If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leinster v Toulouse L'effort pour cinq contre The Drive for Five

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Squatter wrote: »
    It's my opinion, based on watching both teams regularly over the past number of years. You are completely free to agree or disagree with it as you prefer. Rest assured that I won't lose any sleep over which option you take.

I will add that, with all due respect to Peter O'Mahony, I regard Itoje and Liam Williams as probably the biggest cheats in European rugby.

That too - in case you're confused - is my opinion.

Ah OK, so nothing here at all, just vague platitudes. Insightful stuff. Probably all the dark arts and unseen work they're doing in the thick of battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Richie_Rich89

With all our 7s pretty much written off, who are we going to play there next season? What's up with VdF?

Connors and Peni

Yeah really looking forward to getting Will Connors back. A really terrible time to take such a rough injury but just having himself and Penney there should free up Deegan to play elsewhere. Certainly no lack of talent in the loose five for next season. I'd be far more worried about the backs during the world cup.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Yeah really looking forward to getting Will Connors back. A really terrible time to take such a rough injury but just having himself and Penney there should free up Deegan to play elsewhere. Certainly no lack of talent in the loose five for next season. I'd be far more worried about the backs during the world cup.

Really?

JGP, HOS, Patterson;
    R. Byrne, Frawley, H. Byrne
    Tomane, ROL, C. O'Brien, J. O'Brien
    Lowe, Daly, A. Byrne, Keenan, Kelly, (maybe) D. Kearney.

Plus whoever breaks out from the academy.

I think we'll be just fine. People forget that the other teams will be missing their best players as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,783 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Faugheen wrote: »
    Really?

JGP, HOS, Patterson;

I think we'll be just fine. People forget that the other teams will be missing their best players as well.

You forgot Ferg as well, hasn't been any indication of him retiring yet either.

Really?

JGP, HOS, Patterson;

I'm not worried at all, I just think the quality of depth and experience isn't there when compared to our pack. If we lost a couple of those guys we could see a struggle. Hopefully the quality of the pack gives them an easier ride.

Other teams will lose players, we'll lose the most as usual.

I'm not worried at all, I just think the quality of depth and experience isn't there when compared to our pack. If we lost a couple of those guys we could see a struggle. Hopefully the quality of the pack gives them an easier ride.

Other teams will lose players, we'll lose the most as usual.

9. JGP, 10. Byrne, 11. Lowe, 12. Tomane, 13. ROL, 14. A. Byrne, 15. Daly.

That's an excellent backline full of experience at Pro14 level, especially in a league whose sides will be depleted of their best players. We've also got Cian Kelleher coming back as well. Completely forgot about that.

Certainly none of our provincial rivals will be able to stand up to that? There's also the chance McGrath doesn't go to the World Cup which will give us a full compliment at 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

swiwi_ wrote: »
    ...should have went...

Yip this an Irish-based forum ;)

(to be sure)

Come to North America and you’ll hear ‘have went’ all the time:

https://english.stackexchange.com/questions/449476/is-have-went-gaining-common-currency-in-ame-and-bre

9. JGP, 10. Byrne, 11. Lowe, 12. Tomane, 13. ROL, 14. A. Byrne, 15. Daly.

That's an excellent backline full of experience at Pro14 level, especially in a league whose sides will be depleted of their best players. We've also got Cian Kelleher coming back as well. Completely forgot about that.

Certainly none of our provincial rivals will be able to stand up to that? There's also the chance McGrath doesn't go to the World Cup which will give us a full compliment at 9.

Yes, Tomane at 12 ahead of Conor O'Brien.

He's a better player than Conor O'Brien, so yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,727 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Woah. Don't bring logic into your argument with Richie.

Tomane had a good game last time out so looking forward to seeing more of him before the season is out.

He's not a better 12 on the evidence of this season. Also, O'Brien would have far more scope for improvement.

And over the course of the last 7 years?

James Lowe wouldn't have got in an AIL side if you believed some of the tripe on here in the last couple of years.

He's had a bad injury and got better as each game comes. One try O'Brien scored against a ****e defence doesn't make him a better player than a 19-time capped Wallaby,

I know you don't like foreigners or even Irish lads with foreign names, but give it a f*cking rest. It's the same ****e every single time someone doesn't prefer your precious Conor O'Brien.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Ardillaun wrote: »
    Come to North America and you’ll hear ‘have went’ all the time:

https://english.stackexchange.com/questions/449476/is-have-went-gaining-common-currency-in-ame-and-bre

Better still, come to NZ and hear that he done good.

