Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 70's and 80's in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

duffle coats & parker jackets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,326 ✭✭✭✭branie2

When I was in primary school in the 80s, I can remember taking off my shoes and putting on slippers, as it was a rule in the school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Count Down

fryup wrote: »
    duffle coats & parker jackets

Back in the 70s I had a Parka jacket which I wore everywhere, especially when fishing. After a few years my mother refused to wash it anymore (no washing machine in those days) and told me to take it to the laundrette.
    I went in and plonked it on the counter. "Could ye wash this, please?" The nice man picked up the sleeve between finger and thumb, sniffed it, looked me in the eye and said "No."
    I picked up the jacket and left. :(
    Looking back, it probably smelled like a gorilla's armpit. But I was so used to it that I never noticed. I only got rid of it when I outgrew it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

The Aer Lingus ad 'Look up it's Aer Lingus'

My friends and I would stand on the path and all point at the sky while singing the jingle. You'd see oul lads getting off their bicycles to see what we were pointing at...O the craic we had.

Come the summer holidays we'd all sit for hours writing down car number plates in copybooks trying to outdo each other who'd get the most. A similar game was to guess the make of car. Another was to close our eyes and guess the make of car by the sound of engine as it drove past. It took little to amuse us.

Some summer nights were spent in someones shed sitting on upturned buckets as seats, all huddled around a little transister radio listening to radio Luxemburg, chawing sweets and eating Taytos...and if thirst got the better of us we all wrapped our mouths around the tap in the yard to quench our thirst.

We'd do some experimentation with the crisps, we'd mix cheese and onion and salt and vinegar in the one bag to befuddle our taste buds and maybe for a bit of divilment divide up a bag of Pete's peanuts into the crisp bags.

Ah those were the days my friends and we thought they'd never end....in the words of the song sotospeak.

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    The Aer Lingus ad 'Look up it's Aer Lingus'

My friends and I would stand on the path and all point at the sky while singing the jingle. You'd see oul lads getting off their bicycles to see what we were pointing at...O the craic we had.

Come the summer holidays we'd all sit for hours writing down car number plates in copybooks trying to outdo each other who'd get the most. A similar game was to guess the make of car. Another was to close our eyes and guess the make of car by the sound of engine as it drove past. It took little to amuse us.

Some summer nights were spent in someones shed sitting on upturned buckets as seats, all huddled around a little transister radio listening to radio Luxemburg, chawing sweets and eating Taytos...and if thirst got the better of us we all wrapped our mouths around the tap in the yard to quench our thirst.

We'd do some experimentation with the crisps, we'd mix cheese and onion and salt and vinegar in the one bag to befuddle our taste buds and maybe for a bit of divilment divide up a bag of Pete's peanuts into the crisp bags.

Ah those were the days my friends and we thought they'd never end....in the words of the song sotospeak.

As a kid I could tell the make if virtually any car by the sound of it, same with airplanes, eg a Viscount had 4 Dart engines, a HS78 had 2 Darts, so I could tell the difference by volume of sound in such case. My mother’s friend had a slightly older child and she used to be able to tell the makes of aircraft from her pram. Funnily enough both of us turned up at the same flying school together, and we met after her plane’s engine stopped running as she throttled back to land (it had a note stuck on dashboard not to cut to idle as fuel flow was being fine-tuned for economy) and came to a stop on the runway after having announced intention to touch and go. I had to fly around her and make a second approach to land. She had managed to restart and taxi back and park. We both reacquainted getting out of our respective aircraft and walking back to club house! The flying school/club had at least one third female pilots, including one of its two full-time employed instructors. Absolutely adored those days of early eighties, full of colour for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

I remember catching bee's in jamjars, sticklebacks, caterpillars, crab's, frog's, shrew's, crow's lol

I'd leave them go again after a few days in a big fishtank in the she'd. The bee's would go straight back. I remember having around 15 bees in a coffee jar, the coffee jars were bigger.
    Putting my ear up to the jar hearing the loud buzz.

I remember the airplanes too, the Concorde training in Shannon was a big moment.
    If you heard the power and the noise over head would make you feel like getting sick...

TV programs, Kidnapped, Huckleberry Finn, Fifi and fofo, Treasure Island, Island of the great yellow Ox....

