Al Porter Scandal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Dante7

The other day, on very early morning radio, pre Morning Ireland, I heard a news item which went like this “DPP are to look into charging a popular media figure for take/sexual assault”, and like some other items that appear at this time, it was never mentioned again in the news. Whether the item was unverified and couldn’t be re-broadcast or not is in question, likewise whether the item was referring to AP. Interesting nonetheless.

They weren't talking about Al. They were alluding to the much more serious case of an infamous sports figure who is accused of a serious rape and assault charge. The DPP is deciding on that at the moment with a strong recommendation from the Gardai to prosecute. I don't want to belittle what Al is accused of, but that other case is on a different scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

fryup wrote: »
    well going by this thread..its not far off it

as i said before....he's a young lad, give him a break
    Sure Ted Bundy and Larry Murphy were young men when they were doing their crimes , lets give them a break/should've given ted a break :(

ah ffs! compare like with like will ya

we're not talking about a serial rapist-killer here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

ah ffs! compare like with like will ya

we're not talking about a serial rapist-killer here

No but we're not talking about someone who forgot to pay their TV licence either. There's no need to trivialise what Porter did, rolling out the tired old cliches like 'he's a young lad' or 'give him a break' makes you look daft.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

but comparing him with a serial killer??? talk about taking it to the nth degree

the person who does that looks...really daft imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Did a lot for charities.

so did jimmy savile.

edit.thought you were talking about porter, someone pointed out he has done something for charities.
    No . I was talking about Joe dolan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

but comparing him with a serial killer??? talk about taking it to the nth degree

Jimmy Savile would be a better comparison alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Jimmy Savile would be a better comparison alright.

Gaybo used love having the top British celebrity, Jimmy Saville, on the Late Late.
    Of course Rolf Harris was on another night and got very emotional singing Two little boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Would your opinion still be the same if he fingered you against your wishes?

Edgware wrote: »

Gaybo used love having the top British celebrity, Jimmy Saville, on the Late Late.
    Of course Rolf Harris was on another night and got very emotional singing Two little boys

I remember that night, was young and gullible. My parents remarked how genuine a soul Rolf must be, a good man for sure, and does your heart good seeing the humanity in him. He was apparently reacting to previous guest on who was detailing the devastation of bombing and death in Northern Ireland. Rolf’s breakdown appeared extremely genuine at the time, he excused himself saying that he was very affected by the tragedy in the North. I was quite devastated to learn of Harris’ appalling predatory behaviour. It turned my understanding of humanity upside down. Either it was a total put-on opportunist act to portray himself as white as the driven snow, or else there is s dichotomy in his thinking: being genuinely sad at terrorist atrocities and death and st the same time telling himself a bit of sex with children was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,053 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

And yet he wouldn't shake Gerry Adams' hand. And outright attacked him on his show... doesn't look great in retrospect.

No fan of Gerry's, mind, but Gay Byrne had some very blighted moments-including the Annie Murphy travesty of an interview.
    (I didn't see it then, I think I saw it on one of those retrospective shows).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

I remember that night, was young and gullible. My parents remarked how genuine a soul Rolf must be, a good man for sure, and does your heart good seeing the humanity in him. He was apparently reacting to previous guest on who was detailing the devastation of bombing and death in Northern Ireland. Rolf’s breakdown appeared extremely genuine at the time, he excused himself saying that he was very affected by the tragedy in the North. I was quite devastated to learn of Harris’ appalling predatory behaviour. It turned my understanding of humanity upside down. Either it was a total put-on opportunist act to portray himself as white as the driven snow, or else there is s dichotomy in his thinking: being genuinely sad at terrorist atrocities and death and st the same time telling himself a bit of sex with children was ok.
    My parents thought Rolf Harris was amazing. They saw through saville though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Rolf hurt. My mother loved him as a child. I liked him as a child too, I was an arty kid and loved a book he brought out about bettering your drawing skills. That was the accusation (and subsequent conviction) that made me question humanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Imagine the pressure the courtroom artist was under during the Rolf Harris trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

joeguevara wrote: »
    Imagine the pressure the courtroom artist was under during the Rolf Harris trial.

