

From what I've read about these apps 80% of women will get messages from men.whereas 80% of men will get nothing at all.

Yup I get loads of messages so if you count “receiving messages” as the ultimate goal I suppose I am spoilt for choice.

I’ve got the choice between the guy who opened a conversation by telling me about his foot fetish, the one who just said “your place or mine?”, the one who told me he wanted me to dominate him, loads of blank profiles that just say “hi” to me, the ones who are over a decade older, the ones who are married and openly tell me they just want “nsa fun”...

You’re right, I never realised how incredibly lucky I am that these guys include me in their mail blasts to every woman in a 5km area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,281 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I love this attitude. Never thinking that foreign women probably see you as more interesting than the average bear because you're foreign and a bit exotic.

Scotts are famously dour and pessimistic. But you are foreign (+1), Irish (+1), Irish accent (+1). Chances are when you meet foreigners either you or they are on a holiday so more likely to be relaxed and receptive to fun (+1), less likely to be worried about work and finding time to go to the gym and get the shopping in (+1).

Theres nothing particularly warm about Scottish women as opposed to any other nationality. These things become self fulfilling prophecies and then become self perpetuating.

If you could bottle the mindset you use to chat with Scottish women, you could sell it for a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

They are in their holes. This sort of stuff is nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

Irish women are usually stand offish and a bit stuck up

Not if you're good looking, or dress well and look like you have your **** together.

foreign women are more friendly and approachable, especially Scottish women

Because you're seen as a bit exotic, which adds 1 or 2 points to your "out of 10" score.

Let me give you an example.

I live in Japan. Japanese men think Japanese women are difficult to meet - they're, as you say yourself about Irish women, "stand offish and a bit stuck up".

I'm an average looking Irish guy. (Maybe slightly above average because I'm fit and strong and dress well, but remove all that and I'm a regular guy).

OK so let's work out my score in Japan.

White skin, red-ish stubble, typical European nose, curly-ish hair, tall-ish, big green eyes, fit and strong: 8/10.

Exotic/Interesting: +2

Fun/White Penis: +1 (it matters)

Parents may not approve: -1

Don't speak Japanese: -1

White guys are players and crazy: -1

So overall I'm 8/10 in Japan, and could get laid continuously if I wasn't married.

Back in Ireland I'm a 6/10?

Hence "stand offish and a bit stuck up" vs "friendly and approachable".

I don't think there's anything wrong with Irish women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Ah look, you can't compare social anxiety with fear of rejection; one is a genuine mental affliction, the other is just a straight up lack of confidence and self esteem.

Some lads get so hung up on this stuff; there are loads of women out there, just move on to the next one if the lady you are trying to chat up isn't interested.

And yeah, the same for both genders.

You think there aren't people going to mental health professionals due to self confidence, self esteem issues?

I'm not suggesting it is a bona fide illness but it isn't necessarily as simple, for some, as 'move on to the next one'

KikiLaRue wrote: »
    Yup I get loads of messages so if you count “receiving messages” as the ultimate goal I suppose I am spoilt for choice.

I’ve got the choice between the guy who opened a conversation by telling me about his foot fetish, the one who just said “your place or mine?”, the one who told me he wanted me to dominate him, loads of blank profiles that just say “hi” to me, the ones who are over a decade older, the ones who are married and openly tell me they just want “nsa fun”...

You’re right, I never realised how incredibly lucky I am that these guys include me in their mail blasts to every woman in a 5km area.

You sound like the person with 20 job offers that doesn't suit them talking to the person with zero job offers. Not really the same?

Here are some screenshots of messages I’ve received from men. Would you advise a woman in your life to take up any of these offers?

https://www.instagram.com/p/Bx65bF_CJu-/?igshid=96feb95dktkc

JupiterKid wrote: »

Old fart here.
    I suspect its more the fact that most women go for the same narrow type of guy and don't even give others a chance - e.g. The guy who does marathon gaming sessions.

The truth is somewhere in between. Many young women in particular have always had ridiculously high standards when it came to looks and therefore all went after the same 5 guys in the town. The obvious result being they were very arrogant and treated them badly. Then all men were bastards.

Also there is a big social prestige going out with one of the 5 hot guys for women.

Gamer boy meanwhile was crying in the corner wondering why all women were bitches.

Not everyone is like this of course but there is a large love island / grand theft auto set that are.

Many young women in particular have always had ridiculously high standards when it came to looks

Where are you getting this idea? I know lots of very average looking men who have wives/ girlfriends.

Is it possible there is something other than looks that is off putting about these men who can’t find women?

Is it possible that men also have standards that are too high?

Here are some screenshots of messages I’ve received from men. Would you advise a woman in your life to take up any of these offers?

I haven't looked but the point is you are getting offers. Eventually you will get an offer from someone you actually like. It's exactly like job hunting. You have employers chasing you - that's a good situation to be in.

Edit - I have looked. You got a few messages from dicks. So what? Everyone gets crap online, male and female.

Report them to the gardai.

I haven't looked but the point is you are getting offers. Eventually you will get an offer from someone you actually like. It's exactly like job hunting. You have employers chasing you - that's a good situation to be in.

Go and look and then tell me if it’s a good situation to be in.

Oh Jesus the Christian Grey one. Mother of God.

You’d end up chopped up in a fridge with that lad.

Edit - I have looked. You got a few messages from dicks. So what? Everyone gets crap online, male and female.

Do women send you creepy perverted messages regularly yeah?

Report them to the gardai.

It’s not a few, it’s almost daily.

Do you think I’m “lucky” to have all these “options”?

FTA69 wrote: »
    Oh Jesus the Christian Grey one. Mother of God.

You’d end up chopped up in a fridge with that lad.

For me the breast doctor who loves big boobs was the creepiest.

I am intrigued by the mindset that sends creepy messages to woman, women who clearly do not want the messages.

Leaving aside someone with some sort of social disorder who maybe do not get social norms

The normal average man who does this why? how did the idea that becaue a woman is on a dating site/ap its means they are interested in complication free sex? and creepy message/ photos of his penis, there is no such thing even complication free sex is complicated.

What is the origin of the fantasy of commitment free sex because the woman is online is immaturity or something?. What sort of family did they grown up in when did they get their ideas and beliefs about women, sex, and intimacy from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

mariaalice wrote: »
    The normal average man who does this why?

Normal, average men don't send creepy messages to women.

The people sending creepy messages to women are weirdos. Maybe they can hide their weirdness when they're in public, but in private they are unhealthy, potentially dangerous individuals.