Ladies and the heat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

nullzero wrote: »
    A typical office will often have men who are expected to wear a long sleeve shirt buttoned up to the neck with a tie and trousers sitting next to women who can wear whatever they like, often sleeveless tops that are open at the front and the back, skirts of any length or fit who complain about the temperature being too low.

A clear case of preferential treatment of men in the workplace.

You sound like you are caught up in time warp from the 50's. Like a bad scene from Mad Men.

Its now 2019.

Id say 90 percent of women in our office wear trousers. The men can wear skirts too if they like, most dont wear ties, some like to wear ties and the trans people can wear what they like. No one bats an eyelid and we all get along fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭voldejoie

Women definitely do experience temperature differently, but I am still constantly too hot in work and any time I have asked for the aircon to be turned on or the heat turned down I've been asked to 'check in' with the 'representative' on my team who is 'in charge' of letting facilities know we want the temperature adjusted. Apparently they can only make it cooler if everyone agrees, but even when four or five of us (all women actually, now that I think of it) are sweltering, it's not enough. It's honestly the thing I hate most about working in open plan, especially when the rep literally wears a blanket around the office all day, no matter the weather or time of year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Ban women. It's the only solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

voldejoie wrote: »
    Women definitely do experience temperature differently, but I am still constantly too hot in work and any time I have asked for the aircon to be turned on or the heat turned down I've been asked to 'check in' with the 'representative' on my team who is 'in charge' of letting facilities know we want the temperature adjusted. Apparently they can only make it cooler if everyone agrees, but even when four or five of us (all women actually, now that I think of it) are sweltering, it's not enough. It's honestly the thing I hate most about working in open plan, especially when the rep literally wears a blanket around the office all day, no matter the weather or time of year!

Many years ago , I worked in a team of maintenance electricians and fitters looking after about ten large office blocks with large numbers mainly in open plan offices.

Our facilities manager was driven mental by continuous requests to raise and lower the temperatures and adjust air conditioning.

The solution was genius, every group of four work stations was given their own adjustable thermostat/ temperature controller fitted to a nearby pillar.

The genius part was that the thermostat/temperature controllers were dummy , they did nothing, nada.

Manys a day we strolled through the various buildings watching staff thinking they were raising and lower the temperature as well as adjusting AC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Notice this too, the secretaries in our office always have the heat cranked to the max.

Like it's May now, turn it down a notch.

Agreed. Less clothing and a couple of degrees less on the thermostat. Reduces the carbon footprint too, not that I'd give a bollix about that shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Cuz we are sensitive princesses obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Propose amending thread title to "Ladies in heat".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Ficheall wrote: »

Noice job i like it. ;)

Or rather..boards.ie myonogonistic bull****..thread 2002

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

anewme wrote: »
    You sound like you are caught up in time warp from the 50's. Like a bad scene from Mad Men.

Its now 2019.

Id say 90 percent of women in our office wear trousers. The men can wear skirts too if they like, most dont wear ties, some like to wear ties and the trans people can wear what they like. No one bats an eyelid and we all get along fine.

Well a lot of businesses still expect men to dress in a shirt and tie. Sure, you may work in a place where the lads can wear skirts and you all get along famously, but in reality there aren't large numbers of trans people in most office environments and I never suggested that women always wear skirts or dresses, I merely pointed out that they could potentially be wearing something a lot less restrictive than their male colleagues are expected to wear whilst complaining about the cold.

Your office sounds mighty inclusive, to the point where some of it seems like it may be a little made up tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I second that motion.

Well a lot of businesses still expect men to dress in a shirt and tie. Sure, you may work in a place where the lads can wear skirts and you all get along famously, but in reality there aren't large numbers of trans people in most office environments and I never suggested that women always wear skirts or dresses, I merely pointed out that they could potentially be wearing something a lot less restrictive than their male colleagues are expected to wear whilst complaining about the cold.

Your office sounds mighty inclusive, to the point where some of it seems like it may be a little made up tbh.

A lot of businesses dont expect women to wear skirts as per your post..on a typical office.. your "typical" office is bull**** .you are nearly 70 years behind the times. The majorityof women where I work wear black trousers, not skirts as you think.

Trousers are less restrictive thsn skirts or dresses so nit sure why you think women have more freedom wearing a dress.

I work in a real office, have done for 30 years. So qualified to comment.

Im not sure why you would see any issue with people being included irrespective as their choice of dress .this is what employees quite rightly expect in 2019.

You pointed out that women were (again according to you ) getting preferential treatment.

This dark ages attitude is seen as very much consigned to the annals of history. If you worked in a decent respectful job Its the norm. But you use it to take a cheap dig at women.

The fact you think a normal run of the mill office environment where people are allowed be treated adults is made up is strange in itself too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Bitterness never flattered a man. Let it go.

I don’t take advice from liars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Apparently women also work better if the heat is turned up.

https://www.rte.ie/news/newslens/2019/0523/1051177-office-temperature/

That's why they should be working at a cooker :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

CageWager wrote: »

New York Times.
    Why isnt that surprising

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Or rather..boards.ie myonogonistic bull****..thread 2002
    I don't know that it's misogynistic as opposed to just observational.

