Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Two-thirds of people say Ireland is too politically correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Realtalk. Whats up with the afterhours demographics (40 + year old crusty men) always complaining they cant freely abuse immigrants and homosexuals?

I wouldn’t be surprised if that guy in the taxi video is a constant rereg here

In my 20's I wouldn't even take what you're on.

Who wants to freely abuse immigrants and homosexuals?

You're quite the white Knight yourself telling 40+ year old men they're crusty...

There's a smell of irony from your posts...

Sounds like you're cut from a stale batch but sure mould has its uses :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

The percentage of travellers in prison shows 2 things:
    1 travellers are involved in crime at a higher rate than average.
    2 travellers are convicted and sentenced to prison at a higher rate than the aver age person. Seems about right to me. Lets see if anyone comes along to "silence" me or "shout me down" for my statement.

The solution to crime will be preventative and I have a sneaking suspicion that the same people who think PC is gone mad will also not be in favour of measures that reduce the crime rate unless its locking people up for longer - there's another thread about this and the majority of posters there have no interest in discussing the causes of crime and addressing them. The only want to increase punishment for crime. Likewise, I suspect they would have no interest in doing things that would reduce traveller (or anyone else's) criminality rates. Just criticise them and punish them after they commit crimes.

Your second statement sharply implies travellers receive disproportionately harsh sentences, pure speculation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

meeeeh wrote: »
    But more than for Clinton in any case. We can argue the semantics but my point was Trump won demographic that he was not supposed to win because no woman was supposed to vote for him.

Btw I will give another example why I find political correctness so faje. I'm not Irish and come from former communist country. OH loves to call me commie and make jokes about bloody commies. It entertains me immensely how horrified people are about his comments. Of course if they bothered to ask me they would know I find them funny and I am not one bit insulted. But they don't they just assume I should be insulted. One person bothered to get to know me and knows my sense of humour the others assume they should be horrified for poor me. Who do you think considers me as equal?

My OH also from an ex-communist country. I don't make commie jokes as it's not particularly sophisticated humour. Personally I don't think there should be any boundaries to humour. It's inciting hatred I dislike.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Conjecture much

Nope. Angry frustrated white men is why we've got Trump, Brexit, Orban & others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,328 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

The idea of political correctness is obviously good.

However what has happened is that those who espouse political correctness have not become more fair, as was the whole premise of the idea, but are now oppressive in nature. Traditional media and now social media has allowed a PC bullying culture to form and has led to a large chunk of the population (the silent majority perhaps) railing against those in charge and those pushing the agenda. This has in turn been the rise of the right in numerous countries (Spain being the latest).

I wonder where it will end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,210 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I meant these issues are not discussed in the mainstream media, not boards.ie, the exclusive narative re_travellers on rte or the Irish Times is how they are "marginalised and Oppressed by the state"
    Another taboo subject is the effect immigration is having on housing demand

Mainstream media like the late late show on RTE who invited Peter Casey on to air his opinion?

I'm not buying this notion that it's not discussed. It was a major topic during the presidential election because Peter Casey talked about it and the major news media covered it.

This is like the abortion referendum where the 'no' side used their hundreds of national media interviews to say they were being silenced. They were losing the argument and lost the referendum. but they were not silenced. Casey got his point across and some people liked it, others didn't like it. That's not PC gone mad, its just people having different opinions.

More people = more demand for housing. I'll challenge you to find anyone in the world, let alone the media who denies that simple statement. What they probably won't do it blame the housing crisis on immigrants any more than people from anywhere else. Which is fine because that would be silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    To allow a presidental candidate onto the Late Late after expressing his views without recourse to a counterpoint would have been neglectful of RTE. He wasn't ambushed. He was just presented with people who disagreed with him. The media gave him several platforms. He consistently embarrassed himself.

Yet John Connors can go on rte and call the guards "scum" without recourse?

Your second statement sharply implies travellers receive disproportionately harsh sentences, pure speculation

That's not what I meant at all. If a group commits crimes at a higher rate than average then they will be convicted at a higher rate than the average. that's only natural and perfectly in keeping with the point I was making in the post.

