Avengers: Endgame [** SPOILERS FROM POST 613 **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,171 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Watched this last night, not big into the mcu universe admittedly but I really enjoyed it. One thing that did slightly annoy me was how powerful Thanos was. In Infinity War the superheroes gave a good account of themselves fighting him when he had at least one stone to begin with. In this one he was swatting them away like flies without any stones! Odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,527 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Liamalone wrote: »
    Watched this last night, not big into the mcu universe admittedly but I really enjoyed it. One thing that did slightly annoy me was how powerful Thanos was. In Infinity War the superheroes gave a good account of themselves fighting him when he had at least one stone to begin with. In this one he was swatting them away like flies without any stones! Odd.

He is actually massively underpowered in the movies. Without the stones in the comics he broke Captain America's shield with one backhand and killed him with another backhand breaking his neck.

Infinity war they did really humanize him bit too much, probably just to get the audience to relate to his character a bit more because in truth the scene on Titan or cap holding back the gauntlet wouldn't be possible with a powered up thanos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭Riddle101

flazio wrote: »
    My turn to ask a question. Are we left with 2 Nebulas now or did one of them die?

The good Nebula shot and presumably killed the bad Nebula so I believe there is only one. However since Nebula is robotic it's hard to know if she she can be killed that easily or if she could somehow come back to life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,343 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Calhoun wrote: »
    Anyone who is into the comics, whats the deal with Sam Wilson. Does he have much in the way of super serum powers?

Don't know a lot about Sam's time as Captain America in the comics, but from what I remember I think they modified the shield to automatically return to him as opposed to having Cap's perfect aim (which is how Cap can calculate how to throw the shield so it ricochets and comes back). Other than that, he's just Falcon in a Captain America-type outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭WrigleysExtra

If you are being genuine with that comment, you need to get some therapy and perspective.

I didn't particularly like that scene, it could have been done much better.... But disturbing? Ruined the entire movie?

You sound like a misogynistic incel.

With a name like that I'd say you're the only incel around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭El Duda

It's no coincidence that the people complaining about the #GirlPower moment are mostly middle aged males.

"How dare they put a moment into a mass appeal film that is solely for young girls to enjoy!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭NuMarvel

El Duda wrote: »
    It's no coincidence that the people complaining about the #GirlPower moment are mostly middle aged males.

"How dare they put a moment into a mass appeal film that is solely for young girls to enjoy!"

With precognition skills like this, I suggest you never play the lotto ;) :P

The common objection isn't that it was aimed at young girls, it's that it was pandering and tokenism. If Marvel wants to appeal to women and girls (and they absolutely should), then give female characters movies. Not the equivalent of bread crumbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,691 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

NuMarvel wrote: »
    With precognition skills like this, I suggest you never play the lotto ;) :P

The common objection isn't that it was aimed at young girls, it's that it was pandering and tokenism. If Marvel wants to appeal to women and girls (and they absolutely should), then give female characters movies. Not the equivalent of bread crumbs.
    Or just give them something to do other than pose? Pepper had a nice back to back with Tony and aided Parker with the Gauntlet, Wanda was wrecking Thanos, Danvers took out an entire ship. They can do more than just awkwardly pose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,286 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

With a name like that I'd say you're the only incel around here.

A wandering con man? What?

I'm not the one saying a 10nsecond female scene was TRULY DISTURBING.

You got disturbed by a female centric scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

You got disturbed by a female centric scene.

Barely a scene, just a shot or two.

but it was a truly disturbing shot or two. Ruined the entire movie.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Had been avoiding this thread but got to see it the weekend, absolutely loved it. It tied everything up so well, loved all the throw backs was just fantastic.
    Not sure if its been asked and cant catch up on everything, is Gamora gone? Or the fact she helped the Avengers could she still be alive somewhere? Is that why Quill was searching for her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭kerplun k

but it was a truly disturbing shot or two. Ruined the entire movie.

Are you talking about the "female centric scene"?
    Jez. you wanna relax, It's hardly worth even mentioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

pc7 wrote: »
    Not sure if its been asked and cant catch up on everything, is Gamora gone?

She's alive.
    GotG3: The Quest for Gamora

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

RayCun wrote: »
    She's alive.

Gamora 2014 Strikes Back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭kerplun k

She's alive.

aGotG3: Why Where is Gamora

kerplun k wrote: »
    Are you talking about the "female centric scene"?
    Jez. you wanna relax, It's hardly worth even mentioning.

Yeah, I'm not actually the one who said that. Its what Wrigly whatever said above, which I took exception to as if it was a genuine comment then it is a horrifying way of looking at such a scene. Being affected in such a way points to the person have deep rooted issues and women being shown in a powerful way.

