Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

Because of spoilers?

She's ingrained herself in US politics to a toxic degree. I'd be left wing but she's that kind of US left wing that heavily demonises the other side. I wish I didn't see that aspect of her.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,258 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

At least when GoT finishes, we can look forward to the Sonic the hedgehog movie

https://youtu.be/FvvZaBf9QQI

my god that looks terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Because of spoilers?

If she did that, she'd be in quite a spot of legal bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,019 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I don't care what anyone says, I loved last night's episode. I was buzzing afterwards that I couldn't get to sleep for a while. I've one very minor quibble which I'll leave for obvious reasons. Not sure what I'll do when it's all done and dusted in 3 weeks time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

bilston wrote: »
    I don't care what anyone says, I loved last night's episode. I was buzzing afterwards that I couldn't get to sleep for a while. I've one very minor quibble which I'll leave for obvious reasons. Not sure what I'll do when it's all done and dusted in 3 weeks time!

Please quibble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Still haven't seen a single episode of GoT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,019 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Please quibble

I'm not sure if you actually want me to share my quibble or if you just like my use of the word quibble!
    No really major characters died, and by that I mean a Stark, a Targaryen or a Lannister

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

bilston wrote: »

Amazon are producing the Wheel of Time series which is slated to come out next year I think. The best thing about the books was the breadth of the the story. So many different nations, peoples, races and cultures were represented and explored thoroughly. It has the best world building of any fantasy series I've read. There's political intrigue, backstabbing, war, famine, strife etc. All the stuff that made GoT.

But the series leans very heavy on magic battles and to do it justice it would require so much CGI that it wouldn't be possible on a TV series budget. I just don't know how they'll do it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Clegg wrote: »
    Amazon are producing the Wheel of Time series which is slated to come out next year I think. The best thing about the books was the breadth of the the story. So many different nations, peoples, races and cultures were represented and explored thoroughly. It has the best world building of any fantasy series I've read. There's political intrigue, backstabbing, war, famine, strife etc. All the stuff that made GoT.

But the series leans very heavy on magic battles and to do it justice it would require so much CGI that it wouldn't be possible on a TV series budget. I just don't know how they'll do it.

Look forward to that, but by god did the books get awfully ****e around 7 or 8. Never could bring myself to finish the series, which is a shame as I heard the last couple post-Jordan were actually quite good. If I read about someone tugging their bloody braid one more time though I think I would have lost it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

sydthebeat wrote: »
    my god that looks terrible

Sonic, Jim Carrey and a Coolio soundtrack. FFS, they're not even trying to hide that they just randomly pull items form a database of mid-nineties nostalgia.

But in other news, I greatly look forward to the Sensible Soccer movie, starring Keenan and Kel, and featuring a remix of Whigfield's Saturday Night.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Look forward to that, but by god did the books get awfully ****e around 7 or 8. Never could bring myself to finish the series, which is a shame as I heard the last couple post-Jordan were actually quite good. If I read about someone tugging their bloody braid one more time though I think I would have lost it.

9 and 10 were a slog for me. They took place over the same time period but from the perspective of different characters. Was just so slow.

But Jordan's final book before he died was a return to form. The pace picked up significantly. You could tell he knew he needed to finish the story. Brandon Sanderson finished the series. His output is prolific and he finished the final three novels in about 4 years. I enjoyed them a lot. He doesn't quite have Jordan's prose or eye for detail but he wrapped up the story very well from Jordan's notes. Well worth your time to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

Enjoyed episode 3 of GoT a lot more on a second viewing where I could make out what was happening. Mildly interesting fact though, I went back and watched the season 8 trailer. I'm not sure there's any footage that isn't the first 3 episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

From what I've heard there's quite a few different fantasy series being made into TV shows due for release in the next year or two. All trying to fill that Game of Thrones hole no doubt.

Jaysus. Will Smith's latest.

DGRulz wrote: »
    From what I've heard there's quite a few different fantasy series being made into TV shows due for release in the next year or two. All trying to fill that Game of Thrones hole no doubt.

Yep. Netflix have the TV rights for The Witcher, a fantasy novel series that was adapted into an even better series of video games. Henry Cavill will play the main character. That's a pretty big get imo. He's a huge fan of the games.

With regards to tone The Witcher is closer to GoT than the Wheel of Time is. It has that same gritty feel and doesn't down play the role of violence and oppression in fantastical medieval societies. Plus it's all about monster hunting. That's what a Witcher is essentially. Although Geralt, the main character is a special one that mixes with high society and Court. So there'll hopefully be plenty of political intrigue as well.

Jaysus. Will Smith's latest.

