Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Slow drivers.... Slow for a reason...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Nope. I'm talking about slow drivers in general, if you'll go back to my first post in the thread you'll see I said it's fair enough in her case.

If they're carrying somebody with medical issues and that requires them to alter their driving style they should get a sticker similar to the pregnant mother on board etc stickers to indicate as such.

The person I know who has reason to drive slow does have a sticker. She still deals with angry motorists all the time. Because people are cünts.

And, I reiterate, nobody forces anyone to undertake dangerous manoeuvres. Other drivers do stupid things. Don’t add to them. And take responsibility if you do.

Driving TOO slow is very frustrating. But its also important to note that the speed limit is the limit and not the target. If you are frustrated at someone for only doing 60 in a 50 zone, you are the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,654 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Manners?
    One self-absorbed prick decides to waste everybody else's time on a whim and it's everyone else that doesn't have manners?

Jaysus wept indeed.

Have some patience and over take them when it's safe to do so. This attitude of "your in my f*cking way so get out my f*cking way right now as my life is more important than yours is rather pathetic. People taking out their life's frustrations on other road users just because they don't jump to their beat. Time for these people to cop on and get some manners. I bet very few of them would carry on like that outside of their car as they wouldn't feel so brave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

When I see someone driving very slow I assume they are p1ssed or drugged up and give them a wide berth

The person I know who has reason to drive slow does have a sticker. She still deals with angry motorists all the time. Because people are cünts.

Well that's terrible, people need to be more observant for this kind of thing.

However my opinion remains unchanged regarding people who drive slowly just because they want to, I just can't understand how somebody wouldn't recognise how inconsiderate it is of everybody else who shares the road.

Well that's terrible, people need to be more observant for this kind of thing.

However my opinion remains unchanged regarding people who drive slowly just because they want to, I just can't understand how somebody wouldn't recognise how inconsiderate it is of everybody else who shares the road.

Yes, they’re inconsiderate. It’s still no excuse for doing something dangerous yourself. Every driver knows to expect that other drivers will do stupid things. That will never not be an issue. When you’re driving a ton vehicle, you have a huge responsibility. “That other driver made me do it!” doesn’t cut it.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Have some patience and over take them when it's safe to do so. This attitude of "your in my f*cking way so get out my f*cking way right now as my life is more important than yours is rather pathetic. People taking out their life's frustrations on other road users just because they don't jump to their beat. Time for these people to cop on and get some manners. I bet very few of them would carry on like that outside of their car as they wouldn't feel so brave.

Nope, it's nothing to do with me thinking my life is more impotant than theirs - our time is all equally valuable, so I ask, who the **** are they to decide that their personal comfort on the road is more important than the collective time of everybody else for whom they are wasting time?

I presume I'm supposed to thank these selfish assholes for wasting mine and everyone else's lives? I'd probably be "mean" otherwise? I guess we have different definitions for what's pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,356 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

She has to make a 20km drive from her home to school, for her child who is autistic child 5 days a week. She drives under a certain speed so not to upset/trigger off her son.

Quite often on the roads till have a truck that can't drive very fast so they generally move into the hard shoulder to let Garrett traffic pass.

Why can't this woman be as courteous as they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I don't want to single you out, but this is modern Ireland summed up in one post. A woman with an autistic child is trying to do her best for him and she's the one with a sense of entitlement, not the people angry at being held up for a few minutes on the road.

It's a hard gig. Give the poor woman a break.

I have sympathy for her situation, and I don't agree with people beeping and getting angry at her. If they are doing that though, it means she isn't pulling over to let them pass. Maybe the people being held up are on their way to get important medical treatment themselves, or going to see a sick relative in hospital. I mean, everyone has their own circumstances, but the rules of the road aren't decided by individual circumstances, they are there for the safety of all road users. sorry, but to think that your needs outweigh those of all other road users is the definition of entitled.

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    I have sympathy for her situation, and I don't agree with people beeping and getting angry at her. If they are doing that though, it means she isn't pulling over to let them pass. Maybe the people being held up are on their way to get important medical treatment themselves, or going to see a sick relative in hospital. I mean, everyone has their own circumstances, but the rules of the road aren't decided by individual circumstances, they are there for the safety of all road users. sorry, but to think that your needs outweigh those of all other road users is the definition of entitled.

If the medical treatment is time-sensitive and urgent, the person will be in an ambulance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Blaizes

She has to make a 20km drive from her home to school, for her child who is autistic child 5 days a week. She drives under a certain speed so not to upset/trigger off her son.

Quite often on the roads till have a truck that can't drive very fast so they generally move into the hard shoulder to let Garrett traffic pass.

Why can't this woman be as courteous as they are.

Would be better all round by the sounds of it if the child could go to school by bus. Maybe none in her area though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

If the medical treatment is time-sensitive and urgent, the person will be in an ambulance.
    You did see ambulance response times in certain parts od the country?

Anyway I rarely see anyone beeping behind slow vehicle. There are two options, either the driver in front or the driver behind is behaving like a complete moron. If people beep often at you chances are it's you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭KildareP

It's a mixed bag.
    I can see why someone who is nervous might be reluctant to drive at full speed but I've never come across anyone being beeped unless they were taking the absolute mick. Most will overtake when possible or just sit and wait.

