Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Residents Association problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

Nosnon wrote: »
    Get your cousin to go to the Gardai again one more time. When she makes the complaint ask for a 'pulse ref number'. Also ask whom the local superintendent is. Get him/her to tell the Garda on duty that if nothing is done within a week then a complaint will be made to Gsoc. https://www.gardaombudsman.ie/make-a-complaint/before-you-complain/

Yeah, don't do this. No need to go in guns blazing to the guards over this and threatening to go to the ombusdman if nothing is done within a week is going to make HER look like the overzealous nutjob, not the other crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

Get your cousin to go to the Gardai again one more time. When she makes the complaint ask for a 'pulse ref number'. Also ask whom the local superintendent is. Get him/her to tell the Garda on duty that if nothing is done within a week then a complaint will be made to Gsoc. https://www.gardaombudsman.ie/make-a-complaint/before-you-complain/

What crime is being reported?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

Demanding money with menaces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

Demanding money with menaces.

Sounds like a bit of a stretch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Yeah, don't do this. No need to go in guns blazing to the guards over this and threatening to go to the ombusdman if nothing is done within a week is going to make HER look like the overzealous nutjob, not the other crowd.

Earlier in the thread the op says that the cousin has been to the gardai a few times with nothing done. I stand by my previous post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

Earlier in the thread the op says that the cousin has been to the gardai a few times with nothing done. I stand by my previous post.

Yeah I understand that, but I don't think you understand that the gardai most likely don't care about this AT ALL. That's why they haven't done anything Going to the ombusdman will not help either, and will probably make them even less helpful. (You might be thinking, 'well what's less helpful than doing nothing?' But just trust me, not give them some reason to want to make things more difficult at any point down the line is a better strategy than going with demands and threats.)

I know we'd like to think that they would so something but the fact is unless these lads are selling drugs the gardai are not come after them. Not for a row about landscaping on an estate.