I wasn’t mocking by the way, just that expression “have went” is pretty Irish just like others such as I’m after doing something.

And over the course of the last 7 years?

James Lowe wouldn't have got in an AIL side if you believed some of the tripe on here in the last couple of years.

He's had a bad injury and got better as each game comes. One try O'Brien scored against a ****e defence doesn't make him a better player than a 19-time capped Wallaby,

I know you don't like foreigners or even Irish lads with foreign names, but give it a f*cking rest. It's the same ****e every single time someone doesn't prefer your precious Conor O'Brien.

The Lowe criticism was from one person, and, frankly, you'd have to question the rugby knowledge of someone who held those views.

Does 17 caps for Aus count for much when they were on the wing and we're talking about his merits as an inside centre? David Kearney has 17 caps on the wing for Ireland. Would you select him ahead of O'Brien at 12 based on that?

It's not all about who has more caps at a higher level. Fergus McFadden has played a good few times in the centre at European Cup level for Leinster, and has international caps as a centre. I certainly wouldn't have him ahead of O'Brien in the centre.

And saying it's based on one try is a complete straw man. O'Brien's shown a huge amount more than that one try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

You forgot Ferg as well, hasn't been any indication of him retiring yet either.

And Kelliher, don’t forget what’s his name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

It was a shocking pass under relatively minimal pressure out of Henshaw for the Lowe non try. Looked forward to me, so the try would probably have been chalked off anyway.

I thought Henshaw looked sharp overall, but contrast his execution of the basics with some of the on-the-money passes Nonu has been throwing in SR lately.

Never thought I'd see the day Richie, but I actually agree with you.

Robbies final pass was outrageously forward for Lowe and if the blocked wasn't called, the pass would have been.

The second point however is a bit much. Henshaws skills and distribution is absolutely top notch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Squatter

Ah OK, so nothing here at all, just vague platitudes. Insightful stuff. Probably all the dark arts and unseen work they're doing in the thick of battle.

Count your blessings that I haven't been asked for my opinion on the stupidest poster on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Looks like Fardy got McCaws cloak of invisibility when McCaw retired.

https://twitter.com/CharlieFelix/status/1120622044587208704?s=19

https://twitter.com/CharlieFelix/status/1120584298606804993?s=19

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

awec wrote: »
    So, on a more serious point, what's the craic with the Guinness being replaced by Murphys?

Who signed off on that?
    Heineken own Murphys... or is it the same distributor? There's definitely a tight relationship between the two, anyway. TBH, I thought it was FAR better than the Guinness they usually serve there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Stout is ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Burkie1203 wrote: »

Looks like Fardy got McCaws cloak of invisibility when McCaw retired.

https://twitter.com/CharlieFelix/status/1120622044587208704?s=19

https://twitter.com/CharlieFelix/status/1120584298606804993?s=19

Dont think he did anything of note in the first clip. The second one though was pure class divilment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Stout is ****e.

Heathen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

molloyjh wrote: »
    Dont think he did anything of note in the first clip. The second one though was pure class divilment.

He just pushes down on the arm/shoulder of the Toulouse player on the wrong side just enough to hinder him getting up while blocking him from exiting towards the touchline. He placed himself very carefully there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

dregin wrote: »
    Heineken own Murphys... or is it the same distributor? .

yep

famously all the Guinness sponsorship boards had to be covered by Heineken ones in Lansdowne road previously. Didn't notice if same was done this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,874 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Riskymove wrote: »
    yep

famously all the Guinness sponsorship boards had to be covered by Heineken ones in Lansdowne road previously. Didn't notice if same was done this time

I have it in my head that when it was the H cup even the RDS could only do Heineken brand stuff in the group games. Could be wrong there though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,470 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Does all the piss not come from the same masters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Hippo

No problem with Fardy doing what he does - I don't think Richie Grey did a single legal thing on Saturday!

Squatter wrote: »
    Count your blessings that I haven't been asked for my opinion on the stupidest poster on this thread.

Why, who is that?

Burkie1203 wrote: »

I’d say he probably just found Nathan Hines’ in one of the storage rooms! :D