I'm not sure if you saw more evidence of PC gone mad in what I said. But in any case you are mistaken.

Nope. Angry frustrated white men is why we've got Trump, Brexit, Orban & others.

I've a sneaking suspicion that the posters are trying to blame the left for people voting for trump etc. Funny how it couldn't simply be people liking the racist message and voting for it. It has to be the left's fault.

The media publicised his message by accident in terms of the result, they queed up to put the boot into him and labelled him a racist, the big surge in support was a side effect

The media sells clicks. and in a world where there's no such thing as bad publicity, they were doing his bidding. 'The Media' isn't a big left wing conspiracy like you're making out. They publicised his message for him. If they wanted to hurt him they could have made the decision to not carry his message. But obviously they didn't do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭storker

I've a sneaking suspicion that the posters are trying to blame the left for people voting for trump etc. Funny how it couldn't simply be people liking the racist message and voting for it. It has to be the left's fault.

And yet the same electorate that elected Trump elected Barack Obama previously. Remember him, the first black president?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

The American left abandoned the white male worker (all workers really but in particular attacked the white male) so the white working class abandoned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Look at the employment and drug use rate in the swing states that turned versus the national average. There's your reason why trump got voted in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

The solution to crime will be preventative and I have a sneaking suspicion that the same people who think PC is gone mad will also not be in favour of measures that reduce the crime rate unless its locking people up for longer - there's another thread about this and the majority of posters there have no interest in discussing the causes of crime and addressing them. The only want to increase punishment for crime. Likewise, I suspect they would have no interest in doing things that would reduce traveller (or anyone else's) criminality rates. Just criticise them and punish them after they commit crimes.

People engaged with you in that thread but you supplied no evidence of what preventive measures you actually meant, criticised incarceration and made excuses for criminality. You have, I noticed, stayed out of the racist taxi driver thread.

storker wrote: »
    And yet the same electorate that elected Trump elected Barack Obama previously. Remember him, the first black president?

I don't think anyone was selling a racist message in the Obama elections. I don't think Obama, Romney or Mccain were big into racism. Certainly none of them were anywhere near Trump.

If none of them were selling it then nobody had the option to buy it.

i vote left and i agree with broad left aims across taxation, state provision of quality supports in housing, healthcare, education, childcare

but whenever i come onto boards i find myself irked by the holier-than-thou tone taken by a reaonable rump of the online campaigners for the political side i already do the practical work for (paying taxes, abiding by the law, voting left)

taking that aside, but as a symptom, the haranguing of an entire demographic as broad as straight white male and then wondering why you're not getting cheered on people's shoulders into the glorious days of the revolution seems to me as good a measure as to the level of practicality and reality a lot of online warriors are fit for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,025 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

He got the same amount of speaking time as all of those who opposed him. The audience were pretty respectful.

And his polling improved simply because fools will always attract fools.

They weren't a tad respectful neither was the host!

People engaged with you in that thread but you supplied no evidence of what preventive measures you actually meant, criticised incarceration and made excuses for criminality. You have, I noticed, stayed out of the racist taxi driver thread.

Oh not this again. I told you loads of times about what I thought of drug related crime and how if someone leaves prison as an addict they will most likely commit more crimes to feed their habit regardless of the sentence they have served. I told you that one idea would be to treat the drug problem both in terms of addiction and causes of people turning to drugs. That would lower the crime rate. That's just one example of the measures I said would be a good idea. But you clearly didn't remember that when I said it in that thread so I cant expect you to remember it when I said it in this thread.

I never once made an excuse for criminality. If you can find one example of me excusing criminality, please post it in that thread an I'll address it (an idle threat because I know you won't find a single example of me excusing criminality)

I have nothing to add to the racist taxi driver thread. If it's the one where the guy attacked the driver then what's to say? Seems like a fairly clear cut case of a drunk man being racist and attacking a taxi driver.

