6th year school pranks.

• 17-05-2019 02:37PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭

It's one thing my secondary school was never really not noted for.
    The principal used wonder into the class room in about mid May and say ye don't have to come in any more if ye don't want to or come in and study. It generally really worked for him and all that might happen would be a bit of shouting/water throwing and somebody might put a condom on the exhaust of his VW Vento.
    So, people never really had the time to plan anything.

Did anybody in After Hours take part or know of any good school pranks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Metal bucket on top of a partially open door. Actually that girl got a right oul knock on the head.

Sweeping brush upturned, and on a chair, up against a barely open door. A nun got it that time and some cnut ratted on me.

Fire extinguishers were always fair game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭mvl

... is there a fixation going on with secondary school pranks, or is this a thread expected to give indication on AH posters age ?!?
    - asking due to my limited exposure to the irish school culture: primary school up to now, secondary would follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I like the old thing of 3 sheep let loose in the school with numbers 1 2 and 4 painted onto them

The teachers spend all day looking for the 'missing' number 3.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Teacher changing the flat tyre on his car in the staff carpark during lunchbreak. A group of students gather round to offer encouragement/support. His spare tyre is magicked away over a nearby hedge and as his off looking for that, they nicked the flat as well. Lunch bell rang so we never did get to help in the search for the missing wheels...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Sky King wrote: »
    I like the old thing of 3 sheep let loose in the school with numbers 1 2 and 4 painted onto them

The teachers spend all day looking for the 'missing' number 3.

Some of my year tried to get a sheep into the school. When they started chasing the sheep it collapsed and died on the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Used to be harmless enough at my school, but ramped up yearly.

There used to be a tuck shop in the sports complex off the school, run by the Geography teacher. It had one of those roller doors, the metal kind. Anyhow, Couple of cute lads came in, with pieces of wood, and hammered them to either side of the window, preventing the roller door from shutting. They then proceeded to batter the teacher with rotten eggs and other general stuff used for pranking. For about twenty mins.

The teacher ended up retiring on health grounds, his nerves were gone.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

gerrybbadd wrote: »

There used to be a tuck shop in the sports complex off the school, run by the Geography teacher. It had one of those roller doors, the metal kind. Anyhow, Couple of cute lads came in, with pieces of wood, and hammered them to either side of the window, preventing the roller door from shutting. They then proceeded to batter the teacher with rotten eggs and other general stuff used for pranking. For about twenty mins.

That's not a prank. That's just scumbag behaviour.

Faugheen wrote: »

Agreed - and the teacher was a decent bloke, there were far worse than him. He made an effort to make his classes interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,777 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Remember all the buzz for pranks, the sheep one, crickets loose in the canteen, condoms on door handles, etc but nothing ever happens. Everybody wants someone else to do it so they get the blame.

Few years ago a local CBS, 6th year lad set fire to the carpets with flare guns. Gardai called, students forced to pay for replacement and cleaning of carpet. Hotel booked for Grad celebrations cancelled the event.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

We were innocent as feck in my year, we all just turned up in Hawaiian shirts and shorts one random day near to the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

One of our teachers had a Fiat 850. On a sports day a load of us picked the arse of it up and wheeled it out onto the road and blocked it. He took it very well and had a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭FarmerBrowne

Would it be a school in Roscommon?!

It was indeed. St. Mary's - its gone now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭randd1

Half dozen eggs in hot press for a month, leave them in random locations where they'd get smashed like behind a door. You'd have to coat them paint to prevent them from cracking in the hot press.

The smell is unpleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭FarmerBrowne

It was indeed. St. Mary's - its gone now

Indeed it is, good craic was had in the place, of course with the exception of the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,158 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

The old cling film stretched across the toilet,worked a few times in the different cubicles,done it once in teachers jacks,never heard any reports,can i just thank the caretaker for letting us in

Indeed it is, good craic was had in the place, of course with the exception of the above.

Ya, it was a crazy school in fairness, holes in the walls between classes etc, but the "prank" i mentioned took the biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Undividual

Or the prank where you offer to massage your PE teacher's thighs for 45 minutes to get out of double Irish. He wasn't even injured. Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

The worst we would get up to is move a bank of lockers in front of the classroom door so a new sub teacher couldn't find us.

Worked every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,527 ✭✭✭Guffy

There was a patch of grass in our school that one of the teachers used now himself regularly. He also had a few idioms he used to say during his lessons.

A group the year before me burnt the phrases into the grass with petrol. Only half decent. One I remember anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Year ahead of me i'd like to think took inspiration from 90's classic film toy soldiers and picked up the contents of the entire "study hall" hand balled it outside and relayed it meticulously to the same layout outside in the basketball court(s). Your talking bones of 20 massive tables, benches, seats etc. It does sound quite lame now but in fairness to them it got a big laugh at the time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

Faugheen wrote: »

Well said,I concur

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

We shot and killed the cleaner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Nothing spectaclar, but squirting glue into keyholes was a popular one when I left.

I vaguely remember the vice-principal's bike being hoisted into the flagpole by the leaving year when I was a couple of years younger.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

We shot and killed the cleaner.

I shot the sheriff but I didn't shoot the deputy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

I think some wild ‘uns sprayed shaving foam on the teachers’ windscreens, maybe some water squirting in the halls; that was kind of the extent of it. We were more into signing shirts and bags in my year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Something with either fire or water is always good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Something with either fire or water is always good.

The day we left school, lads in my year padlocked the only exit gates shut, and lit a bonfire on the other side of it with books and uniforms, so no-one could get in or out. Fire brigade were called to put it out!!

We had the old-fashioned 'rolling' chalk boards. I remember somebody put a dead rat on top of the board, and when the teacher rolled the board to write on the clean side, the dead rat fell on her head. Some skit lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Crock Rock

A few scumbags in my year poured cement into the cisterns in the student toilets on a Friday afternoon, needless to say come Monday the toilets were banjaxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,527 ✭✭✭Guffy

Crock Rock wrote: »
    A few scumbags in my year poured cement into the cisterns in the student toilets on a Friday afternoon, needless to say come Monday the toilets were banjaxed.

That is hilarious