No longer on the Box

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Remember when you had ads that were actually funny? This one always cracked me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Dublin Docks being derelict down to the Pigeon House and the Ringsend gasometer in the distance, shame The Dockers and Vallance & McGrath pubs no longer exist though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

As a kid I could tell the make if virtually any car by the sound of it, same with airplanes, eg a Viscount had 4 Dart engines, a HS78 had 2 Darts, so I could tell the difference by volume of sound in such case. My mother’s friend had a slightly older child and she used to be able to tell the makes of aircraft from her pram. Funnily enough both of us turned up at the same flying school together, and we met after her plane’s engine stopped running as she throttled back to land (it had a note stuck on dashboard not to cut to idle as fuel flow was being fine-tuned for economy) and came to a stop on the runway after having announced intention to touch and go. I had to fly around her and make a second approach to land. She had managed to restart and taxi back and park. We both reacquainted getting out of our respective aircraft and walking back to club house! The flying school/club had at least one third female pilots, including one of its two full-time employed instructors. Absolutely adored those days of early eighties, full of colour for me.

Did you get the back wheels in?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Kat1170 wrote: »
    Telecom Eireann ad with Bob Geldof. 'Phone wreckers are idiots'

Remember another one out at around the same time about drink/drugs with the tag line 'That's a sick way to live'. Can't remember if it was Bob in that one or not.

RTE news report about the launch of that Telecom Eireann anti vandalism ad. This is hilarious, Bob getting indignant about a trashed phonebox. "Don't give me that crap about social anger".

https://www.rte.ie/archives/collections/news/21216597-telephone-anti-vandalism-campaign/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭wicklowdub

Anyone going to this

https://foreveryoungfestival.ie/

Are The Christians an 80's band?
    THE HUMAN LEAGUE | HOLLY JOHNSON
    LEVEL 42 | KIM WILDE
    JIMMY SOMERVILLE | MARC ALMOND
    BONNIE TYLER | MIDGE URE | THOMPSON TWINS’ TOM BAILEY
    HOTHOUSE FLOWERS | HEAVEN 17 | T’PAU | BIG COUNTRY | FROM THE JAM
    CRY BEFORE DAWN | THE FIZZ (BUCKS FIZZ) | CHINA CRISIS
    LEEE JOHN (IMAGINATION) | TOYAH | HAZEL O’CONNOR | KATRINA (& THE WAVES)
    DR & THE MEDICS | THE SOUTH (BEAUTIFUL SOUTH)
    THE CHRISTIANS | ANDREW STRONG (THE COMMITMENTS) | BAGATELLE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,832 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

branie2 wrote: »
    Now hands that do dishes can be soft as your face, with mild green Fairy Liquid

Reminded me of this.
    Once upon a time, there was a chef named Chervase who worked in a restaurant. They mainly served fish, especially squid.

Of all the squid there, one stood out from the rest. He was green, vile, and had a hairy lip. Of course, anyone seeing this squid would not want him and would choose another, more attractive and appetizing fish.

So, over the years, Chervase grew to like the squid, despite being green and vile and having a hairy lip. He would come in every morning and feed it and clean out its tank every evening. During the summer, a student was taken on to wash up, and his name was Hans. He was a good worker and helped Chervase around the kitchen. He also grew to like the squid, and fed it daily when Chervase was too busy.

One day a gentleman arrived, claiming to have tasted every squid known to man. When he saw the green hairy-lipped vile squid, he had to have it. So, Chervase pulled the squid out by the tentacles and threw him on the chopping block. He grabbed his cleaver and in one movement, raised it up and couldn't kill his old friend, the vile, green, hairy-lip squid.

He broke down crying and ordered Hans to kill the squid, but Hans couldn't do it either!

All of which just goes to show that Hans that does dishes is as soft as Chervase, with the vile green hairy-lip squid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

wicklowdub wrote: »
    Anyone going to this

Too much dreck on that for me to be interested, but i could be tempted to go see Big Country or From the Jam if they played some small venue on their own. Most of those bands i wouldn't have watched if they set up in my back garden in the 80s so no interest in paying steeply to watch them croak out their old hits in their dotage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,945 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Anyone going to this

I presume Dr and the Medics will just play Spirit in the Sky on repeat until they have filled their slot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,445 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Yes, The Christians were an 80s band.

For me, it really would depend on the band line-up. How many of the original members are in it now, for example. The Christians' vocalist had a phenomenal and unique voice. If he's not in the current line up I wouldn't want to know.

