Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

"Non book readers" Season 8 - Speculation Thread - Spoilers on thread from 15th Apr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Whatever happened to Ilyn Payne? Isn't he on Arya's list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Whatever happened to Ilyn Payne? Isn't he on Arya's list?

He is, and he's just not a character that has any relevantpart to play in the show. No doubt there will be a scene in S8 with Arya taking him out in KL but I don't think they will make a whole subplot just for him at this stage. He was just an executioner.

I think Jaime is going to be one of the last men standing after he kills Cersei.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Im kind of hoping that Jon dies, I think his character is so boring. Him and his big speeches about honour are beginning to grate on me.

What made the show interesting at the start is that the difference between a good and an evil character wasn't that clear cut. The past few seasons have really set it up for hollywood style good vs. bad. Though when you have Bran around it doesn't leave much room for underhand sly tactics and back stabbing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

What made the show interesting at the start is that the difference between a good and an evil character wasn't that clear cut. The past few seasons have really set it up for hollywood style good vs. bad. Though when you have Bran around it doesn't leave much room for underhand sly tactics and back stabbing

I didnt really like him in the beginning either, I can appreciate he's lovely compared to most other characters but he still bores me to tears. I duno what it is, he doesn't really have much personality I think.

Agreed though its gone very Hollywood which hasnt helped. It's definitly not as good since grrm stopped getting involved in the writing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I didnt really like him in the beginning either, I can appreciate he's lovely compared to most other characters but he still bores me to tears. I duno what it is, he doesn't really have much personality I think.

Agreed though its gone very Hollywood which hasnt helped. It's definitly not as good since grrm stopped getting involved in the writing.

He was better craic when he was in the Nights watch and when he was with Ygritte. I hope he doesn't end up on the throne anyway. This kingly stuff doesn't really suit him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,626 ✭✭✭Mr Crispy

To be fair, he's been murdered by his colleagues and had a boy executed since. :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,023 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I hope they don't kill off the Night King during S8, you need a threat that he may come back again at some stage. Don't close the door fully on the franchise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

I'm hoping for a sad ending where the night king walks down a deserted throne room towards the iron throne, turns around and sits on it with that same expression he always... end scene, roll credits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Gazzmonkey wrote: »
    I'm hoping for a sad ending where the night king walks down a deserted throne room towards the iron throne, turns around and sits on it with that same expression he always... end scene, roll credits.

That would be epic! ...really sad but epic :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

I think when cersei and Danny have their babies, somebody will switch them. The night kings emblem is annoying me, looks like a tower, so thinking reference to the tower of joy or looks similar to the house of whitehill. Could just be bran being ironic since he fell from a tower after seeing Jamie and cersei baby making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

JamboMac wrote: »
    I think when cersei and Danny have their babies, somebody will switch them. The night kings emblem is annoying me, looks like a tower, so thinking reference to the tower of joy or looks similar to the house of whitehill. Could just be bran being ironic since he fell from a tower after seeing Jamie and cersei baby making.

Cersei will be in King's Landing and Dany will be in Dragonstone if she does get pregnant by Jon so how will this happen? They'd be miles away from each other and if Cersei isn't lying about being pregnant there's a bit of an age gap between the babies. I can't see that happening at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

He is, and he's just not a character that has any relevantpart to play in the show. No doubt there will be a scene in S8 with Arya taking him out in KL but I don't think they will make a whole subplot just for him at this stage. He was just an executioner.

Didn't she kill him when she posed as a child prostitute in Bravos?

I think Dany may potentially die. So far she'd never had too much risk and it's very much all about her taking over so I think she may be the one to lose out. I hope Jon survives regardless, whether he's made king or just lord of Winterfell. The news of them being related will happen after news of her pregnancy (they've hinted too much at her not being able to have an heir that this will have to come in to play). This will be the big drama, tears will be shed among them, but she could also be angry that her claim to the throne is threatened.

I think Dany will die and Jon will likely lead her to her death and possibly die with her. I think Tyrion knows their relationship is trouble, as shown by him looking worried after seeing them together. Jon, for all his honourable notions, makes terrible decisions and regularly has to be dug out of his own grave by other people. Dany will start listening to him more than she listens to her own advisors (which she has already started doing), and he'll end up getting them both killed. That's my prediction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

KKkitty wrote: »
    Cersei will be in King's Landing and Dany will be in Dragonstone if she does get pregnant by Jon so how will this happen? They'd be miles away from each other and if Cersei isn't lying about being pregnant there's a bit of an age gap between the babies. I can't see that happening at all.

