Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Saving Private Ryan returning to cinemas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Dufflecoat Fanny

I saw this when it came out and it blew me away. The opening landing sequence was too much for some people and they got up and left. Then when the german killed the american in hand to hand combat a bunch more people left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,410 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

lawred2 wrote: »
    Not really. Most of these war movies depict Germans as inhuman killers whereas allied soldiers are always firmly in the pure as driven snow hero category.

It didn't need such an article really. It's blatantly obvious. Hardly something I'd describe as subtle.

Totally agree. The de-humanising of The German soldier is a feature of a lot of American WW2 films and Saving Private Ryan is no different.

However the article he linked too is full of fairly odious politics in general.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,611 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Over 20 years old and still there's not been another film that can touch the utter brutality and rawness of the combat scenes.
    The one-on-one fight in an upstairs room between Adam Goldberg and a German soldier I find really disturbing. It's nothing like a Hollywood knife fight, but a dirty horrible scrap to survive between two humans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Dufflecoat Fanny

Arghus wrote: »
    Totally agree. The de-humanising of The German soldier is a feature of a lot of American WW2 films and Saving Private Ryan is no different.

However the article he linked too is full of fairly odious politics in general.

The Germans are well able to see themselves as de-humanised too. Watch The Captain and you'll see what I mean.

https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/the_captain_2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Not really. Most of these war movies depict Germans as inhuman killers whereas allied soldiers are always firmly in the pure as driven snow hero category.

It didn't need such an article really. It's blatantly obvious. Hardly something I'd describe as subtle.

Have you seen Fury? The main characters are portrayed as anything but pure as driven snow heroes.

The movie had its issues but an unrealistic portrayal of soldiers wasn't one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,461 ✭✭✭✭beauf

pixelburp wrote: »
    The film did kickstart the trend of handheld, "shaky cam" action, and while the master can't be blamed for the imitators, I still hold a little bitterness for Spielberg introducing this often repeated and equally often nauseating technique.

Man I hate shaky can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Very worth see the landing sequence in cinema all right for those who havent seen it. It was a league jump in war film realism, and worked in every way, shaky cam, slow mo, underwater, the whole chaos. Absolutely fantastic, and total shock to the the system when we saw it at the time. And it still stands up.

You can leave after that though. The rest of it has little or nothing to offer. Cliche, ticks a few standard plot boxes, and ends with a laughable A-Team worthy sequence. In sharp contrast to Band of Brothers, whose greatness was its echewing of that kind of pap. And thats leaving aside the bookend contemporary revisit bits. Probably meant something to sons of the greatest generation like Spielberg himself, but poor movie making.

Still, I'd pay in to see the first half hour again. Then leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Shred

Cheers OP, I just picked up tickets for Vue.

It's one of my absolute favourite films and it was an incredible experience seeing it in Savoy (R.I.P.) when it came out. It became my go to demo movie for my home cinema at the time; the sound is incredible. I bought the 4k Blu-Ray last year and it still looks absolutely amazing, then there's the Dolby Atmos track - whoa :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I. and bringing these movies back to the Cinema just smacks of lets make more money !

Tell me about it. Youd nearly think they were businesses they was these crowds operate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Killinator wrote: »
    So anybody know which cimenas are showing. Searched Vue in adublin but it wasn't showing up

I booked it in vue just after the OP posted.

Edit , see you go sorted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Nobelium

Can't for the life of me see why Irish cinemas should be showing this for an anniversary of D-Day.

Celebrate it as fantastic piece of cinema and an an excellent movie fine but D-Day anniversary celebrations are not really something I think we should be getting involved in.

The Irish army reserve played the extras in the D-Day scenes and Ballinesker Beach, Curracloe Strand, Ballinesker in Co. Wicklow and Ardmore studies were used for the filming of the D-Day sequence in the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,789 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Nobelium wrote: »
    The Irish army reserve played the extras in the D-Day scenes and Ballinesker Beach, Curracloe Strand, Ballinesker in Co. Wicklow and Ardmore studies were used for the filming of the D-Day sequence in the film.

Yeah it's almost like they were there on Omaha beach in 1944..

I jest but some Irish people being extras in a movie filmed in Ireland doesn't really mean a whole lot.

Yeah it's almost like they were there on Omaha beach in 1944..

I jest but some Irish people being extras in a movie filmed in Ireland doesn't really mean a whole lot.

Well other then those people and their friends and family have in seeing them in the cinema.

Besides there were a lot of Irish who fought in WW2 and were involved in d-day.

Also it's a water shed in cinema at least for war movies. So movie buffs would be interested.

Very worth see the landing sequence in cinema all right for those who havent seen it. It was a league jump in war film realism, and worked in every way, shaky cam, slow mo, underwater, the whole chaos. Absolutely fantastic, and total shock to the the system when we saw it at the time. And it still stands up.

You can leave after that though. The rest of it has little or nothing to offer. Cliche, ticks a few standard plot boxes, and ends with a laughable A-Team worthy sequence. In sharp contrast to Band of Brothers, whose greatness was its echewing of that kind of pap. And thats leaving aside the bookend contemporary revisit bits. Probably meant something to sons of the greatest generation like Spielberg himself, but poor movie making.

Still, I'd pay in to see the first half hour again. Then leave.

That's a bit harsh. The rest of the movie has some great scenes. Perhaps not accurate and bias. But they capture the misery and emotional trauma of war/combat. No movie is accurate but they have to tell a story and give some sense of the experience. The rest of the movie does that. If clichéd. Still very worth watching.

Maybe I'm of a different generation where I can see the flaws and not let them distract me that much, as we had to use our imagination to look past this kinda stuff in older movies.

Fury is another flawed movie in so many ways, but lots to appreciate as well. The sound of a tank firing etc.

beauf wrote: »
    Also it's a water shed in cinema at least for war movies. So movie buffs would be interested.

Filmed on Irish beaches, with Irish Defence Forces reenacting one of the most realistic war film scenes ever. The mind boggles as to why some Irish people would question why it should be re shown in an Irish cinema.

As an allied forces D-Day commemoration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,141 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Great Movie remember seeing it with my Brother in Blanch.
    Btw if you have a decent 4K TV and Apple 4K box you can pick this up for €4.99
    Also its a free country last time I checked! if anyone wants to go watch one of the very best War movies they can and it shouldn't matter if your Irish or not! Take your political agendas elsewhere!

Is anti d-day a thing now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

LastLagoon wrote: »
    Thin Red Line which came out around the same time was way better

that was a biggest load of pretentious twaddle I have ever seen

beauf wrote: »
    Is anti d-day a thing now?

Not at all. Personally I find it odd to commemorate something that had nothing to do with us.

Others don't. Grand. As someone else said it's a free country.

I've probably seen that movie four or five times myself but just wouldn't go to see it for those purposes. That's all.

Not at all. Personally I find it odd to commemorate something that had nothing to do with us.

Others don't. Grand. As someone else said it's a free country.

I've probably seen that movie four or five times myself but just wouldn't go to see it for those purposes. That's all.

The dramatised events of D-Day make up a good chunk of the entire first act of the movie, surely it makes a certain degree of sense to re-release it on that anniversary date rather than any other random date on the calender?

I wouldn't get too caught up on the "commemorative" side of things. Yeah, it's a nod to the history depicted on screen and featured prominently in the film, but at the end of the day it's just a film re-release really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,613 ✭✭✭valoren

In the summer of 1997 I think it was RTE who dedicated an episode of Nationwide detailing the production at Curracloe. The whole premise was regarding the attractiveness of Ireland as a tax-breaking filming location and given the success of Braveheart this was now vindicated as more big names with Spielberg and Hanks were now here filming. The program mainly involved interviewing the hired defence force extras, who were simultaneously delighted with the generous daily rate but bored at all the waiting around. There were then some scenes of the extras "performing" i.e. An assistant director would shout "Action", the lads would jump up and run, some would comically fall over having gotten shot and the squibs in the sand would go off to simulate the bullet hits. The whole thing looked to be a laugh and a joke for the lads.

I just had a feeling that the whole thing looked ridiculous and distinctly 'Hollywood' i.e. a slick production in town to make a glamorous stars n' stripes old-school depiction of the D-Day landing with people falling over dramatically. That was my expectation going in to watch it but when the opening scene segues from the graveyard in France to the low shot of the waves on the beach and then jump cuts to the Higgins boats bearing down on the beach my misgivings from the Nationwide show were all forgotten about. A grim, nauseating, bloody, adrenaline pumping, traumatising and ear shattering scene. Just like it must have been on the day. After two disappointments from Spielberg (with Lost World/Amistad) he reminded us what a genius he is in that opening sequence and what a brilliant job the extras actually did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

I wasn't gone on the film. I "enjoyed" it (If that's the word you should use) initially but after about a day or so I re-evaluated my opinion (Again, just MY opinion). Watching it again shortly afterwards reinforced my opinion.

The first 20 mins or so showed the raw brutality of war: Guys who had trained for months and been equipped and shipped all the way over were instantly killed without having taken a step off the landing craft. This was no 60's/70's war movie with the group on a mission goin' Nazi huntin'. This was hard to watch slaughter.

But then the rest of the film is exactly that: Men On A Mission type thing with very thinly drawn characters in general. I just thought the rest of the movie went against the grain of the brutal and honest start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

The Longest Day is a better movie from an historical perspective, Saving Private Ryan is basically a generic war flick for the most part

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

Irish cinema's can put it on whatever day they like, and Irish film goers can enjoy it whatever day they like without your permission.

Filmed on Irish beaches, using the legitimate Irish Defence Forces, so you can politely shove any provo/ISIS/Saoradh loving politics up your hole. :)

Charming

Irish cinema's can put it on whatever day they like, and Irish film goers can enjoy it whatever day they like without your permission.

Filmed on Irish beaches, using the legitimate Irish Defence Forces, so you can politely shove any provo/ISIS/Saoradh loving politics up your hole. :)

Hey, at least he put the smiley face at the end.

Saved it from sounding like an unhinged rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Loved the first half hour but the rest of the film is MEH

Band of brothers far superior

Arghus wrote: »
    Hey, at least he put the smiley face at the end.

Saved it from sounding like an unhinged rant.

I'm not the one that has some weird provo/saoradh type issue with people going to see saving private ryan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I'm not the one that has some weird provo/saoradh type issue with people going to see saving private ryan

Bit much. The reason the film is being screened here again is that SVP is arguably the best war movie ever made, is widely recognised as same, people would likely appreciate being able to see it on the big screen for either the first time, or again, and it's the D-Day anniversary.

No point looking too deeply into it or finding things that aren't there.

It's nothing to do with the fact it was shot here or that it had Irish extras.