Ex pope blames 1960s revolution for sex abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,240 ✭✭✭Markcheese

i'm still not clear as to why it was so much more rampant with Irish priests

Power, control, lack of scrutiny...
    The Catholic Church had a lot of power and influence in Spain and Italy, but also a lot of opposition too, (plenty of left wing politics), in Ireland there was little credible opposition to the power of the church... Even at that other countries had and have major abuse and cover-up scandals..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

buried wrote: »
    Dunno, If I had done would that have stopped me talking complete and utter scutter wollix like Joe is doing?

Ratzinger is a fundamentalist; there is a reason he was known as "God's Rottweiler" before he became Pope, he was out of touch back in 2005 and a complete relic at this stage.

If anything he is to be pitied.

Also this craic of labeling the man a Nazi is completely wrong and a cheap shot, in Nazi Germany you joined the Hitler youth and that was that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Ratzinger is a fundamentalist; there is a reason he was known as "God's Rottweiler" before he became Pope, he was out of touch back in 2005 and a complete relic at this stage.

If anything he is to be pitied.

Also this craic of labeling the man a Nazi is completely wrong and a cheap shot, in Nazi Germany you joined the Hitler youth and that was that.

Must have been fierce ambitious if a Nazi made Pope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Only following orders.

Ah cop on, do you really think a child in Nazi Germany had much of a say in the matter?

If you really want to blame someone, blame his folks.

It's too lazy a label to throw at Ratzinger; it's like the most handy stick or something - fundamentalist former Pope has a Nazi youth past when he was a kid with obviously no say in the matter (because he wouldn't have as, y'know, a child).

Well then he must be a murderer of Jews.

It's laughable and a shockingly simplistic way at looking at the mans past.

If you really want to blame someone, blame his folks.

Ah yes blame someone else, a common modus operandi. Ratty is blaming free expression for the abuse of kids.

Well then he must be a murderer of Jews.

Nah just complicate in the cover up of a use of children.

We're not talking about that, you and others are using his Nazi Youth past as a cheap pot shot towards the man. Which is pretty irrelevant to this general discussion.

He's not the only Pope guilty of the cover up of child abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

He blames a vague conceptual cultural trend for
    horrific child abuse.
    Personally, I'd blame it on the paedophiles that were protected and facilitated by his own organisation.

We're not talking about that, you and others are using his Nazi Youth past as a cheap pot shot towards the man. Which is pretty irrelevant to this general discussion.

He blamed a cultural shift rather than looking inward to his churches behaviour. A haven of Paedos.

Yeah, because he's a backwards frankly deluded eejit.

Spot on. ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Still JR quit- suppose better than what happened the last guy that made an error on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

He's a 91 year old on a grandpa Simpson rant in an attempt to deflect from the the evils within the church. Total codswallop, BUT a lovely juicy scoop for the National Catholic Reporter, because it's going to get them some clicks.
    Shame is on them for printing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,083 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Your Face wrote: »
    He blames a vague conceptual cultural trend for
    horrific child abuse.

The invention of the pill is a vague conceptual cultural trend? Don't think so ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭feargale

Who was in the German army during WW2 setting tank traps and protecting Nazi aircraft factories?

Joseph Ratzinger.

So, its actually your fault Joe.

I don't hold with his ideas on the sexual revolution either. But some people should research their facts before shooting first.
    Ratzinger's father was a policeman who was sacked because in the course of his duties he refused to implement the Nazi evil.
    Ratzinger's retarded cousin was murdered by the Nazis.
    When barely into teenage Ratzinger was conscripted as an anti-aircraft gunner. The alternative was that which awaited any conscientious objector in Nazi Germany. If you label him a Nazi for that you must do likewise re every German soldier in WWII. There were alot of them.
    Ratzinger began his career as a champion of change in his church. His horror of liberalism, wrongheaded as it was, was founded on his personal experience of totalitarianism in Germany, coupled with a fear of a reversion to something similar following the political upheaval of the nineteen sixties.
    Now that you know some things you didn't previously know you might like to tell us how strongly pro-Nazi you think Ratzinger was. Was he any more Nazi than, say, Dickie Dawkins?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

The invention of the pill is a vague conceptual cultural trend? Don't think so ...

