6th year school pranks.

Guffy wrote: »
    That is hilarious
    Is it?

I must be a humourless bastard in my old age, but most of the stuff here isn't even funny.

Pouring cement into the cisterns? Someone had to pay for that, and some of the school maintenance staff probably had to go above and beyond their normal duties.

Dead rats hidden in blackboards, rotten eggs smashed in classrooms, or flung at teachers, and keyholes glued shut; what the heck kinds of schools did ye go to?

There's an art to pranks (and I am not that artist, but I believe it to be true). The best pranks are those that don''t really cause damage to anyone or anything, yet manage to enrage the target in a way that is completely transitory: he will soon laugh at it himself.

For example, hiding alarm clocks around a school and timing them all to go off between moments of one another. I think that's hilarious.

But planting dead rats and destroying the resources of the school? That's kinda just lazy vandalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It's just as well there wasn't someone living in a tent near these schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

We filled a load of water balloons & buckets etc and water-bombed everyone leaving the school on our last day. Spent a good 4 hours filling up all the ones we needed. Teachers were fully aware what we were doing (we weren't subtle about it). It was a lovely hot day so not too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I think some wild ‘uns sprayed shaving foam on the teachers’ windscreens, maybe some water squirting in the halls; that was kind of the extent of it. We were more into signing shirts and bags in my year :)

Yeah my school was like that. Sometimes ripping uniforms when we knew we didn't have to wear them anymore. Pretty innocuous stuff... I don't remember anything nasty being done to the teachers.
    My school was really strict as well so sort of game for that stuff...but the teachers and principal were decent.
    One bunch of lads in my class decided to carve their nicknames in a wooden ceiling inside the main entrance all right... just before the leaving cert. Picture the word "RAT" in 18 inch letters... It was a matter of hours before the principal spotted it, rounded up the culprits and bellowed at them for about an hour. I think it had to be sanded and stained afterwards, highly likely by the lads themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I don't think you should ever interfere with another persons motor, teacher or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Someone did a ****e in a lectern in my school. Teachers used to open it to get the books / notes out etc. priceless reaction. Threatened to get the guards to help find the culprit who to this day remains at large.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Someone did a ****e in a lectern in my school. Teachers used to open it to get the books / notes out etc. priceless reaction. Threatened to get the guards to help find the culprit who to this day remains at large.

They are probably over on the etiquette thread.
    Mate of mine in North Cork told me someone did a poo on the principal's desk in his school. Minging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭tcawley29

Can't believe nobody did an upper decker tbh. Never did myself but I'm sure someone would have if we had access to the cisterns :pac:

We just did the Shawshank Redemption thing of taking over the principles office - baring the door - and then controlling the school intercom for a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

pablo128 wrote: »
    One of our teachers had a Fiat 850. On a sports day a load of us picked the arse of it up and wheeled it out onto the road and blocked it. He took it very well and had a laugh.

Similar, but the car was put back down with the wheels in boxes.

There was a maths teacher (not relevant to the story but the guy was a ferocious alcoholic to such an extent that even 16 year olds could see it) had the four wheels taken off his car and hoisted up one of the flagpoles in the front yard/garden area of the school.

I don't find this by itself all that funny, it's what I remember of the reaction of the headmaster. He was one of the last "old school" Christian Brothers. He used the long holidays and free weekends and evenings to indulge a lot of personal interests, cool hobbies, etc. He was constantly taking adult education courses and the like, learning a new language one week, a musical instrument the next, and so on.

He witnessed your man's car getting jacked and the whole wheels up the flagpole thing from one of the windows in an adjacent building. Except he didn't intervene. He went back to his office and got a long range camera. Top of the range for the time, one of his interests was photography which he was studying in his free time. He actually let them continue doing what they were doing, and made a record of it from distance.

He confronted them with the evidence and all, made a public spectacle of them having to go apologise to the teacher, etc, no point in threatening kids with expulsion when they are leaving in a couple of days anyway I suppose. I just thought it was funny that he preferred to allow them to do it rather than stopping them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Nothing more sinister than a few eggs here and there.

Every 6th Year group thinks they’re something special when in reality they’re just one link in the chain.

Sunrise, sunset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Motivator

There was a maths teacher (not relevant to the story but the guy was a ferocious alcoholic to such an extent that even 16 year olds could see it) had the four wheels taken off his car and hoisted up one of the flagpoles in the front yard/garden area of the school.

I don't find this by itself all that funny, it's what I remember of the reaction of the headmaster. He was one of the last "old school" Christian Brothers. He used the long holidays and free weekends and evenings to indulge a lot of personal interests, cool hobbies, etc. He was constantly taking adult education courses and the like, learning a new language one week, a musical instrument the next, and so on.

He witnessed your man's car getting jacked and the whole wheels up the flagpole thing from one of the windows in an adjacent building. Except he didn't intervene. He went back to his office and got a long range camera. Top of the range for the time, one of his interests was photography which he was studying in his free time. He actually let them continue doing what they were doing, and made a record of it from distance.

He confronted them with the evidence and all, made a public spectacle of them having to go apologise to the teacher, etc, no point in threatening kids with expulsion when they are leaving in a couple of days anyway I suppose. I just thought it was funny that he preferred to allow them to do it rather than stopping them.

Does it not seem odd that a Christian brother had a high powered, expensive camera that he used to photograph students from a distance?