I don't know what's wrong with a good few Irish women - and some Irish men too - they're "freezing" if it's dull and breezy. Today was so warm yet I still saw people wearing jackets. I think it's the legacy of the Irish mammy crushing them with blankets at bedtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

What's wrong with being toasty? We can't help it if you're sweaty bastards.
    I used to work at a reception desk where the desk was about chest height but the office chair was standard.
    The amount of shirtless men that would arrive into the office come May(minus a wash for extra sexy like) was hilarious.
    They all looked completely naked from my perspective, but did they give a feck?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I know several work places that have no problem with women wearing sleeveless blouses, skirts and sandles in the summer, while the men can only wear shirts, ties and leather shoes.
    I would definitely do a double take if I seen a man wearing a low cut sleeveless blouse in an office- right or wrong, it's not the norm!

I usually wear a snuggly cardi at work because the people I work with blast the air-con. It seems there can never be a happy compromise!

I don't know that it's misogynistic as to just observational.

I don't know what's wrong with a good few Irish women - and some Irish men too - they're "freezing" if it's dull and breezy. Today was so warm yet I still saw people wearing jackets. I think it's the legacy of the Irish mammy crushing them with blankets at bedtime.

If you read the comments irts seen as a situation where women are given preferential treatment because they csn wear a skirt. Whingefest central'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Scantily clad young wans with cheap Penneys t-shirts, canvas trainers with no socks and jeans that were mauled by 4 alsations shivering and whinging is a regular occurrence in my workplace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

BuboBubo wrote: »
    Scantily clad young wans with cheap Penneys t-shirts, canvas trainers with no socks and jeans that were mauled by 4 alsations shivering and whinging is a regular occurrence in my workplace!

Give them a tub of tiger balm. Won't be too cold after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

What's wrong with being toasty?
    Nothing when it's actually cold.
    If you read the comments itss seen as a situation where women are given preferential treatment because they can wear a skirt. Whingefest central'.
    Oh I know - I agree. I thought you meant the original premise of the thread though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

A lot of businesses dont expect women to wear skirts as per your post..on a typical office.. your "typical" office is bull**** .you are nearly 70 years behind the times. The majorityof women where I work wear black trousers, not skirts as you think.

Trousers are less restrictive thsn skirts or dresses so nit sure why you think women have more freedom wearing a dress.

Im not sure why you would see any issue with people being included irrespective as their choice of dress .this is what employees quite rightly expect in 2019.

You pointed out that women were (again according to you ) getting preferential treatment.

This dark ages attitude is seen as very much consigned to the annals of history. If you worked in a decent respectful job Its the norm. But you use it to take a cheap dig at women.

The fact you think a normal run of the mill office environment where people are allowed be treated adults is made up is strange in itself too.

You're missing the point in fine style.

I never said women are expected to wear skirts.
    If you had bothered to read what I had written instead of making assumptions and getting up on your high horse about me being "70 years behind the times" and rhyming off a list if things I never said you would have realised that.

I never said women are getting preferential treatment, I merely scoffed at the notion that men are getting preferential treatment that impacts on the poor put upon women in the office environment.

I have had experience of arguments about air conditioning in situations like I described, men in shirts and ties and women in varying dress often sleeveless tops etc which would obviously make a person feel colder than a long sleeve shirt buttoned up to the neck with a tie.

If this is something which qualifies as a "dark ages attitude" (were women persecuted in the non existent offices of the 10th and 11th centuries? Possibly by knights in their heavy armour wanting to turn on the air conditioning that hadn't been invented for the offices that hadn't been built) then I guess I'm guilty as charged.

I never mentioned any issues about inclusion of people based on their choice of clothing, I merely mentioned that a lot of work places have defined dress codes and that the jeans and t-shirt dress code of some American tech companies hasn't trickled down to all work places, and it is a fact that women have a lot more choices available to them in relation to how they dress within these situations.

The notion of your experience being the norm in a "decent respectful job" (I'm guessing you mean place of employment or moreover the employer themselves rather than the job somebody is employed to do) is laughable. Your experience isn't everyones experience, surely you're aware that things happen differently in different places.

How I have taken any digs at women, cheap or otherwise is beyond me. I haven't said anything derogatory about anyone, my point was to highlight a disparity between men and women in a lot of workplaces which would make men feel warmer than women would have to feel given the amount of different choices of dress they can make.

I felt your "run of the mill office environment" sounded contrived ("the trans people wear what they like", I've no issue with this, but are there really a large group of trans people in your office that can be casually referred to as a group when the number of trans people in society is actually extremely small by head of population?).
    It seems like you're taking artistic licence with what you're saying, but maybe I'm wrong, maybe you do work with a group of diverse people who just happen to tick a number of boxes for inclusivity and you can all wear anything you like to work, a lot of us have to fit into a dress code still, your experience isn't the norm for everybody even if that does mean the rest of us are stuck in the 1950's bt your logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

What's wrong with being toasty? We can't help it if you're sweaty bastards.
    I used to work at a reception desk where the desk was about chest height but the office chair was standard.
    The amount of shirtless men that would arrive into the office come May(minus a wash for extra sexy like) was hilarious.
    They all looked completely naked from my perspective, but did they give a feck?

