Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Hate crime? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,275 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Are people in here trying to out do each other in the ridiculous story stakes??
    Telling people about how you where once offended then receiving praise for it is all the rage these days don't you know!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,044 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Telling people about how you where once offended then receiving praise for it is all the rage these days don't you know!?

who has mentioned being offended? almost like you just plucked that out of thin air.

The story and the incident itself obviously bothered a lot of people. Leading to all the other stories being told for some reason.

but who mentioned being offended?

Being offended by something is being upset by it or bothered by it. Which a lot obviously where. I used the word offended in that sense. The word itself didn't have to be used or mentioned.

Odd that you use that word to describe it.

Not really.

You can use many different words to describe things. Thats the first one that came to mind in this case for me!

Anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,840 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

There are a lot of things I'd call this behaviour but a hate crime? No, not everything you experience or dislike is a hate crime.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/education/sinead-burke-talks-about-the-hate-crime-that-led-to-her-new-campaign-in-dublin-schools-38007423.html

well whatever it's dubbed - fairly fu(king disgusting incident

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

It wouldnt be my scene either, but clearly, if you operate in that world, it is a very big deal. If you are one of the handful of Irish people attending, it is a very big deal.

And what exactly is patronising?

“... is the first little person to attend the Met Gala”. She’s achieved what she has through intelligence and talent. She’s there because she works for Vogue UK. Her stature or lack thereof shouldn’t even merit a mention, IMO. Mentioning it like that is still setting her apart, compartmentalising her. It’s like seeing descriptions of Peter Dinklage being the most talented actor with dwarfism or the best dwarf actor. Urm, no, he’s just a talented actor full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭hcf500

It would seem that hate crime and hate speech have risen since 2016! Its obvious this is all because of Trump and his hateful speech. Once he is gone in 2020 racism and hate speech will drop again!

What is "hardman bs" about anything I've said? Is it because I don't walk around with the fear of god in me? That I know kids will be kids, sometimes beyond the boundaries of decency, but once there is no harm done that I can get on with my day??

Jesus, are people really that soft these days?? I would say my response would be the response of any average person.

He very easily could have misjudged the jump. What would have happened then? This isn’t a unrealistic scenario that I’m proposing here. And he wouldn’t have been able to stop the jump once he had left the ground. Had he landed on her, she could have been badly injured. My friend with dwarfism has had a number of hip operations. I think it’s quite common in people with dwarfism. The outcome could have been much worse had he not jumped clean over her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,919 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

“... is the first little person to attend the Met Gala”. She’s achieved what she has through intelligence and talent. She’s there because she works for Vogue UK. Her stature or lack thereof shouldn’t even merit a mention, IMO. Mentioning it like that is still setting her apart, compartmentalising her. It’s like seeing descriptions of Peter Dinklage being the most talented actor with dwarfism or the best dwarf actor. Urm, no, he’s just a talented actor full stop.

So you want to ignore how difficult it is to be successful in the fashion industry when you don't meet 'traditional' standards of female beauty? Gotcha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

He very easily could have misjudged the jump. What would have happened then? This isn’t a unrealistic scenario that I’m proposing here. And he wouldn’t have been able to stop the jump once he had left the ground. Had he landed on her, she could have been badly injured. My friend with dwarfism has had a number of hip operations. I think it’s quite common in people with dwarfism. The outcome could have been much worse had he not jumped clean over her.

Coulda, Woulda, Didn't. :rolleyes:

So you've no objections to me swinging a machete around your family members, right?

Possission and around swinging a machete is illegal. Jumping isn't, as far as I know.

ah give over, so if two lads are jostling at the luas and one slips and knocks a girl onto the tracks, then although the worst that happened was they nudged off her, we should treat them as though she was that close to being under the tracks... what if, what if what if... my mate with dwarfisms hips, cop on will ye!
    I guess it's as well he was a red rover black belt then isnt it.

Possission and around swinging a machete is illegal.

Only in a public place. So you don't mind if I step into your kitchen to practice my machete swinging techniques around your family, right?

Coulda, shoulda, didn't - and all that.

So you want to ignore how difficult it is to be successful in the fashion industry when you don't meet 'traditional' standards of female beauty? Gotcha.

What? How on earth did you get there? I’m saying that her appearance doesn’t need to marked out as different. Surely that’s the ideal scenario? And, actually, behind the scenes in the fashion industry, there are people of widely varying appearances. And it’s been that way for a long time. Designers and magazine employees tend to be a diverse lot. Being knowledgeable about fashion and being stylish are the prerequisites. Conforming to certain parameters of appearance is only really needed if you are in front of the camera.

Only in a public place. So you don't mind if I step into your kitchen to practice my machete swinging techniques around your family, right?

Are you broken? Your comparisons are unhinged at best and demented at worst

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I would have loved to come across the two rats and thrown their poxy phones in the Liffey.

