Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How the f**k can you afford a decent car?

So a mondeo going from London to Edinburgh would release more than 33 tons of Co2?

4ib8ss4rh0p11.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

I'd love a nice car but I dont think I'd ever spend more than 10k on one, unless I won the lottery.
    I'd never pay more than I could afford in cash, as in I'd never buy it on credit, pcp whatever. F**k giving the banks anymore of my hard earned wages.
    It staggers me how people go for cars of 30k-40k+ on salaries similar or below mine (I have a decent salary and would never even consider it) but each to their own. I think its such a waste of money myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,955 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

terrydel wrote: »
    I'd love a nice car but I dont think I'd ever spend more than 10k on one, unless I won the lottery.
    I'd never pay more than I could afford in cash, as in I'd never buy it on credit, pcp whatever. F**k giving the banks anymore of my hard earned wages.
    It staggers me how people go for cars of 30k-40k+ on salaries similar or below mine (I have a decent salary and would never even consider it) but each to their own. I think its such a waste of money myself.

Enjoy the nice things in life....when your lying on your death bed will you be talking about how you never owned a brand new car :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Enjoy the nice things in life....when your lying on your death bed will you be talking about how you never owned a brand new car :P

Have no desire for one mate, and for the 10k I'd go to I can have a great car.
    Only new vehicle ive owned was a peugeot scooter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Unless your putting yourself under finance pressure then I don't see the problem with people buying new cars. Also keeps me in a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

cpoh1 wrote: »
    Not getting the CC comments myself, these are identical in everyway to other vag, be in superb, normal passat etc.why would the CC eat injectors sensore and bearings any more than these?

Just to add i have a 120k miles CC with a DSG and it has been flawless.

You’re lucky. I had a 2009 one and it absolutely broke my heart. Most of the issues mentioned and more. If you haven’t had any issues you will. Issues started at about 100k miles and by 150k I was done, one thing after the next and endless time off work trying to sort it.

They are a nice car when they are going well but no way I’d touch one again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭lalababa

People who buy new cars are financially illogical idiots!! Ha ha only kidding. But to the OP....if you're feeling under pressure money/car wise you can buy a really comfy mid-range luxury saloon that is reliable for a few k. Eg. 2000-2008 Volvo s40 1.6/1.8 petrol with 70-150thoumiles odometer. Service it well and go another 70-120thoumiles. Plenty other examples Mazda 3, Mondeo and on and on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

terrydel wrote: »
    Have no desire for one mate, and for the 10k I'd go to I can have a great car.
    Only new vehicle ive owned was a peugeot scooter!

Funnily enough, a couple months back I had around 13-14k saved up and was look at petrol hatchbacks. Couldn't find anything remotely interesting that wasn't either in bits, or was too hard to insure (like a mk6 GTI etc). Was contemplating going down the PCP route as I'd more than a substantial deposit and would have no issue keeping up the payments

Ended up picking up a 2010 Astra SE, decent spec, enough poke in it, 2 year NCT for 4k. Taxed it for the year and insured it for less than half what I was looking at 2013 Golfs and Focus for, and couldn't be happier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 bob.k

To be fair Bob, those Insignias are scrap. As you say, prone to losing oil pressure with no forewarning writing off the engine, catching fire, chocolate gearboxes, absolute rubbish. There's a reason it's the same price as a Passat 4 years older than it with double the mileage.

Passat CC isn't much better, a much nicer yoke to be in than an Insignia and not as prone to "thermal incidents", the one in your link is a good looking vehicle but has a fine appetite for EGR coolers, injectors, ABS sensors, wheel bearings, slip rings and so forth.

I wouldn't wish an Insignia on my worst enemy, but you'll easily spend the guts of €750 - 1k a year to properly maintain a CC like that one unless you do everything DIY, which, you wont.

Really? Catching fire?? do many gearboxes go in them??

Fancied the insignia elite myself down the road!

Lads on a thread here saying they're a good motor once the oil seal issue is done...

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057972681&page=3

As regards the passat is it only the VAG group of vehicles that has the appetite for ABS sensors, wheel bearings?? Common faults on my own B6...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Yeah but sure even to tackle the oil seal is €4-500 as an item of preventative maintenance. That's 2-3 PCP payments on a new Insignia in itself which is half the point IMO.