Shirtless men. Really?

Were they drawing silage trailers or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Posy wrote: »
    I know several work places that have no problem with women wearing sleeveless blouses, skirts and sandles in the summer, while the men can only wear shirts, ties and leather shoes.
    I would definitely do a double take if I seen a man wearing a low cut sleeveless blouse in an office- right or wrong, it's not the norm!

I usually wear a snuggly cardi at work because the people I work with blast the air-con. It seems there can never be a happy compromise!

User status checks out .... ;)

You're missing the point in fine style.

I never said women are expected to wear skirts.
    If you had bothered to read what I had written instead of making assumptions and getting up on your high horse about me being "70 years behind the times" and rhyming off a list if things I never said you would have realised that.

I never said women are getting preferential treatment, I merely scoffed at the notion that men are getting preferential treatment that impacts on the poor put upon women in the office environment.

I have had experience of arguments about air conditioning in situations like I described, men in shirts and ties and women in varying dress often sleeveless tops etc which would obviously make a person feel colder than a long sleeve shirt buttoned up to the neck with a tie.

If this is something which qualifies as a "dark ages attitude" (were women persecuted in the non existent offices of the 10th and 11th centuries? Possibly by knights in their heavy armour wanting to turn on the air conditioning that hadn't been invented for the offices that hadn't been built) then I guess I'm guilty as charged.

I never mentioned any issues about inclusion of people based on their choice of clothing, I merely mentioned that a lot of work places have defined dress codes and that the jeans and t-shirt dress code of some American tech companies hasn't trickled down to all work places, and it is a fact that women have a lot more choices available to them in relation to how they dress within these situations.

The notion of your experience being the norm in a "decent respectful job" (I'm guessing you mean place of employment or moreover the employer themselves rather than the job somebody is employed to do) is laughable. Your experience isn't everyones experience, surely you're aware that things happen differently in different places.

How I have taken any digs at women, cheap or otherwise is beyond me. I haven't said anything derogatory about anyone, my point was to highlight a disparity between men and women in a lot of workplaces which would make men feel warmer than women would have to feel given the amount of different choices of dress they can make.

I felt your "run of the mill office environment" sounded contrived ("the trans people wear what they like", I've no issue with this, but are there really a large group of trans people in your office that can be casually referred to as a group when the number of trans people in society is actually extremely small by head of population?).
    It seems like you're taking artistic licence with what you're saying, but maybe I'm wrong, maybe you do work with a group of diverse people who just happen to tick a number of boxes for inclusivity and you can all wear anything you like to work, a lot of us have to fit into a dress code still, your experience isn't the norm for everybody even if that does mean the rest of us are stuck in the 1950's bt your logic.

Your openng post was that a "typical" office had women wearing skirts and flimsy tops. But then you say my experience is my experience and yours is yours. But still you feel qualified to define what a “typical” office is like.

Where are you getting these stats from?

Never worked in an office where there was a policy of women having to wear skirts.

Your comment about trans members of staff is also odd. Why would you not think that trans people work in offices ? They are in every walk of life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭d8491prj5boyvg

This is very different to what the previous poster was arguing. Women have more choice and likely attire ranges from as insulating as a shirt and trousers to less insulating than a shirt and trousers. This creates a disparity.

IMO, dial the AC at the lower bound and allow layers of additional clothing to accommodate the personal preferences. If there are warmer areas away from windows, etc, maybe take that into account. Exploring layers rather than adjusting the AC is better for the environment and means individual preferences can be tailored for with greater precision

This is very different to what the previous poster was arguing. Women have more choice and likely attire ranges from as insulating to less insulating to a shirt and trousers. This creates a disparity.

IMO, dial the AC at the lower bound and allow layers of additional clothing to accommodate the personal preferences. If there are warmer areas away from windows, etc, maybe take that into account. Exploring layers rather than adjusting the AC is better for the environment and means individual preferences can be catered for.

Its not different.

The poster said that in a typical women wore skirts.

In a typical office, most wonen are likely to wear trousers.

We have fights in the office too . someone wants the window open, someone wants it closed, id be more likely to agree with the poster who said the air con is fixed and people just think they are turning it up and down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

It’s evolutionary selection.

Back in the day, men would be out hunting and gathering, which involved tracking animals for miles and miles a day, so expending heat to keep cool was necessary.

Meanwhile, Madame is back in the cave with the sprogs sitting beside the camp fire. Retaining heat to keep warm being preferred if your sedentary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭d8491prj5boyvg

Its not different.

The poster said that in a typical women wore skirts.

In a typical office, most wonen are likely to wear trousers.

We have fights in the office too . someone wants the window open, someone wants it closed, id be more likely to agree with the poster who said the air con is fixed and people just think they are turning it up and down.

Well i can't vouch for what that poster meant but women do have more flexibility in clothing choice in many offices. If there is a female preference for warmth, this should be considered in their choice, especially if men can't dress cooler to even it out from their end. If they are wearing trousers, jumpers/jackets, vests, etc when cold then fair play.