You couldn't pay me to sit through a set by T'Pau, Bucks Fizz or Toyah. A couple of those acts I wouldn't mind seeing now (such as The Christians, maybe Level 42 - they always seemed to have a listenable tune out in the 80s, ) but most of them, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,326 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Their best song is Harvest for the World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,445 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

'Forgotten Town' is hair-raisingly brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,945 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Yes, The Christians were an 80s band.

For me, it really would depend on the band line-up. How many of the original members are in it now, for example. The Christians' vocalist had a phenomenal and unique voice. If he's not in the current line up I wouldn't want to know.

You couldn't pay me to sit through a set by T'Pau, Bucks Fizz or Toyah. A couple of those acts I wouldn't mind seeing now (such as The Christians, maybe Level 42 - they always seemed to have a listenable tune out in the 80s, ) but most of them, no.

He is the only one left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭newspower

Anyone going to this

Yes they are end 80's early 90's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

A cover though - I think it was Isley Bros. number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

So is Spirit in the sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Seanachai

I remember cars that you had to use a choke on, my ma and practically every other woman with shoulder pads in their jackets, China Beach & Dallas on the tv, which was a little box in the corner.

A lot more people seemed to be smoking, red & white carrolls cigarette packets everywhere, super cans of coca-cola, condensation on the single glaze windows in the morning. Old people that fought in the 'troubled times' still knocking around.

Sardonicat wrote: »

Bucks Fizz must be one of the most misunderstood bands out there. Making Your Mind Up is not representative at all. Classic pop tunes galore.

T'Pau's Bridge Of Spies is a cracker; the wheels came off with the second album Rage.

The Christians - great singles - When The Fingers Point and Words are two more goodies.

Level 42 didn't put a foot wrong until the Gould brothers left at the of 1987.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Animal House was actually made in 1978

it was shown in the cinemas circa 1982 , seem to remember seeing it as part of a double feature.

pretty ropey copy it kept breaking

presume the other movie was a horror as one generally went to cinema on a Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,789 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

He is the only one left.

He has an amazing voice.

Got to shake hands with him in Preston Guild Hall after a gig just over a year ago. The sound was crap there and he actually walked off stage until it was fixed. I could see the sound engineer having a meltdown at the side of the stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Bucks Fizz must be one of the most misunderstood bands out there. Making Your Mind Up is not representative at all. Classic pop tunes galore.

T'Pau's Bridge Of Spies is a cracker; the wheels came off with the second album Rage.

The Christians - great singles - When The Fingers Point and Words are two more goodies.

Level 42 didn't put a foot wrong until the Gould brothers left at the of 1987.

While less successful than level 42, I liked curiosity killed the cat

First discovered music when I was ten in 1987 and I often late at night these days stumble across old TOTP on bbc4, watched an episode from summer 87 recently where pet shop Boys were no 1 with "it's a sin"

Every single single in the top 20 was a fcuking cracker

The charts were great round that time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I remember being on summer holidays in Newtownmountkennedy as a youngster and going to Wicklow town where Pierce Brosnan was filming Taffin. The highlight of summer 87 (I think it was?)

Saw Taffin only the once

Every single Irish person who ever appeared on TV is in it at some stage

Even twink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Mad_maxx wrote: »

It is not like everything was Grade A, but pretty much everything had some musicality to it. Today is quite different. It's not an age issue with the author before anyone accuses! There are some really good videos on youtube, by young people, showing from a technical aspect how the modern stuff is formulaic, contrived, sub-standard, and very forgettable.

While less successful than level 42, I liked curiosity killed the cat

First discovered music when I was ten in 1987 and I often late at night these days stumble across old TOTP on bbc4, watched an episode from summer 87 recently where pet shop Boys were no 1 with "it's a sin"

Compilations from then are amazing

Now 10 and Hits 7 covering autumn 1987
    Now 11 winter 1987 / early 1988
    Now 12 and Hits 8 summer 1988

The whole fatbox era is mint - so many memories in this bunch

61489476_10161963059630089_8342787734108110848_n.jpg?_nc_cat=107&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub1-2.fna&oh=10b1ba9bc84d4942df494a95be26c329&oe=5D98F5B3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Walter Bishop

Saw Taffin only the once

Every single Irish person who ever appeared on TV is in it at some stage

Even twink

Home of some of the greatest acting ever: