"Non book readers" - Season 8 Episode 2 "A Knight of the 7" - Spoilers post 2 fo

I think it will be quite lame if the white walkers end up having no real purpose and get defeated easily. They’ve been built up so much.

What was wrong with living peacefully north of the wall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

I think it will be quite lame if the white walkers end up having no real purpose and get defeated easily. They’ve been built up so much.

What was wrong with living peacefully north of the wall?

What was the NKs plan to get through the wall before he had a dragon? They were already on their way to it, hence the wildlings fleeing the North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,009 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Yeah, so much build up, something large-scale has to happen.

Unless the battle would be spread over 2 episodes, interspersed with Cersei's army taking control of everywhere else?

But then what?

I know GOT has a reputation for avoiding cliche, but as others have said, a battle between the army of the dead and Cersei would be a real anti-climax.

Tbh I think most viewers expect that things will end up with either Jon or Danaerys on the Iron Throne, and are just trying to think how that will all work out, and who/what is in place to add a 'twist' to the story.

Until it was revealed that Jon was a Targaryan, it all seemed a little easier to imagine. That revelation has to have some impact somewhere...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,836 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

osarusan wrote: »

I know GOT has a reputation for avoiding cliche

Has that dwindled a bit in recent series though, as the storyline moved away from the books? I thought the dragons swooping in a the last minute to rescue the Magnificent Seven was the most hackneyed thing ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

I reckon Dany will turn Mad Queen and try to either kill John or turn people against him somehow,

surely we will see a few major characters turned into White Walkers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,696 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

If it comes down to Cersei vs Night King I'm on team Night King. :pac:

I’m already on TeamNK! He’s sexy in a dead, cold, evil sort of way.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

....... wrote: »
    What was the NKs plan to get through the wall before he had a dragon? They were already on their way to it, hence the wildlings fleeing the North.

This is what I want to know. If he needed the dragon to break through the wall then by trying to stop him (by going north of the wall to get a wildling to convince Cersei to join them in the war) they gave him what he needed to break through the wall. If they had ignored the threat of the Night King then everything would be just grand as he'd have no way to get through the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

I’m already on TeamNK! He’s sexy in a dead, cold, evil sort of way.

he's a pretty cool guy!! har har!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Team Cersei all the way, against any army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Nermal

storker wrote: »
    The dragon could have been thinking "You da man" and might respond to a "Drakaris" aimed at Jon by toasting Danaerys herself instead, which would be a delicious irony.

Fire cannot kill a dragon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

This is what I want to know. If he needed the dragon to break through the wall then by trying to stop him (by going north of the wall to get a wildling to convince Cersei to join them in the war) they gave him what he needed to break through the wall. If they had ignored the threat of the Night King then everything would be just grand as he'd have no way to get through the wall.

Bran and the NK's story are so intertwined that I wouldnt be surprised if he had some ability like the TER to see into the future.

The dead could have killed Jon and the merry band of men on the frozen lake before Dany ever showed up but in attacking them moments before hand, it gave the NK his chance to acquire a dragon in the madness that followed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Mr.Maroon

Can the Night King speak?
    I know he hasn't yet - but has there been any reference to him speaking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭roady rhodes

Mr.Maroon wrote: »
    He's fluent in Icelandic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,836 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Mr.Maroon wrote: »

He's a master of nonverbal signals apparently

ned-umber-thrones-death-0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

B_ecke_r wrote: »
    I reckon Dany will turn Mad Queen and try to either kill John or turn people against him somehow,

Hundred percent think Dany is going to go Mad Queen.

Jon trumping her claim to the Iron Throne appears to have enraged her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Daney is impervious to fire too so rules that out, I did have a thought that Jon would be in deep sheeet during the battles and the dragons would go to the true king to defend him, leaving daney isolated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I think the mark he put on Bran meant he could pass through the wall. The wight they took to KL was still moving. Passing the wall didn't "kill" it. The NK has huge numbers and would easily over power the nights watch. All he had to do was rock up to the wall, freeze the door, smash it and walk through. The dragon just made it easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

B_ecke_r wrote: »

Can the characters be turned into white walkers? I thought they could only be turned into wights? I could be wrong, but i don't think we've ever seen a character turned into a white walker before except for Crastor's baby and the NK in the flashback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,249 ✭✭✭ardinn

Im think Dany gets turned and sits as the Ice Queen on the Iron throne.

You heard it here 1st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,009 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Has that dwindled a bit in recent series though, as the storyline moved away from the books? I thought the dragons swooping in a the last minute to rescue the Magnificent Seven was the most hackneyed thing ever.
    Indeed. And the ease and speed with which the dragons swooped in to rescue them makes it a poor decision not to just send them in the first place (to maybe fight against a handful of dead, instead of a massed army).

I know that suspension of disbelief is the price we pay for excitement, but that was one time that they took it too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭tobsey

osarusan wrote: »
    Indeed. And the ease and speed with which the dragons swooped in to rescue them makes it a poor decision not to just send them in the first place (to maybe fight against a handful of dead, instead of a massed army).

I know that suspension of disbelief is the price we pay for excitement, but that was one time that they took it too far.

Dany didn’t know about the NK and his army until it was very large. I get the point being made about the rescue being a bit too contrived.

What’s the difference between a white walker and a wight?

it would seem that the white walkers are essentially all Crasters sons. They're the ones that are made as babies when they're left out in the snow. Wights are just dead bodies reanimated in various states of decomp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

J. Marston wrote: »
    I am not ready to see Lyanna Mormont die on the battlefield.

The sooner the better, as far as I'm concerned!

So once the Night King touched the babies cheek they grew into adult white walkers or are there little ankle biter white walkers, pubescent white walkers? I can just imagine Kevin & Perry white walkers :D

it's defo not clear in the show anyway, so I guess we have to assume they go from babies to old long haired ice monsters.

it would seem that the white walkers are essentially all Crasters sons. They're the ones that are made as babies when they're left out in the snow. Wights are just dead bodies reanimated in various states of decomp

Jaysus Craster has an awful lot to answer for. He had an enormous hand in raising the army of the dead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I am hoping they tie this up better. There is a previous scene where we see them at their home in the far north beyond the wall. This is where they generate themselves with the babies. It would be great to get a better reveal on this mystery. If they don't elaborate more on this it will be a head scratcher for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

But next week's battle has been hyped up so much, surely it can't end in some indecisive stalemate? So instead Team NK wins, the good guys get wiped out, and the rest of the series becomes a confrontation between the White Walkers and the new 'good guys' (needs must) Team Cersei? Hard to see that happening either...

It doesn’t have to be either one side survives or the other, in fact no GoT battle has ever been that (except maybe Stannis/Ramsey). At Blackwater, Stannis lost but survived and came back. At Castle Black, the wildlings still had the advantage despite losing the initial battle (until Stannis showed up). Jon and the wildlings got their arses kicked at Hardhomme but look at them now! It’s way too simplistic to see this as winner plays Cersei in the final, there are a million ways it could go and loads of time to do it in 4 episodes. Sure they already have seeded a back-up plan in Dany retreating to the Iron Islands if things go south.