Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭jbt123

Is this fcuking Gombeen from Kerry real??

Holy fcuk.. how far will his tongue reach up Delaneys hole.

Shameful stuff all round really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Fcuking rent-a-cliche Healy Rae laying it on thick. Fcuk off back to the bog you thick.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,317 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Bridge93 wrote: »
    How the people of Kerry are not permanently ashamed of themselves for voting those tool brothers in is a mystery to me.

Essentially because they get a lot of roads fixed etc. for Kerry.

They are glorified county councillors at the end of the day and haven't the foggiest notion of how to govern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,220 ✭✭✭shanec1928

Bridge93 wrote: »
    How the people of Kerry are not permanently ashamed of themselves for voting those tool brothers in is a mystery to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭LandonRicketts

I feel embarrassed to be a Kerryman when that gombeen is laying the red carpet for Delaney

• Administrators Posts: 55,029 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I'd say Jonathan O'Brien could ask some good questions. He's involved in the LOI right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,828 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Laois_Man wrote: »
    The CEO is the CFO's boss! Look at the actual definition of CEO. Having knowledge of the organizations financial position is the very very first thing he needs to know, fundamental to everything else he does!

you are conflating an alleged short term liquidity issue with an organisations financial position, two different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,363 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Cyrus wrote: »
    you are conflating an alleged short term liquidity issue with an organisations financial position, two different things.

Needs specific highlighting

• Subscribers Posts: 42,895 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

having a short term liquidity issue IS a reflection of the organisations financial position.

Corporate governance has clear guidelines on how this issues are to be dealt with... and getting a dodgy cheque from your CEO to plug the gap is certainly not allowed

Catherine Murphy is going for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,927 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Mark Tighe

Verified account

@marktigheST
    Follow Follow @marktigheST
    More
    Eddie Murray, the FAI's honorary treasurer, is struggling to hear the questions. He says there is just one FAI bank account. There are 25 separate bank accounts listed in the FAI's company filings. #FAIOireachtas

:pac::pac::pac:

sydthebeat wrote: »
    having a short term liquidity issue IS a reflection of the organisations financial position.

Corporate governance has clear guidelines on how this issues are to be dealt with... and getting a dodgy cheque from your CEO to plug the gap is certainly not allowed

corporate governance has clear guidelines, what in gods name are you on about :p

im not sure what kind of companies you work in, i reiterate in a relatively sizeable organisation a 100k cash shortfall isnt a big deal, certainly not something a ceo should be expected to be aware of.

The people asking the questions are useless. Uhmmming ahhhing and long winded questions.
    As for the answers I think we'll here 'that would be an ecumenical matter' before the day is out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,097 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Any cash flow problem within a company would be an issue for the CEO.

The potential negative publicity of staff striking over non-payment of wages would fall within their remit of responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,007 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Delaney avoids saying practically anything all day while new FAI employees that have been there barely a wet week are shoved in front of microphones. Quite remarkable.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Any cash flow problem within a company would be an issue for the CEO.

The potential negative publicity of staff striking over non-payment of wages would fall within their remit of responsibility.

any cash flow problem?

Delaney avoids saying practically anything all day while new FAI employees that have been there a wet week are shoved in front of microphones. Quite remarkable.

All part of the plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

corporate governance has clear guidelines, what in gods name are you on about :p

im not sure what kind of companies you work in, i reiterate in a relatively sizeable organisation a 100k cash shortfall isnt a big deal, certainly not something a ceo should be expected to be aware of.

Im not sure what kind of organisations you work in but..
    -CEO's dont usually cover liquidity issues with their 'own cash' over using credit facilities.
    -Dont usually have their rent paid
    -Dont usually create a new positions on a lower salary for themselves when questions of irregularity arrise

Not to mention hide behind supposed legal advice to not answer ANY questions relating to their role as CEO in the previous 14 years.. and you know, only let Oireachtas committees of this refusal to answer questions when showing up on the day... but then (luckily) most organisations dont have JD as their CEO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

The question that Rock asked seemed interesting. FAI changed bank in 2015 but same bank is listed in subsequent years in the accounts.

That treasurer was awful as well. Had no answer to the fact that he didn't know about the payment. An amount 'that wouldn't stick out' he said. Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

in all the years of watching bull Donahue taking an icbm missile to get sacked to suicidal angela this is unchartered waters its like kim jong il has brought a regional army major to speak for him as the citizens are unworthy of his golden tongue. GUBU indeed.

givyjoe wrote: »
    Im not sure what kind of organisations you work in but..
    -CEO's dont usually cover liquidity issues with their 'own cash' over using credit facilities.
    -Dont usually have their rent paid
    -Dont usually create a new positions on a lower salary for themselves when questions of irregularity arrise

Not to mention hide behind supposed legal advice to not answer ANY questions relating to their role as CEO in the previous 14 years.. and you know, only let Oireachtas committees of this refusal to answer questions when showing up on the day... but then (luckily) most organisations dont have JD as their CEO.

you are taking a point and answering it with something else.

CEOs dont normally cover liquidity issues with their own cash, but they sometimes down, especially if they own the company. The issue here isnt the loan, its the fact it wasnt disclosed as a transaction with a director. I think people are missing this point.

Plenty of CEOs have their rent paid.

I agree with you on the last point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

in all the years of watching bull Donahue taking an icbm missile to get sacked to suicidal angela this is unchartered waters its like kim jong il has brought a regional army major to speak for him as the citizens are unworthy of his golden tongue. GUBU indeed.

tenor.gif

Would they go for injunctions to cover it up?

nope, a simple cost benefit analysis would suggest thats a crazy course of action, which is why id love to know what he was actually up to :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Troy putting the boot in here. First guy to sound pissed off at the non answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,220 ✭✭✭shanec1928

Corholio wrote: »
    Troy putting the boot in here. First guy to sound pissed off at the non answers.
    fair play to him. they are taking the piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

you are taking a point and answering it with something else.

CEOs dont normally cover liquidity issues with their own cash, but they sometimes down, especially if they own the company. The issue here isnt the loan, its the fact it wasnt disclosed as a transaction with a director. I think people are missing this point.

Plenty of CEOs have their rent paid.

I agree with you on the last point.

Eh JD most definitely is not the 'owner' of the FAI, though he sure as fcuk has acted like it to date.

As for rent, a relatively small proportion and its usually because they have moved jurisdiction to take up the role and isn't usually a permanent perk. There is absolutely no justifiable reason why JD should have his rent paid for 15 years into his tenure as CEO, surely he could have found himself a permanent place to live in that time. Never mind the fact that the FAI is part funded by governement grants, its in extraordinarily bad taste that he was receiving such a perk. The existence of such a perk when low paid staff were being forced to take pay cuts is also pretty unjustifiable. But of course he 'cant'/wont answer questions on why such payments were in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Short term?
    This happened in April 2017
    You know UEFA gave the FAI the €7m that was due to Dundalk for their Champions League/ Europa League run and the FAI kept €2.2m of that money until just short of a year later - giving it to Dundalk in November 2017 with the Peak6 investors left waiting for it before they could complete their takeover.
    Short term?
    Alleged?

Troy asking some good questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,927 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Only tuning in. Whos the FAI lad on now answering questions?