It was Mary Fitzgerald,she just had to make and do!:D

And yet he wouldn't shake Gerry Adams' hand. And outright attacked him on his show... doesn't look great in retrospect.

No fan of Gerry's, mind, but Gay Byrne had some very blighted moments-including the Annie Murphy travesty of an interview.
    (I didn't see it then, I think I saw it on one of those retrospective shows).
    Gaybo was probably thinking of his Communion money that the Provos took from his post office account.
    For a man that so many think is great he has shown himself to be a bit of a fool, allowing himself to be ripped off twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Gaybo was probably thinking of his Commuion money that the Provos took from his post office account.
    For a man that so many think is great he has shown himself to be a bit of a fool, allowing himself to be ripped off twice.

I never liked Gay Byrne.

I thought he just a sneering condescending **** behind the whole 'Uncle Gaybo' facade.

He was certainly no fan of Ireland or Irishness and a typical Jackeen West Brit lover in the Terry Wogan and Bob Geldof category. They grew up hating Irish independence as it disrupted their parent's nice middle class up bringing and would have preferred to be licking Elizabeth Windsor's ass and full of self loathing.

I never liked Gay Byrne.

I thought he just a sneering condescending **** behind the whole 'Uncle Gaybo' facade.

He was certainly no fan of Ireland or Irishness and a typical Jackeen West Brit lover in the Terry Wogan and Bob Geldof category. They grew up hating Irish independence as it disrupted their parent's nice middle class up bringing and would have preferred to be licking Elizabeth Windsor's ass and full of self loathing.

I always thought of him as a patronising **** especially when interacting with the Dublin working class or people from the country with strong regional accents.
    He loved sucking up to Wogan and the B.B.C. shower. If he had stayed in Britain he would have been found out and end up doing afternoon shows like Supermarket Sweep for Anglia or Granada

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,670 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Dont compare him to Joe dolan. Joe dolan was a legend.

I remember being in the Swiss Cottage in Santry many years ago, and Joe Dolan came in drunk, and tried to feel up every girl in the place, his entourage though it was hilarious but left quickly when it became obvious they were going to get a hiding. I didn't know at the time he was gay.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

well if he was gay..why was he feeling up girls?

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Part of his flamboyant persona??? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

I never liked Gay Byrne.

All that "Irish independence" stuff is absolute malarkey. Listen to yourself, you sound unhinged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

blade1 wrote: »
    Part of his flamboyant persona??? :eek:

You mean the white suit wasn't enough?

It's alright lads, he's after been locked up!
    Still playing the 'I'm innocent' card though:pac:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057970684

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

I think Joe liked a bit of both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

I remember being in the Swiss Cottage in Santry many years ago, and Joe Dolan came in drunk, and tried to feel up every girl in the place, his entourage though it was hilarious but left quickly when it became obvious they were going to get a hiding. I didn't know at the time he was gay.
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

He was only gay at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭Odelay

I think Joe liked a bit of both.

We’ll have to take your word on that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,053 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I'd say if we were to compare Porter with anyone it would akin to Brock Turner, that Toerag in the states who did similar to a young woman who was unconscious.
    There was no penetration using the penis but there was digital penetration into her vagina.

Still went to prison-a very light sentence notwithstanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I'd say if we were to compare Porter with anyone it would akin to Brock Turner, that Toerag in the states who did similar to a young woman who was unconscious.
    There was no penetration using the penis but there was digital penetration into her vagina.

Still went to prison-a very light sentence notwithstanding.

I absolutely hate Al Porter and I'd be delighted if I never had to see or hear from him again but in the interests of fairness, Al cannot be compared to anybody who has been convicted of a sex crime because he hasn't been convicted of a sex crime - any sort of sex crime.

Did he do dodgy stuff, I don't know. Maybe he did, maybe he didn't. I can't say. But until such a time as he is convicted in a court of law, I won't be comparing him to sex offenders elsewhere.

He's still a talentless d1ckhead though.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Did he do dodgy stuff, I don't know. Maybe he did, maybe he didn't.

He did. He admits it, sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,392 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

RTÉ fell for him hook line and sinker