Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey to contest the European elections

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Take a look at the date on this post.

I suggest you read the rest of what I said today . I have only described it as the ROT today. I addressed why I called it the lovely girl competition that day and again today. So you can claiming I said something I didn't and I can keep referring to as a liar if you like. Circles Francie, but I won't be getting a ban because of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,110 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I suggest you read the rest of what I said today . I have only described it as the ROT today. I addressed why I called it the lovely girl competition that day and again today. So you can claiming I said something I didn't and I can keep referring to as a liar if you like. Circles Francie, but I won't be getting a ban because of you.

Alright. Whatever you say.

Okay...moving swiftly away from this. The level of self awareness isn't what it ought to be.

Nite Plumb.

Nah you said it better, just avoid telling porkies you'll be sound.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Nah you said it better, just avoid telling porkies you'll be sound.

I love this. You:

1. Call everyone liars
    2. Claim you made no reference to Maria Walsh being a ROT winner until today
    3. When pointed out that you mentioned it beforehand, you circle around it saying you didn't call it the Rose of Tralee, you called it something else so it's not the same thing.

F*cking spoofer

Nobelium wrote: »
    as cynical and jaded as I am, please tell me there is at least something other that that . . .

She will be representing the FG agenda in Europe. Whether she is able for that or not remains to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

out of interest apart from the ROT and her constant public announcements about her sexuality what are her qualifications for MEP ?
    None.
    SFA it seems !

as cynical and jaded as I am, please tell me there is at least something other that that . . .
    Sorry

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Nobelium

She will be representing the FG agenda in Europe. Whether she is able for that or not remains to be seen.

was she elected already ? interesting

Google is available to anyone with an internet connection you know? :)

She hasn't been elected before.

Google is available to anyone with an internet connection you know? :)

She hasn't been elected before.

so why the grammar choice of will be instead of might be ?

:confused: She's a member of FG. Bit early for talk of a split.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

What political experience does Maria Walsh have that makes her a suitable candidate to run in the European elections? Joke of a candidate. Although, Simon Harris is the Minister for Health and he studied journalism so I suppose she fits in with FG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,859 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

How did the Peter Casey thread end up as an abortion thread?

What political experience does Maria Walsh have that makes her a suitable candidate to run in the European elections? Joke of a candidate. Although, Simon Harris is the Minister for Health and he studied journalism so I suppose she fits in with FG.

She has none but due to winning the ROT and her being openly gay gives her a public profile which the back room lads and lasses of FG hope will get her elected if not to Europe then to the next Dail . It's only about numbers for the parties not ability.

At least she is in a party structure. What about the 'experience' in politics of the thread subject. Zero, and zero work at any level of politics or service to the public.

Peter doesn't want to leave the EURO now. Phew, we are saved. :rolleyes:

This thread is giving me a migraine.

:confused: She's a member of FG. Bit early for talk of a split.

You said she will, when was she elected as an MEP then ? How do you claim to know the election result ?

Wha?

She will represent FG if elected. I thought we all knew the election hadn't happened yet. Sorry about that! :rolleyes:

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Peter doesn't want to leave the EURO now. Phew, we are saved. :rolleyes:

Done an about turn on joining the EPP as well, which he was in favour of because he's 'pro-business'.

An absolute chancer.

Casey's total contribution on farming to the Week In Politics was ...'Look what's happening in farming, I mean it's (throws hands in air).....'

I suppose farming isn't that important in the Midlands-North West. :)

Edit: He didn't even throw his hands in the air, he turned his palms upwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

This thread is giving me a migraine.
    After reading the last few pages of this thread, I now know why AH mods are actually paid in pot ....... as in marijuana ..... as in ganja.

Respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Seems even as a sitting MEP he is unaware of the role. Yet he's a professional according to some here. As an aside Matt is going to run for election in the next GE so we will get a nominee if his without the right to vote for them or to know their position on policy.
    Professional means it's his profession. It doesn't make any comment as to whether he is good, bad or indifferent.

She's there to guarantee that McGuinness gets lots of transfers and to improve her profile, most probably for a GE run(Mayo?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Matt Carthy never struck me as being overburdened with intellectual capacity, maybe he just interviews and parliaments badly.

Bambi wrote: »
    Matt Carthy never struck me as being overburdened with intellectual capacity, maybe he just interviews and parliaments badly.
    He's a "good" SF rep, part of the Pearse Doherty school of engagement. People see that as a strength and there's a higher level of SF support where he's running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 bells of shandon

The European Parliament is a gravy train retirement home for useless politicians.
    Would prefer if Casey ran for the Dail.
    It is heartening to see ,that at least one forum member here is aware of the racket that is the EU.
    The EU Parliament has no ability to initiate or amend legislation. It is a fig-leaf for a pretend democracy.
    Laws are made by the unelected ,unaccountable 27 man Commission.
    The Laws are superior to Nation State Law.
    Members of the EU are vassal States.Members of the Eurozone currency system are enslaved in a dysfunctional currency union.

is_that_so wrote:
    Professional means it's his profession. It doesn't make any comment as to whether he is good, bad or indifferent.

Grand so, it doesn't preclude anyone throwing their hat in the ring because they are not a professional politician. They will be professional when elected.

Get on the ballot and you can, even you!

is_that_so wrote:
    Get on the ballot and you can, even you!

Not having a go, just a response to nonsense claims about contenders not being professionals. You answered in a measured manner, fair play.

It is heartening to see ,that at least one forum member here is aware of the racket that is the EU.
    The EU Parliament has no ability to initiate or amend legislation. It is a fig-leaf for a pretend democracy.
    Laws are made by the unelected ,unaccountable 27 man Commission.
    The Laws are superior to Nation State Law.
    Members of the EU are vassal States.Members of the Eurozone currency system are enslaved in a dysfunctional currency union.

You and Pete will get right along...oh wait, he doesn't want to leave the Eurozone anymore...or this week anyhow.