• Site Banned Posts: 160 ✭✭dermo888

hcf500 wrote: »
    It would seem that hate crime and hate speech have risen since 2016! Its obvious this is all because of Trump and his hateful speech. Once he is gone in 2020 racism and hate speech will drop again!

The trouble is, he won't be gone in 2020, they need another 4 years more of the hatred to burn themselves out, and for it to be exposed for the vile sham that it is.

I'd rather the progressives play the long game, and let the idiots destroy themselves.

Are you broken? Your comparisons are unhinged at best and demented at worst
    I'm grand, thanks for asking. It's just slightly difficult to explain things to people who don't see the problem in leapfrogging over a little person on the street.

What? How on earth did you get there? I’m saying that her appearance doesn’t need to marked out as different. Surely that’s the ideal scenario? And, actually, behind the scenes in the fashion industry, there are people of widely varying appearances. And it’s been that way for a long time. Designers and magazine employees tend to be a diverse lot. Being knowledgeable about fashion and being stylish are the prerequisites. Conforming to certain parameters of appearance is only really needed if you are in front of the camera.
    Yeah, funnily enough, I get the point that her appearance doesn't NEED to be marked out as different. But the incident noted in the OP shows clearly that her appearance IS noted as different.

As as for the 'wild diversity' of those in the fashion industry, you may be in for a shock:

https://qz.com/work/1516836/fashions-lack-of-diversity-goes-beyond-the-models-to-the-boardroom/

Good, I’m glad for her that it didn’t happen. But it very easily could have. And if that happened to any internet hard chaws like yourself, you wouldn’t brush off the resultant injuries like they were nothing. You’re fooling nobody. Well, I believe you wouldn’t be bothered at witnessing it happening to somebody else. In which case... go you?
    rusty cole wrote: »
    ah give over, so if two lads are jostling at the luas and one slips and knocks a girl onto the tracks, then although the worst that happened was they nudged off her, we should treat them as though she was that close to being under the tracks... what if, what if what if... my mate with dwarfisms hips, cop on will ye!
    I guess it's as well he was a red rover black belt then isnt it.

Aaaah, in your supposed analogy, the person who ends up on the tracks wasn’t targeted. Please tell me I don’t have to point out any further the problem with your example.

Tell me what would happen if someone decided to leapfrog another person and didn’t clear them. What would happen in that scenario? And, like I said, that misjudgment happening is not unlikely. The person doing so is taking a huge risk. And if that risk doesn’t pay off, they won’t be the one most affected. I’m quite sure you wouldn’t be so blasé if you were the one to have the full weight of a teenager land on top of you.

I can’t decipher the last few lines of your post. It descended into incoherence.

I'm grand, thanks for asking. It's just slightly difficult to explain things to people who don't see the problem in leapfrogging over a little person on the street.

Perhaps introducing the savage rape and murder of a young teenager and talk of swinging machetes around family members isn't the way to go about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

dermo888 wrote: »
    The trouble is, he won't be gone in 2020, they need another 4 years more of the hatred to burn themselves out, and for it to be exposed for the vile sham that it is.

I'd rather the progressives play the long game, and let the idiots destroy themselves.

But how genuine is this hate speech.

In the States, referring to trans people has having gender dysphoria is now considered hate speech. Stating a medical fact as to why many transition is now hate speech, completely ridiculous carry on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

"Prior to tonight, I practised the stairs, and did an accessibility audit of the seating, bathrooms, elevators and corridors to figure out where and how we could ensure that I am as independent as possible on this very glamorous night."

I wonder if everyone invited got to do this??
    What would be the point unless everyone invited has dwarfism?
    What is "hardman bs" about anything I've said? Is it because I don't walk around with the fear of god in me? That I know kids will be kids, sometimes beyond the boundaries of decency, but once there is no harm done that I can get on with my day??

Jesus, are people really that soft these days?? I would say my response would be the response of any average person.
    Do you have dwarfism? Nope, so you don't get to tell someone with it how they feel or should feel, and you don't have a clue what life is like for them.
    Exactly, but some people want to be victims.

she must have a great life if that is what she is whining about, but look it's working - she is getting lots of attention over it and no doubt she will get lots of compensation for it.
    She has dwarfism and has to put up with constant sh1t.

Yes there are people who wallow in victimhood, but there are also people who use this to dismiss anyone who doesn't have it easy, like the two of you are doing. You're being very dishonest the way you're pretending she has no cause for difficulty. But having no empathy is cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

dermo888 wrote: »

Hatred ? what hatred ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

The thing that really gets to me about this thread is that so many users are so happy to make light of the incident. But I'm pretty sure that she has to deal with this sort of stuff on a constant basis. It must be atrocious for one's mental health.

And acting out physically by leapfrogging over a person is just incredibly dangerous for a person who is far more prone to certain types of injuries.

Coulda, shoulda, didn't - and all that.

You are talking about a future event that we have no idea of the outcome. I'm talking about an event we do know the outcome of. Your point is nonsense.