Contraceptive pills turns people into pedophiles? What the f*ck are you saying lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

feargale wrote: »
    I don't hold with his ideas on the sexual revolution either. But some people should research their facts before shooting first.
    Ratzinger's father was a policeman who was sacked because in the course of his duties he refused to implement the Nazi evil.
    Ratzinger's retarded cousin was murdered by the Nazis.
    When barely into teenage Ratzinger was conscripted as an anti-aircraft gunner. The alternative was that which awaited any conscientious objector in Nazi Germany. If you label him a Nazi for that you must do likewise re every German soldier in WWII. There were alot of them.
    Ratzinger began his career as a champion of change in his church. His horror of liberalism, wrongheaded as it was, was founded on his personal experience of totalitarianism in Germany, coupled with a fear of a reversion to something similar following the political upheaval of the nineteen sixties.
    Now that you know some things you didn't previously know you might like to tell us how strongly pro-Nazi you think Ratzinger was. Was he any more Nazi than, say, Dickie Dawkins?

Look F don't be getting p!ssy at me. Was Joe in the German army during World War 2? Yes or no?

Just because you don't like the answer to the question F, that doesn't enable you to change the facts.

Joe was in the German army during World War 2.

The German army was in the control of the Nazis.

Joe set up tank traps and defended BMW factories that manufactured German aircraft artillery.

Those are facts. Those facts are all I said. Just because these facts upset you for some reason, don't get p!ssy with me.

Like you said, Joe may have changed his mind afterwards when the war was over, had a change of heart, many German soldiers and officers did.
    But that don't change the fact he was in the German army, That's all I said.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Look F don't be getting p!ssy at me. Was Joe in the German army during World War 2? Yes or no?

Just because you don't like the answer to the question F, that doesn't enable you to change the facts.

Joe set up tank traps and defended BMW factories that manufactured German aircraft artillery.

Those are facts. Those facts are all I said. Just because these facts upset you for some reason, don't get p!ssy with me.

Like you said, Joe may have changed his mind afterwards when the war was over, had a change of heart, many German soldiers and officers did.

you have that backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I wouldnt agree, if i was celibate and a priest but really wanted sex,I would go see a prostitute. I wouldnt suddenly find kids attractive or rape single mothers.

The priest hood attracted these predators because they knew they could get away with doing what they wanted.

The number of abusers in the church per capita is about the same as the number in the general public as far as I'm aware. So it's not that they attracted them. If they attracted them, the numbers would have been higher. And celibacy can't be to blame or else the numbers would have been higher.

The likelihood of a priest being an abuser is no higher than it is for anyone else.

the problem was that the abuse wasn't taken seriously and they did too much to protect the individual abusers and the church itself. There is one thing that benedict did that was good and that was lessen the protections a priest has within the church.

Edit to add: everything else that the former pope has said is bollox. Don't think I'm endorsing anything he said just because I agree with him lessening the protection priests get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

The Catholic Churches obsession with sex is what led to Clerical Sex Abuse. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

Well if Joe wants to use that sort of demented logic...

What helped cause the revolution in the 60's?

The baby boom aftermath of World War 2.

Who was in the German army during WW2 setting tank traps and protecting Nazi aircraft factories?

Joseph Ratzinger.

So, its actually your fault Joe.

Of course he was in the German army. Hardly expect him to be fighting on the allies side. There was a draft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

And if you were in Germany at the time, you would be too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Read the article :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,086 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

What's the relationship between the sexual revolution and the catholic hierarchy deciding to cover up abuse?

Priests being paedophile isn't the big issue for me. Any person in any position could be a criminal in disguise. The problem.us when the catholic hierarchy fonds out about a paedophile priest and decides to protect them instead of turn them in to the police so they face justice and protect children from further abuse.

As I said to another poster, he was assimilated into the Nazi Youth like all German kids at the time.

As a child he would have literally no choice in the matter whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Nixonbot wrote: »
    And if you were in Germany at the time, you would be too.

I'm well aware of that. But I'm not the one using Joe's, as I said in my first post Demented Logic, in blaming a historic cultural event in isolation to pin the blame on his churches rampant cover up and sweeping under the carpet of abusive animals within its organisation.

I'm not blaming Joe for World War 2 am I? That would be stupid, just like trying to blame the 1960's on what Joe's organisation willfully allowed to happen for decades is also stupid.

I'm not the one being serious about it. Joe is.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,144 ✭✭✭✭neris

yep coz no priests were kiddy fiddling in december 1959

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Like others have already said, Ratzinger is not talking to Europe, where the Catholic chuch is in terminal decline; he's talking to the developing world - he's doing a bit of scaremongering about how adopting the ways of liberal westernized societies will destroy their traditional values and only the loving embrace of the Catholic Church can preserve things the way they used to be.

It's 100% marketing, we're just not the target demographic any more.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

amcalester wrote: »
    As an ex-pope shouldn’t he be, you know, dead?

Thought it was a job for life.

You're sorta right. The only expopes are dead popes. There's 2 popes at present.