I think Tyrian might do a switcheroo, Danny may not survive birth or something and this could lead Tyrian to switching babies, also the age gap isn't that big a month or two max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,858 ✭✭✭Evade

My wild speculation about where some characters end up. I think Cersei will be killed by Arya who is then killed by the Mountain. Jon and Jaime will die killing the Night King. Dany will die during or after giving birth to Jon's son who will be accepted as the rightful heir to the Iron Throne. Tyrion will be his hand/regent until he's old enough to rule. Bronn gets his castle. Tormund and Brienne have giant babies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭cython

PressRun wrote: »
    Didn't she kill him when she posed as a child prostitute in Bravos?

I think that was Meryn Trant, not Ilyn Payne.

cython wrote: »
    I think that was Meryn Trant, not Ilyn Payne.

Right you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

JamboMac wrote: »
    I think Tyrian might do a switcheroo, Danny may not survive birth or something and this could lead Tyrian to switching babies, also the age gap isn't that big a month or two max.

I don't want to see Tyrion aligning himself with Cersei ever again. She's been horrible to him throughout the years for no reason. It wasn't Tyrion's fault their mother died giving birth to him. Oh and the biggest thing is that she wanted him dead a few times. I hope he doesn't forget that. Cersei isn't to be trusted at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Jamie at this point has really been fully redeemed from how bad he was in early series so I think hes either going to be killed by the mountain after killing Cersei or he'll go north to the wall, assuming they defeat and he survives the Night King.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭juneg

I was just listening to an interview with Nikolai coster waldau on tv3 . When asked about the season 8 he said that It's one story from season one that makes sense. I thought that was interesting.

Anyone like to speculate...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

juneg wrote: »
    I was just listening to an interview with Nikolai coster waldau on tv3 . When asked about the season 8 he said that It's one story from season one that makes sense. I thought that was interesting.

Anyone like to speculate...

I just listened to it.

The context of what he is saying is that season 1 through season 8 is one story and it makes sense.

i.e., that the entirety of GoT is one big long storyline split over numerous seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭froggie76

I think the Hound will kill the Mountain with Beric Dondarrions flaming sword.
    The golden company will arrive and Darrio Naharis with them.
    I'm wondering if the little brother killing Cersei will be her little brother or someone else's (Bran warging into ghost - though if the Hound doesn't kill the mountain Id love to see him warging into him and running amok in Kings Landing)? I like the idea of Arya killing Jamie then using his face to kill Cersei! Arya and Gendry will be on the iron throne and Sansa will stay in the north. Both Jon and Dany will give up all claims to the throne and live happily ever after in Dorne!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The world too end in the last episode with everyone dying lol. If i was too guess it will be Dany/Jon and the child on the iron throne at the end

Mountain and the hound to do battle

Cersi will die giving birth driving Jamie mad who will die by the night king

Arary too kill Sansa

A lot of main characters will die in a giant battle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

The Hound will give Brienne the shots

The Nightking will get what he wants and kill almost everyone along the way. He wants to undo the curse that has been put on him. How he undoes it, I don't know. Turns out he's not so bad after all. It's the children of the forest that have been the bad guys all along. Once the Nightking is free, he wanders off on his own. He has no interest in being a king after it being forced upon him for generations. Someone of little consequence will take the iron throne out of chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

I think at least one of the main characters will be risen by the white walkers as a wright, and that doesn't necessarily mean a main character that is currently alive at the beginning of season 8.

Either Dany or Jon will die, possibly both but at least one.

At least one of the remaining Stark children will die. Arya in season 7 isn't really the same Arya from previous ones. She's lost a lot of the fun and charm of that character. That might be setting her up for a death. Whatever happens to the north, I can see one of the Stark children ruling over it.

If Jaime dies, it will be either saving Brianne or Bran. Saving Bran would complete his redemption arc.

I doubt Cercei will win but I'm not certain she will be killed. As we saw during her captivity by the high sparrow, there are worse things than death for Cercei. Loosing all her power, influence and wealth and being forced to live in exile as a commoner would be worse than death in her eyes. Perhaps this happens to her and she kills herself.

I do think Tyrion will come out a one of the winners, although I'm not sure what form that would take.

One thing I am nearly certain of is that the white walker plotline will be solved by the middle of the season which will leave the resolution of the political / Cercei plot for the final three episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

Gazzmonkey wrote: »

And followed by an post credit scene where Bran wakes up in Winterfell after his fall surrounded by Eddard and Cathlyn and it was all just his dream. :eek: :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

Will Hodor return as a wight along with who ever else is in winterfells crypt.
    Also would the mountain be a secret weapon against the wights as he's an undead of sorts.