VAG group stuff isn't usually as sturdy as all the hype, they are a bit fragile but at least they are easy on the eye and nice to sit in.

Nothing is invincible though, as mentioned the Mondeo with the 1.6 TDCi isn't a bastion of reliability, the 2.2 Avensis is a ****heap too. Most ageing yokes have issues and again, that's somewhat my point. Any €5k car is going to be far from maintenance free unless you're very lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 bob.k

Yeah but sure even to tackle the oil seal is €4-500 as an item of preventative maintenance. That's 2-3 PCP payments on a new Insignia in itself which is half the point IMO.

VAG group stuff isn't usually as sturdy as all the hype, they are a bit fragile but at least they are easy on the eye and nice to sit in.

Nothing is invincible though, as mentioned the Mondeo with the 1.6 TDCi isn't a bastion of reliability, the 2.2 Avensis is a ****heap too. Most ageing yokes have issues and again, that's somewhat my point. Any €5k car is going to be far from maintenance free unless you're very lucky.

True, if you're handy with the spanners though in terms of servicing etc and can find a spotless low mileage example with history you should be doing ok.

Im surprised to hear the Avensis is a ****heap, not what one expects from Toyota...

Have read that the new Lexus IS Mk3 is excellent in terms of reliability...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

bob.k wrote: »
    True, if you're handy with the spanners though in terms of servicing etc and can find a spotless low mileage example with history you should be doing ok.

Im surprised to hear the Avensis is a ****heap, not what one expects from Toyota...

Have read that the new Lexus IS Mk3 is excellent in terms of reliability...

Afaik it’s only the 2.2d Avensis that has significant problems the more common 2.0d is a good engine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

bob.k wrote: »
    What irks me so much is government and insurance companies forcing people into buying newer cars because they are making it more difficult to insure older vehicles. In some cases vehicles only 10 years old ffs...

Sure, they seem to forget that they are essentially insuring the driver and not the car. Mind you, we have a 05 Polo with still lowish mileage - sub 100K miles, passes the NCT fine and still renews for insurance OK but we've stuck with same company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭antiskeptic

Since my pay has increased nearly 50% over the last couple of years I thought I would buy a car that's not a thirsty, gutless and uncomfortable. I thought it would be nice to get something that had a bit of power, didn't cripple me on long journeys, and could play a podcast from USB without having wires all over the cabin leading into a homemade aux port in the glovebox.

But if I get something that meets those requirements, isn't ten years old, and doesn't have over 100,000 miles on it, I'd need about €15,000. How does anyone save that kind of money every few years working in a regular job? Do most people spread it out using finance? Even if I got finance, I would have to pay nearly €100 a week and over €2,000 in interest, and that's more than my pay can stand.

This is a serious inquiry. How does this work for most people? How do they lay their hands on new or new-ish cars? Are they all selling drugs on the side?

Er.. it doesn't work.

Folk prioritize a car over arguably far more important things. And finance it (adding to the already crazy cost)

Bloke at the kids footie told me of bringing in his 3 year old €28k grand pcp'd car and was told it was worth €13k and would he like to have a look at the shiny new models.

He gave them €13k and took the car.

€15k for 3 years motoring in a tin box?

Some can afford it but most can't. It's just the lure of the status we've been fooled into attaching to a car. You see it all the time: new cars pulling out of poor estates because once their on the road their actual status is transformed in the minds of other road users.

You can get something older which will have poke, luxury and good mileage for a fraction of the cost of a late plate.

Use the status con to your advantage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭ChuckLarry

Er.. it doesn't work.

Folk prioritize a car over arguably far more important things. And finance it (adding to the already crazy cost)

Bloke at the kids footie told me of bringing in his 3 year old €28k grand pcp'd car and was told it was worth €13k and would he like to have a look at the shiny new models.

Some can afford it but most can't. It's just the lure of the status we've been fooled into attaching to a car. You see it all the time: new cars pulling out of poor estates because once their on the road their actual status is transformed in the minds of other road users.

You can get something older which will have poke, luxury and good mileage for a fraction of the cost of a late plate.

I don’t see anything wrong with that?

Assuming he financed the 13k baloon over a further 3 years, roughly 360 per month plus a little interest

If hes working, can afford it and has budgeted for it whats the problem?

