Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

In fairness he said he's going on legal advice

200.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

In fairness he said he's going on legal advice

Legal advice my hole.

If you're investigating a financial irregularity then questions about back accounts are fair game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,927 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

But i don’t understand why.

Neither do i but wasnt there a case in the High Court over the questioning of Rehab's Angela Kearns by a similar committee's ? maybe something to do with that, **** knows :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Have a feeeling the poor new CFO will be out of a job by the end of next month. All around him are fulling fast ones to protect their own arses and the poor lad seems to know nothing about anything. Looks to me as if he is also an alibi so that finance questions are not answered.

Long live Jon Teflon Don and his merry men.

Have fired off 4-5 emails asking sponsors if they can continue to support such practises and if their company images wouldnt be tarnished by the actions of the FAI board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

The statement from thr Healy Rea branch of the John Delany fan club....

https://twitter.com/ballsdotie/status/1115984852837388289

• Administrators Posts: 55,029 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Laois_Man wrote: »
    The statement from thr Healy Rea branch of the John Delany fan club....

https://twitter.com/ballsdotie/status/1115984852837388289

The man is basically a parody of himself at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Aithníonn ciaróg ciaróg eile. MHR is the type of person that loves Delaney and I'm sure he loves him back. They both know the game they're playing and I imagine MHR's defence of him comes from admiration for Delaney's cute hoorism.

Fair play to Coppinger for calling it like it is.

I have been working all day so I've just been reading the updates. I'm delighted to see the FAI being grilled in public, even if they refuse to answer. There is no way that this isn't damaging their reputation (whatever was left of it) to some extent. Even the drips that are seeping through (no idea how many bank accounts they have, reports telling them to make up new positions, etc.) means they can't claim with a straight face that they know what they are doing. Hopefully SI continue to withold funding as a result, though I do have a nagging doubt that it will blow over.

The board and Delaney will still get their support from the likes of MHR. None of this matters to them once some money eventually gets their way. We can only hope that there are enough people who are fed up with this carry on that they take a stand and try to bring him down from within.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,007 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Delaney looks like a sulky teenager being dragged around the shops by his parents. Big bored head on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,586 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

*mutes TV*

Who is this bald politician talking now?

Jaysus, this fella can't articulate a simple question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

MHR tellimg it like it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

This lad asking questions is embarrassing. What a waste of ten minutes.

I can't believe Delaney played the daughter card. What a martyr.

Shameless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,618 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

awec wrote: »

Kevin O Keefe ,Ned O' Keefe the pig farmers son .

Not a good advertisement for Cork politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Ha ha Delaney able to talk certain stuff when he wants to.

Seriously what the hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/members/member/Kevin-O'Keeffe.D.2016-10-03/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,586 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

You can add this troll to your ignore list by pressing this link.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/profile.php?do=addlist&userlist=ignore&u=567907

And the other troll.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/profile.php?do=addlist&userlist=ignore&u=330946

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,927 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Kevin O Keefe ,Ned O' Keefe the pig farmers son .

Not a good advertisement for Cork politics.

What an embarrassment, he makes Healy Rae sound like Obama

Why can’t they just ask a fecking question! It’s not that difficult to do. Ruth Coppinger is the only one who understands the time limits for questions and gets to the point. I totally get why she’s pissed off.

This guy is asking totally bizarre questions. They're football questions, not governance questions. This has nothing to do with the issue at hand. He's giving them handy questions to answer, about players coming back from abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Why can’t they just ask a fecking question! It’s not that difficult to do. Ruth Coppinger is the only one who understands the time limits for questions and gets to the point. I totally get why she’s pissed off.

Should have just had her and Catherine Murphy for two hours asking questions and the thing would be done.

What is the latest waffle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,618 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

This guy is asking totally bizarre questions. This has nothing to do with the issue at hand. He's giving them handy questions to answer.

He just wants to get some publicity.

He seems to attend every funeral in his constituency.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,318 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Ah Chancer, you've been very quiet today.

Did you finally come up for air? Must be tough with all that sand around your head all the time...

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

5.15 pm and we're still establishing just who is here from the FAI, in amongst the various monologues from the orieachtas committee members.

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    5.15 pm and we're still establishing just who is here from the FAI, in amongst the various monologues from the orieachtas committee members.

Banana republic.

“We can’t lodge a cheque into an operational account”

Wtaf????

Necro wrote: »
    Ah Chancer, you've been very quiet today.

Did you finally come up for air? Must be tough with all that sand around your head all the time...

giphy.gif

Better than having my head up my ass like some people ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I'm sure these boys know exactly how the process works. They'd much rather spend their allotted time singing JD's praises or asking him irrelevant questions or telling pointless stories if it's enough to distract from the pertinent questions to be asked and give poor old JD some respite.

It's also their way of letting JD and his pals in the FAI know who's side they're on. MHR has already said JD will get the "mother of all welcomes" when he goes to open that football pitch in a few weeks' time. Expect plenty of FAI investment in those two constituencies as long as JD and his pals are still in control.

I'm sure these boys know exactly how the process works. They'd much rather spend their allotted time singing JD's praises or asking him irrelevant questions or telling pointless stories if it's enough to distract from the pertinent questions to be asked and give poor old JD some respite.

It's also their way of letting JD and his pals in the FAI know who's side they're on. MHR has already said JD will get the "mother of all welcomes" when he goes to open that football pitch in a few weeks' time. Expect plenty of FAI investment in those two constituencies as long as JD and his pals are still in control.

Mhr point was that there had already been fantastic investmemt in kerry. Ergo the welcome.