I disliked the scene myself cause it felt clunky and poorly executed. but to find it truly disturbing is, well.... truly disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,488 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

there was so much in movie Im confused surely Ironman snapped all thanos associated people away

Just the ones they were battling against there and then, I thought. Thanos associated would be a hard one to go with...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I didn't even spot that wamen scene, but then it wasn’t meant for me, that Larson wan needs to cop on though, its obvious the cast hate her

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,897 ✭✭✭doc_17

What they did with Thor in that film was stupid. He was basically the comic relief. I know some will try and explain it away but I think it was dumb and entirely unnecessary.

Overall I thought it was a bang average film compared to some of Marvel's other films.

But I'm glad that real die hard fans enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

Posters commenting on RDJ's physique. When he is rescued and is gaunt and frail looking, is his body not CGI'd to make him look this way (similar to the de-aging effects and body double they used for Chris Evans in The First Avenger)? I thought that this is what was done.

I know he is pushing on in age, but don't forget this was filmed shortly after IW, don't recall him being in bad shape for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,527 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

doc_17 wrote: »
    What they did with Thor in that film was stupid. He was basically the comic relief. I know some will try and explain it away but I think it was dumb and entirely unnecessary.

Agree. First scene was funny but they turned him into comedy sidekick for the movie. For me Thor has had the best origin story in the movies and Hemsworth has been terrific in the role. He was such a unique character overall that Cap becoming a knock-off Thor was a bit annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

doc_17 wrote: »

If you look at every comic book movie you have to explain many things away.

It didn’t work for you, personally I felt they slightly over did it, but they needed to de-power Thor from what we saw at the end of IW and this was a unexpected and funny route to take.

Foxtrol wrote: »

It didn’t work for you, personally I felt they slightly over did it, but they needed to de-power Thor from what we saw at the end of IW and this was a unexpected and funny route to take.

I think he needed a bit more of a return to his Ragnarok personality, or IW, towards the end of the movie - following his meeting with his Mum.

To me the banter and jokes were deflection from his depression over what happened to Asgard and Asgardians under his watch. But he never moved beyond that in any real way - even the last scene has him being the same.

We've had a funny thor - but in IW it was given somber tones as well "what more could I possibly lose" - with the jokes and bragarding his way of not thinking about it.

Just felt there should have been a tonal shift after the Asgard scenes, that we didn't get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Agent 13 didn't get her cameo either in Endgame.

So Steve dumped Peggy's grand niece for Peggy.

Cap sure did like to keep it in the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,343 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Foxtrol wrote: »

Plus from what I've read it was Hemsworth himself who pushed for it. Maybe not that specifically, but he pushed to keep Thor funny and weird even more than he was in Ragnarok.

I enjoyed Thor a lot in this movie. I think they balanced the comedic aspects of Fat-Thor well with his obvious PTSD/survivor's guilt. If you think about how soon Infinity War likely happens after Ragnarok, we have a Thor who has lost his father, hammer, sister, destroyed his own home, half the Asgardians killed by Thanos, Heimdall & Loki also killed by Thanos, and he blames himself for not striking the killing blow on Thanos which allowed him to snap, thereby killing half the living creatures in the universe. All that in a matter of weeks at most, if not days (depending on how long they were on the ship for between Ragnarok and IW. And between IW and Endgame, he obviously became extremely depressed.

I thought they balanced it well in showing how far he'd allowed himself to fall, while still keeping it as light as possible. And even fat, he looked proper viking-badass in the final fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I think Thor's story could have worked on it's own, but it didn't mesh well with the other stories. Everyone else got super sad and serious but he was jolly and drunk. Yes, to hide pain, but still, it was like watching two different movies cut together.

(Banner/Hulk could have been a good bridge but wasn't. He didn't seem sad at all)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I've actually been thinking about this and y'know what, Chris Hemsworth has been the stand out character and actor for the entire MCU.

We all expect a lot from RDJ, who is always amazing. But I can't help that feel that his actual acting range hasn't been as great as it could have been overall, despite the great character arch itself.

Hemsworth though, especially in IW and Endgame showed some real chops. While we all had a great laugh with his sudden weight gain, we saw a genuinely sad scene between his him and his mother, how he'd basically all but given up and being a King or Hero.

In Thor we saw total loss, his girlfriend, his mother, his father, his brother, his home, his planet and then the vast majority of the remainders were taken out too.

He had the perfect chance to kill Thanos and save the world before the snap, but his aim was off.

Hemsworth portrayed that beautifully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,904 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I think Thor's story could have worked on it's own, but it didn't mesh well with the other stories. Everyone else got super sad and serious but he was jolly and drunk. Yes, to hide pain, but still, it was like watching two different movies cut together.

(Banner/Hulk could have been a good bridge but wasn't. He didn't seem sad at all)
    People react to grief in different ways and move on at different rates. Thor had lost almost his entire civilisation, Hulk only lost / kept half of his.