A reliable car he’s owned from new so knows it’s history and that it’s been well looked after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,321 ✭✭✭Allinall

Er.. it doesn't work.

What’s a poor estate look like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭McCrack

Allinall wrote: »

Where do you live and I'll tell you the nearest one and you can go have a look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭oceanman

for the op..never spent more than 2 grand on a car, always bought good models, Toyota, Nissan,honda,vw ect..always kept them well serviced and never had any major problems. don't fall into the trap of driving a reg plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

oceanman wrote: »
    for the op..never spent more than 2 grand on a car, always bought good models, Toyota, Nissan,honda,vw ect..always kept them well serviced and never had any major problems. don't fall into the trap of driving a reg plate.

Also dont fall into the trap of thinking that the only reason people buy new is the reg plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭McCrack

It usually is tbh

And the type of car is a giveaway.. Bmw 318, dacia, Corolla etc etc

Nearly without exception when I ask somebody what they are driving they reply with model and year. When I'm asked I reply with model....with little hesitation they follow up with what year? It's rather endemic here I'm afraid.
    It's like having your house painted every 3 years or bringing out the good china for the relatives, or going to Mass in rural Ireland. Car reg you can add to that...i.e. keeping up appearances.
    That said there are a lot of people who don't buy into that kind of craic and some of them buy new cars every few years, and fair f##ks to them!

lalababa wrote: »
    Nearly without exception when I ask somebody what they are driving they reply with model and year. When I'm asked I reply with model....with little hesitation they follow up with what year? It's rather endemic here I'm afraid.
    It's like having your house painted every 3 years or bringing out the good china for the relatives, or going to Mass in rural Ireland. Car reg you can add to that...i.e. keeping up appearances.
    That said there are a lot of people who don't buy into that kind of craic and some of them buy new cars every few years, and fair f##ks to them!

Not sure who you talk to, nobody I work with/friends with ever mention year....

You ask and get Qashqai or A3, 5 series etc

I can’t remember anyone ever going to me 2010 Audi A4 etc, that’s some mouthful

Even today, was with my mate who has brand new Car, we had a chat with a guy over a beer, came up about cars and he just said xyz car, no year....not once in conversation did year of cars come up

Mostly working class nosey enough types. Most car sales being in January and the big difference in prices between years regardless of milage and condition would back my viewpoint rather well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,037 ✭✭✭jmreire

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Not sure who you talk to, nobody I work with/friends with ever mention year....

You ask and get Qashqai or A3, 5 series etc

I can’t remember anyone ever going to me 2010 Audi A4 etc, that’s some mouthful

Even today, was with my mate who has brand new Car, we had a chat with a guy over a beer, came up about cars and he just said xyz car, no year....not once in conversation did year of cars come up

Unless of course it was in the context of a problem with a particular make of car IE: The BMW's from 2008 with the N47 engine were a bundle of trouble, but up to 2007 they were OK, with the M47 engine.

ELM327 wrote: »
    You're not driving yourself if you're using a wheel to turn the other wheels.

You're boring me now.

That's your come back, after being called out for stupid comments? :D:D

Ah, I didn't know Warren Buffet was from Cork.

Have you anything to put up as collateral? Something low risk, worth at least 70k and that will hold it's value? We'll put it into escrow somewhere.

Because if you have, I'm happy to give you 30k now up front. Not even spread over 5 years but up front. I'll finance your investment and we can split the difference. In 5 years you can give me 65k back and keep whatever is leftover (you project 35k) for yourself.......or else I'm keeping your collateral.

Deal?

You seem to have missed the sarcasm and that I was agreeing with you...

jmreire wrote: »
    Unless of course it was in the context of a problem with a particular make of car IE: The BMW's from 2008 with the N47 engine were a bundle of trouble, but up to 2007 they were OK, with the M47 engine.

You what now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,612 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Allinall wrote: »

I think he was just trying to be kind. An estate poor or otherwise is still an estate or scheme of houses. Most successful people will not be living in a semi D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,612 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Also dont fall into the trap of thinking that the only reason people buy new is the reg plate.

The ones who post on instagram and facebook every time they go out for a meal will be the most likely candidates for a new reg plate.

Second time you have posted the same thing on this thread......are you sure your not the one posting pics of your spuds and cabbage?