Similarly if you want to drive slowly consider that there are many people spending hours a day in a car commuting on top of their 8+ hour day and just want to be wherever it is they want to be. Pull in and let traffic by when possible.

Alternatively - go drive in Europe or the US. It'll either give you a quick sharp lesson in driving confidently or have you selling your car on your return home!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

KildareP wrote: »

Alternatively - go drive in Europe or the US. It'll either give you a quick sharp lesson in driving confidently or have you selling your car on your return home!!

Because of the higher fatality rate on US roads and also some European countries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,596 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

What is the speed limit on the roads she is using and what is the speed she drives at ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,968 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

It's a tough one in my opinion .
    The mother drives under a certain speed limit , so say the limit is 60kmp h, and she's driving 40kmph , is there a need to beep , blow the horn at her ?
    It doesn't say she's driving on the motorway , so I , maybe wrongly , assume it's town/rural roads .
    The speed limit is meant to be the max speed for that road isn't it? Not a goal you always have to achieve .

https://forumofgames.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

This reminds me of this post in the motors Dash cam thread

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=110261341&postcount=113

The user drives 1 KM/H under the limit most of the time and it's considered extremely dangerous(life threatening) by many on the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

People with children (or grandchildren) in the car often have signs to that effect.

KildareP wrote: »
    It's a mixed bag.
    I can see why someone who is nervous might be reluctant to drive at full speed but I've never come across anyone being beeped unless they were taking the absolute mick. Most will overtake when possible or just sit and wait.

Similarly if you want to drive slowly consider that there are many people spending hours a day in a car commuting on top of their 8+ hour day and just want to be wherever it is they want to be. Pull in and let traffic by when possible.

I’m inclined to think you’re right about the beeping and it’s not something we’ve traditionally done in Ireland though they are very fond of it in the UK and maybe we’re going that way. There’s another thread here on boards about people breaking red lights so that seems to be a new thing as well. I actually have relations from UK who bring their car over every year and were only saying this summer how aggressive drivers have become here .

There are good drivers but some are utterly ignorant.

meeeeh wrote: »
    You did see ambulance response times in certain parts od the country?

Anyway I rarely see anyone beeping behind slow vehicle. There are two options, either the driver in front or the driver behind is behaving like a complete moron. If people beep often at you chances are it's you.

Well, pretty much everyone knows to move out of the way of one, no? And if not everyone does, well, they’re gobshïtes. The slow driver is not necessarily the driver who won’t move for an ambulance though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,155 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

what if she gets a pair of ear plugs for the kid while hes in the car to drown out the beeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭KildareP

tuxy wrote: »
    Because of the higher fatality rate on US roads and also some European countries?

We're on par with Germany per head of population and worse than them per vehicle owned - despite Germany having large sections of road with absolutely no speed limit at all.

We are worse than the UK on both aspects.

Similarly on accidents per vehicle ownership we fare worse than:
    - Austria
    - Italy
    - Finland
    - Netherlands
    - Spain
    to name but a few.

I've driven in the UK, Italy and Spain and those guys don't wait around for you to pull out from a slipway or change lane, to drive along a road under the speed limit or to pull away at lights. Snooze and lose - and got awoken by a prompt beep and flash. Very rare for that to happen here.

However I'll admit the US as being an example wasn't entirely serious on my part as those guys are absolutely nuts, particularly around NYC and LA. You need your wits about you driving there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Well, pretty much everyone knows to move out of the way of one, no? And if not everyone does, well, they’re gobshïtes. The slow driver is not necessarily the driver who won’t move for an ambulance though.
    My point was that sometimes it's faster to drive to the hospital than wait for an ambulance. Anyway that's not the point. Traffic works best when everyone is considerate, that includes driver at the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,458 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Doesn't say if she pulls in every so often to let other drivers pass or not, if she does fair enough but if she holds everyone else up just because she feels she has the right to do so and to hell with the motorists behind her then that's just as bad as the people she is giving out about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,856 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

T-Maxx wrote: »
    The child is only autistic five days a week?

Show some respect ffs! They gets the weekends and bank holidays off. Expecting someone to be autistic 24/7 time is just retarded.

Doesn't say if she pulls in every so often to let other drivers pass or not, if she does fair enough but if she holds everyone else up just because she feels she has the right to do so and to hell with the motorists behind her then that's just as bad as the people she is giving out about.

Agree it's hard to discuss because we only have limited information.

That said I don't think were becoming nicer to each other on the road sadly. It's all pressure for everyone plus gridlock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Another thing to consider re: OP sometimes people have to drive faster for a reason too. We never know what pressure driver is under - all we can hope for is that everyone is careful, paying attention and obeying the speed of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,458 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Blaizes wrote: »
    Agree it's hard to discuss because we only have limited information.

That said I don't think were becoming nicer to each other on the road sadly. It's all pressure for everyone plus gridlock.

I see it every day trying to get around Galway city!

Unfortunately people sometimes take their frustration at being stuck in traffic out on the person near them who is probably only trying to get home as well.

So true, hear Galway is a bottleneck but hey where isn’t. Nearly be better putting on the runners and walking. Crazy life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I don't mind slow drivers, I mind selfish drivers. There are other people on the road trying to go about their day, so if you're going to be driving at a speed significantly slower than the speed limit pull in and let them pass.