Is my behaviour more evidence of PC gone mad, in your opinion? Even the things I didn't actually say?

i vote left and i agree with broad left aims across taxation, state provision of quality supports in housing, healthcare, education, childcare

but whenever i come onto boards i find myself irked by the holier-than-thou tone taken by a reaonable rump of the online campaigners for the political side i already do the practical work for (paying taxes, abiding by the law, voting left)

taking that aside, but as a symptom, the haranguing of an entire demographic as broad as straight white male and then wondering why you're not getting cheered on people's shoulders into the glorious days of the revolution seems to me as good a measure as to the level of practicality and reality a lot of online warriors are fit for.

Can you think of some specific examples where people harangued straight white males?

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Yet John Connors can go on rte and call the guards "scum" without recourse?

You're saying he wasn't challenged on that? And I agree with him regarding the paramilitaries who removed the squatters. I didn't like that the Garda assisted them but I accept that it was a court ruling and their hands were tied.

The American left abandoned the white male worker (all workers really but in particular attacked the white male) so the white working class abandoned it.

Really? Not the corporations deciding to move their factories south of the border or overseas and lay off millions of employees? Or the profiteers of Wall St. Enabled by Republicans & Democrats equally. And they ain't the American left but the Centre and Right. The left has had no power in the US since the 1940s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Seathrun66 wrote:

Women don't vote, since when?

Very good points and I broadly agree. But with a minor proviso. Personally I'll don't harangue straight white males, of which I am one. But I do criticise those angry white males full of bile who are the proponents and lifeblood of this resurgent racist ideology that is globally gaining ground. It saddens me that the true causes of our recent recession and continuing woes have successfully diverted attention elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,025 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The percentage of travellers in prison shows 2 things:
    1 travellers are involved in crime at a higher rate than average.
    2 travellers are convicted and sentenced to prison at a higher rate than the aver age person. Seems about right to me. Lets see if anyone comes along to "silence" me or "shout me down" for my statement.

I'm very open to any suggestion to reduce criminality.

They weren't a tad respectful neither was the host!

Entirely subjective. I honourably disagree.

Women don't vote, since when?

They ain't the ones fuelling the bile. Though there are some notable exceptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Seanachai

I think politically correct is a redundant term, it was useful in less hysterical times when you made a gaffe or a faux pas with minor repercussions. It's much more serious now, the correct opinion on a variety of issues has been pre-determined, by Hollywood and the media in a lot of cases and if you diverge from that opinion you can expect to lose your job, reputation etc.

In my twenties I saw the left as being the people that appreciated freedom of expression the most, what I see now in the opposite. They seem to be actively calling for anything that hurts their ears to be shut down and they want to see anybody with a contrary view destroyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Seathrun66 wrote:
    They ain't the ones fuelling the bile. Though there are some notable exceptions.

You said angry white men are responsible for Oban, Brexit and Trump. Patently not true as women have the vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Seanachai

Very good points and I broadly agree. But with a minor proviso. Personally I'll don't harangue straight white males, of which I am one. But I do criticise those angry white males full of bile who are the proponents and lifeblood of this resurgent racist ideology that is globally gaining ground. It saddens me that the true causes of our recent recession and continuing woes have successfully diverted attention elsewhere.

Where do you see this 'resurgent racist ideology' gaining ground in any great numbers and do you perceive there to be an organised racist movement in Ireland?

Seanachai wrote: »
    I think politically correct is a redundant term, it was useful in less hysterical times when you made a gaffe or a faux pas with minor repercussions. It's much more serious now, the correct opinion on a variety of issues has been pre-determined, by Hollywood and the media in a lot of cases and if you diverge from that opinion you can expect to lose your job, reputation etc.

In my twenties I saw the left as being the people that appreciated freedom of expression the most, what I see now in the opposite. They seem to be actively calling for anything that hurts their ears to be shut down and they want to see anybody with a contrary view destroyed.

Not amongst those I know and engage with. Much of the stuff you refer to is reactionary undergraduate stuff that the media seize upon for clickbait. The more extreme stuff is better news.

I also notice no reluctance here for people to say what they wish. Facebook & Twitter also.

People are not being silenced. They're just being challenged.