Can't wait to see that twist in the cinema! Wonder will it have the same impact from a 2 minute trailer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Finally got to see the long night last night. On my phone so can’t see the spoilers people have hidden. Not sure what people are giving out about or if they are. However I thought it was amazing, as good as any film coming out of Hollywood. Like Bilston I was wired after watching it, took a while to get a sheep as my brain was still digesting it. Apparently there are only 7 words spoken in the last 20 minutes of the episode, that’s incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

stephen_n wrote: »
    Finally got to see the long night last night. On my phone so can’t see the spoilers people have hidden. Not sure what people are giving out about or if they are. However I thought it was amazing, as good as any film coming out of Hollywood. Like Bilston I was wired after watching it, took a while to get a sheep as my brain was still digesting it. Apparently there are only 7 words spoken in the last 20 minutes of the episode, that’s incredible.

If you tap the spoiler text on the touch site then it should appear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

troyzer wrote: »
    Game of Thrones is ****.

I'll forgive you for being a Millennial. I can look past the fact you're a vegan and (probably) a hipster. But comments like that!!! :mad::mad: I will whoop yo' ass!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭troyzer

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    I'll forgive you for being a Millennial. I can look past the fact you're a vegan and (probably) a hipster. But comments like that!!! :mad::mad: I will whoop yo' ass!!

My millennial life is flashing before my eyes after this epic takedown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

troyzer wrote: »
    My millennial life is flashing before my eyes after this epic takedown.

No its not. You're just scrolling through Instagram really quickly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭troyzer

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    No its not. You're just scrolling through Instagram really quickly :D

I'm going to shut up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

9 and 10 were a slog for me. They took place over the same time period but from the perspective of different characters. Was just so slow.

But Jordan's final book before he died was a return to form. The pace picked up significantly. You could tell he knew he needed to finish the story. Brandon Sanderson finished the series. His output is prolific and he finished the final three novels in about 4 years. I enjoyed them a lot. He doesn't quite have Jordan's prose or eye for detail but he wrapped up the story very well from Jordan's notes. Well worth your time to read.

Have to echo this. Up until 8 they were damn good. 9 and 10 particularly, were not very good at all, though the end to 9 was pretty epic. Jordan's last book was very good, you could see where either him or the editors restrained themselves/him from the word vomit of the previous two books. Then he passed away, Sanderson took over and finished the series brilliantly.
    With regards to tone The Witcher is closer to GoT than the Wheel of Time is. It has that same gritty feel and doesn't down play the role of violence and oppression in fantastical medieval societies. Plus it's all about monster hunting. That's what a Witcher is essentially. Although Geralt, the main character is a special one that mixes with high society and Court. So there'll hopefully be plenty of political intrigue as well.

Witcher is really well placed to take over - lots of violence and boobies. I'm hoping they get the tone right though, properly dark and serious most of the time. If it's done well, and Cavill nails Geralt, it could be great. Won't be getting my hopes up yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭kuang1

Sorry to change topic all...

But for the tradesmen amongst ye:
    What's a nice gesture to do for lads working on site building my house?
    Buy a bunch of lunch rolls and 8 cans of Heineken each is what I was thinking... But is there a better idea than that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I've never watched a single episode of GOT, and every time I deliberate it, I think I'm just too far behind to bother starting.

Honestly, avoid it now for a few months. Let it all play out and the hype go away. If you start watching in the next month or two, you'll inevitably encounter some massive spoiler for down the line.

At least if you see any spoilers now, it won't make sense and you'll put it out of your mind without being able to distinguish between Theon, Tyrian or Tywin.

kuang1 wrote: »

Buy a bunch of lunch rolls and 8 cans of Heineken each is what I was thinking... But is there a better idea than that?

I would imagine any gesture whatsoever would be gratefully received. A lot of lads are just happy to get on with the job without someone looking over their shoulder or trying to change the plan halfway through. They wouldn't get someone actually giving them something too often, in my experience. People are more likely to try and argue the toss over the work/invoice than give them any sort of present.

I bought a few pizzas on a Friday for lunch close to the end of my works which went down well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭swiwi_

stephen_n wrote: »
    Apparently there are only 7 words spoken in the last 20 minutes of the episode, that’s incredible.

So you were watching porn :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

kuang1 wrote: »

Make sure they're paid!!

All joking as Buer said...A round of pizzas on a Friday lunchtime would go down a treat. Just tell them on Thursday as it would save them making sambos for the next day.

Fair play kuang that's a decent gesture.

*Anyone know if kuang is looking ceilings done on his house - asking for a friend*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭kuang1

Thanks Buer and mf.
    Yeah dropped off a mix of steak sandwiches, chicken wings, taco chips, ham and cheese bagels, minerals, and a few tinnies.
    Dropped it in and ran off.

Personally, I've always reacted poorly to being micro managed. So if I'm on site while any of the tradesmen are there I make sure to leave them at it and get in and out of there ASAP.
    Sure what the fook do I know about plastering or carpentry or the like?! Leave them at it and trust that they'll do an honest job.

So far so good anyway.

Tis the plasterers getting fed today btw, they're almost finished the outside so wanted to treat them before they tackle the inside.